Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

X Factor 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I usually just watch the auditions, most entertaining part IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Good to see the mentally challenged get some tv time.

Yeah, usually seeing people this retarded means charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Good to see the mentally challenged get some tv time.

on both sides of the glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

X Factor auditions are sheer quality. Watching it now. Nearly cried with laughter at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Roses are red

X Factor auditions are very funny worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Who cares about the singing, Dermot O'Leary is hot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭rejkin

who actually won it last time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

That Leon guy wasn't it?!!:confused:

Yeah, Leon, so my sister says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

leon lewis is doing very well isn't she? i predict the black guy (house husband) will win,

see the former finalist who kept on mention he was there with cheryl trying to guilt her into voting for him, twat.

see holly willbourough on tv3 extra:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

tell a sob story when auditioning
    dont be fat and ugly
    win the series
    have a christmas number 1
    never be heard of again
    the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

The G/F is addicted to this crapola, however..

Danni, Cheryl and Fern REALLY ease the pain of watching.

Every year brings the same oul same oul...

"Ive been singing since I was Fetus, It's all I ever wanted to do"
    "Please Simon"
    "I'll be a success on my own"
    "I'm doing it for me mam"

The worst is the sob-stories *while a soft ballad plays in the backround*, of the single mother, whose kids stab her in the face on a daily basis, whose never tasted a MARS Bar, who was bullied (thats a given), prison, alcohol, drugs. Throw in some prostitution and bake for 45mins on Gas Mark 6...Queue the audition...awed silence...3 yeses and *The music Drops in and makes us all weep* (I weep nearly every time cos the song is usually a westlife number*....Meet my friend PAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

I loved these guys
    080816_g_antandseb.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

Steve Brookstein won the first one in 2004 didn't get anywhere as one of the other judges said he looked like Fred West,

Shayne Ward won in 2005 he still is around

Leona Lewis won in 2006 she is still around

Leon Jackson won in 2007 his album is out in November why is it taken so long Leon the other 2 winners had more number 1s than you you just had a christmas no. 1 and then ya went hidding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

d1975 wrote: »
    Steve Brookstein won the first one in 2004 didn't get anywhere as one of the other judges said he looked like Fred West,

Shayne Ward won in 2005 he still is around

Leona Lewis won in 2006 she is still around

Leon Jackson won in 2007 his album is out in November why is it taken so long Leon the other 2 winners had more number 1s than you you just had a christmas no. 1 and then ya went hidding

Leona Lewis went missing for a while. And that was done on purpose. Look at her now. She's sold millions. Maybe they're doing the same thing with Leon Jackson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

Did you see Dannii face even my kids mentioned it looked like plastic.Then Cheryl looks really pretty.She even disappeared for a while as there was only 3 judges she must have went and got more work done as her face looked to smooth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Namesco wrote: »
    I loved these guys
    080816_g_antandseb.jpg
    Aw in fairness, the guy who sang wasn't too bad. The other bloke ruined his chances. He. Was. Hilarious. Definitely not the full shilling...

I love the way they say stuff like "I'm gonna be bigger than Madonna". Not "I'd like to be as big as Madonna". Fantastic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I think most of it is set up.
    I bet half the bad ones are actors.
    Really like the audition part (apart from the sob stories), I don't like the live show much though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭gordon_gekko

the x factor is 1st and foremost a tv show for itv , 2ndly a vechile for simon cowell to find and launch a new product for xmas and perhaps more

the freaks who can sing are tottally exploited , the reason they are is those people have been put though 2 previous rounds in front of producers of the show , not the 3 tv presenters , i know this because my sister auditioned , simon and co only turn up a few days later and only get to see about a tenth of the total number of people who audition , the freaks have there hopes built up by being put through , for entertainment purposes of course , always makes my angry when you see simon insincerly ask why did someone who clearly cant carry a note turn up for auditions when he knows damm well they were given the green light in 2 previous rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Namesco wrote: »
    I loved these guys
    080816_g_antandseb.jpg
    If I get that video again in an e-mail, I may literally eat my own head!

It was very funny but oh so staged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

basquille wrote: »
    If I get that video again in an e-mail, I may literally eat my own head!

