Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

Well done Marty that was a savage read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Well done Marty on the near 10 minute pb. You ran a smart race with the 11 second negative split. Glad to see you didn't disgrace 'the name' ;) A number of unflattering race photos have 'somehow' come into my possession but I think I'll hold on to them until a suitable time comes for public display :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Unflattering race photos you say.... Surely they couldn't be that bad....
    At least tell me I didn't have my top tucked into my shorts :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Unflattering race photos you say.... Surely they couldn't be that bad....
    At least tell me I didn't have my top tucked into my shorts :D:D

The reason I tuck my top in is because I CAN ;)

Page 4.. Page fooking 4 :eek::eek: I better get updating, in general terms...

Monday 02/11/2015 7 miles @ 8:30

Tuesday 03/11/2015 7 miles @ 8:08

Wednesday 04/11/2015 5 miles @ 7:45

Thursday 05/11/2015 Rest

Friday 06/11/2015 10 miles @ 7:52

Saturday 07/11/2015 10 miles @ 8:00

Sunday 08/11/2015 17 miles @ 8:17

Right, that's where I am now. 90% sure I'm going to rotterdam,(10% manchester), although nothing booked. I'll need to ask some questions on that thread tomorrow evening.

Before that I'll have a jaunt around donadea, and the half in kinvara...

Up next is a 10k at the end of the month, BDN 10k.... I'll have a go at it although lack of any pacework might hinder a good time but sure I'll have a go at it as usual....

Phew, here we go again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

What's your opinion on Kinvara Marty, thinking of doing it pre - Rotterdam to? Don't be shy on detail.

tang1 wrote: »
    What's your opinion on Kinvara Marty, thinking of doing it pre - Rotterdam to? Don't be shy on detail.

I like Kinvara, have done it the last 3 years. Didn't race it last year, ran it as part of a 26 mile training run for Conn.

From memory there's a short uphill section just as you leave the town, nothing major but you'll notice it.

After leaving the town, it's basically a loop out the country and back. As mentioned earlier, it's pretty mush as exposed as you'll get and there'll be little to no hiding places out there as the field tends to thin out wherever I was :) You'll have some lovely scenery to take your mind of it though :D
    Fairly flat up to about the 7 mile mark when you'll hit a bit of climb. It's not to long but it was steep from memory, and it will kill your pace. Try and knuckle down straight as you crest the hill and get back on pace as soon as you can, don't dwell on it :D

There's a couple of more short bumbs along the way but not like the one at 7 miles. There's a good run in to the finish with a long downhill section which will allow you to freefall over the line :D
    No spectators outside the town but they'll cheer you home when you get close.
    All in all, a fair enough course. Exposed in places, but it was never that windy for me, plus you'll soon change direction anyway.
    Well organised event with many repeat visitors... Would recommend..

2014 for elevation ect...

Monday 09/11/2015 5 miles @ 9:00

A bit gusty around here for this one :D Legs were fairly heavy and tired
    so kept to recovery pace. Still not fully loosened out so possibly another easy one tomorrow if still the same :)

Tuesday 10/11/2015 8 miles @ 8:24

Wednesday 11/11/2015 Rest

Thursday 12/11/2015 10 miles @ 8:14

Didn't think I was to bad when heading out on Tuesday. The legs weren't as heavy but still not much energy. Felt as if no pace in them at all.

Took Wednesday of as rest day hoping to feel rejuvenated for Thursday.
    Thursday headed out for 10 miles. Didn't feel to bad but again felt like a high effort for 8:14 pace.

Tomorrow I plan on going out for maybe 5-6 miles and try to throw in some brief spurts to try and kickstart the auld engine a bit. Will wear the garmin but will not look at any data until I get home.
    Need some footwear too. Will have to sort that out over the weekend...

Friday 13/11/2015 8 miles @ 7:40

Saturday 14/11/2015 Wimped out(weather)

Friday... Plan was just to get out of the usual(of late) pace range of about 8:20/mile for a bit.
    Headed out and planned for 2 or 3 miles of an undefined pace increase,1 mile on, 1 mile off. Had planned not to look at the watch but I failed on this, the temptation was just to much for me to handle :)

8:06, 6:41, 8:27, 6:48, 8:29, 6:37, 8:09, 8:00....

