Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Best of luck Marty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

A 40:42 finish. Good and bad to be taken from it. I'll write a bit more laters after I get some food into me... Not to disheartened :)

Claregalway 10k... A few thoughts..

The lead up to this was grand, no fuss and entered without much consideration as it was local and a club race.. Was told it was a decent course, which it was. I'd recommend it again.

Got there in plenty of time to collect no ect and went out to have a little trot around. A fine day but threat of rain, and it was fairly muggy out there. Yet again, I found the sweat pouring of me during the warm up which concerned me slightly :) No worries, same for everyone I say...

Plan for the race was to go for sub 40 with even pace all round.The lead up to this says I would struggle(which I did :D ) as I only managed 32:04 for SoG 8k 2 weeks ago.

About 200 lined up for this and it kicked off at 6 as stated. Off we go...
    So, with 4min/km in mind it started fine hitting the first km marker in bang on 4:00. 2nd in 8:00 and so on to 5km in 20:00 +/- 5 secs. But the effort levels were that bit higher than I would have liked, I and I was kinda pushing to keep pace from here on. I was thinking I'd hit 5k in 20:00 without much bother but it was more effort that I would have liked to be giving at this stage.

Kept it going with another lad beside me. It was getting well spread out at this stage but happy enough with the lad beside me and the odd lad ahead. Tipping along side by side then his fookin lace opens and he pulls up to sort it... Balls!!!! Even though we never spoke it was nice having him around as he was bang on pace and kept my foolish self on track. Selfish me, sorry :)

So, I keep gradually upping effort levels to keep pace but find I'm slipping. Gradually pulling up beside people slowing down, but truth is I'm slowing to!!! Remembering hitting 8k marker in about 32:35 and say to myself "holy sh1te"!!! Never gave up though and keep ploughing on. At just over the 7k mark we turn back onto the tuam road for the run home. Open road but we're well spread out running on footpath so no problems. Actually a nice stretch for the run home.
    Turn left at the church and there's about 800mtrs to go. Willing myself to keep it up, no will to try to push on as I'm kinda out on my feet as it is at this stage. Keep it going to the line but a hint of disappointment at the end.. Not with thew time I got, but a lad just ahead of me, about 3-4 seconds, and I didn't attempt to catch him. On reflection, I know I could have caught him easily coming up to the line but didn't even try as I had switched off more or less back at the turn....
    Splits: 6:25, 6:32, 6:33, 6:44, 6:43, 6:40 (6:26) Chip 40:42

I think the last 10k I did was on St Stephens day last year(Fields of Athenry), and looking back I got 40:22, so still a bit of catch up to do before progressing...
    Enjoyed the racing environment though and may throw in a few more regular short ones in lieu of a lack of speedwork. Also, my increased weight was noticeable today. Not just in my running, but seen 1 or 2 photos that are not very flattering :(:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done, Marty, very good result considering you're only getting back to it.

Sunday 23/08/2015 7 miles @ 7:55

Was togged out for this run for 2 hours before I got out :D Was sat on the chair watching athletics on tv and got caught up in it. I have little knowledge in who's who and what times are good but really got into it. The Bolt/gatlin saga had me enthralled, and when it finished the hairs stood on the back of my neck, a good feeling :)

Little loop in and out of town this afternoon. Lovely day for it and legs felt grand at this pace, just went on effort and didn't check on pace...

During the run was going over a few things in the head and planning on getting a bit of form back. I'm missing a pep in my step and I want it back :D:D Some changes to be made but nothing so drastic to burden me with change..... 2 much change at one time is bad for Marty :D:D

Monday 24/08/2015 10 miles @ 7:51

A 7 mile run turned into 10. Headed out towards salthill as it was a nice evening and decided on route to up it to 10 to take in the full prom section. Small bit of headwind on way out but not to bad really. Enjoyable.

Tuesday 25/08/2015 5 miles @ 8:40

Couple of loops around the neighbourhood. Kept the pace very handy, just wanted
    a few easy miles. Job done.
    Resisting the urge to go racing this weekend... Just about :D

Wednesday 26/08/2015 7 miles @ 7:50

Decided to opt for a small bit of a progression run today if you could call it that. Just something to change it up a bit to get me into a more varied training (non)routine :D

Splits 8:21, 8:05, 7:48, 7:34, 7:20, 6:57, 8:40

Last pace mile was a bit tough toward the end but I'm putting a lot of that down to it being an uphill section. Was grand again once I got into cooldown mile. Still feel I'm a good bit off where I should/want to be.

On the scales this evening to a shocker 85.2kgs. Over 5kgs on on the last few months due to decreased training/other commitments/booze/snacks... Really want to tackle this as it will work in tandem with running training. Maybe a fortnightly weigh in to keep me honest :eek::eek:

Thursday 27/08/2015 4 miles @ 8:50

Was late getting out this evening, going on 22:30, so nothing major.
    Little recovery paced run just to keep the legs ticking over, all good :)

Friday 28/08/2015 7 miles @ 7:44

Went out for a casual run but pace crept up a bit higher than I would have liked in the mid section. Legs felt better after the run than before it though so not to bad :D

Saturday 29/08/2015 7 miles @ 8:19

Handy run today. Nearly didn't bother out of laziness, but went out in the end and glad of it. 2 weeks to go until Athlone half, and I'm half dreading it, half looking forward to it...

Looking back on my mileage and I might hit an over 50 mile week this week for the first time in over 2 months :eek: :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Some terrific times Marty in the 8k and 10k.

