Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Allergic to Work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

maudgonner wrote: »
    It was just a joke. If you see a pun, you have to make it, that's the law in these parts.

Apologies, is this where I should laugh now?

Or do I just do that for the funny puns?

BrianD3 wrote: »
    I agree with the poster poa on several points. I am about the same age with similar family circumstances. I am working at the moment but hope to retire in my 40s.

However, if/when I stop working, I don't intend to claim any dole but rather live off investment income until state pension age when my 20+ years of social insurance contributions should give me a small pension. As I am very frugal, own my house and don't have a wife, mortgage or children I don't need much income to enjoy my life.

Some would undoubtedly condemn and shame me for not being a good little worker drone and consumer who should "man up", get a wife and kids, climb the corporate ladder (and pay more tax) and keep working until I'm 75 so that I can be a "productive member of society".

My attitude to work has changed in the last few years thanks to a few things -I have watched relatives get sick and die and realise that I am getting older and this will happen to me too. Up until a few years ago I never thought about death or about how my time is finite. Also, I have been reading blogs and websites such as earlyretirementextreme and captaincapitalism which have made me think about work and life.

Even though I didn't know my arse from my elbow in my teens and twenties I got through them relatively unscathed - I have never dabbled in drugs and only a little in alcohol, didn't make any stupid errors like getting someone pregnant and have been saving to invest since I was a teenager. As a result of this, my finances are now very healthy and I have freedom and options that many other people my age can only dream about.

I have also realised that many people who have children are not exactly good parents and have had children for the wrong reasons e.g. following the herd, misguided ideas about leaving a legacy, so that they have someone to look after them in old age etc.

Fair play to you.
    If I had a mortgage and kids I think I would be more motivated/pressured to work.
    My only real motivation to work hard was to save enough to by an apartment; rather than borrow the money on a 25 year mortgage.
    I suppose if I had kids I would have to take out a mortgage. The thing is; what does one do with said property?
    I mean I don't have anyone to leave it to. On top of that when my parents pass in say 10-15 years I will own their house. So do I live in it or sell it? Or rent it out for an income.
    I think usually people put so much into buying a home in order to have something to leave their kids. And are duly motivated to work hard to achieve that.
    I suppose I will sell my parents house and live off that rather than continue to draw dole when I don't need it.
    The thing is, not marrying, not having kids, and not having a mortgage tends to make one stereotyped by those that do.
    It's a shame one cannot just live and let live, without judging others; or trying to impose one's ideas on others.
    My parents put pressure on me to marry and have kid, get a mortgage, work hard until 65 etc.
    When I worked I used to criticise the dole heads sponging of the state, my taxes paying for dole etc. It's human nature, so no offence taken when people do it now.
    But what I find hard to take is people expecting one to do what the majority choose to do, marry, have kids, mortgage; and work and pay tax to keep all that going.
    I prefer less income, less materialism, less pressure, and more freedom.
    I don't care if someone works or sponges, has kids or not, etc.
    Other people's lives are not my business, so why should mine be theirs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

poa wrote: »

Because they're going out to work to pay the taxes that fund your lifestyle. Something you are not willing to do yourself.

If you stopped claiming dole you would find people would be much less judgemental, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Fair play to you.
    If I had a mortgage and kids I think I would be more motivated/pressured to work.
    My only real motivation to work hard was to save enough to by an apartment; rather than borrow the money on a 25 year mortgage.
    I suppose if I had kids I would have to take out a mortgage. The thing is; what does one do with said property?
    I mean I don't have anyone to leave it to. On top of that when my parents pass in say 10-15 years I will own their house. So do I live in it or sell it? Or rent it out for an income.
    I think usually people put so much into buying a home in order to have something to leave their kids. And are duly motivated to work hard to achieve that.
    I suppose I will sell my parents house and live off that rather than continue to draw dole when I don't need it.
    The thing is, not marrying, not having kids, and not having a mortgage tends to make one stereotyped by those that do.
    It's a shame one cannot just live and let live, without judging others; or trying to impose one's ideas on others.
    My parents put pressure on me to marry and have kid, get a mortgage, work hard until 65 etc.
    When I worked I used to criticise the dole heads sponging of the state, my taxes paying for dole etc. It's human nature, so no offence taken when people do it now.
    But what I find hard to take is people expecting one to do what the majority choose to do, marry, have kids, mortgage; and work and pay tax to keep all that going.
    I prefer less income, less materialism, less pressure, and more freedom.
    I don't care if someone works or sponges, has kids or not, etc.

Why are you asking these stupid questions when you answered them yourself?

People are annoyed by your lifestyle because it's being funded by the tax payer for no good reason.

Stop banging on about your parents and expectations, nobody would give a flying hoot if you had no kids or 20 kids as long as you were funding them yourself.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Because they're going out to work to pay the taxes that fund your lifestyle. Something you are not willing to do yourself.

