Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

Myrddin wrote: »
    Put us on the map in terms of MMA is how I read that.

fair enough. I'm bang to rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The genesis of my post was that another poster called him a genius based on retweets. Admittedly my rant is probably better placed in another forum because as I said almost by mistake he became the poster boy for these guys. Like zyzz in Australia or the jersey shore boys in the states . " we are stronger then you, better looking, obnoxious and don't give a **** " and guess what - they are in the majority. Im the one who is out of touch. I'm the one who is jaded and cynical .
    Maybe I should lighten up.

I'm the one who made that comment about the retweets, and you took it out of context a bit. I stated he was a promoting genius, supported by the fact that list last five tweets have absolutely blown up, but there's plenty more to suggest that he is indeed a master at selling a fight. Watch any press conference he's ever done, pure money. You might not like his behaviour, but the people that pay to see these fights are drawn in by it so yeah, that makes him a promoting genius in my book.

By the way, reading back on it I feel I was a little harsh replying to you earlier, apologies for that but I still think it wasn't a very good or well thought out post, to put it in a nicer way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

martyos121 wrote: »
    I'm the one who made that comment about the retweets, and you took it out of context a bit. I stated he was a promoting genius, supported by the fact that list last five tweets have absolutely blown up, but there's plenty more to suggest that he is indeed a master at selling a fight. Watch any press conference he's ever done, pure money. You might not like his behaviour, but the people that pay to see these fights are drawn in by it so yeah, that makes him a promoting genius in my book.

By the way, reading back on it I feel I was a little harsh replying to you earlier, apologies for that but I still think it wasn't a very good or well thought out post, to put it in a nicer way.
    this would be all true if the fight happens on July 9th. Doesn't look likely imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Macgregor aside , I never understand statements like this. We are one of the most loved nations in the world prior to his appearing. Multi national corporations like apple and Google have offices here. We have always had close ties with America - the unofficial capital of the world. it's not like we were wiping our arses with dock leaves before he came along .

In terms of a sport dominated by Brazilians and Americans, yes we certainly were wiping our arses with dock leaves before he came along.

You earlier aluded to a stereotype that follow McGregor, why you felt the need I'm not sure, but I'm sure you can imagine the majority of boards posters probably wouldn't fit that image you had in your head, which makes your post even more interesting.

I'm not sure why you struggle to appreciate the effect McGregor would have on a broader group of people, or appreciate what he's capable of to generate such interest.

I'm a bit of a fence sitter on him but I can't help but like him and I can't help but appreciate what he does. He's as smart as a whip, he may not be smart like you want him to be in a traditionally educated way but he's a very, very intelligent person. You think he's petulant and throwing the toys out of the pram, but personally I think you've got blinkered confirmation bias going on there. What I see is a very intelligent move utilising the tools of modern society; he's completely playing social media to broker a better deal for himself. At the end of the day that's what matters.

You make it seem like your just annoyed with a minority fan base, but let's not kid ourselves, this thread of conversation was kicked off by a "wahwah" attack on McGregor.

MD1990 wrote: »
    this would be all true if the fight happens on July 9th. Doesn't look likely imo.

Yeah I'm leaning towards "no" myself at this stage, but it still makes his next fight bigger, and I'm sure it'll be against Diaz. The one thing he's proven (and actually manipulated a little bit) over the last few days, is that people want to see McGregor fight Diaz. He's certainly not ducking him and I believe the fight will go ahead, but maybe at 201 or 202.

He's made himself a bigger star in the last week, and that makes him a fine promoter, because he did it all on his own, no press conference needed.

Let's see how things pan out anyway, still in speculation mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Next step in the saga; McGregor is back at UFC200..

.. As an MC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Macgregor aside , I never understand statements like this. We are one of the most loved nations in the world prior to his appearing. Multi national corporations like apple and Google have offices here. We have always had close ties with America - the unofficial capital of the world. it's not like we were wiping our arses with dock leaves before he came along .

I think you're being deliberately obtuse so this will be my last response.

There are a lot of people who have never witnessed an Irish man or Irish team dominating the world. Yes the Irish rugby team were the best in Europe for a few years and we had a world champion in Andy Lee for a few months. All of whom are fantastic athletes with fantastic dedication and skill. But they've never captivated the world like Conor has.

Conor is setting records by carrying a card on his own. UFC 196, a poor card with Conor as main fighting a late replacement, had a gate 4 times bigger than UFC 197, a card with the P4P #1 and #2 fighting. He tweets and it breaks records. His tweet announcing his retirement is the most retweeted tweet of any athlete.

