Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rotterdam Marathon 10th April '16

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Firedance wrote: »
    somethings wrong - its saying 42.2KM for the last 5 mins on the tracker I thought he'd finished in 3:25:xx

Yep. Hopefully just a tracker issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Very consistent splits from young. Nice going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

if he's through he'll have his phone shortly, it has to be a tracker issue, if so he's around 3:25:50 I think - I hope -

Murph_D wrote: »
    Very consistent splits from young. Nice going.

yes she's been very consistent, great going Anne

Mbarr nearly there too :) well done Mark!

yes she's been very consistent, great going Anne

Mbarr nearly there too :) well done Mark!

Mbarr is having a tough run in but is indeed nearly there....dig in M there is a cold one waiting for you somewhere close by!!

3:34:20 for mbarr. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Looks like MBarr did 3:34, great going. Tang must have gone missing...

mbarr 3:34:20 fantastic going mark - well done your first marathon!!!

Mbarr done and dusted in 3:34:20. Well done. Great run.

annapr wrote: »
    Looks like MBarr did 3:34, great going. Tang must have gone missing...

its a bit odd that the tracker worked the whole way through, and has finished for everyone else - no update by phone either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

paulers06 home at 3:38:51

its a bit odd that the tracker worked the whole way through, and has finished for everyone else - no update by phone either :(

I am sure it would take a while to get to gear and he may not even have his phone with him. May have left it back in hotel.

Looks like Anne is speeding up. Super stuff.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I am sure it would take a while to get to gear and he may not even have his phone with him. May have left it back in hotel.

is that code for stop worrying? ok... :o

Yes it is. :)

great going Anne, nearly there! 3:38:57 through 39K

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Come on tang. Where the f are you?
    Brilliant going all round.
    Thanks for all updates.

Anne 3:44:19 through 40K

Looks like she is powering home if she can repeat that 40th k it will be some finish from her.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Looks like she is powering home if she can repeat that 40th k it will be some finish from her.

3:50:48 with 1 km to go!!! brilliant Anne come on!

ok tang's alive and finished - no official time yet from him either

Anne 3:55:25 Whoop whopp! well done Anne

tangs watch gives 3:24:47 - well done man :) enjoy that beer

well done everyone!!

3:55:25 from younganne with a powerful finish for a negative split run. Great going!

Anne 3:55:25 Whoop whopp! well done Anne

What a finish - and a big negative split. Great running.

ok tang's alive and finished - no official time yet from him either

All OK then? Do we have an unofficial time?

Murph_D wrote: »
    All OK then? Do we have an unofficial time?

about 3 posts up D :) 3:24:47 - he's having a beer so yes, all is ok

right, I'm off to the spa for the afternoon, exhausted after all that :D:D

Another brilliant debut. Well done Barry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Greetings from Paddy Murphys Bar, Rotterdam, 3.24.44 by my watch no official time yet. Was in a world of hurt last 4 miles but manned up and toughed it out. Massive thanks for support past 3-4 months folks and for following me diligently this morning. What Boards is all about in my mind, I'll have one for ye all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Kurt_Godel wrote: »
    Delighted for him, I have a learn to swim program waiting for when he gets back;)

After that I need a learn to walk program. Thanks all for the support. Closing 8k I was fighting onset of cramp so relieved to break the duck.

Let no one say you can't do something. Theres me going on 48 with issues walking when I was born, but with dedication and luck its achievable. Delighted and a bit emotional. Need to lie down now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

well done everyone!!

Well done, delighted for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

Mark Hanrahan 2:19:50 at the Rotterdam marathon as first Irish man, I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Horrific ending ☺ I found it a bit warm but was going nicely.. when it came to the the meaty end of the race I had nothing... few wobbles and had to stop a couple of times and about 500-600 meters to go the two hammers cramped up and I was in a heap ☺ Eventually hobbled over the line...

Nothing near what I wanted but satisfied I did all I could on the day ...

Will be over to pub a bit later , I need to lay down for a bit and get some water in...

Thanks for the well wishes, some cracking results there by everyone.... except me ☺

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

3:12:04 for me

So fawking happy

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

3:38:51 for me. Am delighted, I don't take sun well so found the conditions very tough. Really struggled around miles 19-20. Enjoying some tasty pints now in Murphy's. Well done to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done everyone.... Enjoy the well-earned pints and the lie down! Not necessarily in that order of course... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

tang1 wrote: »
    , I'll have one for ye all.
    Have 2......ur a real man now....well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Delighted with today's run, thanks for all support.

3.55.25 for 2.22b with negative split. Delighted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Great running all round.
    Well done folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

As always, a brilliant race. Over here try just do things they right way. A faultless race in a nice city. Very highly recommended.

1.20:56 through halfway for a 2.40:58 finish. Without doubt I could gone faster but do I care? Not a bit! Today was about enjoying the the distance once more.

I loved every step.

Well done to all and a big thank you for all the support. Nice meeting a few over many drinks! Already looking forward to my next visit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭The Davestator

On my phone and incapable of doing a table even if I wasn't!

