Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any of you hate dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

wes wrote: »
    I second this.

It may not be perfect, but its home.
    WTF are you talking about? It IS perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭HarryPalmer

rossie1977 wrote: »
    ...dublin is alot smaller than london, paris, berlin or madrid...

Agreed, the low population density is a key factor to how things have developed. Then again, the country as a whole is only recently working its way from social repression. Give it twenty years, and Dublin might be cool. Unless of course, the government fcuks it up. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Orizio wrote: »
    Dublin is a hole. More then that, its an embarassment to the Irish nation and surely the most pathetic 'European' capital in existence. To think Dublin is where many tourists get their impression of Ireland and the Irish people...:(

Objectively, I find it hard to see how anyone could say they would rather live in Dublin then in Galway, or Cork, or Waterford etc.

Id reckon the capital of Moldova is a bigger dump than Dublin.

As for being objective, I could manage living in Waterford. Probably even Cork (though Iv never been)

But Galway? I would quite honestly rather be dead. What a kip. If the English offered us the north back in return for one western county....pfft, Galway, take it please. It hasnt ever even contributed anything- for a county of its population size I cant think of one prominent war of independance republican nor one national capped footballer from the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I love Dublin.

There's days where I'd literaly just walk around town(That's Dublin City Centre for all you uncivilised folk :p) and just look at the different parts of the city and what goes on in it.... I don't think I'll ever love another city like I love Dubin. Maybe it's because it's where I've lived all my life but there's just little things that make it special to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

much harder to tell unmarked garda cars in dublin :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    Live here and fcukin' hate it. Moving at the end of the summer. Really don't like that people and culture* all that much either. Everyone's so rude, especially in clubs, girls just push by and hardly ever say excuse me or anything.

*Culture being getting hammered!

Mr Frost it seems from this post and other posts that your bad experiences of Dublin comes down to clubs. I'd hazzard a guess and tell you that 95% of Dubs agree with you on this point. I certainly do!

I love Dublin for all the reasons mentioned

-proximity to almost everything - city, sea, mountains
    -choice, convienience and variety for almost everything
    -its easy to take a break from it too, cheap weekends from Dub airport to european cities, or after an hours drive you're smack bam in Glendalough etc
    -dublin pubs and town (always bumping into people you dont expect to, and I agree with Bluebell Grafton St is magic at Christmas)
    -dublin humour ( standing on hill 16 during a dubs match is 50 million times more entertaining than anything I've ever experienced)
    -the sense of anonymity if you feel like it.

I dont like the cost of living or fair city!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

shane86 wrote: »
    Id reckon the capital of Moldova is a bigger dump than Dublin.

As for being objective, I could manage living in Waterford. Probably even Cork (though Iv never been)

But Galway? I would quite honestly rather be dead. What a kip. If the English offered us the north back in return for one western county....pfft, Galway, take it please. It hasnt ever even contributed anything- for a county of its population size I cant think of one prominent war of independance republican nor one national capped footballer from the place.

I wont bother getting into a discussion about nationalsim with you but i sense you are living in the past and at its obvious you dont know to what you are talking about! As regards culture and contributions again you are not very well informed!!

Guess its a question of taste and attitude. BTW thanks you have just demonstrated the prevailing attitude of dubs that i dislike so much. Get the impression wouldnt know genuine culture if it came up and waved to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I'm from Dublin and I've lived in Dublin most of my life and I have never met anyone that considers someone from outside of Dublin as 'backwards'! Have Dublin people actually said this to you or is it just some kind of inferiority complex manifesting itself/some kind of self-perpetuated insecurity?

Eh, WTF? :rolleyes:
    Thanks for the free psychological analysis but believe me, I have no insecurities about where I'm from and don't consider myself anyway inferior (or superior) to others just because I'm not from Dublin.

I don't actually know anyone from Dublin, I'm just going by things that I've read or heard other people say. Like I said, I do love Dublin and I'm sure most of the people are grand, and I have no problem with banter and people slagging off other counties for a laugh but when they actually mean it and believe it then they're just twats. It's that attitude I hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

jaffa20 wrote: »
    I'm just sick of it to be honest. There is no more atmosphere. I hate the expense of overpriced rent for just living close to work. As soon as i have my full license, i am out of here and moving to the country. I'd rather avoid overcrowded, overpriced, over knackery dublin life. It just has become so depressing in recent years. Sorry for generalising but this is really for those who just live in dublin because they work here. If i was offered the same job in the country,i would take it like that to avoid all the hustle and bussle of the mundane and repetition of living in a never ending cycle. :(:P:D

Hate it? With every fiber of my being

Cant wait to go home

Not a generalization, just my particular experience. Plenty to like about it, and there certainly are worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

It hasnt ever even contributed anything- for a county of its population size I cant think of one prominent war of independance republican nor one national capped footballer from the place.