You meet people abroad and they find out you're irish it's no longer leprechauns or Guinness they're talking about, it's Conor McGregor.

The man from Dublin quickly rising to the top, tore his ACL, came back and fought 4 times in a year winning all of them by knockout then beat the world champ, who was unbeaten in 10 years, with one punch.

I never once mentioned dock leaves or MNCs, but then again he'd stilll have haters if McGregor Sports and Entertainment LTD employed 2,000 people in the IFSC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,761 ✭✭✭degsie

.ak wrote: »
    Next step in the saga; McGregor is back at UFC200..

.. As an MC!

Yeah baby...

mvcRqw7G7jsDnKaqzhrg21w.jpg

degsie wrote: »
    Yeah baby...

mvcRqw7G7jsDnKaqzhrg21w.jpg

I wish Sage Northcutt well in his new career, those trousers are as hideous as his submission defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

BOHtox wrote: »
    I think you're being deliberately obtuse so this will be my last response.

There are a lot of people who have never witnessed an Irish man or Irish team dominating the world. Yes the Irish rugby team were the best in Europe for a few years and we had a world champion in Andy Lee for a few months. All of whom are fantastic athletes with fantastic dedication and skill. But they've never captivated the world like Conor has.

Conor is setting records by carrying a card on his own. UFC 196, a poor card with Conor as main fighting a late replacement, had a gate 4 times bigger than UFC196, a card with the P4P #1 and #2 fighting. He tweets and it breaks records. His tweet announcing his retirement is the most retweeted tweet of any athlete.

You meet people abroad and they find out you're irish it's no longer leprechauns or Guinness they're talking about, it's Conor McGregor.

The man from Dublin quickly rising to the top, tore his ACL, came back and fought 4 times in a year winning all of them by knockout then beat the world champ, who was unbeaten in 10 years, with one punch.

I never once mentioned dock leaves or MNCs, but then again he'd stilll have haters if McGregor Sports and Entertainment LTD employed 2,000 people in the IFSC.

Well while I agree that the content of your post is essentially correct I would like to add a caveat that there is a mayweather effect in play here too. He "carries the card and has great numbers and captivates the public" because there is also a large portion of the populous who "hate watch " in the hope he gets the crap beaten out of him.

Rory Mcilroy and Ruby Walsh are two others who I think have excelled on a global level fwiw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,478 ✭✭✭✭CSF

If you're tuning in to watch McGregor, it doesn't matter if it's because you like him or loathe him, the end result is the same.

National hero, the victim of the same begrudgers that most successful Irish people have to deal with.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Folks may I remind you all of the following in the charter

1) No personal abuse or uncivil lanquage such as calling people Retards etc.

2) No Trolling.

7) No fighter bashing ( either pro org or local level - it's not cool and shows a small mind ).

Lets keep things on track and cut out the nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

mel123 wrote: »
    Now I just realise I was being naive and it doesn't matter, its all about the money, end of. I think the whole thing is just disrespectful to fans, the very first tweet 'I have decided to retire young. Thanks for the cheese. Catch ya's later', i thought wow, what a way to make an announcement. Then as the saga went on I thought publicity stunt, and I still think that. This whole thing is taking fans for absolute mugs.
    Yes, prizefighting is about the money.
    I don't think any of this was disrespectful to the fans at all. I haven't paid much attention to it but it all seemed a fairly obvious ruse from the start aimed at getting attention from casual fans and mainstream media. If the fans are that emotionally invested and have a strong interest they should know as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

The genesis of my post was that another poster called him a genius based on retweets. Admittedly my rant is probably better placed in another forum because as I said almost by mistake he became the poster boy for these guys. Like zyzz in Australia or the jersey shore boys in the states . " we are stronger then you, better looking, obnoxious and don't give a **** " and guess what - they are in the majority. Im the one who is out of touch. I'm the one who is jaded and cynical .
    Maybe I should lighten up.

I dont know why everyone is having such a hissy fit about what youre saying, a lot of Irish Conor McGregor fans are as you described, it happens all the time with us, all aboard the show boat. My house mate watched him twice when I lived in Toronto and both times he brought only green clothes and a tri colour. He doesnt even watch MMA he just had the money to go so went both times, hes only ever watched him live and this guy was one of those douchebags described, A lot of his fans are from the show off culture, now I wouldnt consider these real fans, as people are talking about all these that hes encouraged, thats not entirely true as 80% will fade away if he loses again.
    Im not hating on McGregor I like him, but I will continue to like him watching on tv, id never go to a live event, well outside his press conference in toronto, which I stumbled into.
    Like maybe most of ye on boards here arent them fans, but if you dont notice them fans everywhere, have a look at yourselfs again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Right, my belief is that there will be a McGregor v Diaz fight, whether it is 200,201 or 202 is anyone's guess at the moment.
    What damage do you think another defeat will do to McGregor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

galljga1 wrote: »
    Right, my belief is that there will be a McGregor v Diaz fight, whether it is 200,201 or 202 is anyone's guess at the moment.

