Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Applicants-Introduce Yourself (see Moderator note in post#1)

• 07-09-2009 6:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭

Mod Note:

As per title of thread, this thread is for Introductions of yourself and your updates on your applications.

Any more general queries about background checks or anything not relating to this thread won't be allowed in here and they will either be moved or deleted as appropriate.

Thanks.

Hey!

kerry4sam here, part of the auld furniture now at this stage. I applied this year and
    - have my Initial Interview & Report Writting done since April
    - after I passed that I filled out and sent in my BRform for background checks
    - had my interviews with local Sergeant and Superintendent in early May
    and I am currently waiting on a call for a Medical

Sincere Best of Luck to everyone who wishes to apply and to those who are waiting on various stages :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

ahh come on lads and ladies:cool:, don't be shy :D
    - I applied on publicjobs.ie on 2nd of April 2008
    - had my Interview & Report Writting 30th June
    - got result 2 weeks later on the 14th of July
    - handed in in my BRform for background checks on 17th of July
    - had my interview with Superintendent on the 29th of July
    - and I'm waiting on a call for a Medical

GOOD LUCK;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cathykelly

Im way behind ye.... :D
    Applied in early june
    interview is between the 20th and 22nd Oct
    Im fierce nervous but really looking forward to it all the same.
    CK

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

applied august 2007
    interview and report writing in november 2007
    handed in BR form in march 2008
    interview with the super april 2008
    couple of phone calls from sergeants during the summer of 2008
    called for med in jan 2009
    templemore for 2 days in april 2009 (phase 1)
    6 weekends of legal studies in may/june 2009 (phase 2)
    exam early july 2009
    2 days in templemore july 2009 (phase 3)
    started phase 4 in aug 2009 - 2 years after initial application.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 limerick2009

DK47 wrote: »
    ahh come on lads and ladies:cool:, don't be shy :D
    - I applied on publicjobs.ie on 2nd of April 2008
    - and I'm waiting on a call for a Medical

GOOD LUCK;)

fair play to you for sticking with it.thats some wait.17 months since initial application:).i thought i was waiting long at 9 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

-applied April/May 2009
    -First interview first week of June
    -told I passed third week of June
    -Handed in the BR July 2009
    -turns out the Guard didn't copy the form or submit the app :rolleyes:
    -rang HR two weeks ago, they're chasing it up so waiting on Super interview and BR checks

Best of luck to ye all ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭ASTRACLUB

Oops! i thought it will be a quick process month or two :-(:(

Applied: Mid June'09
    Interview: Today 09/09/09

Waiting for call (2 weeks, as they promised),
    will update accordingly but i am a bit down to see the people waiting for a long time!!
    Is there any chances in future to promo GR for permanent gardai> just asking!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

hi all

app. in oct 08
    exam nov 08
    super. april 09
    med aug. 09
    email yesterday saying i in
    starting 25 sept

YAHOO

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

ASTRACLUB wrote: »
    Oops! i thought it will be a quick process month or two :-(:(

will update accordingly but i am a bit down to see the people waiting for a long time!!

Not really the therad for it but no you can't be promoted directly from Reserve Garda to Garda, but they do (and in fact I think they're obliged to) take GR service into consideration in interview for the full-time job. I can only guess it'll stand to you.

Anyone done it I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭munster4868

Application: Sep 07
    Interview/exam: Oct 07
    BR Checks: Nov 07
    Super Interview Dec 07
    Medical Feb 08
    Phase 1: March 08
    Phase 4: May 08
    Phase 5: Nov 08
    1 year done post graduation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sf94

Applied: Jan 09
    PAS Interview: Feb 09
    Sgt. Interview and handed in BR: March 09
    Super Interview: April 09
    Medical: Jul 09
    Beginning Phase 1 25th Sept.

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

ASTRACLUB wrote: »

I would say that if it happens in the PSNI and the Met etc, then it only stands to reason that eventually some sort of transition programme could happen.

We might see white blackbirds first, but we live in hope.

Like 5 years ago there was no reserve, before that people born overseas could not apply, before that you had to be over a certain height and have chest measurements x,y and z, one time you had to be less than 28 years of age, previously you had to have Irish etc.........

There is a lot of change in AGS, most of it slow but you'd never know what will happen next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 mac51

hi all have my interview and writen test next week would be greatfull for any info on the test etc cheers..

mac51 wrote: »
    hi all have my interview and writen test next week would be greatfull for any info on the test etc cheers..

hey mac51 check out here its a dedicated thread, all the information you need, good luck.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Applied at the start of May this year
    Had interview and written-start of July
    Got the letter 3 days later to say I had passed
    Was working on my Form Br for a while.
    Now have decided to withdraw my application from the Reserves.

Just want to say thanks for all the help on boards and best of luck with your applications:D

I'll be back when the full time drive starts up:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

Has anyone that is waiting on a medical date rang or mailed them? I asked and was told they are still doing background checks but its a bit rediculous at this stage!

Application - Feb 08
    Interview - Mar 08
    BR Form - May 08
    Met Super - Sep 08
    Sgt Interview - Nov 08
    Awaiting Medical Date

The newbies seem to be processed quicker going by redsurfer and sf94? Why is this?

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

The newbies seem to be processed quicker going by redsurfer and sf94? Why is this?

It's all down to the background checks, if you are lucky and have all your relatives living in Ireland, it will take a lot quicker that someone who has relatives aboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Mc Jakester

Hi all, Here it is.....

Applied: Feb 09.
    Interview/Exam: March 09.
    Sgt. Interview and handed in BR: March 09.
    Super Interview: Late March 09.
    Background checks: Ending soon.
    Meds: Still awaiting.
    Starting: 09??

Maybe this year?

Keep it up lads and ladies....:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭ASTRACLUB

[QUOTE=ASTRACLUB;
    QUOTE]
    Got a letter today as "passed interview and written test" :):D
    so now
    status updated:

Interview: 09/09/09
    Result: 17 September
    to be continued..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 maguff

Applied Dec 08'
    Interview / Written Test Jan 09'
    Interview with the local Inspector July 09'
    Still waiting for background checks to clear
    No idea when I will get a medical
    Looks like i just missed out on September training.

Anybody any idea when training is in 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

Applied Feb 09
    Interview May 09
    BR Submitted June 09
    BR returned to HQ Sept 09
    Waiting on Sgt / Super Interview and Medical

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭barneycotter

hi all did my
    interview in late sep
    informed pass 2weeks later
    filled out br form handed in 11oct
    dats were i am todate

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

I'm way behind you guys!! I applied on public jobs last week!:o And obviously have heard nothing since.
    And based on all your informative posts - patience is a virtue... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

I applied ages ago and missed out on an interview last year but I'm going to the next one in my area soon.

Don't care how long it takes, I've been waiting for the full time for a while now and I think this will be a great way to see what it's like. I know it's going to be really tough because you're basically out there on the front line with the full timers and you have to take all the sh!t that they take.

It seems the medical is what's holding most people up here. Oh well, my advice to everyone, keep waiting! It'll come around eventually..

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭rookie09

Hi folks

applied in september 09
    interview 29 october 09
    recieved letter to say i passed, 2 november 09;)
    in the process of completing BR form

so thats where I am for the moment:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Hey,

@ everyone who has posted here, well done folks on reaching the stage you are now at. I wish everyone well in their training, whenever you all get the call :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

May as well liven the place up slightly...

Applied June 09
    Interview & report writing exercise early September
    Received "well done" letter a bit after that
    Submitted BR September 21
    Meeting with Sergeant next week.

Is there any link between meeting Garda sergeant/super and how well BR is proceeding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 darren__fallon

Had my interview in november got my results 3 days later.. submitted my background check on december 3rd... waiting on my meeting with the sergeant.

was just wondering i dont meet the educational qualifications, I have a leaving cert but i didnt get the maths grade and i have to film out the exemption form, im really worried about this and fear ill be rejected beacuase of this. Has anyone else had the same problem ive had?? any advice would be welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭rookie09

Well folks

Finally handed in my BR form last week into my local station,hopefully Im not waitin too long!!!
    next step Sgt interview.

- I applied on publicjobs.ie on 2nd of April 2009
    - December 22 2009 got call for a Medical

• Registered Users Posts: 9,551 ✭✭✭billyhead

DK47 wrote: »
    - I applied on publicjobs.ie on 2nd of April 2009
    - December 22 2009 got call for a Medical

What date did you receive for the medical?