When you hop off the scuzz bus/train from Dublin at the station in Galway, lift you head up from the soccer pages of the redtop you are reading. Look up at the sign over the station.

Galway City's Ceannt Station, is named in honour of Éamonn Ceannt. He was born in Ballymoe, County Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    I wont bother getting into a discussion about nationalsim with you but i sense you are living in the past and at its obvious you dont know to what you are talking about! As regards culture and contributions again you are not very well informed!!

Guess its a question of taste and attitude. BTW thanks you have just demonstrated the prevailing attitude of dubs that i dislike so much. Get the impression wouldnt know genuine culture if it came up and waved to you

he was in galway once and it rained (look back on previous posts) and now he thinks galway is the worst place on planet earth :rolleyes: the train back to dublin stopped in athlone and it past by st mels, he thinks athlone is now second worst place on earth :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

there are 7 signatures on the Proclamation of the Republic and one of them is a galway man eamonn ceannt

back on topic, dublin doesn't have any famous sites as such, nothing to rival the eiffel tower, Arc de Triomphe, tower bridge, buckingham palace, colosseum, vatician, rialto bridge, brandenburg gate or sagrada familia, nothing even to rival secondary sights like tv tower in berlin, 25 de Abril Bridge in lisbon or the Commerzbank Tower in Frankfurt

most people visit dublin for a pissup, galway imo offers as much and more to the tourist, e.g. it is close to aran islands, connemara and west coast of clare

somebody really needs to take the bull by the horns and make dublin more tourist friendly and give tourists coming here other options, they could start by building europes largest themepark (yes it could work blackpool works), they could build a las vegas style mega casino/resort. there is loads of things that could be done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

mikom wrote: »
    When you hop off the scuzz bus/train from Dublin at the station in Galway, lift you head up from the soccer pages of the redtop you are reading. Look up at the sign over the station.

Galway City's Ceannt Station, is named in honour of Éamonn Ceannt. He was born in Ballymoe, County Galway.

meh, one. Corkmen did alot more :)

I hope I never have reason to go to Galway again anyway.
    rossie1977 wrote: »
    he was in galway once and it rained (look back on previous posts) and now he thinks galway is the worst place on planet earth :rolleyes:

4 times actually. But nevermind them, Im not sure I have ever seen Galway look good weatherwise on tv. Every time RTE goes out there the odd weekend to report on some fatal stabbing your first impression is "jesus what a lonely place to die in".

But what I am saying is that Galway sells itself to the foreign folk with a begorrah begorrah diddley aye sense of "culture", either that or marketing itself as the home of bearded chin stroking travelling troubadours and general artistes from all over Europe. It is incredibly cheesy and I cant understand how anyone can live there with the weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Overdeveloped council estate. Poor excuse for a capital city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Looks like the weekly culchie AH rant is now focusing on hating Dublin because it's busy and expensive. Well if the migrants from the bog all moved home it'd be less busy and expensive.

What's the difference between a Pole complaining about Ireland and a non-Dub complaining about the capital?

If it's so bad stop living here. Even the culchie dominated public/civil servants didn't buy into the plans to relocate them back to their wonderful rural roots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

dolliemix wrote: »
    Mr. Frost wrote: »
    Live here and fcukin' hate it. Moving at the end of the summer. Really don't like that people and culture* all that much either. Everyone's so rude, especially in clubs, girls just push by and hardly ever say excuse me or anything.

*Culture being getting hammered!

Mr Frost it seems from this post and other posts that your bad experiences of Dublin comes down to clubs. I'd hazzard a guess and tell you that 95% of Dubs agree with you on this point. I certainly do!

I love Dublin for all the reasons mentioned

-proximity to almost everything - city, sea, mountains
    -choice, convienience and variety for almost everything
    -its easy to take a break from it too, cheap weekends from Dub airport to european cities, or after an hours drive you're smack bam in Glendalough etc
    -dublin pubs and town (always bumping into people you dont expect to, and I agree with Bluebell Grafton St is magic at Christmas)
    -dublin humour ( standing on hill 16 during a dubs match is 50 million times more entertaining than anything I've ever experienced)
    -the sense of anonymity if you feel like it.

