Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fierce whingeing

• 22-06-2019 2:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭

Two articles read already today about how badly society treats women.
    One was about the Belfast rape trial, an incident where no crime was committed. The other was about housework, and said it wasn’t fair that women want to do things in the home men don’t want to.
    Not a thing about men getting injured on building sites, society conditioning men to do almost all physical work.
    This complaining is going too far and is completely one eyed. Men die earlier than women and have to do all the hardest and most dangerous work, apart from giving birth, of course.
    There needs to be some cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Odelay

One was about the Belfast rape trial, an incident where no crime was committed. The other was about housework, and said it wasn’t fair that women want to do things in the home men don’t want to.
    Not a thing about men getting injured on building sites, society conditioning men to do almost all physical work.
    This complaining is going too far and is completely one eyed. Men die earlier than women and have to do all the hardest and most dangerous work, apart from giving birth, of course.

Giving birth these days is no big deal either. A lot of fuss over something that was done years ago no problem without the drugs they have today.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Yep, 90% workplace deaths are men.
    Men are far more likely to commit suicide , be homeless, have a drug problem, be alcoholics etc...

But but "Rape Culture" !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

More binwomen please!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭XsApollo

It’s nature.
    Men are better at some things than women and women are better at popping out babies and cleaning the house.
    Simples

XsApollo wrote: »
    It’s nature.
    Men are better at some things than women and women are better at popping out babies and cleaning the house.
    Simples

Don’t forget making sandwiches.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Doctor Zhivago

Fierce spelling.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

This complaining is going too far and is completely one eyed.

Sunny disposition my arse, quit whinging :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Tbf most women aren’t the complainers, it’s idiot types in the media who know that men (straight Irish men anyway) are a handy target.
    Would like to see some of them footing turf or laying blocks.

Tbf most women aren’t the complainers, it’s idiot types in the media who know that men (straight Irish men anyway) are a handy target.
    Would like to see some of them footing turf or laying blocks.

Or laying cable

There’s probably a category for that on pornhub if you’re into watching women do that sort of thing :pac:

There actually isn’t, or so I have been told.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

So what would you propose? Women don't highlight issues that are important to them and men also don't highlight issues that are important to them? Women continue to do the bulk of the housework after their day job and men continue to get injured in work and die younger, and nobody ever highlight any issues. Just pretend everything is perfect.

Or maybe people should highlight issues that are of importance to them. Maybe they should angle for change to address those issues. Maybe you're perfectly happy with men suffering more work related injuries and dying younger, but I actually support highlighting those issues so we can do something about them as a society.

What it takes is for people to actually get up off their holes and do something to highlight this issues which are important to them even if it means swimming against the tide of public opinion.

You have fallen into the classic position of dismissing the concerns raised by other people and wondering why those other people aren't already aware of your own concerns and willing to take them seriously.

So what would you propose? Women don't highlight issues that are important to them and men also don't highlight issues that are important to them? Women continue to do the bulk of the housework after their day job and men continue to get injured in work and die younger, and nobody ever highlight any issues. Just pretend everything is perfect.

Or maybe people should highlight issues that are of importance to them. Maybe they should angle for change to address those issues. Maybe you're perfectly happy with men suffering more work related injuries and dying younger, but I actually support highlighting those issues so we can do something about them as a society.

What it takes is for people to actually get up off their holes and do something to highlight this issues which are important to them even if it means swimming against the tide of public opinion.

You have fallen into the classic position of dismissing the concerns raised by other people and wondering why those other people aren't already aware of your own concerns and willing to take them seriously.

What I propose is that people who are not willing to take a broad view stop writing about what they think is everyday sexism.
    Btw everyone who has lived in Ireland for a few years knows that men do the majority of physical work here, that women are underrepresented in very tough work like blocklaying, farming and saving turf. Tough work like that is just left to men to take care of.

What I propose is that people who are not willing to take a broad view stop writing about what they think is everyday sexism.
    Btw everyone who has lived in Ireland for a few years knows that men do the majority of physical work here, that women are underrepresented in very tough work like blocklaying, farming and saving turf. Tough work like that is just left to men to take care of.

Careful what you wish for. I doubt you'd be any less unhappy if women started pushing to get into those jobs.

So you say people should only take a broad view if they are going to write about the issues. Ok. How broad should their view be? Should there never be an article about make suicide rates unless it also devotes equal time to female suicide? And gay suicide? And white suicide and BAME suicide?

Or should there be an article about suicide that doesn't also take a broad approach to death and also give equal time to cancer, heart attack, stroke etc?

Personally I think it's grand to write about specific issues. I don't know why you think every articke has to be broad. Maybe you'll tell us.

When was the last time you hear of a man wiping some ould lads arse because he couldn’t do the job himself?

