Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pub Players At Jp Masters

123457»

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

This thread is just a big bag of puke tbh.

Almost everybody sucks at poker, it's just that your average pub donk sucks that little bit harder.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

while when i do venture up for a game to dublin for a game alot of these "class acts" have little about them just deep stacks (which daddy sponsored) and duberry shoes....
    I know countless lads who's parents give them 500-600 a night to go and play poker, its really becoming an epidemic.
    eagle eye wrote: »
    I really think you should start a new thread on that one. And while you are at it.
    It is clear to me that the standard of poker in Galway is way ahead of the rest of the country.
    Its pretty clear cut actually, just look at this year, you had Mark Spellman at the ft of the io and Jude Ainsworth winning the ipc.
    Not only that but if you check out the top online donkament players online, I would imagine stats would tell you that at least five out of the top ten are from Galway and r4ad is the only one that springs to mind from dublin, unless ollieboy is a dub, not sure of that.
    And of course you hear the likes of Rob Taylor and Nicky Power who say they cannot win in Galway. If they took a hard look at it, they would realise its because the standard of play is much higher.
    Just when you thought EagleEye couldn't get more ridiculous...

callo wrote: »
    vikarama you wouldnt make the end of day one, respect to the people who played through 3 days to reach the final table in galway top class field great structure and top class poker played

like you?! lol Callo you're muck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

Budgerigard with no teeth give good suck...

• Registered Users Posts: 37,638 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I know countless lads who's parents give them 500-600 a night to go and play poker, its really becoming an epidemic.

Just when you thought EagleEye couldn't get more ridiculous...

trolling again, it must be hard for you, no real sense of humour and of course that fear of making a decent contribution lest someone criticises it.
    Lol@morestickingyournoseindoggypoo

PS. Your attempts at criticism really hurt me, they do, really, really, really!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

, it must be hard for you, no real sense of humour

lol, now that is a ridiculous comment. In fact, calling Phil Ivey a pub donk wouldn't be as ridiculous.

Lazare wrote: »
    lol, now that is a ridiculous comment. In fact calling Phil Ivey a pub donk wouldn't be as ridiculous.

Lol, not gonna start taking on a tag team.

trolling again, it must be hard for you, no real sense of humour and of course that fear of making a decent contribution lest someone criticises it.
    Lol@morestickingyournoseindoggypoo

PS. Your attempts at criticism really hurt me, they do, really, really, really!!!
    Yeah you're dead right, you sound like the guy " everyone else is weird, I'm the only normal one" also well done on repeating that dogsh1t joke you didnt make up and have repeated several times since, now THATS clever.
    Also quoting Mike Caro - Poker genius - on a petty thread, and telling everyone OMGGALWAYISDABESTESTPOKERPLYRSEVAKTHXBI is top class contribution.

also with re: to contribution, i do believe I helped you in the strategy forum this week, you however um idk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Lazare wrote: »
    lol, now that is a ridiculous comment. In fact, calling Phil Ivey a pub donk wouldn't be as ridiculous.

Phil Ivey started in the kestrel

Yeah you're dead right, you sound like the guy " everyone else is weird, I'm the only normal one" also well done on repeating that dogsh1t joke you didnt make up and have repeated several times since, now THATS clever.
    Also quoting Mike Caro - Poker genius - on a petty thread, and telling everyone OMGGALWAYISDABESTESTPOKERPLYRSEVAKTHXBI is top class contribution.

also with re: to contribution, i do believe I helped you in the strategy forum this week, you however um idk...
    Lol. The Mike Caro thing, read the thread and you will see why I quote his book, I am not a Mike Caro fan btw.
    Read Lenny Leonard post and then read my galway players post again and you will see that it was just a windup, but then again with your sense of humour, maybe you just don't get it, do you? A good windup involves making it look kinda genuine. As you can see from nicky's posts he copped on to it with an 'I digress' post.
    And your contribution in HH section, well in fairness I forgot about that one, fair play.
    But I still don't like you, I think you are a twat.:D

