Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

WarZ wrote: »
    John Kavanagh has acted childish on twitter before so he has some form in that regard. Remember that time he tweeted about some guy messaging his finacee? I wouldn't read too much into it. He can occasionally put up some cringeworthy stuff.

Ah here. There is a big difference between what you cite there and the craic he has been at this past week. He is coming across as if he knows something the rest of us don't and as if he is on a joke the rest of us aren't. I just think that the are nudges and winks going on here.
    Probably trying to deflect blame. Once again I wouldn't read too much into it.

Just saying 'I wouldn't read too much into it' is not a sufficient retort. He is contradicting himself within moments. He's inconsistent and grinning from ear to ear all the while. He should have at least looked surprised at Nate saying he was effectively fighting Conor or nobody at 200 but instead he looked as if he was happy Nate said that, plus like I said, they were both all over each other and laughing when the cameras pulled back at the end. Oh I know, I know 'don't read too much into it'.
    I assume he's implying that if he misses 200 - which is looking likely - he will be expected to fight before MSG. The UFC pay his wages after all, if he refuses to fight then they can cut him from the roster.

You're not listening. Why would Dana be sure Conor was going to fight at any time when he can't even get the guy to do promo NOW (according to the story at least). He should have no idea when Conor is going to fight or be saying something like: "Well, we'll offer Conor something else before MSG, see what he says" but he seemed confident that Conor would be fighting, as if there is more communication going on in that regard that they're letting on. Baffles me that so many people are buying into this nonsense and just taking it at face value and not questioning the glaring inconsistencies.
    Dana is always quite relaxed. He is the CEO of a multi million dollar organization, if he can't appear relaxed at press conferences during moments of crisis (I wouldn't even call it that to be honest) then he's in the wrong game.

Nonsense. When Dana is annoyed he has no problem expressing it. Have seem him lose it offer referees, questions at pressers, fighters cheating, guys not making weight etc etc. We are talking about the fighter that has made UFC the most money in forever and suddenly that fighter is apparently calling out the UFC and most other fighters are supporting them on it. Sorry, but his grin betrays him. Maybe I'm wrong about the whole thing perhaps being a rouse but something is not on the level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

_oveless_ wrote: »
    Conor doesn't need to do a press conference everyone knows who he is and what he can do everyone just wants to jump on his back the minute he does something out of the ordinary this isn't an out for him he's looking forward to fighting nate he will easily beat him he was beating him last time too until nate did a choke onto him theres loads of begrudgers saying he's injured again or that he's on cycle and wouldn't have passed a test if they tested him when he got to the states who cares about press conferences we want fights not talking everyone needs to shut the f*ck up about it already its just a press conference no one even watches them
    alot do, but I agree things need to change as far as media obligations go

Conor was beating him on points, but Nate would have probably beat him without the bjj ,with his boxing and a KO. next fight will be different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

also thats 1 very long sentence you have there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Conor doesn't need to do a press conference everyone knows who he is and what he can do everyone just wants to jump on his back the minute he does something out of the ordinary this isn't an out for him he's looking forward to fighting nate he will easily beat him he was beating him last time too until nate did a choke onto him theres loads of begrudgers saying he's injured again or that he's on cycle and wouldn't have passed a test if they tested him when he got to the states who cares about press conferences we want fights not talking everyone needs to shut the f*ck up about it already its just a press conference no one even watches them

If he wants to fight in the ufc he does have to do them

He took the fight to the canvas as he was about to get knocked out by nate and then got choked.

You are right he is not injured nor is he on drugs

Loads of people watch press conferences. Heres one that is about 5 months old and doesnt involve mcgregor. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBsslLixk18

If Conor MCGregor stops press conferences, then what's stopping press conferences in any sport? Part of the game is generating money from sales, and advertising, and there would be none if the press conferences suddenly stopped.

He was more than happy to do them, in fact, he loved doing them when he was winning all the time. He loses one fight, and suddenly he is making up excuses not to do them. I think that he would have handled the questions very easily if he just turned up, wore his sunglasses and did the thing.

Everyone knows that he is not afraid of diaz, but that he is probably aware of the fact that he is now beatable. So what? We are all human, despite how talented we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Thats a cool story, you just left out, youre not even real fans :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,761 ✭✭✭degsie

The thing I don't understand is that CM was really into the pressies as it gave him a platform to be mouthy and get himself noticed, at least when he was on a winning streak. Now that he has suffered a loss he is blaming the very same pressies for impacting his preparations for his losing fight and now the rematch. Bit of a turnaround eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

degsie wrote: »
    The thing I don't understand is that CM was really into the pressies as it gave him a platform to be mouthy and get himself noticed, at least when he was on a winning streak. Now that he has suffered a loss he is blaming the very same pressies for impacting his preparations for his losing fight and now the rematch. Bit of a turnaround eh?

When did he ever ask for a platform to give him notice?

His fighting has done more than his mouth could ever do.