Very little in my opinion. Winning or losing, he's still the hottest ticket and the P4P most engaging and exciting figure in the promotion by a long way.

He has a FW and LW safety net that he can rely on if his venture into WW falls through. There are so many fights that people want to see him in. Aldo, Edgar, RDA, Pettis, Alvarez, Cerrone probably being to the forefront. I really think he has transcended titles now and is bigger than any other fighter out there.

There will always be demand for a guy who can talk big and knock people out.

He is not really a genius. He is just the poster boy that the Irish social media youth always wanted.
    Man bun , sleeve tatts, beard.
    A hipster good with his fists.
    The #fitfam/#cleaneating/#bulking/#gymlife set are his disciples. He is a brilliant athlete and I have no issue with him in that regard.
    He is exactly the hero that the people who sing ole ole at concerts , clap when a plane lands, sing shoes off for the boys in green, say Netflix and chill or go for a cheeky nandos to have the bants aspire to be like.
    A generation who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing , they lap up the mayweatheresque displays such as singing snoop dogg on a retro bike, posing for pics beside flash cars and talking about money spent frivolously .
    A generation who's attention span is summed up by the length of a vine or 140 characters.

Most annoying of all is the unwavering demographic who revere him irrespective of calling a guy a nazi, talking about favellas or slagging Diaz for working with underprivileged kids.

A generation of " new money", all fur coat and no knickers.

Again I will say he is a fabulous athlete and we could all learn a thing or two about self discipline and nutrition from him . It's admirable.

If he could cut out the over the top behaviour I'd throw him the tri colour myself after a fight.

Unfortunately( not necessarily by his own design)he has become the pied piper of Irish douchebaggery , a Paddy Kardashian.

This just about sums it up I reckon..
    Its been an interesting phenomenon, the blind devotion of his fans, the cognitive dissonance when challenged or when the double standard is brought to their attention.
    Conor McGregor, fair enough, is an entertainer, and a fighter..but he's no martial artist..the martial arts teach honour, humility, respect for you opponent etc..Not the loud mouthed bombast, rich and famous bull**** etc..
    He's just some egotistical imbecile who probably read the secret a few years ago(comparing old vs recent interviews), and wants to be the next Ultimate Warrior.
    To be fair, he was reasonably humble in defeat after the Diaz fight, but he didnt really have a choice did he?..
    This last week has shown that he's just an eejit..
    I look forward to a couple of years time, when this has all blown over, he's got a few baitins, and is on Im a Celebrity or whatever..

Mod Note: Already posted a warning about fighter bashing/trolling..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

galljga1 wrote: »

It would be pretty damaging to his appeal to outsiders who don't follow the sport closely or at all. What attracts them is greatness and getting pummelled again by Diaz or anybody in fact diminishes that. At worst it would drop his star power down to the level of a Rousey or Jones where at the moment he is still head and shoulders above everyone amongst regular MMA fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Ha ha, just as this sideshow rumbles on I've found a good "spot the difference" competition.

Now we're all fully aware that RTE has no knowledge or interest in the thuggery that is MMA but you would have thought that basic journalism and production of verifiable news would be quite integral to their very existence. . .or is it just me???

Anyway, here's their link to this story - http://www.rte.ie/sport/mma/2016/0425/784008-mcgregor-back/

Nothing controversial there.

Now have a look at the image I've attached to see the headline they had up earlier this morning before they were advised by most of the comments preceding it that this "news" was not actually verified by any other source.

Anyway, slow news day in the Teal household. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

meepins wrote: »
    It would be pretty damaging to his appeal to outsiders who don't follow the sport closely or at all. What attracts them is greatness and getting pummelled again by Diaz or anybody in fact diminishes that. At worst it would drop his star power down to the level of a Rousey or Jones where at the moment he is still head and shoulders above everyone amongst regular MMA fans.

