Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭conno3001

Sorry ... I wasn't having a go at you ... I've read your posts on it and they've all been correct. However, there really isn't any ambiguity in what it says on the Garda website. All it takes is that everyone takes the time to read it properly.

It wasn't a case of anyone not reading the requirments properly, it was a case of misinterpretation.

Or

Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

This could be misinterpreted easily. For example, anyone could believe this states any educational grade higher than the leaving cert itself, such as a degree.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I agree with you conno3001. I'd say it leaves a few people confused. I mean it pretty much leaves you to guess what the Minister's opinion would be.
    conno3001 wrote: »

Or

Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

This could be misinterpreted easily. For example, anyone could believe this states any educational grade higher than the leaving cert itself, such as a degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 GoingBk2School

Yes maybe ... but I don't know many degrees that would cover the various topics required by the LC requirements. Even if you have a degree in, say, Law, it's not going to give you English or Irish, a second language, maths, and two other LC subjects.

However, one thing should be highlighted is that anyone who wants to know if their foreign qualifications are of equivalent standard needs to contact the National Qualifications Authority ... it's these guys that decide, rather than anyone in Garda recruitment. They won't fully process an application from someone without an LC unless they have a cert from the NQA saying that their qualifications are up to the standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭The Oggmonster

adrianjc20 wrote: »
    Hey Folks,

does this re-registering have anything to do with people who have everything done and waiting to start Templemore ?
    No. A new recruitment system is being set up. The accounts of current users can't be moved over so you have to re-register.

As has been said, when you sign up again, don't forget to put on your job alerts back on so you don't miss any info about jobs coming up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 kingdom lad

Hey lads,
    So we must re-register again with public jobs and apply again for an alert??
    Has anyone an idea when the next alert will be, things not looking very promising waiting since august08 now, thank god im in college nothin else happening at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

I was just listening to the 12 o clock news there on Today FM, and top story was about levels of burgleries, and most other crimes being up on previous years. They said that Commissioner has promised budget preference to frontline policing. I wonder if this will put extra pressure on government to allow another recruitment campaign soon. Wishful thinking on my part, I'm sure, but surely this has to put extra pressure on them, or at least highlight the problem of further possible delays in recruitment campaigns and intakes in Templemore...:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 eilissinead

I was just listening to the 12 o clock news there on Today FM, and top story was about levels of burgleries, and most other crimes being up on previous years. They said that Commissioner has promised budget preference to frontline policing. I wonder if this will put extra pressure on government to allow another recruitment campaign soon. Wishful thinking on my part, I'm sure, but surely this has to put extra pressure on them, or at least highlight the problem of further possible delays in recruitment campaigns and intakes in Templemore...:confused:

God I wish, I hope there are more soon! I was foolish enough to be asked to come ahead years ago and turned it down! (young and foolish).

Yeah, hindsight is a great thing..it'll drive you crazy!!:D but it'll all come around again, like my Dad keeps telling me "all these things go in circles!!":confused:

Pressure must be building to allow another campaign, i would be thinking spring 2010 anyway surely with the gaurds retired. U would wonder do those places could be filled by people waiting since the interview and with medicals done very quickly with such a backlog.
    Must be thousands waiting do for an alert, how does this work then is it first come first served for the aptitude test when an alert occurs???

Pressure must be building to allow another campaign, i would be thinking spring 2010 anyway surely with the gaurds retired. U would wonder do those places could be filled by people waiting since the interview and with medicals done very quickly with such a backlog.
    Must be thousands waiting do for an alert, how does this work then is it first come first served for the aptitude test when an alert occurs???

Ya I wonder are there many left in the system with everything done? I think you have ring to book your aptitute test when the campaign opens, but not 100% sure, i'm sure someone will know that. Also, do we just have to wait for another email from public jobs before we can reregister? because I haven't done anything about re-regestering! :)

I think we will recieve an email wen we can reregister.
    They should defo come up with another way of selecting for the aptitude test as i have registered since early2008 and have heard nothin and now must register again. Must be thousands waitin for a campaign:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

Hey I applied for the gardai in 2008, passed everything but neglected to mention a conviction i had for careless driving, young and stupid as they say... Anyway I have to do everything all over again and I'm wondering will there be another recruitment happening any time soon, dont they have a back log of people who passed there tests waiting to get in? Thanks to anyone who can help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

daithi09 wrote: »
    Hey I applied for the gardai in 2008, passed everything but neglected to mention a conviction i had for careless driving, young and stupid as they say... Anyway I have to do everything all over again and I'm wondering will there be another recruitment happening any time soon, dont they have a back log of people who passed there tests waiting to get in? Thanks to anyone who can help.

why did you neglect to mention this conviction? Surely you knew it would show up on any check they did on you?