Lol. The Mike Caro thing, read the thread and you will see why I quote his book, I am not a Mike Caro fan btw.
    Read Lenny Leonard post and then read my galway players post again and you will see that it was just a windup, but then again with your sense of humour, maybe you just don't get it, do you? A good windup involves making it look kinda genuine. As you can see from nicky's posts he copped on to it with an 'I digress' post.
    And your contribution in HH section, well in fairness I forgot about that one, fair play.
    But I still don't like you, I think you are a twat.:D
    I know why you quoted his book, it just wasnt funny, then you repeated it again, where it was very very funny. Also that Galway thing was a top class wind-up. I suggest you get your own sub forum here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=994

Ahh, thats more like, you put a bit of effort into that one. Kudos to you.:D

A good windup involves making it look kinda genuine.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

In fairness the Galway player thing was obviously a level, the word donkament should have given it away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

i dont know how to spell dot but I agree with the swede.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

this guy is really bad. sure if he was anygood he would have made the money.

I asked about the payout for 19th (850.00 from first and 400.00 from second....)to burst the bubble...... what a player!

My ex-girlfriends Dad, John, is exclusively a pub player, and he's the best player I've ever seen. He started off playing a lot of draw poker and is a big winner, (Up tens of thousands over the years), and he is just sublime at texas hold'em. He plays a lose aggressive style and he plays it like he's Phil Ivey!

There's a €100 freeze-out in a pub nearby to him, and he final tables EVERY TIME he plays. This is while drinking 8+ pints and generally just having the craic. I've seen him play a pub 2/4 cash game before, where a few young 'internet kids' were playing and he finished up well over two grand, and he was sitting out loads of hands to go to the bar and to run out to have a fag. At one stage he sat out 3 orbits (all the time being blinded) because he was having a chat with one of his mates out in the smoking area.

This guys a real life Irish Doyle Brunson! I'm always trying to get him to start an internet account or to play in a casino, but he tells me he has no interest, that he only plays for the social aspect. As well as this, despite him being 60, drinking every day and never doing any exercise, he's one of the strongest and most impressively built men I've ever met. He's only like 5'6 but he's built like the hulk! When I went on holidays with her family, we went to an amusement park where there was one of those machines where you have to hit a target on the ground with a mallet and try to make a piece of lead ring a bell. Loads of strong, fit, native guys and English tourists were giving it a go, but none of them could ring the bell. Well John (who was after a few pints) gave it a go, and not only did he ring the bell he actually sent the bell flying off!

I was like wow that's incredible! But John just shyed away from the limelight, same way he does when he's after a big poker score. Said it was nothing, just shrugged it off. They gave him this huge stuffed teddy-bear which John found very embarressing.
    Please tell me this is a piss take!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Ssssh that's his boyfriend he's talking about. Don't embarrass him.

Just been checking out all the posts to this thread. In my humble opinion I feel that pub players (I'm one) are getting an unfair mention. Yes, there are some shocking players in that circle (more so then in the card rooms) but that is primarily down to the fact that most people will start playing poker in these events before moving on to the card rooms and festivals, (some never move on due to early morning work commitments) and as we all know these games, if taken seriously, will only hurt your bigger game. Lots of people such as myself, Damo and others find that the 'pub' game has a guaranteed finish time and with work commitments, this suits us fine. Yes, we know that the structures are too severe and that poker play is out the window later on, but I really believe that the majority of players playing this game are doing so from a purely 'social' perspective (its also nice to win sometimes). The major problem with the pub game is that it leaves people extremely naive when it comes to the deeper stack tournaments and their big game play can be too aggressive early on. A card room player will develop their poker skills many times quicker because they are playing, day after day, better structured events. The one thing I have noticed about the pub lads is that when they had an opportunity to play deep stack tourneys (such as the red cow Sunday afternoons) several players improved their game dramatically. If all the so called 'good players' were restricted to playing just the pub game and did not have a life style that allowed them to sit in the SE and online til 6 in the morning, how good would they be today?
    Yes, pound for pound, the pubbers are not as good as the card room players. But they bring lots fun and character to the games and we need to DRAW people to card rooms instead of intimidating with superiority complexes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Sling it McFadden!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

Well said westlife, in the most part. Imo some of the SE structures are like pub structures . I mean 15 mins vs 20 mins is no big difference. I sometimes think that SE games have deeper stacks later on because people stack off lighter when there's a cash game going. Maybe they have more levels? Hard to keep track.

