Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭The Oggmonster

Right, just a couple of points. The new registration has nothing to do with any Garda campaigns. Every member has to re-register, whether they applied for the Guards or not. Sorry, but this doesn't mean a campaign is getting any closer. It's to do with a new recruitment system. Although I do believe there will be a competition next year. So make sure you put your alerts back on so you will get an email when it does happen.

They can't send out all the emails at the same time or they will show up as spammers on the IP's systems. As far as I know, you don't have to wait for the email. Just go onto the website and re-register.

It doesn't matter if you register now or wait for a few months. It won't mean you will be called any sooner as you are just registering on the site. You are not applying for anything yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

did ye get an email from public jobs to re-register, or did ye just do it anyway??? haven't a clue if iv missed out on somethin!!

I just went on an re-registered without any notification. You haven't missed out on a thing :). Don't worry, this place will be hopping with older members returning and new members signing up every few hours with various reasons in mind if their was even an inkling of a drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Thanks for that Kerry...just wasn't sure if we needed an email from them..i thought if we regestered again now, we might be registering onto their old system!! :P Confusion!
    leddpipe wrote: »
    IS ANYONE ELSE GETTING A BROKEN LINK WHEN THEY HIT "REGISTRATION" ON PUBLIC JOBS??????
    FFS
    And, Leddpipe, I just tried to register there, and i had problems with that link too...I just keep getting a blank page, and then they say they can't retrieve the page...I'm just going to try it again later!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

Finally got my re-registration through. Been trying since last night (not all night of course) but I kept just getting a blank screen. Persistance has paid off though and I just got through.

I'd say everyone on the Garda queue is trying to re-register together which is why there are problems. If anyone is having the same issues I was, just keep trying, you'll get through eventually.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

Living: kildare
    Current Occupation: Outreach Worker
    Reasons for applying: Childhood ambition
    Interests: Running (slowly, maybe that should be jogging then), boxing, hurling, my two retrievers, the wire, sometimes doing very little :)
    Current Mental Condition: Relatively calm, punctuated by periods of extreme doubt, regret and frustration! (Damn embargo).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

Living: Tralee

Current Occupation: Student

Reasons for applying: Respected profession,job security,decent wages&perks,help people

Interests: GAA,Soccer,rugby,ps3,computer,tv,eating,sleeping

Current Mental Condition: Chilled out!:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

Quick question, does anyone know, when re-registering on public jobs, and if you click the option to be alerted by SMS, do you still recieve an email, I remember a few campaigns ago a few people failed to recieve an SMS alert:eek:....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Living: Wexford

Current Occupation: Customer Service/Financial

Reasons for applying: Always saw myself doing this.

Interests: Rugby, Cars, Music, Gym

Current Physical Condition: Strrrrrong!

Current Mental Condition: Stable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

I know some of ye managed to re-register with Public jobs ages ago, but i only managed to do it there now! so, if any of ye are still getting a blank page when ye click into "Become a Member" or "Registration", i think it works better if you try it this way...instead of going directly into the public jobs website, just google "Public jobs Register" and the link seems to come up straight away. I don't know if that was just a fluke, beacuse I was trying to register for the lst few days, but its worth a try anyway..;)

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Staff Sergeant

Good to see that theres plenty of interest in the Job, and optimisim in considering theres a freeze on recruitment at the moment. I'm sure if you put the effort in from the very start and your genuinely interested in the Job and the work entailed you will do well. If your just applying for the job security and the respect you might get when your a gard, you may not want to put all your eggs into the one basket.

If you are genuine, and want to apply because it's something you think you will enjoy (good and bad) you will get great job satisfaction.

Ps. it's not a bad idea to look into the garda reserve, in the meantime until the new recruitment drive starts.

(...DEEP BREATHS...:mad:)

ok, has anyone else registered, gotton the confirmation email, and then cant log in?

is it the case that you need the prompt email from publicjobs before re-registering?

lossing my mind here!