If you stopped claiming dole you would find people would be much less judgemental, I reckon.

I think people that don't work (and don't claim dole) still get judged.
    The majority expect an able man to work, whether he needs to or not.
    Say I sold my apartment, and lived off the cash rather than dole?
    I would still be looked down on for not working when I am able.
    The thing is, most would assume; I don't work therefore must be a dole head.
    One would still get the same treatment, and have to explain one's circumstances.
    The thing is, ones personal circumstances are none of their business.
    I don't see how much a man earns, or where he gets his income; as any of my business.
    And in return he doesn't need to know mine either. That's the deal.
    I worked and paid tax, now I don't work and claim dole; that shouldn't make people look at me any differently.
    Let the workers judge away, I don't care what they think. Some might do, and that is fine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭Allinall

I think people that don't work (and don't claim dole) still get judged.
    The majority expect an able man to work, whether he needs to or not.
    Say I sold my apartment, and lived off the cash rather than dole?
    I would still be looked down on for not working when I am able.
    The thing is, most would assume; I don't work therefore must be a dole head.
    One would still get the same treatment, and have to explain one's circumstances.
    The thing is, ones personal circumstances are none of their business.
    I don't see how much a man earns, or where he gets his income; as any of my business.
    And in return he doesn't need to know mine either. That's the deal.
    I worked and paid tax, now I don't work and claim dole; that shouldn't make people look at me any differently.
    Let the workers judge away, I don't care what they think. Some might do, and that is fine too.

You're doing this by choice, which is illegal.

You should be reported and prosecuted for social welfare fraud.

I think what it comes down to is;
    workers that pay taxes are good men,
    dole head that sponge off the state are bad men.
    One can debate it ad infinitum, but the majority opinion rules the minority one.
    The only problem is, that one cannot change the way a man feels.
    I hate work, that's the reality. So I don't work.
    Now if I get a job to please the majority opinion that I should, I will hate it.
    So what does a man do? Do a job and hate it, or not work and be happy?
    I say this, don't knock it until you have tried it.
    I have worked and not worked; and having tried both I prefer the latter.
    We could have a communist Republic where there is no social welfare and everyone has to work.
    I don't think that is a better option than the capitalist Republic we have whereby the workers taxes pay the dole.
    So what is the answer? Force the dole head to work, cut the dole, Jobbridge?
    I don't know, but one thing I do know; I am happier not working than when I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Allinall wrote: »

Exactly sounds like a right slacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭Allinall

One can debate it ad infinitum, but the majority opinion rules the minority one.
    Now if I get a job to please the majority opinion that I should, I will hate it.
    We could have a communist Republic where there is no social welfare and everyone has to work.
    I don't think that is a better option than the capitalist Republic we have whereby the workers taxes pay the dole.
    I don't know, but one thing I do know; I am happier not working than when I was.

There is no dole.

There is Jobseekers Allowance/Benefit.

Note the "seekers" bit?

How do you qualify if you readily admit to not looking for work?

Did you lie when you applied?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

If you're going to claim dole money that you shouldn't be, at least spend that time dabbling with some kind of self-employed or small-time hobby work that you actually enjoy and can get paid for, which you could use to offset the dole payments - and then just do that.

If the dole is all you need to get by, then you could do fúck all amount of work - but work you actually enjoy - to get yourself by, without sacrificing a ton of your time, as it wouldn't take much earning to match the dole.

Allinall wrote: »

Agreed, I am no angel.
    Will you pray for my salvation at mass?
    I would do, only I think my skin might blister when I enter the church.
    Maybe I should turn myself in at my local Garda station?
    Will a bath with some TCP in it help to wash the dirty feeling off me?

The answer is you haven't done every job out there, you keep trying different jobs or pursue a career in something you enjoy/have interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The sad reality of most working class folk worked into a grave from struggle to pay bills - rent or mortgage while being financially raped as well as to work longer hours for less cash just to make ends meet. Is this the world that folk need ?.

Ush1 wrote: »
    The answer is you haven't done every job out there, you keep trying different jobs or pursue a career in something you enjoy/have interest.

I have a collection of watches. I think watch dealing is something I would fancy.
    I can't think of anything else really? Maybe wine taster/reviewer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Why are your posts written like soliloquies? Are you a poet? :P

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Why are your posts written like soliloquies? Are you a poet? :P

That is just the way us sociopaths express our thoughts.

I have a collection of watches. I think watch dealing is something I would fancy.
    I can't think of anything else really? Maybe wine taster/reviewer?

Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

Depending on where you live, you might not even be able to get a job if you want one. That's the situation I'm in. I was born in Ireland, grew up in the States. After 2 years of college in America, I had thousands in debt and no more money and had to drop out.

