Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

What characteristics/skills are required to be a top Garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Hi all! I just received an e-mail from public jobs saying that we can re-register for notification of upcoming recruitment campaigns, however I re-registered a couple of weeks ago before receiving this email, and received a confirmation of registration from PAS in my messages. Just wondering, do any of ye know if this would mean that I'm registered onto the upgraded system, or would I still need to register again? I'm a bit confused!! :o Thanks!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭holdfast

is there an age extension for anyone serving in the army from 35

• Registered Users Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

do you mean can you apply when your over 35?

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭dunner515

I'm registered onto the upgraded system, or would I still need to register again? I'm a bit confused!! :o Thanks!!

Hi streetangel

Ye I was in the same boat as yourself but a friend told me that he registered again so I did to just to be on the safe side and when you try to register again and its says this email account is already in our system means your safe and you will not need to re-register

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

dunner515 wrote: »
    Hi streetangel

Ye I was in the same boat as yourself but a friend told me that he registered again so I did to just to be on the safe side and when you try to register again and its says this email account is already in our system means your safe and you will not need to re-register

Thanks a mill dunner515,
    I tried to register again the other day and it said my user name was already taken, so I'm probably fine in that case...I'll try it again this evening just to double double check!! Thanks again!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭ondarack

just got a call to do my physical test on the 15th of dec, im delighted. i have watched the video but its still hard to tell how easy or hard it is to complete in the given timeframe

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭dylmeister

That's brilliant news fair play to you don't worry about time frame they'll keep you updated as you're going around the course, you will fly it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

ondarack wrote: »
    just got a call to do my physical test on the 15th of dec, im delighted. i have watched the video but its still hard to tell how easy or hard it is to complete in the given timeframe

Congrats ondarack :D:D.Good to hear that PCT's are going ahead anyway. Dont worry about the test itself its a walk in the park you will be fine. best of luck with it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

mufc4lfe wrote: »
    What characteristics/skills are required to be a top Garda?

a brown noser would be a good start

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

Ah that ball is rolling again! Excellent stuff.

The PCT is grand! Seriously, nothing to worry about, the hardest thing about the day is finding the place :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

well done ondarack you will do it with ease!:):D
    do you mind me asking which recruitment drive and batch were you in??

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭ondarack

podsieboy wrote: »
    well done ondarack you will do it with ease!:):D
    do you mind me asking which recruitment drive and batch were you in??

may 08 batch2, i was 1 of the lucky 1's that got the call for the meds in sept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Celtic07

pct is grand, you dont need a high level of fitness to pass it. very straight forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭CuteStuff

Its great to hear that they are running a PCT this month!!! Lets hope this means they want an intake in!!! Trust me, when you get in, you will love it, especially Phase 2!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭dylmeister

Hey cutestuff do you thnk there will be an intake soon? I've everything done since April hate waitin but what can ya do? What phase are you in now? How many is down in the college now tranin? Heard alot of the teachers are now out workin or were told to get ready to go out working?

I'm in phase 2 now. I haven't a clue if there will be an intake soon. I really wish someone was able to answer the guys that are still waiting. It's just so unfair. I count my lucky stars that I got in when I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jw93

Hi lads,

I'm 16 and I've always wanted to join the AGS. I'm in transition year at the moment and I wont have much spare time next year between socialising;) and study(Well hopefully I'll get my arse in gear :D). I want to go to College when I finish school but my aim is to join the gards so my plan is to go to College and if a recruitment campaign happens while I'm in College I'll be the first one on the phone booking my aptitude :p. I'll be eligable to join in August 2012 and I want to be as prepared as possible so I'm basically wondering what can I be doing between now and then to better my chances of getting in I'm willing to do anything?