It was very funny but oh so staged!

And the stoopid cut scene of Simon walking through the lobby past the guys was assinine. The camera just happened to be following Simon through the main lobby.....me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

I think this show operates primarily to earn serious money for serious assholes at the expense of the average wannabe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Its not the same without Sharon O.

I dont understand why Danni and Cheryl are judges

Actually i dont miss Sharon as she was to much of a primadonna always throwing a hissy fit when she didnt get her own way.I understand Cheryl being a judge as she has experience,thats the way she found fame and she is still in one of the biggest girlgroups.So she knows what the contestants are going through.But Dannii is another kettle of fish i just dont understand why she is a judge,her singing career[i use that term loosely]never really took off and as far as i know she really hasnt had a hit in years.I dont know maybe Simon thought she was prettty to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Danii really doesnt add anything to the show in my opinion. Replace her with a wax work and you prob wouldnt notice the difference. Cheryl seems to have a bit of personality at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Auditions are funny but I hate how fake and sentimental it gets afterwards.#
    Can they not have just one contestant who's a good singer, goes on to win and says "I did this all for myself. For the money and the fame."

If you haven't had some personal tragedy, you're not good enough.

X Factor hopeful Alan Turner has been accused of lying to the judges at his audition.

The 23-year-old aspiring singer claimed that he had been in foster care since the age of four and was desperate to prove himself to his real parents.

"I'd just love it if they were to get in touch with me and to say they did want to see me," Alan explained on Saturday night's show. "I know it sounds a bit corny but I just want a real family - to know my real mam and real dad and just for them to say we love you no matter what."

The wannabe's father Alan Turner Snr has admitted that he is stunned by the story his son told on the show - as they spoke just five weeks ago.

"He has not been fostered. I have never signed any papers to have him fostered," Alan told The Mirror. "I was sat watching The X Factor when my son came on. I was shocked because I'd no idea he was on the show.

"I was even more shocked when I heard him say he had been fostered and wanted to find out who his real mum and dad were. I only spoke to him five weeks ago. I don't want to make a big deal about this because I don't want to cause problems for him - but the fact is he has told a lie. He's made himself look a bit of a clot."

Mr. Turner confirmed that he split from Alan's mother Debbie when his son was 18 months old and Alan was then brought up by his grandmother. Although they have not seen each other for five years, Turner claimed that he speaks to his son regularly on the phone.

"He calls me dad and always has. I'm baffled as to why he would say this in front of millions of people on telly," he said. "If he wants my support then I'm there."

I really hate when they tell a sob story for sympathy

that alan turner guy was hot

I thought he looked like a pikey.

The sob stories get on my tits big time, I doubt he was the only one lying.

A bitchy war of words has broken out between X Factor judges Louis Walsh and Dannii Minogue.
    Louis claims the Aussie singer can't hit a note and has had plastic surgery.
    Dannii says he is like Dick Dastardly from 70s cartoon Wacky Races and he only gets attention by "sla**ing" her off.
    She told Closer magazine: "If it were the Wacky Races, Simon would be Muttley, Louis would be Dick Dastardly and I'd be Penelope Pitstop. They're always trying to say something to put me off."
    Dannii said: "He claimed that I ignored him and Sharon on last year's X Factor, and that I only talk to Simon. Er, no!"

Louis said: "Simon and Dannii have both had more (surgery) done since last year. I'm the only judge who's had nothing done."
    An insider said: "We're worried there's going to be a huge bust-up."

Let the war of words commence again

next saturday last of audition week then its boot camp

I really think Danni is on the way out she not at all of the auditions even

JP Liz wrote: »
    next saturday last of audition week then its boot camp

I really think Danni is on the way out she not at all of the auditions even
    Shes to busy getting plastic surgery,look at her face not a line on it ans its looks so shiny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭GeturGun

Can they not have just one contestant who's a good singer, goes on to win and says "I did this all for myself. For the money and the fame."