I probably agree. Even if he wins, he needs to settle on a weight and make the most of it. If he starts yo-yoing up and down, he will probably get a few kickings. It can't be easy bulking up and dropping down, if that is what he plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

meepins wrote: »

Rousey has at best 2 fights (Holm & Tate) that people want to see her in. Jones really only has one right now (DC). As such they are victims of their own success but McGregor on the other hand has so many fights that people want to see him in across 3 weight classes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

arnoldmcgregor.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

just begrudgery people saying bad things about conor conor is the best thing to happen to mma in many ways he saved the sport he doesnt need to do press conference just fight he will easily beat diaz this time last time was a fluke loads of begrudgers saying he would have pissed hot if he flew to the states last week everyone needs to shut the f*ck up about the press conference its in the past no one cares god your all just geeky nerds nitpicking over things to slate conor over

Mod Note: Banned for one week..not going to keep repeating myself folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

_oveless_ wrote: »
    just begrudgery people saying bad things about conor conor is the best thing to happen to mma in many ways he saved the sport he doesnt need to do press conference just fight he will easily beat diaz this time last time was a fluke loads of begrudgers saying he would have pissed hot if he flew to the states last week

in one breath??? Impressive! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

theteal wrote: »
    in one breath??? Impressive! :D

yea , impressive the amount of sh1te one can talk in one breath.

Not sure how reliable a source this Dave Meltzer guy is (probably not very) but he says it wasn't Dana's call, it was Lorenzo's:
    “There’s a timeline to this, and I don’t know it exact, but it goes back well before any of this came out. They already had the showdown, and it was essentially a deal where I gather it was not Dana, it was Lorenzo who made the call. And it was Lorenzo who was talking to, whether it was Conor or Conor’s management. They were the ones doing the talking, so that’s one of the reasons why Dana probably didn’t bad mouth him. Number one, it would also be bad business to do it, but Dana wasn’t involved in this. It was Lorenzo, and it was a basic thing of ‘I’ve done so much for you’ and they’re (UFC) like ‘well, we’ve done so much for you’, and it kind of got into a stalemate.”

Above comments start around 7mins in:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Mod Note

Folks its very simple..some people like McGregor some don't. They don't have to..they are allowed an opinion. Its not a reason to start tearing into them if they are of the opposite opinion to you. Likewise though this is not the place to come in and rant about your personal feelings towards McGregor for the sake of fighter bashing/trolling and looking to stir things up.

He is in a sport where it depends on PPV sales of an event. Fighters are expected to promote themselves, their fights and the organisations. He is loud, he has a beard and tattoos...so what..is that really ? He smack talks like no one else in the UFC, he hypes fights and gets under other fighters skins and brings in the PPV sales off the back of it,that's why he gets paid so well. When it comes to fighting he happens to be good at it and has proven he can back up the smack talk. He is also only human, he lost a fight, he has lost fights before..it happens. The fact that there are as many fans and haters alike shows he is good at it and doing something right. This is something everyone has to learn to deal with - the haters especially but guess what, you don't have to watch him or the sport. You have a choice, so use it but don't come in here looking to troll or stir up **** because you have nothing better to do on a Monday morning.

How peoples fans act is not down to the fighter/footballer/'insert sport' here. There are those fans that will be perceived as idiots, as bandwagoners, wanna be's and whatever else you want to call them..that is life and those type of 'fans' are in every sport and always will be. It's naive if you think this is something that only exists with the arrival of Conor McGregor.

If you want to come in here and have a reasonable discussion on things by all means do, but this isn't the place for haters/trolls/fighter bashers to come in and amuse themselves for a few hours. Some of you have never stepped foot in the forum before or only drop in when there is a big story around McGregor and then drop in to go on a rant about how much you hate McGregor and then wonder why you get a warning.

Likewise this isnt the place to start getting into tit for tat with someone who has a different opinion to you. Quoting them and just posting stupid remarks back looking for a rise or to reaction. If someone is trolling etc just report it, otherwise have a discussion like a sensible human being.If you cant do that then simply move on and don't come in here.

Now back on track and enough of the nonsense folks..

/End Mod Note

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Still nothing official from Dana or UFC.... me thinks Conor is having a laugh in Iceland with catching some fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Cathy.C wrote: »
    Not sure how reliable a source this Dave Meltzer guy is (probably not very) but he says it wasn't Dana's call, it was Lorenzo's:

Above comments start around 7mins in:

Meltzer is an extremely reliable source.

Still nothing official from Dana or UFC.... me thinks Conor is having a laugh in Iceland with catching some fish.

Unfortunately I think it's not true also but I don't think it was motivated by him having a laugh, I actually think it's a good chess move in all this as it puts all focus back on the UFC as the one's being responsible for the fight not going ahead. It also ensures all ears will be on John Kavanagh's appearance on the MMA Hour later tonight.