You're talking dribble if I'm been honest.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    His fighting has done more than his mouth could ever do.

He went bloody quiet after his last fight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭loudnoises89

Coach Kavanagh is on the MMA Hour tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing what he has to say.

Will surely get an unnecessary update on his girlfriend too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I think it's extremely obvious at this point that there's some other element to this whole saga which the public aren't being let in on. This is too sudden and too random to be about what they're saying it's about. At a minimum, I would guess that the UFC changed the arrangements for the press events at very short notice, after McGregor and his team had made their travel plans and booked everything - either by changing the dates of the press conferences, or telling them at short notice that they'd have to stay in America far longer than they had thought.

The reason I find it bizarre and believe there to be a hidden element is simply because Conor and the others have been very vocal and upfront about the fact that they were travelling to Iceland, there've been plenty of updates about that trip on social media, and yet none of that set off any alarm bells in the press or with other insiders until a week ago? Something doesn't add up. Either the team weren't informed of the press schedule until the last minute, or some other change was made which would have prevented them just coming to America for a short period and then getting back to Iceland.

There's just no way that they could have been openly planning to train in Iceland for this long and no commentators publicly said "well that's not going to work out given the press schedule", unless that schedule was finalised or amended at the very last minute. If this is indeed what happened, then fair f*cks to Conor & co for refusing to go along with it. Reneging on something which has been planned for weeks or months is one thing, but refusing to just drop everything and fly over at short notice is another matter entirely and is perfectly justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Coach Kavanagh is on the MMA Hour tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing what he has to say.

What time and how can i listen to this??

... he's looking forward to fighting nate he will easily beat him he was beating him last time too until nate did a choke onto him .....

haha

Nate had the beating of him, Conor brought the fight to ground in a feeble, last ditch attempt to not lose. It didn't work out.

So my conspiracy theory is that Conor's let's overthrow the UFC overlords coup attempt failed (hard to unify independent contractors and convert vague rumbling of support into anything real) and he's sending Coach Kavanagh ahead with the white flag to act the friendly buffoon (again), smoothing the re-entry path. Cue "Genius/Conor is unpredictable" and "ah sure who knows what he'll come up with next" and "elite athletes are a highly strung breed" pseudo funny ramblings. Next attempt nigh. Little black book marked with Rory/Jon Jones/Showtime under good, RDA/Holme/Aldo under not likely :p

But in fairness they've kept most of us (and the entire MMA world) entertained :pac:
    Pretty sure there was a similar plot on the Sopranos, no? Was it Johnny Sack who tried to take out Fertitta Carmine prematurely but had to cool his jets for a bit when it failed? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

He's playing the game to suit himself. So what?

Cali_girl wrote: »
    So my conspiracy theory is that Conor's let's overthrow the UFC overlords coup attempt failed (hard to unify independent contractors and convert vague rumbling of support into anything real) and he's sending Coach Kavanagh ahead with the white flag to act the friendly buffoon (again), smoothing the re-entry path. Cue "Genius/Conor is unpredictable" and "ah sure who knows what he'll come up with next" and "elite athletes are a highly strung breed" pseudo funny ramblings. Next attempt nigh. Little black book marked with Rory/Jon Jones/Showtime under good, RDA/Holme/Aldo under not likely :p

But in fairness they've kept most of us (and the entire MMA world) entertained :pac:
    Pretty sure there was a similar plot on the Sopranos, no? Was it Johnny Sack who tried to take out Fertitta Carmine prematurely but had to cool his jets for a bit when it failed? :D

ha ha ha, i wont forget the time you left me hanging with my dick in the cocksuckin wind tony!!!! good oul new york jonny sac.. you're bang on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

GiftofGab wrote: »
    What time and how can i listen to this??

Go to MMAfighting.com/mma-hour and you'll find it there it streams live and then you can download it later too. I normally download it on Tuesday morning and listen to it over the week it normally comes in a bit over 4 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

I think it's extremely obvious at this point that there's some other element to this whole saga which the public aren't being let in on. This is too sudden and too random to be about what they're saying it's about. At a minimum, I would guess that the UFC changed the arrangements for the press events at very short notice, after McGregor and his team had made their travel plans and booked everything - either by changing the dates of the press conferences, or telling them at short notice that they'd have to stay in America far longer than they had thought.

The reason I find it bizarre and believe there to be a hidden element is simply because Conor and the others have been very vocal and upfront about the fact that they were travelling to Iceland, there've been plenty of updates about that trip on social media, and yet none of that set off any alarm bells in the press or with other insiders until a week ago? Something doesn't add up. Either the team weren't informed of the press schedule until the last minute, or some other change was made which would have prevented them just coming to America for a short period and then getting back to Iceland.