Totally agree, i haven't watched the auditions at all this year cos all this sob story stuff gets so boring.
    You should get through on your talent, not becuase of emotional blackmail

Britney Spears is set to appear on the latest series of The X Factor, according to newspaper reports.
    But no, she hasn't fallen so far that she has to audition for a place in front of Simon and co - instead she is expected to make an appearance on the show in December to promote her new album.
    The X Factor slot will mark Britney's first visit to the UK in four years and will see her perform her new single Womanizer.
    Since last appearing in the UK, Britney has been divorced, married, divorced again, had two kids, been involved in a custody battle for the kids and shaved her head. Phew.
    Her last high-profile music appearance was at last year's MTV music awards which was widely criticized due to her sloppy dancing and out of time lip-syncing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Damn, some girl just on who said she lost 18 and a half stone in 2 years, I didn't think that was possible in such a short yime span.:eek:

Thought it was complete crap myself.. didn't she say she had no surgery? She would have shown signs of excess skin on arms (etc.).. Call me a cynic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Damn, some girl just on who said she lost 18 and a half stone in 2 years, I didn't think that was possible in such a short yime span.:eek:

But she had pictures of a really really really fat girl that looked nothing like the girl at the audition and a more recent photo that was most definitely her, so it is obvious that she did lose all that weight...

...Unless she just found a photo of a fat girl, claimed it was her self and is a somewhat convincing liar.

But she had pictures of a really really really fat girl that looked nothing like the girl at the audition and a more recent photo that was most definitely her, so it is obvious that she did lose all that weight...

...Unless she just found a photo of a fat girl, claimed it was her self and is a somewhat convincing liar.

Now that would be pure idiocy and naivety on the auditionee's part. The rags would have the exlusive by Monday.:pac:
    Originally posted by basquille
    Thought it was complete crap myself.. didn't she say she had no surgery? She would have shown signs of excess skin on arms (etc.).. Call me a cynic!

Yep she said she had no surgery. Well, fair play to her but as I said above, if she's lying, it won't take the rags long to break the story.

On a side note, I know that it "adds" to the whole feeling of the show, but all these sob stories are starting to wear thin on me. It's a sad thing to say but it's gotten to the stage that I think that each contestant who use's these sob stories are well aware that it will enchance their chances in the show. Now that's cynical.:p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I found there were less sob stories this year than usual. Apparently Simon Cowell said to tone it down a little. A lot of the X Factor is very contrived but I doubt there's any actors on it pretending to be auditionees- surely the papers would have that sussed.

Was there any Irish auditions at all?

I'm not sure. There were a good few Irish over in the Scotland auditions I read somwhere so I don't think there were audiions here.

Nope, no Irish auditions this year AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

FUNNIEST AUDITION OF 2008! id have to give it to the pair of fellas, one was singing the other was doing the voice like shaggy...... 'ant and seb'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkKaTeWI3KM

GORGEOUS Dannii Minogue is spicing up the X Factor by bringing in Emma Bunton as her judging sidekick.

The Aussie told TV Biz that Baby Spice, 32, has been a godsend when it comes to deciding which wannabes to put through.

Dannii, 36, who is putting the over-25 hopefuls through their paces at her rented pad in the ritzy French resort of St Tropez, said: “She’s been brilliant — one of the best X Factor guest judges ever.

"She really helped me focus on who we should be putting through to the next round.”

The beauty added: “Emma is one of the biggest X Factor fans so she knows the show inside out.”

Each of the ITV1 hit’s four judges is allowed to pick a trusty aide to help them weed out weaker contestants during singing boot camps at the stars’ homes.

And Dannii revealed that she is finding the process heart-breaking.

She admitted: “It’s so hard deciding who to put through and who to send home because it means the world to these people.

“You’re sitting there and you’re in charge of these kids’ hopes and dreams.”

Meanwhile just up the French Riviera’s coast, in Cannes, Cheryl Cole, 25, has turned to Girls Aloud bandmate Kimberley Walsh, 26, to pick the best of the girls’ category.

Fellow judge Louis Walsh, 56, has picked Westlife singer Shane Filan, 29, as his helper.

The singer has flown out to Louis’ Irish home to give his advice on the shortlist.

And Simon Cowell, 48, has regular sidekick Sinitta, 41, to help him whittle down the lads’ category at his home in Barbados.

Dannii revealed her Baby signing as Britney Spears, 26, put pen to paper to perform on the show — just as The Sun predicted.