Appreciate it if anyone can update?

Bib: 7966
    PB: 3:51:11
    Target: 3:49:59! (was supposed to be sub 3:30 but alas!)

Thank you very much

My target was 3.49.59. Actual time...3.49.59! Boom☺

Lovely race, but very hot. Me and my friend both had it long at 26.49. The end seemed to take forever to appear. I was a few minutes ahead of target until 37k when I started to slow. Nothing major but had to dig deep

Came across some Irish but don't now if they are from these parts. Guy melting in a long sleeve dublin jersey, two trim athletic runners and a dunshaughlin fella.

Well done to everyone running those amazing times

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

I've 2 big blisters on the ball of my feet... I'm very nearly squelching around the place. My quads and calfs are tender as fook....

On the bright side, it's bingo night in murphys tonight and party till 4am with Ivo Gleeman...I'm hoping to make it to 1am 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Home again and feet up. Wrecked!

Great evening in Paddy Murphys. Good to meet so many legendary Boardsies. Stayed far too late and may have had one more beer than planned. I blame Ultrapercy and his missus for buying more drink when they really should know better.:-)

Delighted with the race, the whole event. Ran pretty much according to plan, splits 1:34:03 and 1:32:49. Afraid to really push until km 41 but managed 3:53/km from there on which is about my 5k pace so left a great feeling. I might write a proper report in a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,632 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

snailsong wrote: »
    Home again and feet up. Wrecked!

Great evening in Paddy Murphys. Good to meet so many legendary Boardsies. Stayed far too late and may have had one more beer than planned. I blame Ultrapercy and his missus for buying more drink when they really should know better.:-)

Delighted with the race, the whole event. Ran pretty much according to plan, splits 1:34:03 and 1:32:49. Afraid to really push until km 41 but managed 3:53/km from there on which is about my 5k pace so left a great feeling. I might write a proper report in a day or two.

Delighted for ya P.

Fantastic with more to come

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well done Paul, fantastic run by another auld lad. Delighted for you.

Come on B!!

TbL

Whaddya mean, grandad. Sure I'm still a young fella;-)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Well done to everyone who ran - wasn't an easy day out there yesterday, quite warm in the end. Throat killing me today from the screaming and shouting, great seeing so many Irish singlets out there. I had great craic cheering the Irish!

Good to meet a few of you in Paddy Murphy's, however briefly.

Lonnnnnng trip home for myself and YoungAnne on the late flight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

The more marathons I run the more I think of my favourite line from any film. The last scene in Unforgiven sees Wild Will Munny with his foot on little Bill Dagnetts throat and his shotgun pointed at his head. Bill protests "I don't deserve this,to die like this. I was building a house" Wild Will retorts "deserve got nothing to do with it" and pulls the trigger. Deserves got nothing to do with it should be a life mantra.Some weekend, new friends made old ones rekindled and more lessons learned but no sub 2.30. Thanks for the continued support on this forum that often frustrates me but still holds me. To Snailsong and the rest of the Mayo crew, just THANKS.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

It was great knowing that so many people were watching us all on the tracker and also at one point seeing some of the elite ahead of us on the course, notably Tom Fitz who gave a hearty welcome. I was on for my sub-3 goal at the halfway mark but had a bit of a psychological hiccup when the 3 hour pacers came through quite fast (playing catch up from a slow start in heavy traffic I think) at about 30k. Tried to stay with them but couldn't and realised that my goal had to adjust.

It also got a bit warm towards the end but plugged away with the help of a Crusaders clubmate and I came in at 3:03:18, a 4 minute PB improvement over last year's Rotterdam race and Dublin in October, and 10th out of more than 600 runners in an age group which I'll be leaving in a month's time. So can't complain at all.

Lots of great Irish support out there. Thanks everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭Itziger

jahaco wrote: »
    It was great knowing that so many people were watching us all on the tracker and also at one point seeing some of the elite ahead of us on the course, notably Tom Fitz who gave a hearty welcome. I was on for my sub-3 goal at the halfway mark but had a bit of a psychological hiccup when the 3 hour pacers came through quite fast (playing catch up from a slow start in heavy traffic I think) at about 30k. Tried to stay with them but couldn't and realised that my goal had to adjust.

It also got a bit warm towards the end but plugged away with the help of a Crusaders clubmate and I came in at 3:03:18, a 4 minute PB improvement over last year's Rotterdam race and Dublin in October, and 10th out of more than 600 runners in an age group which I'll be leaving in a month's time. So can't complain at all.

Haven't been following your progress on Boards, but your time (and previous best) is so close to mine that I've started to take an interest. Planning an autumn marathon for next sub3 effort? Mind me asking what the age category is/was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

jahaco wrote: »

That is a great time, well done. That is a fantastic level of running for your age group. No shame in not getting sub-3. A fine PB chunk taken off.

In my case I was struggling to maintain pace towards the end but I'd worked up some time as a buffer which goes against conventional advice, but it worked for me. The support and atmosphere was brilliant. Got a few IMRA shouts from people who recognised the vest.