Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

If someone doesn't score soon..... *sigh*

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Extra time! D:

*slips into boredom-induced coma*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Ahh, Fabregas! D:

Torres is coming on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

At least if it goes to penalties it'll inject some excitement into the match...

A yellow card for removing his shirt. LOOOOOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

That was a rubbish final. The Dutch play an awful brand of football.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

unknown13 wrote: »
    That was a rubbish final. The Dutch play an awful brand of football.

It's tragic. The Netherlands used to be revered for playing beautiful football. What they did today was sickening.
    This World Cup was so bad it hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

Thank God that's over. I hate to sound like a whining old hoorbag at the age of 19 but football was so much better back in the day. :(

Well done to Boba for a comprehensive victory in the fantasy football league. I came fourth, not too bad since I was lingering at the bottom for a while. :D

Also, Forlán got player of the tournament. \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

The whole tournament was a bit of a snorefest tbh. Apart from the vuvuzelas and Paul the octopus there was nothing memorable or worth talking about.

On the bright side, I finished a respectable 6th in the C&H league. Which was good, considering I was adrift at the bottom for ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Winnar! :pac:

But yeah, what a crap WC. I miss watching Ireland, roll on Euro 2012 quals :)

Just watched the final scenes of that GAA match. Only one Garda escorting the referee off? Shambles. Are there no stewards at these games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Wow, never saw the Louth game, was just watching the highlights. The attacking of the referee after the game was disgraceful, absolutely disgraceful. That was a horrible 10 minutes for the GAA, first of all the poor quality of the umpires and referee, and secondly because of the fans storming the pitch and attacking the referee.

Awful.

The World Cup final was a complete anti-climax, I actually enjoyed the WC this year tbh, Germany and the USA were absolutely excellent, and the "shock" defeat of the English. :P That final was brutal, must've been one of the worst games of the elimination stages.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

jumpguy wrote: »
    Wow, never saw the Louth game, was just watching the highlights. The attacking of the referee after the game was disgraceful, absolutely disgraceful. That was a horrible 10 minutes for the GAA, first of all the poor quality of the umpires and referee, and secondly because of the fans storming the pitch and attacking the referee.

Awful.

Not the first time this year! http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/hurleyattack-victim-barrett-insists-final-whistle-not-yet-blown-on-career-2143846.html Though that was only club...
    And shur back in the 50's that sort of thing was expected :) Actually my dads reading this ex Waterford hurlers book and he said about how one year the county final went to a replay and there was a pitch invasion at the end of the first game and a big fight between players/ref/supporters. Then the replay 10mins before the end the crowd got a soft free(that could win the game for them) but the supporters went mad and all ran on the pitch (during the game) and went mental then some person opened a gate and let a load of horses onto the pitch!! :P The game was abandoned..
    :confused::confused::confused::confused:
    I have no clue why I told you that, kinda went off track.... If you read it, fair duce! :)
    Tiz a disgrace and all that but really shows how much gaa games mean to people, tiz theyre summer meaning..
    gardai were utter shite, they should have been one at each side and just kept jogging off with him. Or atleast take out a gun a threaten.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

Glad the Netherlands were beaten, they always deserved to lose in my opinion. Made a post about it for you fellow football fans, if anybody wants a bit more discussion. www.seriousfizz.wordpress.com

Really bad behaviour by some louth supporters. But we have to remember that there's always those type in every county :( It happened 2 years ago with the clare/tipp u21 munster final too. The gardai weren't even there barely ffs which annoyed me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Really bad behaviour by some louth supporters. But we have to remember that there's always those type in every county :( It happened 2 years ago with the clare/tipp u21 munster final too. The gardai weren't even there barely ffs which annoyed me tbh.
    Fans should not be allowed storm the pitch. I'm not sure if anyone has been seriously injured already, but tbh, it's a ticking timebomb. It's only a matter of time now.

I'm sure you mean supporters, yea? This rarely happens tbh, all this drama. Running onto the pitch after your team winning a match is an amazing feeling. I would never take that away from the big GAA sporting moments.

edit: and if you watched last years AI finals where they attempted to restrain the crowd from going onto the pitch with barriers and a loooooad of stewards, it still failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭syncosised

The World Cup final was awful, in keeping with the rest of the tournament. Howard Webb did a good job considering the disgraceful play by the Dutch.

Just saw the highlights of the Meath - Louth match. Louth certainly were hard done by, but that behaviour afterwards was inexcusable. Those people should be ashamed of themselves, and I sincerely hope they're never allowed back into a GAA game. People like that aren't real fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Jesus Christ RTE.I dont care about football qualifier highlights :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I'm sure you mean supporters, yea? This rarely happens tbh, all this drama. Running onto the pitch after your team winning a match is an amazing feeling. I would never take that away from the big GAA sporting moments.

The GAA don't want anybody on the pitch after games any more - they said that at the start of the year they wanted to stop pitch invasions and I read recently that they were going to consider legislation to prevent it happening, and I reckon after that, it will happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

syncosised wrote: »
    Howard Webb did a good job considering the disgraceful play by the Dutch.

In fairness, he wasn't great. He gave out loads of yellows yes (and one red), but he was still far too lenient on the Dutch, De Jong's awful tackle on Alonso in particular.

Jesus Christ RTE.I dont care about football qualifier highlights :mad:

I do :D

The GAA don't want anybody on the pitch after games any more - they said that at the start of the year they wanted to stop pitch invasions and I read recently that they were going to consider legislation to prevent it happening, and I reckon after that, it will happen

:(
    Can it wait until Limerick win the AI football title this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

They havnt wanted people on the pitches for almost a decade now.The thing is the only way theyre gonna keep celebrating fans off the pitch is with high fencing but that could cause a crush.Fans will always get onto the pitch when trophys are won

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Stewards didnt try stop people go on the pitch after today, and being a draw you'd expect almost more people to go on, coz both teams would want too..
    Cant justify not letting people go on the pitch after because wheres the line? What about small challenge games were little kids(and me) run onto the pitch to get autographs and shizz? They cant have diff rules for diff games. Not to mention how dangerous it is to try and keep people off the pitch, this was demonstrated last year when "Plan B" had to be taken in the All Ireland.

I know I said earlier attacking the ref isnt completely unheard of but I mean it doesnt happen nearly often enough for it to be a serious problem...It's also a way of teaching him to ref better(relax people...) and like Soccy said the feeling of going on a pitch after the game is really amazing, you feel more involved and its like a gut reaction(like jumping and pumping your fist)
    Really hope it's never properly comes in..

And RTE plzz show the fecking hurling!! I dont care about Down at all :mad:

The problem is with the fans, if they want to get on the pitch, they will.

But they should be civilised enough to know it's idiotic to run on to the pitch after a match.

I always go back to the AI final last year, when they had built a little stage for the Kerry lads, to do a proper trophy presentation, so the entire team to get involved, and the idiots ran on the pitch and ruined it, so it was back into the cramped Hogan.

The problem won't go until the fans' mindset changes, and that won't happen.

It will come in - there is a committee this year to try and figure out how to do it, and legislation will probably be the only way to do it. And its not just for the AI final, but for all provincial finals

It will come in - there is a committee this year to try and figure out how to do it, and legislation will probably be the only way to do it.

Snipers in the stands is the only way to do it :p