Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork 2016 Route news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Pat Dunne wrote: »
    Here we go, "handbags at dawn" over SNN yet again.

Don't worry it seems to have resolved itself without your input this time pat:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭Pat Dunne

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Don't worry it seems to have resolved itself without your input this time pat:D
    1K6ufO.jpg
    You're more than welcome, but I can't resist :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

kub wrote: »
    I have copied and posted the following from the Shannon Airport thread:

This funny when Norwegian announced flights for cork, there was great celebration at the death of Shannon, I wonder how many are so smug now?
    ?
    No we were not, we were celebrating the "loss" of the effing road to SNN.:D

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

Wow Kub, try read a post not take offence at a typo

Lol try not let the bitter grapes cloud or interfere with the reading of my post! As you well know there was plenty of posts rejoicing the fact ORK had SNN on the ropes when a blind man could see NAS were attempting to use ORK as a work around to labour laws and give crew far worse conditions and pay, but no didn't matter one up on SNN to get the flights by the way were never goin to happen and when they didn't get their ball back the canceled the non existence flights! Do you disagree with that?

Now the next point I see claims that ORK can support full scheduled of flights to USA! That's bs, airlines make money as their primary goal if it was possible and profitable a carrier would service routes or is that my bitterness or business? Compared to 2yrs ago cork is doing quit well increased flights and pax numbers, but I'm sure you can even see the chance of transatlantic regular service is slim to none, if Norwegian had got the Clarence they'd have dropped ORK after a year cause firstly they'd have the go ahead to treat employees like slaves and secondly PAX number would not have added up. The design of the airport with its location wind and did is another issue, now you my think Cork is hard done by but I see it very differently it on the up routes and pax but bar charter transatlantic won't happen.

Now for the bit you clearly didn't read is Norwegian are now attempting the same thing at SNN, even though they approached SNN first, there's absolutely no loyalty in aviation if Norwegian do get SNN route going which I doubt cause the Americans will not play ball and have huge lobby from their own airline union, but on the off chance they do and get their staff by the nuts they'd drop SNN too cause I'm not sure if you know the can operate with current labour laws from Cork SNN or any place else but no they want cheap labour can you get that?

Another thing is in last 4 years I used cork over 10 times and SNN 4 times a year because I'm engaged to an American, so ya I'm very anti Cork lol, if anything your post shows if ORK can't have it no one can would that be right?, you need to see if you can manage logical thinking is SNN was built as transatlantic airport still is and will be for a long time, it was built at the mid point on the west coast so it could service all areas on west within reason, Cork was built in a politically driven location which is now coming home to roost, it location on a fog bound hill is terrible! Or am I making that up? Sit down have a think about it Cork is doing very well atm as a regional airport serving UK and European destinations! Correct?

Its got better connections than SNN to UK and Europe but as always ye want the virgin space shuttle to be based their, it 1:30 to SNN if your that hard up for money I'll give you €20 for petrol, Ireland is small Cork is small you should be happy with the range of flights cause I'd take the closer to home!

All messing aside did you honestly think Norwegian were goin to run these flights?

Very simple if you despise and begrudge SNN so much head to Dublin or Heathrow!

I know liam hurt in 2013 but let it go mate, ffs, I fly cork all the time with SNN 15km from me I don't crib or cry

Norwegian were never goin to happen same as it won't in Shannon,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭kub

imurdaddy wrote: »
    Wow Kub, try read a post not take offence at a typo

Where was this typo?

Lol try not let the bitter grapes cloud or interfere with the reading of my post! As you well know there was plenty of posts rejoicing the fact ORK had SNN on the ropes when a blind man could see NAS were attempting to use ORK as a work around to labour laws and give crew far worse conditions and pay, but no didn't matter one up on SNN to get the flights by the way were never goin to happen and when they didn't get their ball back the canceled the non existence flights! Do you disagree with that?

Firstly i am glad you got a laugh, for what ever reason. Please do not assume what I know and don't for that matter. How can you assume that Norwegian were planning on doing as you suggest considering the service has not even started yet?