I’d sooner be blocklaying too tbh, can’t remember the last time I footed turf, as a child anyway a long time ago, and I know plenty of women who are involved in farming just as much as their husbands. Even if you had said manual labour, you’d still be wrong because there are plenty of filthy, hazardous to their physical and mental health occupations which are dominated by women where men are “under represented” :rolleyes:

Perhaps if you aren’t willing to take a broad view, you should stop writing about what you think is everyday sexism.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

My favourite ever whinge from one of these new wave feminists was when Una Mullally suggested (and not on April 1st) that the only reason the lead in Star Wars Rouge One was given to a female was to distract away from the fact that the film had an otherwise all male cast :p

Yeah ask the editor of a newspaper to highlight more men's issues. And see how you get on.

When was the last time you hear of a man wiping some ould lads arse because he couldn’t do the job himself?

I’d sooner be blocklaying too tbh, can’t remember the last time I footed turf, as a child anyway a long time ago, and I know plenty of women who are involved in farming just as much as their husbands. Even if you had said manual labour, you’d still be wrong because there are plenty of filthy, hazardous to their physical and mental health occupations which are dominated by women where men are “under represented” :rolleyes:

Perhaps if you aren’t willing to take a broad view, you should stop writing about what you think is everyday sexism.

I’ve a brother who works with the elderly doing the kind of stuff you just mentioned, so the last time I heard about it was on Wed/Thursday. But of course ur right, there are difficult areas where men are underrepresented, nursing is certainly one. Teaching is another. However women are under represented in other v demanding areas such as the front line side of construction.

Am totally willing to take a broad view, that’s what I’m complaining about aspects of the media not doing, more likely to denigrate the contribution made to family/industry by men and laud that of women. IMO that is unfair.

Careful what you wish for. I doubt you'd be any less unhappy if women started pushing to get into those jobs.

So you say people should only take a broad view if they are going to write about the issues. Ok. How broad should their view be? Should there never be an article about make suicide rates unless it also devotes equal time to female suicide? And gay suicide? And white suicide and BAME suicide?

Or should there be an article about suicide that doesn't also take a broad approach to death and also give equal time to cancer, heart attack, stroke etc?

Personally I think it's grand to write about specific issues. I don't know why you think every articke has to be broad. Maybe you'll tell us.

It’s okay to talk about specific issues if context isn’t forgotten, but it always is.
    Women not proportionately represented in business is seen as a problem, men not in teaching not so much. Men not ironing or vaccuming an issue, women not feeding cattle or mowing lawns isn’t seen as one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Since men are about 60% stronger than women in the upper body, why wouldn't they (we) be doing the kind of jobs that require this attribute?? You don't need any formal education, can leave school and start one of these strength focused trades. Or stay in school and choose a less demanding job.

It's like complaining there are not enough tall jockeys.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The only complaining I see around here are men whinging about women standing up for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Faugheen wrote: »
    The only complaining I see around here are men whinging about women standing up for themselves.

The trap has been baited...patience...wait...wait

My favourite ever whinge from one of these new wave feminists was when Una Mullally suggested (and not on April 1st) that the only reason the lead in Star Wars Rouge One was given to a female was to distract away from the fact that the film had an otherwise all male cast :p

The best whinge I’ve ever heard was the NWCI’s claim that 1 in 4 homeless people are women :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Let's not forget unmarried men here have no automatic legal rights whatsoever in relation to their child and any custody...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

The best whinge I’ve ever heard was the NWCI’s claim that 1 in 4 homeless people are women

Oh they've had some doozies alright. Another two:
    "Imagine if men and were as disgusted with rape as they are with periods"

And this one's like it came from an episode of Brass Eye:
    Men stab, rape and kill women because they can. It's time to say they can't

:p

They're usually quoting some buzzfeed or Guardian article when they come out with stuff like that, and tax payer funded too, nice work if you can get it.

An example would be when they tweeted a link to an article with the tagline: "A moment that changed me: lashing out at a man who opened the door for the newly thin me" which is essentially an article by a middle aged feminist who lost a lot of weight and then ate the head off a guy who opened the door for her as she knew he wouldn't have if she hadn't lost all the weight. And no, the article wasn't in the Onion, it was in The Guardian.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Let's not forget unmarried men here have no automatic legal rights whatsoever in relation to their child and any custody...

Pretty sure that changed a few years ago

An article about women that didn't focus on men? Down with that sort of thing. :(

Yeah ask the editor of a newspaper to highlight more men's issues. And see how you get on.

Ah I see. If the editor of a newspaper doesn't do what you want immediately, then what? Throw your hands up and your toys out of the pram?

Do you think social changed is easy to achieve or something? If so, What on earth gave you that impression?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

We are in whinge ception mode now, how deep have we gone ? Someone check the spin top.