I'm only using the SE as an example cause i don't play enough in the fitz to comment. But your right, its not always brilliant in the card rooms either! Its just that the blind increases and timings are usually crippling in the pub games from very early on! It's not the pub tourney organizers fault, its just has to be that way because of licensing laws.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Wow. I dunno about this threads basis... I mean, what if they are pub players but also maths based players. Would that make them better then feel players in a club?

I'm confused, are we still at war with Oceania?

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭smurph

DeVore wrote: »
    Wow. I dunno about this threads basis... I mean, what if they are pub players but also maths based players. Would that make them better then feel players in a club?

I'm confused, are we still at war with Oceania?

DeV.

It all stemed from this
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Don't bluff pub players. After playing about 10 hands in 4hrs and 45 mins of poker and never showing down a poor one I decide to play back at the table chip leader who has 40k+ and has been opening with a fair frequency preflop since the last break.

So, he makes it 500 to go at 100 / 200 / 25 from the Hijack and I 3 - bet Ks10s from the button to 1500. Folds back around and he insta - calls.

Flop is 777 and he checks, I quickly check behind.

Turn a 4. He checks, I bet 2k and he insta check raises to 6k with a forceful toss of chips into the middle of the table. Meh. I deliberate for 60 - 90 seconds; realise I can force him off this pot and shove for 15.6k...

...or can I. As he owns my soul following 3 mins of thought by calling me with 33.

Well done. But I should have known never to bluff pub players and that a full house is a good hand.

I blank the 10 outs on the river obv and am out. Lesson learned.

Then the "Pub Player so to speak replied here
    MarkT1234 wrote: »

Hi Folks,

I'm the "pub player" who made the "bad" call that sent Lloyd to the rails and oh that a simple hand history such as the above should always be enough to class someone as a bad player.

Let me take you through the hand as I saw it. Chip leader at the table and with a looser image than I may normally like early in a tournament, I look down in mid-pos at 33. I out in a 2.5x (standard in my book) and Lloyd on the button 3 bets it. I have Lloyd down as TAG Solid but with my stack decide to call the re-raise for set value. Flop is 777 and I check. Lloyd quickly checks behind. Turn card is 4 and I check. Lloyd bets 2K into 3.3K pot. From the check on the flop, I think I may have the best hand but as AA - 10 10 may have checked that flop, I decide to find out where I'm at and quickly reraise to 6K. Now, Lloyds shove did indicate he was slow playing a big pair and so I went into the tank for 2 - 3 minutes and went through the hand again from start. I then took the time to look at Lloyd for ~30 - 40 seconds and he didn't look comfortable at all, in fact his breathing was very heavy. Based solely on this read I decided I had the best hand (versus AK, AQ) and made the call. I can't say I was certain but I went with my read. Sometimes it's not about the cards.

I think it was a very ballsy play on Lloyds part and I have a lot of respect for it.

It is all on JP Poker Masters Live Updates - Day 1 in this

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055286980

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Categorising this type of player as a "pub" player really means that they have less regard for structure due to the fact they play, generally, from appox 8 or 9 pm until 1 am.

Hence they are not afraid to "raise to see where they are" because in pubs its a rush to get chips early on in order to get onto the ft.

There is a breed of player now who are obviously better than the average who play in pubs. These men/women attempt to gather chips early in order to try and use some skill later in a tournament and basically "make a few bob".

They are not afraid to get the chips in the middle early or make marginal calls and good luck to them.

Incidentally, there is a section on this kind of player in Super System 2 in the Tournament section called "Wild Card".

Brunson refers to Noel Furlong as one!