Sunday 30/08/2015 15 miles @ 8:16

Long run today and decided on a 12 mile loop out by Claregalway followed by a short 3 mile local loop to end it.
    Kinda struggled a bit after the 10 mile mark, probably more mentally than anything else. It just seemed such a chore and I just wanted done with it. Felt a bit better when I got to the short loop to end it, but was fairly wrecked after it :eek: :eek:

Probably should have backed off the pace a bit more for it too so will keep a closer eye on the pace for the next long run....

Monday 31/08/2015 4 miles @ 9:30

After 10pm before I got out for a short recovery run. These night runs are quite peaceful and calming :D:D

I still will not be going out running at 5am like some people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Monday 31/08/2015 4 miles @ 9:30

After 10pm before I got out for a short recovery run. These night runs are quite peaceful and calming :D:D

I still will not be going out running at 5am like some people :D

A 5am run might be even more peaceful & calming ;)

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    A 5am run might be even more peaceful & calming ;)

He bites, he bites :D:D

Tuesday 01/09/2015 7 miles @ 7:59 (HR 141)

A usual route about town but decided to monitor HR for a few runs.
    Not for any specific training purposes, just curiosity really.
    Nice run and felt good throughout.
    Some pace efforts may be on the cards tomorrow all going well..

Wednesday 02/09/2015 1 mile @ 8:44, 4 miles @ 7:35

A fooked up run :D A tad late getting out again and was rushing a bit. Put a basic workout in the garmin consisting of mile reps with 1:45 recovery but when I started it all went tits up... Stopped after a mile to try to sort out but was was still arseways when I got going again...

Lost a bit of enthusiasm for the run at this stage so just belted on, upping the pace for 3 segments totalling nearly 3 miles looking back on it. Brought pace down to about the 6:50 mark(HR163ish) for these bits.. Bit all over the place really and looking back I think I should have just done a general run and do this run tomorrow or something, but I'll learn someday. Better planning required....

Thursday 03/09/2015 5 miles @ 8:31

Friday 04/09/2015 3 miles @ 8:03

Another 2 late runs as life gets in the way again. Add to that a niggling pain in the groin area which isn't really going away and it's leaving me a bit fed up.. Will not be pushing any pace really over the next week and just try to be recovered by Athlone on the 12th.

This year isn't really panning out the way I had hoped. Seems to be one thing after another hindering me but sure these are the challenges we all face from time to time.
    Doubt I'll be anywhere near a pb in Athlone so will just have a go and get on with it.

I'll get there.... Eventually :)

Saturday 05/09/2015 Rest

Sunday 06/09/2015 16 miles @ 8:15

Took a rest day on Saturday to be rested for some kind of long run on Sunday.
    Was heading out for my "long" run today when I realised my garmin was dead. Must have left it on ffs. Seems like even my watch is going against me :D:D DEcided just to head out anyway and plot my route later on to see how it went.

Started into it and didn't feel to bad. Was on the lookout for any aches in the groin but nothing much to report thank god. Found myself constantly looking at my wrist for a pace update though :D
    Kept the route relatively flat apart from one or two small climbs. I didn't want to force anything.

Everything considered, I'm quite pleased with the run. Plotted it out tonight and came in at over 16 miles @ 8:15 pace. Pace felt more like 8:40 or thereabouts but most pleased with no pain during the run. It's not totally gone as I had a little ache tonight, but hopefully on the mend...
    Caution is the name of the game for this week, and I'll have a lash at Athlone on Saturday is nothing major pops up... Hopefully meet a few from here at it...

*Edit* Got back in time for the end of the minor game in the hurling... As for seniors, we were lacking in a lot of areas today. KK worthy champions :)

Monday 07/09/2015 7 miles @ 7:55 (HR146)

Felt good on this one. Slight twinge on the way back home but that only lasted a minute or two. Legs good after it.
    Will try to get out a bit earlier tomorrow for a bit of running down on the pitches.

Tuesday 08/09/2015 10 miles @ 7:52 (HR147)

Didn't make the pitches as I got out a bit later than planned. An out and back to Salthill, and pace settled at around 8min miles early on so went with it.

Enjoyable and no issues to report. Had a good sweat on, don't know if that was the weather or my poor fitness.... Or my baselayer top...
    Still though, a no issue day is a good day :)

Wednesday 09/09/2015 5 miles @ 8:57 (HR133)

Couple of easy loops of the neighbourhood. I should really get a batman outfit for these runs :D:D

Wednesday weigh in...85.2kg > 84.2kg... Still working on it.... :o

Thoughts turning to Athlone lately. Looking forward to it now. Will have to come up with some kind of plan in the next day or two :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Good luck in Athlone, Marty. I'll see you there. Will you chance the 1:30 pace group?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Good luck in Athlone Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

All the best in Athlone Marty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Good luck!

Cheers lads... Will be going for 1:30... If I wasn't aiming for that I'd only go to easy on myself with a ridiculously low target so setting out for a 1:30..

#747 ..... That bib no must be a sign... Plenty of power and can go long distances or maybe it's highlighting my size :D:D

See ya there P...

Thursday 10/09/2015 Rest

Friday 11/09/2015 5 miles @ 8:49 (HR 138)

Easy 5 today to loosen out and just to get out of the house for a bit. A rainy auld evening but was nice to run in. Kept thinking about racing tomorrow and had a smile on my face all the way... Doubt I'll have a smiley face on me tomorrow with 3-4 miles to go :D:D

Athlone Half tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Good luck