Now the next point I see claims that ORK can support full scheduled of flights to USA! That's bs, airlines make money as their primary goal if it was possible and profitable a carrier would service routes or is that my bitterness or business? Compared to 2yrs ago cork is doing quit well increased flights and pax numbers, but I'm sure you can even see the chance of transatlantic regular service is slim to none, if Norwegian had got the Clarence they'd have dropped ORK after a year cause firstly they'd have the go ahead to treat employees like slaves and secondly PAX number would not have added up. The design of the airport with its location wind and did is another issue, now you my think Cork is hard done by but I see it very differently it on the up routes and pax but bar charter transatlantic won't happen.

Usually business's do things to make money, that is the whole idea, i am not sure where bitterness comes into the equation. Why again are you assuming that i can even see the chance of transatlantic regular service being slim to none? You must have a crystal ball being able to say what Norwegians plans are in the future.

Now for the bit you clearly didn't read is Norwegian are now attempting the same thing at SNN, even though they approached SNN first, there's absolutely no loyalty in aviation if Norwegian do get SNN route going which I doubt cause the Americans will not play ball and have huge lobby from their own airline union, but on the off chance they do and get their staff by the nuts they'd drop SNN too cause I'm not sure if you know the can operate with current labour laws from Cork SNN or any place else but no they want cheap labour can you get that?

I will take your word on all that.

Another thing is in last 4 years I used cork over 10 times and SNN 4 times a year because I'm engaged to an American, so ya I'm very anti Cork lol, if anything your post shows if ORK can't have it no one can would that be right?, you need to see if you can manage logical thinking is SNN was built as transatlantic airport still is and will be for a long time, it was built at the mid point on the west coast so it could service all areas on west within reason, Cork was built in a politically driven location which is now coming home to roost, it location on a fog bound hill is terrible! Or am I making that up? Sit down have a think about it Cork is doing very well atm as a regional airport serving UK and European destinations! Correct?

I would suggest that perhaps you study a bit more about both Shannon and Cork airports and as to why especially Cork was situated where it currently is, Aviation factors were more of a reason than political ones at the time.
    If Cork can't have it, there is usually a good reason and I would have no issue at all with another Irish airport getting such a route. I have often used other Irish airports, i don't have a chip on my shoulder though.

Its got better connections than SNN to UK and Europe but as always ye want the virgin space shuttle to be based their, it 1:30 to SNN if your that hard up for money I'll give you €20 for petrol, Ireland is small Cork is small you should be happy with the range of flights cause I'd take the closer to home!

Just to be practical here, i don't think that 17/35 is long enough for a shuttle. I don't accept handouts, but thanks anyway, give it to charity please.

All messing aside did you honestly think Norwegian were goin to run these flights?

They went about looking to do so, seems logical that they would

Very simple if you despise and begrudge SNN so much head to Dublin or Heathrow!

I never said that i despise Shannon, If its ok with you I think i will continue to use that airport.

I know liam hurt in 2013 but let it go mate, ffs, I fly cork all the time with SNN 15km from me I don't crib or cry

I have no idea what you are referring to with Liam in 2013, I fly from Shannon, what is your point please?

Norwegian were never goin to happen same as it won't in Shannon,

Well again, that is your opinion, lets just wait and see i suppose

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Guys,

Some of the recent comments re the Cork Shannon rivalry etc are close to getting yellow cards, they're off topic, and getting close to playing the player rather than the ball.

Can we please get back on the topic of CORK 2016 Route News, and let the sniping go

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭dzilla

Yeah like we all know WAT is the best airport in Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭highlydebased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Absolutely, was a fair lack of actual knowledge out there about the whole thing in the general public I thought. That article should have been there months ag.

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Absolutely, was a fair lack of actual knowledge out there about the whole thing in the general public I thought. That article should have been there months ag.

