Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A fry-up in the morning. Is it unhealthy?

YFlyer wrote: »
    Eating significant amount of fried food negatively affects heart health.

Everyone that has caught this that hasn’t optimal heart health has died. There are also numerous other factors that can contribute or detract from ones health.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Everyone that has caught this that hasn’t optimal heart health has died. There are also numerous other factors that can contribute or detract from ones health.

That's true.

I'm sure the occasional fry be grand. The daily consumption not so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭Carnmore

Agree with the above.
    Or why not use some type of 'dripping' or 'lard', I'd recommend 'Frytex'.
    Treat yourself every morning for months on end, but do make sure to stay close to a hospital, or at least someplace that you know for sure, has a working defibrillator.
    Enjoy!

I recently purchased a block of Frytex Pure Beef Dripping for the first time.

Upon reading the ingredient list, it reads beef dripping and rapeseed oil.

I do not understand how "pure" beef dripping can contain any other ingredient, especially rapeseed oil

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

It's very hard to know what an optimum health is. I see some IG fitness pages and their diets are absolutely woeful. Just from a health standpoint, lashing pizzas into me because "it fits your macros" doesn't sit well with me.

With a fry. It's not terrible but psychologically, that would make me feel like a lump and in turn, I'd feel sluggish. But depends. If I was working in a steel factory in Stalin's Soviet Union nd I needed sustinence, then maybe such a feed before the day starts would be needed.

The spread mentioned in the OP sounds like some hipster new age Irish fry. Perfectly acceptable as part of a diet.

I always feel better eating minimally but well. Putting effort into my dinners and coming up with nice recipes. I never feel well when I get too bogged down in nutrition. Just eat well, don't eat ****e and don't overeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The fry is Ireland’s great contribution to world cuisine. Absolutely delicious. Especially our good black puddings.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I think fry ups are pretty gross and don’t get the Irish obsession with this British national dish. Pity we can’t send back frys and coronation st. Scrambled eggs with some tomato if I’m treating myself at the weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,124 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I think fry ups are pretty gross and don’t get the Irish obsession with this British national dish. Pity we can’t send back frys and coronation st. Scrambled eggs with some tomato if I’m treating myself at the weekends.

Do refuse all other countries food or just the ones that colonised Ireland?

blade1 wrote: »

Just the porky ones

• Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Ive read and and re read this four times and am still none the wiser :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,124 ✭✭✭✭blade1

He is Thelonious Monk and likes scrambled eggs so he treats himself by tinkling the ovaries! :D

Scrambled eggs and tomato. Sadness on a plate.

I normally just have porridge and fruit so eggs are a treat!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭John.G

The only fry ups I got as a youngster in the 50s was after mass on a Sunday morning, seems to have been the custom in rural areas in those times.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Used like them but find them stodgy now and I don't like tasting them repeatedly long after I've eaten them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,821 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Seems to be just ones that colonised Ireland. Tomatoes originated in South America. Also, they're fecking rank, and are only good in sauce form, ie: probably doesn't actually contain tomatoes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

He is Thelonious Monk and likes scrambled eggs so he treats himself by tinkling the ovaries! :D

Took me a second, very good!

I'm sure vegetarians would say the same about a fry. Wouldn't be mad into them myself these days but I wouldn't touch an egg either so, its all relative!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,462 ✭✭✭jackboy

Scrambled eggs lovely, but not with tomato. Buttery toast goes far better with scrambled eggs.

jackboy wrote: »
    Scrambled eggs lovely, but not with tomato. Buttery toast goes far better with scrambled eggs.

Rashers, sausages, pudding, fried bread, and more sausages goes far better.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,462 ✭✭✭jackboy

Rashers, sausages, pudding, fried bread, and more sausages goes far better.

Yes that is true,

I find if I have a good fry up i can skip lunch and snacks all day with ease. Then a light dinner in the evening is sufficient. I reckon in the day I am not even consuming a huge amount of calories.

Took me a second, very good!

I'm sure vegetarians would say the same about a fry. Wouldn't be mad into them myself these days but I wouldn't touch an egg either so, its all relative!

I just got that too. Ha. That’s brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I made myself a bit of a fry earlier and can't see how it was that unhealthy.. Half a teaspoon of olive oil. Onions. Garlic. Mushrooms. Cherry tomatoes. Slice of bacon. Scrambled eggs. Slice of brown bread toast. All cooked on a low to medium heat with a dash of fish sauce.

You always hear that fries are terrible but I'm not seeing it. I'm not overweight so don't care about some bacon, and the rest could be put into any "healthy" meal. The fish sauce has sodium but I only used a tiny bit.

Does the mantra that they're a heart attack on a plate come from them being cooked in loads of crappy oil or lard? I definitely made some very unhealthy ones in the past with tonnes of oil.
    Should keep you nice and regular 💩

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Try cherry tomatoes on the vine roasted, little sweet bursts of awesome. Way better than half a "tomato" sort of fried.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Love a fry-up once in a blue moon, but not too often as I like to keep the old waistline under control :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I love a fry up when I stay in a hotel. I rarely do one for myself unless I have guests.

I'm absolutely rubbish at frying eggs, so I usually scramble them.

My dad and one of my friends have "never heard" of scrambled eggs with a fryup. :confused: Is it the extra washing up maybe? Not that they would be doing it anyway!

So if I'm doing breakfast for either of them, I just do a mountain of scrambled eggs and buttery toast rather than do a full fry up and take the criticism on yet another mangled yolk.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

A fry up and a ****.

How winners start the day.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I love a fry up when I stay in a hotel. I rarely do one for myself unless I have guests.

I'm absolutely rubbish at frying eggs, so I usually scramble them.

My dad and one of my friends have "never heard" of scrambled eggs with a fryup. :confused: Is it the extra washing up maybe? Not that they would be doing it anyway!

So if I'm doing breakfast for either of them, I just do a mountain of scrambled eggs and buttery toast rather than do a full fry up and take the criticism on yet another mangled yolk.

After the first bout of criticism they’d be making their own.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

After the first bout of criticism they’d be making their own.

No, they're right. My 9 year old son can fry a perfect egg. My 7 year old is getting there, if he doesn't have it right in 6 months he'll be disowned.

There is no excuse for not being able to fry an egg.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Brian? wrote: »
    No, they're right. My 9 year old son can fry a perfect egg. My 7 year old is getting there, if he doesn't have it right in 6 months he'll be disowned.

Nah, slide it straight into the bin and tell them to do whatever the **** they like.

Anyway, I’d say your 9 year old can only fry a perfect egg for you. There is no “the” perfect egg.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,809 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Brian? wrote: »

any chance you d sell him?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,506 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why are fry-ups considered unhealthy?
    They’re my favourite meal and if cooked properly I don’t believe that type of food is unhealthy at all. It sustains me for most of the day and I don’t need to be snacking.