So, just 3 "pace" miles with full recovery and I found it tough enough :eek:
    There was a bit of wind about but still, I thought with the full recovery it wouldn't be to bad :D Not overly concerned though, wasn't in a hoop after it so just a bit that change from the mundane is what was needed... Next week I'll do some pace work again, shorter reps and more of them but I'll see on tuesday exactly what I'll do.

the 10k at the end of the month has become more frightening after that run :):) There's a local 5k next weekend which I might do do get some race effort in my mind and legs....

Sunday 15/11/2015 19 miles @ 8:30

Was kinda mad at myself for not running on Saturday, not only that but had an evening of excessive wine and chocolate to really top it off....

The weather was quite difficult again today, but there was no way I was skipping it again, I even decided to punish myself for my antics, and went out salthill for a good portion of this run for maximum exposure.... Boy, was I sorry by the end :D

The rain didn't bother me but there was a good strong wind out there to deal with. At time I was really leaning forward but seemed to be barely moving. Effort levels were fairly high at time with a slow pace, perhaps should have gone even slower.
    By the end of the 17th mile I felt like puking but #I knew I was nearly home so not to bad.

Even after I got home, showered and changed, I felt in bits for over an hour. Feeling lightheaded and a bit nauseous.

Thankfully, I'm all better now so another lesson learned :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Jaysus, 19 miles in that weather was some expedition. I thought I was a hero after doing 5:-).

snailsong wrote: »
    Jaysus, 19 miles in that weather was some expedition. I thought I was a hero after doing 5:-).

That 5 in Leenane would have been as tough I bet :):)
    Nice area to run in though :)

Monday 16/11/2015 5 miles @ 7:40

A dash in about the town. Was limited timewise so left it at 5.
    Only when I got home I realised I should have took it a bit easier
    pace wise. Feel good though...

Apparently another storm on the way tomorrow.. Barney....
    Fun run tomorrow then :)

Tuesday 17/11/2015 10 miles @ 7:51

Blustery out but not as bad as I thought it would be.
    An enjoyable run out to salthill and back.
    Been wearing saucony omni 14 for the last few runs. A small bit different than my usual brooks adrenalines, so still bedding them in. Seem ok so far but will give it another few runs before giving it my final approval. Have some new adrenalines on the way too as my running shoes were like cloggs they were that old and dead to the feel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Have the omni myself. They work for me although don't feel as great as they did at first.

Wednesday 18/11/2015 7 miles @ 8:25

Thursday 19/11/2015 Lazy Fooker day

Friday 20/11/2015 7 miles @ 7:42

Saturday 21/11/2015 7 miles @ 7:47

Sunday 22/11/2015 20 miles : 8:07

Bit of a catch up...

Low light, Thursday.. I feel bad looking back on a missed run when I know there was no valid excuse. Pure laziness.... Still though, I'd never lose sleep over it...

Highlight, Sunday.... LSR preplanned route I've been eyeing up the last couple of weeks. Couple of stiff climbs which I knew would test me and they did just that :D:D
    A nice route, very quiet, just the odd car to pass me. Landscape barren enough bar a few wind turbines, but plenty of wildlife to keep me entertained... It's amazing what you see on a lonely plod around the place....
    Anyway, the run. Lovely as it was, I was a a bit tired after it. Nothing bad, but again looking back, ran it to fast .... I'll learn... Eventually... :)

strava route

Monday 23/11/2015 5 miles @ 9:08

Tuesday 24/11/2015 4 miles @ 7:31

Recovery run on monday was just fine with me. Nice gentle 5...

Bit short on time this evening so just got out for 30 mins.. 4 miles with a few bursts of pace thrown in. Actually a nice run considering how short it was. Felt good after it :)

Wednesday 25/11/2015 10 miles @ 8:02

Thursday 26/11/2015 7 miles @ 8:32

Wednesdays run was a standard enough out and back to salthill.

Todays run felt a bit laboured though. A bit of discomfort around the TFL area and couldn't really get going. Thinking back, there might have been a little bit of it on the previous run as well which I dismissed at the time..
    Will do some gentle stretches of the area and take things easy for a day or two.
    10k race on Sunday so I'll mind it until then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

Fair play Marty some seriously solid runs of late. Enjoy yourself on Sunday lad!