Simon Cowell said: “We’re absolutely thrilled to have her.

“Everyone wants to work with her because she’s a star. She’s the number one booking in the world at the moment for a show.”

Television’s Mr Nasty added: “The fact that she goes a bit crazy occasionally makes her more interesting. And if she wants to shave her head before she comes on the show, she’s welcome to. I don’t care.”

Britney is just one of a star-studded line-up set for guest performances on the talent quest.

Leona Lewis, 23, will return to the show which made her name when she won the series in 2006.

Last year’s winner Leon Jackson, 19, is also coming back to showcase his new single.

And Girls Aloud are rumoured to be making an appearance.

Meanwhile, Dannii has said she wants Michael Jackson, 50, to join them, alongside Cher, 62, and

Jennifer Aniston’s ex, US blues singer John Mayer, 30

So Cheryl has Girls Category, Simon Boys Category, Louis has bands and Danni over 25s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

So Cheryl has Girls Category, Simon Boys Category, Louis has bands and Danni over 25s

I could have sworn Cheryl had the bands, but am probably wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

FUNNIEST AUDITION OF 2008! id have to give it to the pair of fellas, one was singing the other was doing the voice like shaggy...... 'ant and seb'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkKaTeWI3KM

HA HA, you can never get tired of watching that. What a pair of tools. Easily the best audition in the show, I reckon they should sing in the next Eurovision.

Oh well, auditions are over, time to stop watching X-Factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

On the contrary, Its only getting good now. Some of the categories are very hard to call, especially the girls. The bands are all awful barring the JLS fellas. They are quite good.

My early prediction for winner is Austin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Smileylynz

The final 12 were leaked but I cant seem to locate who they are.

Anyone know ??

Now we just want to let you know that this list of X Factor finalists is NOT OFFICIALLY CONFIRMED, but there have been many predictions on forums all over the UK by those claiming to be ‘in the know’. I bet that at least some of them are right!
    Is there anyone you think should be there or anyone in the final twelve that you don’t like? As always let us know in the comments box below.
    Anyone who doesn’t want to know who will be on the X Factor live shows stop reading now

Cheryl Cole - Girls 14-24
    * Diana Vickers
    * Alexandra Burke
    * Laura White
    Simon Cowell - Boys 14-24
    * Scott Bruton
    * Eoghan Quigg
    * Austin Drage
    Dannii Minogue - Over 25s
    * Rachel Hylton
    * Danny Evans
    * Suzie Furlonger
    Louis Walsh - Groups
    * Bad Lashes
    * GirlBand
    * JLS

Now we just want to let you know that this list of X Factor finalists is NOT OFFICIALLY CONFIRMED, but there have been many predictions on forums all over the UK by those claiming to be ‘in the know’. I bet that at least some of them are right!
    Is there anyone you think should be there or anyone in the final twelve that you don’t like? As always let us know in the comments box below.
    Anyone who doesn’t want to know who will be on the X Factor live shows stop reading now

Cheryl Cole - Girls 14-24
    * Diana Vickers
    * Alexandra Burke
    * Laura White
    Simon Cowell - Boys 14-24
    * Scott Bruton
    * Eoghan Quigg
    * Austin Drage
    Dannii Minogue - Over 25s
    * Rachel Hylton
    * Danny Evans
    * Suzie Furlonger
    Louis Walsh - Groups
    * Bad Lashes
    * GirlBand
    * JLS

Yeah..that sounds about right. I'm going to take a punt and say Diana Vickers or Eoghan Quigg will win. I feel that though Laura White is very good, she is slightly overrated and her bootcamp performances were poor. I honestly couldn't understand a word of one of the songs she was singing.

I'd like to think Rachel Hylton has a real genuine shot, but I can't help but be suspicious that they are setting her up for a fall. They are concentrating on her "attitude problem" so they can produce perfect car crash tv.

The groups again are awful and again another act that is overrated with JLS. They haven't got the strength in their voice to be powerful or smooth, a poor man's BoyzIIMen and Motown act. They'll go the same way as Eton Road, lured into a false sense of security by Walsh to be eventually discarded once the hype subsides(I'm embarassed that I remember that name).

Just my 2 cents.:p