I eventually returned to Ireland, worked for a bit before the recession. Then the place I worked in closed and I decided to return to college. I had to start again in 1st year due to the American credits not being transferable. I worked a part time job waitering/bartending in a hotel to get me through.

By the time I had finished the ordinary degree, the recession was in full swing. The government had raised the fees, cut my grants, and cut the minimum wage, which led to my employer hiring a Polish lad on the lower rate and cutting my hours to nil (not blaming the Polish guy btw, only the gov.) So I again found myself unable to continue my education, and now there were no jobs to be had.

So I went on a FAS course to gain an employable skill. The course was not very good to be honest, but I finished it.

Then, desperate to avoid the dreaded 'gap' on your CV, I took up a Jobbridge internship. They had me stuffing envelopes and other mundane tasks, and then my 'mentor' went on maternity leave and so they thought I would do her job for free until she came back (she was well paid, and was supposed to be there to teach me, she obvs knew she was preggo). Out of the other 6 employees in the place, there were 4 on CE schemes or internships. I realized there was no chance at a job here and they were taking the wee so I left it.

At the urging of the Social Welfare, I took up another one. Did the whole 9 months in a job that I did not need training for as I had done it before. Which was good because no training was given, and the DSP never checked if there was. After 9 months I was thanked and sent on my way. They then hired another intern to do the same thing, under a slightly different title. I complained to the powers that be who basically shrugged.

Then I was denied Rent allowance because the rent limits to qualify are unrealistic. I was denied fuel allowance because my housemate was in a job (dunno why that disqualifies you but it does).

This was in a town in the Northwest. I couldn't get work anywhere and having to pay all rent/bills out of 188 a week was unfeasible, so I had to move back home to even smaller town with an even lesser chance of getting work. I applied for a bartending job in a hotel though and managed to get the job. The 2nd weekend I was scheduled to work 3pm - 4am Sat night and 3pm- 4am Sun night. No problem, I said. At 11 pm Sun night I was told I would have to be back in at 7 am Monday(3 hrs after finishing a 13 hr shift) to move luggage, 200 bags of luggage from a tour. I refused, told them that was illegal and unhealthy, and I was sacked.

So all the things I was told to do to become successful, work hard, get a degree, do free internships, etc. got me absolutely nowhere. I'm right back where I was when I moved back to Ireland 10 years ago. If you aren't in the right location (ie: Dublin), if you don't have transport, family with money to help you relocate , etc. you are at a severe disadvantage and will end up stuck in a rut with no way out. I refuse to feel bad about collecting the dole in light of all these things.

I used to feel so ashamed at being unemployed. But now I feel just like yer man POA. This government have destroyed my chance at a future. A young, reasonably intelligent man who wants to earn a living should be able to do so. If they can't then the system is broken and I am not going to feel bad about the paltry bit of cash I'm given each week to keep me going. The TDs in this country are claiming ridiculous expenses on top of their high wage while they completely screw people like me over every chance they get. So I'll take my dole now and I don't give a toss what anyone thinks about me. And neither should POA, because wanting to work doesn't guarantee you anything in this joke of a place. So sign on with a smile, I say. Because god knows the government are laughing away at the likes of the ordinary plebs they fleece for their ridiculous wages and pensions, iphones, exaggerated travel expenses, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭George Michael

BrianD3 wrote: »
    I agree with the poster poa on several points. I am about the same age with similar family circumstances. I am working at the moment but hope to retire in my 40s.

However, if/when I stop working, I don't intend to claim any dole but rather live off investment income until state pension age when my 20+ years of social insurance contributions should give me a small pension. As I am very frugal, own my house and don't have a wife, mortgage or children I don't need much income to enjoy my life.

Some would undoubtedly condemn and shame me for not being a good little worker drone and consumer who should "man up", get a wife and kids, climb the corporate ladder (and pay more tax) and keep working until I'm 75 so that I can be a "productive member of society".

My attitude to work has changed in the last few years thanks to a few things -I have watched relatives get sick and die and realise that I am getting older and this will happen to me too. Up until a few years ago I never thought about death or about how my time is finite. Also, I have been reading blogs and websites such as earlyretirementextreme and captaincapitalism which have made me think about work and life.

Even though I didn't know my arse from my elbow in my teens and twenties I got through them relatively unscathed - I have never dabbled in drugs and only a little in alcohol, didn't make any stupid errors like getting someone pregnant and have been saving to invest since I was a teenager. As a result of this, my finances are now very healthy and I have freedom and options that many other people my age can only dream about.

I have also realised that many people who have children are not exactly good parents and have had children for the wrong reasons e.g. following the herd, misguided ideas about leaving a legacy, so that they have someone to look after them in old age etc.

this would be my plan as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

There's no shame in being unemployed, or being unable to find work in your field. I don't look down on anyone who's on the dole if they'd rather not be. I do look down on people who choose to be on the dole.