Friday 27/11/2015 Rest

Saturday 28/11/2015 10 miles @ 8:34

Sunday 29/11/2015 11 miles @ 8:18

So, this weekend was more or less geared with a view to racing the ballinderreen 10k(BDN10K) on Sunday.
    The recent niggle, although not gone completely, was well on the mend, and I would have been happy to race..... Until I got the text at 9:30am.... Race postponed.....

"Hurricane Clodagh" had put the frighteners on the organisers so they pulled the plug temporarily. I had mixed feelings about this. First off, I fully understand why they did it and I would have done the same. Very wild out there that night/morning. I woke a few times. When the text came through it was still wild out there and I was just coming to terms(and liking :eek:) the fact I might be racing a 10k and could be 5-10 mins outside a PB :D:D I also drifted off asleep and had a dream of only 4 of us showing up and I didn't make the "podium" :D:D

I was at a bit of a loss after the postponement as my schedule was geared around that, so just ended up getting 11 miles in that evening.

I just hope the rescheduled date isn't to close to the fields of athenry 10k on St Stephens day, or conflict with a work night out. The invites are coming fast now :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

.. Until I got the text at 9:30am.... Race postponed.....

"Hurricane Clodagh" had put the frighteners on the organisers so they pulled the plug temporarily.

ah here!! none of the XC events were cancelled, we are obviously made of tougher stuff* :cool:

*I fully accept the weather may have been worse in your neck of the woods but still :p

Firedance wrote: »
    ah here!! none of the XC events were cancelled, we are obviously made of tougher stuff* :cool:

*I fully accept the weather may have been worse in your neck of the woods but still :p

Ha Ha, just because all you XC women love playing around in the mud doesn't mean I like to.... (Not much anyway :D )

It was fairly bad when they made the call in fairness, but it calmed down considerably by the time the race was due to start. I woundn't have minded racing, it would have been interesting :D

Monday 30/11/2015 7 miles @ 8:17

An easyish run in and out of town. Still don't think I'm running 100% "freely"
    so have to stick with the stretching/mobility exercises... Proper auld man stretches as TbL would say....

Tuesday 01/12/2015 10 miles @ 8:00

Blustery run out by salthill. Not to many around, maybe 3-4 runners all I saw.
    Really enjoyed it and felt good afterwards...

Got a bit of a fright this evening reading N_E log. A reminder that Rotterdam is 19 weeks away :eek::eek:

Time to get some kind of plan of action together, I'd probably have left it until after Christmas to sort something out if I wasn't reminded about it :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Good man Marty. Got a bit of shock as well when I checked it out, never has something so far away felt so bloody close!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Yeah he gave me heart failure too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Tuesday 01/12/2015 10 miles @ 8:00

Blustery run out by salthill. Not to many around, maybe 3-4 runners all I saw.
    Really enjoyed it and felt good afterwards...

Got a bit of a fright this evening reading N_E log. A reminder that Rotterdam is 19 weeks away :eek::eek

I was out at Salthill myself this morning for a few k. Knowing it was your stomping ground, I had my eyes peeled for a sighting. Looks like I was 12 hours too late. Weather was perfect this morning.

Giving serious consideration to Rotterdam myself, didn't realise it was coming up so fast. I'll have to make a call soon.

snailsong wrote: »
    I was out at Salthill myself this morning for a few k. Knowing it was your stomping ground, I had my eyes peeled for a sighting. Looks like I was 12 hours too late. Weather was perfect this morning.

Giving serious consideration to Rotterdam myself, didn't realise it was coming up so fast. I'll have to make a call soon.

Trust you to wait for some good weather :D:D

Rotterdam, get on it... Seems like there could be a nice crew going... They don't know it yet, but I'm lining up firedance, Tang1, and N_E to be entertainment ambassadors for that trip :D:D

Wednesday 02/12/2015 5 miles @ 8:01

Short easy run around the neighbourhood. Nothing to report
    but a few dodgy looking characters hanging about. Maintained surveillance
    and did a second lap. They disappeared into the night.....