I dont like the cost of living or fair city!

Yeah I suppose it's the people in that kind of social setting that bothers me. Again, I do like it for all of the above reasons, which I guess does outweigh the other elements. I guess those elements were just on my mind at the time! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Looks like the weekly culchie AH rant is now focusing on hating Dublin because it's busy and expensive. Well if the migrants from the bog all moved home it'd be less busy and expensive.

What's the difference between a Pole complaining about Ireland and a non-Dub complaining about the capital?

If it's so bad stop living here. Even the culchie dominated public/civil servants didn't buy into the plans to relocate them back to their wonderful rural roots.

If you get to generalise people criticising the place as culchies do I get to call you a skanger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Sometimes I hate it, but usually I love it. The only thing that really bothers me is that sometimes it's such an effort to get basic shopping done. Fighting crowds and having to go to 10 different stores for 10 things. If I stay in Ireland I'll probably move more towards the outskirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There are many Dubliners who love Dublin but regardless of were you live, we all ... most of us I am sure, if giving the choice of our locality would always choose somewere different /better/cleaner / nicer to live . :)

4 times actually. But nevermind them, Im not sure I have ever seen Galway look good weatherwise on tv. Every time RTE goes out there the odd weekend to report on some fatal stabbing your first impression is "jesus what a lonely place to die in".

enough about the weather, i lived there long enough to know that galway city weather is not that bad, my native roscommon weather is far worse and as for donegal where i spent a large part of my childhood....

i was in berlin for new years and it was -10C at night and -5C during the day with heavy snow, i didn't base what i think of the city on the freaking weather, neither did i think differently of chicago when was -20C or paris when it rained for a full week while i was there. and yes galway has plenty of great sunny days, off the top of my head while i was living there is the connaught final about 3 years back, it was 29C with no cloud in the sky or the bryan adams gigs in pearse stadium in june of 2006, really sunny warm day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Dublin is more expensive, but then again wages tend to be higher. And we could say the same about North v South. The Republic is being ripped off but that isnt a reason for us to hate our homes! Roads, HSE, schools etc is not a Dublin problem. Thats a problem with the government that affects the whole country. Most Dublin people hate the things about it that other people hate like the skangers on buses and the pj wearers. But there are skangers in every town in Ireland. There are no real valid points here..

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

I find dublin to be too big and galway too small.Cork is just the right size it combines big city atmosphere with a homely small town feel.I would pick dublin over Limerick though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No, don't hate Dublin - but then again, don't hate North Pole either.
    Don't want to live in either though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

can't stand Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I can't understand anyone saying they hate Dublin. I can understand people being able to identify aspects of a city that they dislike. I think some people confuse being an interesting person with holding strong opinions.

Dublin is grand, as is Belfast, Cork, Galway, Cork and Waterford. Each have their individual problems but name me a city in the world that doesn't.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Dublin is grand, it's just a lot of the people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Dublin is fine. It's like any other place whereby you have places you do and don't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

dublin's a dump

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thanks God there is more to Ireland than Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

jaffa20 wrote: »
    I'm just sick of it to be honest. There is no more atmosphere. I hate the expense of overpriced rent for just living close to work. As soon as i have my full license, i am out of here and moving to the country. I'd rather avoid overcrowded, overpriced, over knackery dublin life. It just has become so depressing in recent years. Sorry for generalising but this is really for those who just live in dublin because they work here. If i was offered the same job in the country,i would take it like that to avoid all the hustle and bussle of the mundane and repetition of living in a never ending cycle. :(:P:D

I live down the country. Its full of pikeys, bad smelling pubs and mad traffic going to work into Dublin and bad traffic leaving Dublin after work. On the upside your rent *might* go down only to pay more fuel/time in traffic....

congo_90 wrote: »
    I live down the country. Its full of pikeys, bad smelling pubs and mad traffic going to work into Dublin and bad traffic leaving Dublin after work. On the upside your rent *might* go down only to pay more fuel/time in traffic....

yeah the roads in roscommon/mayo/leitrim/donegal are full of "mad traffic going to work into Dublin and bad traffic leaving Dublin after work"

down the country doesn't mean leixlip or maynooth :P