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

leddpipe

You don't need to get the e-mail from publicjobs.ie prior to re-registering. It's just down to the sheer numbers trying to re-register then login and setup the alerts etc. as the reason why you can't log in.

I've re-registered, logged in and setup the alerts and have since tried to login and had it time out. I would assume it's going to be like that for a while to come as there was such a huge number of people already registered that have to go through this process. Remember, it's not just us Gardai wannabes that need to re-register but everyone that's looking for a public service job.

Anyway, I hope it all gets sorted soon and you get logged asap.

willit wrote: »
    leddpipe

You don't need to get the e-mail from publicjobs.ie prior to re-registering. It's just down to the sheer numbers trying to re-register then login and setup the alerts etc. as the reason why you can't log in.

I've re-registered, logged in and setup the alerts and have since tried to login and had it time out. I would assume it's going to be like that for a while to come as there was such a huge number of people already registered that have to go through this process. Remember, it's not just us Gardai wannabes that need to re-register but everyone that's looking for a public service job.

Anyway, I hope it all gets sorted soon and you get logged asap.

cheers mate, much appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

Hi Guys

has anybody heard anything about a campaign starting in February, being hearing a lot of talk from people about February.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

pull up a chair and get ready to wait id say :pac:

and a little prayer might not go astray :D

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

Hi Guys

has anybody heard anything about a campaign starting in February, being hearing a lot of talk from people about February.

Oh, I wish, I wish....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 kingdom lad

February, wish full thinking id say!!!! May well have to with the numbers retiring do, hopefully!!! Going to be some competition for places, couldnt imagine more than 100 selected if there was and there must be thousands waiting for a chance!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

and then theres the couple of hundred who have done medicals waitin to be called aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

Living: Louth

Current Occupation: Unemployed Carpenter/ retrainning on a FAS course at the minute

Reasons for applying: Always wanted to be one

Interests: Socialising, running/gym, reading and films

Current Mental Condition: Stable....ish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

Living: Cork

Current Occupation: Assistant Greyhound Trainer

Reasons for applying: always what i wanted to do

Interests: The dogs gaa keepin fit

Current Mental Condition: not gone mad yet but anything is possible:o

has anyone requested a password change on publicjobs?

if so, is the link they are sent working?

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

Living: Donegal

Current Occupation: Finance/Admin Officer

Reasons for applying: Always wanted to be one...Life long dream!

Interests: Gym, Running, Boxing, GAA,

Education: Finishing my BSc Degree in Business with Management at Xmas (Part-Time)

Current Mental Condition: Good/Very good

Anyone else want to share???

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

Living: Waterford

Current Occupation: Banker

Reasons for applying: To make a difference, always wanted to

Interests: Football, computers, reading, films

Education: BA (Hons) in Business Management with Law 1st Class Honour, QFA, Diploma in Criminology (currently studying), numerous other banking institute qualifications

Current Mental Condition: Very good, but extremely frustrated at all the waiting and not knowing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Education: BA (Hons) in Business Management with Law 1st Class Honour, QFA, Diploma in Criminology (currently studying), numerous other banking institute qualifications

Where you doing diplioma in criminology???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Fatony

Received a letter today in the post from <snip>, they are looking for 150euro to do the appitude test and a few forms to fill in, has anyone else got this letter?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Fatony wrote: »
    Received a letter today in the post from <snip>, they are looking for 150euro to do the appitude test and a few forms to fill in, has anyone else got this letter?

Did you honestly receive this or are you just informing people of their presence?

I know who you are referring to and they would only send out info & forms etc if they heard of movement of an upcoming drive.

No honestly recieved forms, its for Enrolment for Aptitiude preparation Course. I read over them there, i think this is just forms in which i can apply for help for the real enrolement.. Not right sure, just wondering has anyone else recieved anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭adrianjc20

Hey Folks,

I know these guys too, they run courses at the airport hotel. They could be just trying to drum up business. Look at all the people looking to join up. How did they get your name ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Think they are just looking for business off you :D

I honestly dont know how they got my details at all, ive only signed up to the Publicsjobs website, so its a mystery!