Thanks a million,
    Jack

jw93 wrote: »
    Hi lads,

I'm 16 and I've always wanted to join the AGS. I'm in transition year at the moment and I wont have much spare time next year between socialising;) and study(Well hopefully I'll get my arse in gear :D). I want to go to College when I finish school but my aim is to join the gards so my plan is to go to College and if a recruitment campaign happens while I'm in College I'll be the first one on the phone booking my aptitude :p. I'll be eligable to join in August 2012 and I want to be as prepared as possible so I'm basically wondering what can I be doing between now and then to better my chances of getting in I'm willing to do anything?

Thanks a million,
    Jack

Hi Jack
    Keep relatively fit, don't get into trouble and maybe a bit of voluntary work. Its not essential but it would look good for you. You are lucky, you have lots of time on your side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jw93

Hi Jack
    Keep relatively fit, don't get into trouble and maybe a bit of voluntary work. Its not essential but it would look good for you. You are lucky, you have lots of time on your side.

Thanks CuteStuff, what sort of voluntary work would look best: voluntary work with intellectually disabled people in the local area or the Simon Community?

Thanks again,
    Jack

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

DID THE BUDGET HELP US ANY??????

Mark37 wrote: »
    DID THE BUDGET HELP US ANY??????

Nope, moratorium still applies but you can look forward to a further 5-7.5% cut on wages if you do get in

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

http://www.budget.gov.ie/Budgets/2010/Documents/Estimates%20Book%202010.pdf

Page 42

INTERVIEW AND MISCELLANEOUS COMPETITION COSTS : -56% down to €405,000

ACCOMMODATION, ADVERTISING AND PURCHASING
    AND PRINTING OF TEST PAPERS : -74% down to €289,000

Just thought these two are quite relevant to those of us waiting to apply, and to the people waiting in current campaign.

eroo wrote: »
    http://www.budget.gov.ie/Budgets/2010/Documents/Estimates%20Book%202010.pdf

Page 42

INTERVIEW AND MISCELLANEOUS COMPETITION COSTS : -56% down to €405,000

ACCOMMODATION, ADVERTISING AND PURCHASING
    AND PRINTING OF TEST PAPERS : -74% down to €289,000

Just thought these two are quite relevant to those of us waiting to apply, and to the people waiting in current campaign.

Good find.

Hard to tell what it means.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭jos28

The reduction in Public service pay will have more Gardai running for the resignation forms. I reckon there will be even more retirements announced before 31st Dec.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Good find.

Hard to tell what it means.

Going on those figures, I would be hopeful that the people in the system would be cleared through. €405,000 would be enough I would hope.

As for prospects of Garda recruitment on the 2nd figure, it does not look good at all unfortunately. However, the Minister for Finance could put money in if he desired to, as already stated!

Chin up folks!

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭kojack

If you go to page 48 of the report and look at the actual garda figures the salary allowance is only dropping by 0.18% so I'd think that the government might just push through the people stuck in the system.

jw93 wrote: »
    Thanks CuteStuff, what sort of voluntary work would look best: voluntary work with intellectually disabled people in the local area or the Simon Community?

Thanks again,
    Jack

Anything that gets you involved with your community would look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 SarahJaneLouise

Hiya Jack ! I'm in your shoes too !
    I've been bursting to join the Gardai since I was 13 yrs of age ! I done work experience in Dundalk Garda St. last year and a Garda there I was chatting to told me she was in the Civil Defence & the FCA (Army Reserve) for 2 yrs and she had no problems getting into templemore. Straight away I applied to Civil Defence and got in ! Unforunately the Defence Forces aren't recruiting at the moment but she really recommended CD and It's So Easy To Get In. Just ring the Headquarters or Pop In .. It's on Wolf Tone key (near to Houston St.) if your in Dublin. Tony is the recruiting officer so ask for him and he'll give ya all the details about any induction nights and dates and all that.
    Hope that's some sort of help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 dowdy.87

kojack wrote: »
    If you go to page 48 of the report and look at the actual garda figures the salary allowance is only dropping by 0.18% so I'd think that the government might just push through the people stuck in the system.
    hi, do you no how many people have sat the interview for the guards at the moment and are waiting to be called??