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

Well there was a bit of confusion on my part, I had to go to court, the judge just give me a fine for 200euro. I then went to the courthouse to get my license endorsed but they said I didnt get the conviction, just a fine... So applying I didnt mention the conviction because I didnt think I had it but apparently its down on my record with the gardai..I'm still confused about the whole thing, I'd imagine someone in the court house got it wrong... So the super of my local station rang me and said to apply again and I'd get in because it is just a road traffic offence... unfortunely they havnt recruited since I got rejected...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

Hey lads,
    So we must re-register again with public jobs and apply again for an alert??
    Has anyone an idea when the next alert will be, things not looking very promising waiting since august08 now, thank god im in college nothin else happening at the moment.

Hard to know when the next alert will be,those who rang last time they recruited in may '08 and were too late because all the vacancies were filled for aptitude test will get priority next time it says on garda.ie. so make sure when you get that alert ring straight away dont put it off make sure you get a place!i remember I rang on the day the alert was sent out rang late that day and one of the days i requested was booked out already..so id check your email few times everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

Is it PAS you ring when you recieve the alert or who??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

da__flash wrote: »
    Is it PAS you ring when you recieve the alert or who??

its public jobs you ring they will give you phone no. with the alert.

I presume its an email to ur own email address by public jobs when dare is an alert sent out and not to ur message board thing on ur public jobs account???
    Looks like you will have to be ready so and take any day u get for the aptitude test the way things are going, thats when ever there is an alert...:)

I presume its an email to ur own email address by public jobs when dare is an alert sent out and not to ur message board thing on ur public jobs account???
    Looks like you will have to be ready so and take any day u get for the aptitude test the way things are going, thats when ever there is an alert...:)

I think that even if they do send an alert to your public jobs account, you should get an email to you're personal email address to tell you you have received a message from public jos. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

hey guys, from what i remember is that they will send you a message to your email account telling you too log onto your public jobs page.. If i am correct , i got text alerts off public jobs when stage one was starting and so on with stage two , when i passed stage one..best of luck with everyone waiting for the next recruitment stage.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Connery

Hi guys,

Did anyone get that email yet from public jobs website asking us to re-register?

Just so people in here don't lose interest perhaps we could get to know one another a bit better. Nothing specific just a little bit of info,

Living: Meath

Current Occupation: Trainee Accountant

Reasons for applying: Just want to work in a job that constantly changes and is rewarding at the end of the day, knowing that i made a difference.

Interests: Farming, gym, drama...

Current Physical Condition: (only joking)

lets face it everyone here wants to join so we have at least one thing in common.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

Got an e-mail from them ages ago telling me to expect an e-mail about re-registering which I found amusing. Where else do you get an e-mail telling you to expect an e-mail :p:p:p

Seriously though, no word yet. I check the website daily and there are no new updates yet, just the same "we will be sending an e-mail informing of when and how to re-register". At this stage anything will seem like progress, even re-registering, at least it will feel like something is happening.

As for the rest:

Living: Kerry

Current Occupation: Unemployed project manager

Interests: Rugby, GAA, fitness, aviation

Current Mental State: Still optimistic for next year

I think we all have two things in common, commitment to join and patience, although the latter is running thin ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Just re-registered with public jobs :D:D:D:D
    Hope I did it right!!

You now get a candidate id number, does this mean there will be an order to people called depending on when they register? :O
    Otherwise, its still fairlly the same, other than entering education level, area etc

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

spudz21 wrote: »
    Just re-registered with public jobs :D:D:D:D
    Hope I did it right!!

So did I and jakers did the butterflies return again!

kerry4sam wrote: »
    So did I and jakers did the butterflies return again!

Yea, at least it feels like a little bit of movement in the right direction:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

spudz21 wrote: »
    Yea, at least it feels like a little bit of movement in the right direction:D:D

applying-to-join ... hope you didn't forget to save your alert again after you re-registered ;)

kerry4sam wrote: »
    applying-to-join ... hope you didn't forget to save your alert again after you re-registered ;)

Have it all set up:D
    Thats all we can do!!

This is a good idea:D
    Get to know the competition....I mean fellow boardsies:p

Living: Dublin

Current Occupation: Graduate Programme

Reasons for applying: Everyone has their reasons for applying;)

Interests: Walking, swimming, going out:D

Current Mental Condition: Everything happens for a reason and good things will come to those who wait

Anyone else gonna share????:D

did ye get an email from public jobs to re-register, or did ye just do it anyway??? haven't a clue if iv missed out on somethin!!

as for this bonding thing....

Living: Kildare

Current Occupation: Final yr student in College

Reasons for applying: ...hard question to answer in a few lines!!! :)

Interests: Travelling, socialising...attempting to keep fit!!

Current Mental Condition:...very optimistic!!! Iv a good feeling about all this! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

IS ANYONE ELSE GETTING A BROKEN LINK WHEN THEY HIT "REGISTRATION" ON PUBLIC JOBS??????
    FFS