I also have massive respect for somebody who does well enough to retire in their 40s, provided they're living off what they've saved themselves. Brian D3 had the exact same societal responsibilities as poa but he's also saved his money after paying his taxes, something I'm guessing poa didn't do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Cant believe people are falling for it... 1 out of 10...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

“We should do away with the absolutely specious notion that everybody has to earn a living. It is a fact today that one in ten thousand of us can make a technological breakthrough capable of supporting all the rest. The youth of today are absolutely right in recognizing this nonsense of earning a living. We keep inventing jobs because of this false idea that everybody has to be employed at some kind of drudgery because, according to Malthusian Darwinian theory he must justify his right to exist. So we have inspectors of inspectors and people making instruments for inspectors to inspect inspectors. The true business of people should be to go back to school and think about whatever it was they were thinking about before somebody came along and told them they had to earn a living.”

R. Buckminster Fuller

I'm taking him at face value because the only thing more pathetic than someone actually having this attitude would be someone putting this much energy into a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

There's no shame in being unemployed, or being unable to find work in your field. I don't look down on anyone who's on the dole if they'd rather not be. I do look down on people who choose to be on the dole.

I also have massive respect for somebody who does well enough to retire in their 40s, provided they're living off what they've saved themselves. Brian D3 had the exact same societal responsibilities as poa but he's also saved his money after paying his taxes, something I'm guessing poa didn't do?

How do you feel about TD's who are allowed to retire much earlier than anyone else, with very generous pensions and perks? Or their wives who still get child benefit even though they don't need it?

You need to realize that the way the system is set up, it's all about what you can get away with. Our government leaders have set the example for it and they get a lot more than 188 a week.

If poa qualifies for the dole, he draws the dole, simple as. He doesn't have a responsibility to live off of his savings only and your views on the situation don't matter a toss, the same way Terence Flanagan of Renua doesn't care what I think about the fact that he claimed 700.00 euro for a new iphone and hands free kit right after losing his seat.

Why do you let people drawing the dole (whatever their motivation may be) rustle your jimmies? Do you think that if the dole was abolished, the government would put the savings back into the pockets of the working taxpayer? Sure they would...

Clampdown wrote: »
    How do you feel about TD's who are allowed to retire much earlier than anyone else, with very generous pensions and perks? Or their wives who still get child benefit even though they don't need it?

You need to realize that the way the system is set up, it's all about what you can get away with. Our government leaders have set the example for it and they get a lot more than 188 a week.

If poa qualifies for the dole, he draws the dole, simple as. He doesn't have a responsibility to live off of his savings only and your views on the situation don't matter a toss, the same way Terence Flanagan of Renua doesn't care what I think about the fact that he claimed 700.00 euro for a new iphone and hands free kit right after losing his seat.

Why do you let people drawing the dole (whatever their motivation may be) rustle your jimmies? Do you think that if the dole was abolished, the government would put the savings back into the pockets of the working taxpayer? Sure they would...

All of that bothers me, I'm just not mentioning it because it's not the topic being discussed. I'm annoyed that the system allows him to draw the dole because, being correctly enforced, it shouldn't really.

You're right though, what I say doesn't matter because at the end of the day he's not going to change. I just know that I wouldn't have any respect for someone who's just decided to go on the dole to wait out their parent's deaths.

All of that bothers me, I'm just not mentioning it because it's not the topic being discussed. I'm annoyed that the system allows him to draw the dole because, being correctly enforced, it shouldn't really.

You're right though, what I say doesn't matter because at the end of the day he's not going to change. I just know that I wouldn't have any respect for someone who's just decided to go on the dole to wait out their parent's deaths.

I don't have the respect of Captain Flaps.
    I am crushed, truly.
    I think I better sign off tomorrow, I am totally wracked with guilt.

Your name's not Noel by any chance is it?

I worked for 20 years, saved some money, put some up my nose and down my throat, bought some fast cars, and my watch collection.
    Then I bought my apartment with my savings and called it a day.
    I sold the car, and now drive an 11 year old A4 convertible. I gave up the cocaine and drinking binges. I still have the watch collection, as that is my last vice I can't let go of.
    Savings? Fk all really if I am honest. I put everything I had when I sold my car into my apartment.
    I suppose I could free up some funds by selling my watch collection and live off that, but not for 10 years.
    What can one say? Old habits die hard.

Your name's not Noel by any chance is it?

Negative Captain.

I'm taking him at face value because the only thing more pathetic than someone actually having this attitude would be someone putting this much energy into a troll.

In this thread I have been called; Grand Master, depressive, and now pathetic.

I have yet to call anyone names.

I think you show yourself up when you bring things down to name calling level. It's rather like when one cannot articulate one's thoughts and swears.

I am happy, are you?