Came across the following article today, to my mind as a lay person looking from the outside, it would appear to nullify IALPA's agrugument completely.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/business/transport-and-tourism/airline-agrees-not-to-use-cut-price-contracts-on-us-flights-1.2568427?utm_source=business_digest&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=business_digest
    Airline agrees not to use cut-price contracts on US flights
    Irish-registered subsidiary of Norwegian Air wants to run services from Cork to Boston
    Barry O'Halloran

Norwegian Air Shuttle: US authorities have delayed granting the airline a licence, for two years, as unions and politicians there fear that it will hire Asian crews, so it can pay them far less than American and European staff
    Both Norwegian Air International and the aviation regulator have confirmed the airline has guaranteed not to hire crew on cut-price contracts to man transatlantic flights from the Republic and Europe.
    The airline, an Irish-registered subsidiary of Norwegian Air Shuttle, wants to run services from Cork and Shannon to Boston as part of a plan to offer flights from Europe, the US and Far East from €300.
    However, the US Department of Transportation has delayed granting the airline a licence, for two years, as unions and politicians there fear that it will hire Asian crews, so it can pay them far less than American and European staff.
    Employment contracts
    Norwegian Air Shuttle’s chief executive Tore Jenssen and flight operations director, Godfrey Higgins, wrote to Cork South-West TD Jim Daly, this week saying that all crew will be hired under employment contracts governed by the laws of the European countries in which they are based.
    The Irish Aviation Authority’s (IAA) head of corporate affairs, Donal Handley, also wrote to Mr Daly saying that in June Norwegian Air International guaranteed the US Department of Transportation that it will only hire US or European citizens as cabin crew on all transatlantic services.
    Similar concerns
    Norwegian and the IAA were responding to a letter from the Irish Airline Pilots’ Association (IALPA) which raised similar concerns to its US counterparts. Pilot unionpresident Evan Cullen, said the IAA’s letter was the first his organisation had heard of Norwegian’s guarantee to the US department.
    If Norwegian Air Shuttle gets approval, it will begin flights from Cork and Shannon to Boston this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭man98

But if it's had that confirmation there's nothing legally stopping them from opening it. Therefore they should be already granted, which they haven't. I'm not sure where I'm going with this but there's something else going on in the background if this is the case.

man98 wrote: »
    But if it's had that confirmation there's nothing legally stopping them from opening it. Therefore they should be already granted, which they haven't. I'm not sure where I'm going with this but there's something else going on in the background if this is the case.
    The good old USA, home of protectionism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭kub

So much for Open Skies. It is incredible how the likes of Southwest in the US are doing so well and just look at how air travel has become more popular over the last 20 years thanks to LCC's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭man98

Protectionism isn't the issue, however. Wow, Scoot and Norwegian Air Services were all grantee rights to fly there. There's no issues as long as your airline adheres to basic decency in employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,507 ✭✭✭Jack1985

Guys I'm sorry, while competition across the Atlantic is welcome - Employing people on sub-standard contracts to everyone else is not welcome. I second the US carriers in this regard, how is it fair a company which pays its employees amicably then suffers because the competition is paying its staff peanuts to underhand them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Enda Kenny is to bring up the matter of the Cork-Boston flights with Obama at the white house for the patricks day visit this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Enda Kenny is to bring up the matter of the Cork-Boston flights with Obama at the white house for the patricks day visit this year.

Why?

What/Where is your source of your post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭highlydebased

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

"c'mere Barry, any chance you'd let the Norwegian lads fly from Cork? I know it will be Thai crews on Thai wages flying from Europe, but it's Cork, like!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

What/Where is your source of your post?
    also here in the "cork" examiner:
    Taoiseach will discuss Cork-US flights issue with Obama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭MoeJay

"While we do get full access to the U.S. using the AOC issued by Norway, we do not have access to most Asian, African and South American desti- nations from countries other than Norway. Since we aspire to fly to those regions from multiple European countries, including the UK, we need an EU AOC which secures traffic rights from all EU countries."

From the Norwegian Annual Report, 2014.

So really, NAI is nothing to to with US routes at all....

MoeJay wrote: »

So really, NAI is nothing to to with US routes at all....

So why are they applying for permission?
    They can already operate to the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭MoeJay

That is precisely the question.

Cork Summer season has begun, noticeably more movements thanks to the new Stobart and Cityjet operations. There's more movements now than there was at the peak of last summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭zone 1

great news for ork... hopefully longhaul

zone 1 wrote: »
    great news for ork... hopefully longhaul

Do you mean Long Term? Longhaul means something else in aviation terms.

longhaul

zone 1 wrote: »
    longhaul

Not sure I understand in that case, are you referring to the Norwegian routes?

yes