There's just no way that they could have been openly planning to train in Iceland for this long and no commentators publicly said "well that's not going to work out given the press schedule", unless that schedule was finalised or amended at the very last minute. If this is indeed what happened, then fair f*cks to Conor & co for refusing to go along with it. Reneging on something which has been planned for weeks or months is one thing, but refusing to just drop everything and fly over at short notice is another matter entirely and is perfectly justified.

You could equally make the argument that McGregor and his team knew the detail of the media obligations and made their own plans to spite them, possibly playing the 'blind sided' card tomorrow.

Effects wrote: »
    He's playing the game to suit himself. So what?

And what of his fans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

And what of his fans?

well thats obviously not you so no need to worry yourself

Devastator wrote: »
    well thats obviously not you, so no need to worry yourself
    fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Nice of him to find time for media obligations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

BOHtox wrote: »
    Nice of him to find time for media obligations

Funnily enough, Conor would have done the promos if they were over Skype as well... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

The following is from John's latest column at the42.ie where you can read the article in full.

https://twitter.com/The42_ie/status/724407600691834880
    We were planning to be in Vegas five weeks before the fight, so we thought Conor could do any important press or commercial stuff during that period. However, we felt that going to Vegas at this juncture would be detrimental to Conor’s preparations and his chances of winning an extremely important fight. Therefore, declining to attend was a logical decision to make.

Nothing is more important than the contest. It’s not the media obligations that are the problem. Conor was willing to make himself available via Skype or do a press conference in Dublin or Iceland, where we are now. But that idea also wasn’t entertained.

I reached out to UFC president Dana White myself. He said Conor is his favourite type of fighter. He’s a big fan of his. But rules are rules and they don’t budge on them for anyone. I can kind of understand their position. If they did that then maybe they’ll end up being put under a lot of pressure from other fighters.

However, no other fighter is generating as much money as Conor is. Therefore, they’re not quite equal when it comes to the decision-making process. That’s the same in any company. If one employee is bringing in the same amount of money as all the other employees combined, he’s going to get a bigger office. That’s life. The other reason it’s not equal is the amount of travel that’s involved for Diaz and Conor.

Like everyone, I’ve just read the rumours of a so-called rift between Dana and Conor, but I personally don’t know of that to be true. I got a message from Dana over the weekend telling us to enjoy some time off and we’ll see you at the end of the summer.

At this stage, I think the only way Conor will feature at UFC 200 is if he’s a late replacement for someone else. We’re still training twice a day, aiming for 9 July. Everything is on point to peak for UFC 200. The fight game is weird, you never know what could happen — there could be a pull-out with a couple of weeks to go — but realistically I think we’re planning for UFC 201 or UFC 202 in August or September. We’ll just tip along until then.

There’s no such thing as bad publicity. The UFC will be loving the fact that this situation has generated so much hype. What’s the build-up for the next one going to be like as a result? But if Conor is on another card, we’ve got to talk early about when and where press conferences are held.

We just believe it’s unfair if he’s fighting a west-coast guy on the west coast and all the press stuff happens on the west coast too. If they’re then being told everyone is treated equally, that just doesn’t make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Exactly as I suspected.
    Shortly after we arrived in Portugal a couple of weeks ago for some training, we learned that the UFC wanted Conor to be in Vegas this past Friday for a press conference. Having put a meticulous plan in place for Conor’s preparations for the fight, this didn’t suit us at all.

I'm finding it hard to pin down a date, but given that we know they arrived in Iceland last week, and both Conor and John's Twitters suggest that they were in Ireland up until at least the last week of March, this essentially means that the UFC gave them less (and very possibly substantially less) than three weeks notice of the media schedule.

For people who are very clearly dedicated to their training AND who have been very vocal about their training and travel plans, that's not on at all. You can't let a guy spend all that time and money booking flights, accommodation, gyms etc not just for himself but for his entire crew, and then come to him a few days before he's due to travel and say "Oh BTW, we need you in America from next week into the foreseeable future.

I get that they offered him free flights and to reconstruct his gym over in the US, but at the same time I'm sure they chose Iceland for a reason and part of that was probably psychological - the climate, the distance, etc. If he genuinely didn't know that the promotion for the fight was due to start this week, not informing him when he first began to talk about his plans for training abroad was an absolute dick move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

I wonder if Conor feels bad about leaving SBG and spending a lot of time in the US over the last few months. Probably wants to help Gunnar and Paddy be at their best for the Rotterdam card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Big news people :D

https://twitter.com/thenotoriousmma/status/724474735912968192

It's got to be one of two things:
    1. Dana actually caved to fan pressure in an unprecedented first for him.
    2. Cormier's leg is bollixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

This ****. **** it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

martyos121 wrote: »
    Big news people :D

https://twitter.com/thenotoriousmma/status/724474735912968192

It's got to be one of two things:
    1. Dana actually caved to fan pressure in an unprecedented first for him.
    2. Cormier's leg is bollixed.

Well, the last week has more than taken care of his "media obligations".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,092 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

No excuses now come fight time. He was given what he wanted - more time to train.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus