Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

The problem is with the fans, if they want to get on the pitch, they will.

But they should be civilised enough to know it's idiotic to run on to the pitch after a match.

I always go back to the AI final last year, when they had built a little stage for the Kerry lads, to do a proper trophy presentation, so the entire team to get involved, and the idiots ran on the pitch and ruined it, so it was back into the cramped Hogan.

The problem won't go until the fans' mindset changes, and that won't happen.
    Those trophy presentations always look crap.
    A little stage in a big empty space carries absolutely fcuk all atmosphere.
    Illl take the Hogan everytime

It will come in - there is a committee this year to try and figure out how to do it, and legislation will probably be the only way to do it. And its not just for the AI final, but for all provincial finals
    A committee this year?This means a report will be filed and then a study put to tender for 6 months.Outside company hired to complete 3 year study etc etc etc.This will come in realistically when we have forcefields surrounding the field.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Actually dad was only telling me the other day there is a committee coming in with "education" for the fans to teach them why not to go on the pitch?
    And tbf the hogan is fine for AI The person talks about the team, the captain says a few words, lifts the cup, the rest of the team can lift the cup.. Theres nothing wrong with it :confused: I kinda like it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

A committee this year?This means a report will be filed and then a study put to tender for 6 months.Outside company hired to complete 3 year study etc etc etc.This will come in realistically when we have forcefields surrounding the field.

Sorry, the committee were there last year - they were the ones that had the original plan for last years AI final that didn't work, but I reckon the GAA will force it through at congress next year and then implement it for next season. Its all about educating supporters - and the captain's speech this year will be shortened, they were thinking of scrapping it

If people still come onto the pitch, I think the suggestion was to do the presentation in the dressing room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

deise_girl wrote: »
    And shur back in the 50's that sort of thing was expected :)
    Err...is that meant to justify it?
    I have no clue why I told you that, kinda went off track.... If you read it, fair duce! :)
    When do I get my award?! :p
    Tiz a disgrace and all that but really shows how much gaa games mean to people, tiz theyre summer meaning..
    gardai were utter shite, they should have been one at each side and just kept jogging off with him. Or atleast take out a gun a threaten.. :pac:
    Meh, blaming the gaurds is pointless. The real problem is the pitch invasions tbh, which I've already discussed with you!

Sorry, the committee were there last year - they were the ones that had the original plan for last years AI final that didn't work, but I reckon the GAA will force it through at congress next year and then implement it for next season
    And I guarantee it wont work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

And I guarantee it wont work

Stick a forcefield around the pitch and I can gaurentee it still won't stop the supporters.
    If Limerick were to win Munster, never mind AI glory, I'd go frickin' mental like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

It's not going to be easy to keep the fans off the pitch when so many of them storm the stewrds/barriers at the one time. A few always manage to break through and then there's just no way you can stop the rest of them once the've broken through in some way or another. Although I did get a chuckle out of the bug "Plan B" that came up on the big screens after last years final.

The situtation after the Louth/Meath game was disgraceful. But I have to say that I can completely understand why they were so angry. Louth totally deserved to win the game because there were about three reason's why the Meath goal shouldn't have been allowed: square ball, he carried it over the line, and then he threw it the rest of the way in! And afterwards Joe Sheridan tried to say that he should have got a penalty, he was pushed over the line and that he didn't throw the ball the reest of the way over the line. But you can't put most of the blame on the Meath team, it was the fault of the ref and the umpires. The ref had the goal marked down even before he had consulted with the goal umpire and then he just told him straight out to award a goal for Meath, he didn't take any time to speak to the other unpire who had a clear view. Meath should definately offer Louth a replay. If they do, I will hate them slightly less and as much as I would like to see Louth beaten becuse they beat Westmeath, I have a serious disliking for Meath.

WC final was pretty useless as well. Although I won E26.15, two IOU's for E10 and a scrap of an envelope because Spain won.:)

Stick a forcefield around the pitch and I can gaurentee it still won't stop the supporters.
    If Limerick were to win Munster, never mind AI glory, I'd go frickin' mental like.
    Whoa whoa whoa.lets be realistic here.
    Limerick winning munster?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

What are you implying?!:(

DylanS09 wrote: »
    What are you implying?!:(
    Nothing!....nothing...nothing

The situtation after the Louth/Meath game was disgraceful. But I have to say that I can completely understand why they were so angry. Louth totally deserved to win the game because there were about three reason's why the Meath goal shouldn't have been allowed: square ball, he carried it over the line, and then he threw it the rest of the way in! And afterwards Joe Sheridan tried to say that he should have got a penalty, he was pushed over the line and that he didn't throw the ball the reest of the way over the line. But you can't put most of the blame on the Meath team, it was the fault of the ref and the umpires. The ref had the goal marked down even before he had consulted with the goal umpire and then he just told him straight out to award a goal for Meath, he didn't take any time to speak to the other unpire who had a clear view. Meath should definately offer Louth a replay. If they do, I will hate them slightly less and as much as I would like to see Louth beaten becuse they beat Westmeath, I have a serious disliking for Meath.

His interview was a joke tbh.
    He looked totally graaaand with the situation.
    Of course he'd be delighted to win but like..
    He didn't even try to say anything about his actions? Making up ridiculous things like "my momentum got me over the line and I just put the ball in the net". Like wut? :confused:
    The meath manager didn't seem happy at all. during the presentation, during his interview. Hard that some of the players had to win their first leinster medal under those circumstances too.

hey... I was talking about football :P (hurling makes me sad to think about)

His interview was a joke tbh.
    He looked totally graaaand with the situation.
    Of course he'd be delighted to win but like..
    He didn't even try to say anything about his actions? Making up ridiculous things like "my momentum got me over the line and I just put the ball in the net". Like wut? :confused:
    The meath manager didn't seem happy at all. during the presentation, during his interview. Hard that some of the players had to win their first leinster medal under those circumstances too.

hey... I was talking about football :P (hurling makes me sad to think about)
    I know, it was ridiculous! At one stage he was even starting to say that his momentum carried him over the line but then he changed mid-sentence to say that he was pushed over it! The way he did it looked like he was diving for a try in rugby and trying to force himself over the line.

Ahhhhh, Meath and I was just starting to not hate them as much after they beat Dublin.

Tbf soccy I think ye have more chance of winning any kind of AI then we do.

*taps finger nervously*

Cmon meath county board, have your meeting and give louth the trophy already (or a replay would be sufficient... I guess) :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Digits

Heard on the radio earlier that Meath club football games are still fixed for next weekend so may not be good news for Louth fans but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Doesn't look like Louth are gonna get a replay :

"Croke Park confirms replay cannot be ordered."
    http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=131996

Novella wrote: »
    Doesn't look like Louth are gonna get a replay :

"Croke Park confirms replay cannot be ordered."
    http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=131996

Yea. Croke Park can't do anything about it alright.
    It's up to the Meath County Board at their meeting (which is ongoing now) if they'll offer a replay to Louth.

Sorry, yeah, I'm so dim! :pac: Didn't the Meath manager say yesterday though that they wouldn't offer a replay?

Novella wrote: »
    Sorry, yeah, I'm so dim! :pac: Didn't the Meath manager say yesterday though that they wouldn't offer a replay?

lol don't worry :P
    Ah yea, he kinda put it out there and was sending signals in his interview to the Meath Co. Board to not replay it.
    But Eamon O' Brien is some sly little fecker :o

I don't think it's right to allow meath co. board to deal with this. It's a huge responsibility. They'll be in the wrong with whatever decision they make.

I'm just hoping for some sort of justice.
    *fingers crossed*

lol don't worry :P
    Ah yea, he kinda put it out there and was sending signals in his interview to the Meath Co. Board to not replay it.
    But Eamon O' Brien is some sly little fecker :o

I don't think it's right to allow meath co. board to deal with this. It's a huge responsibility. They'll be in the wrong with whatever decision they make.

I'm just hoping for some sort of justice.
    *fingers crossed*

And on the Sunday Game last night it was said that if things had been the other way around, no one would be calling for a replay at all!

I dunno. I just think it's really sad to see Louth lose out like that, especially considering they were the better team on the day, and it should have been a free out even before the goal for a square ball.

I can't see Meath offering a replay, but like you said, it shouldn't be left up to them really. Oh well. We'll see what happens!

The wait goes on...

And the Meath players are having their own meeting tonight?
    I wonder if that could be a decisive factor.

I doubt the players will want to either.
    And theres already been a full round of club games set for next weekend too

Meath county board meeting.

decisions.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Its Meath were talking about will they offer Louth a replay: NO

I seriously can't see Meath offering them a replay but if they didn't decide they must be giving it some serious consideration.

If it was some other county maybe but not Meath.

Thank you for saying that because If I said that I would get critised by other members for being very biased or being some other bullshít against meath and its people.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Thank you for saying that because If I said that I would get critised by other members for being very biased or being some other búll**** against meath and its people.

Don't forget Kerry lol.:) But tbh I believe Meath are just trying to politely say "no" to the notion of a replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Ally7

TBH I think any county would be very hesitant in giving a replay, not just Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

I think they should give one (we should beat Louth anyway, it'd be just a nice gesture), but I don't see them doing it, and I wouldn't imagine any other county doing it either.

Ally7 wrote: »
    TBH I think any county would be very hesitant in giving a replay, not just Meath.

No, they wouldn't other counties would probably have given the replay but meath is a different because they are county of arseholes.