Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Well ? ? ? ? ?

Taps desk impatiently for times, splits and all the stories inbetween :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Neady83 wrote: »
    Well ? ? ? ? ?

I think sub 1.30 achieved by 40 secs or so, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Neady83 wrote: »
    Well ? ? ? ? ?

He did well for an auld buck :D He wasn't shy around the trough afterwards either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

tang1 wrote: »
    I think sub 1.30 achieved by 40 secs or so, I think.

Confirmed.

About the same time as me.

Well done, M. Good to meet you.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    He did well for an auld buck :D He wasn't shy around the trough afterwards either ;)

Ha ha brilliant, no wonder the well had run dry by the time I got in ;). Well done Martyboy, all them hard miles are well and truly paying off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Confirmed. 1:29:21 chip... Having a Mayo man to chase is always incentive enough :D Good to meet you too P. Was tough towards the end I must admit, but I got there.

Got a bit worried afterwards though when Bulmers brought me for a warm down... Very small, quiet, and isolated roads he brought me to. He said he knew the area but I'm not sure :D:D

Neady, hope you had a good one yourself, we'll sort out an introduction next time :) You did well to restrain yourself from racing it and getting 15PMP miles in. You'll be all good come 26th Oct I've no doubt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Well done Marty great running :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Well done, great confidence booster.

Well done Marty, your right about that Bulmers fella to!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Confirmed. 1:29:21 chip... Having a Mayo man to chase is always incentive enough :D [ĺ/quote]

Unlike some Mayo men, and Galway men, we kept going all the way to the finish.(-:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

Fair play Marty you're at some clip now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Well done Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Fair play, strong running.

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Confirmed. 1:29:21 chip... Having a Mayo man to chase is always incentive enough :D Good to meet you too P. Was tough towards the end I must admit, but I got there.

Got a bit worried afterwards though when Bulmers brought me for a warm down... Very small, quiet, and isolated roads he brought me to. He said he knew the area but I'm not sure :D:D

Neady, hope you had a good one yourself, we'll sort out an introduction next time :) You did well to restrain yourself from racing it and getting 15PMP miles in. You'll be all good come 26th Oct I've no doubt :)

Thanks Martyboy and bloody well done. That's a fantastic time on what was a flat but tough course. The ground wasn't fast particularly when we turned off the smooth main road for the last 3 miles and our legs were at their worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Well done Marty, great running. We must have been running together at some stage, i finished just 25 secs ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done on breaking 1:30 Marty!!!

Saturday 12/09/2015 13 miles @ 6:49

Sunday 13/09/2015 5 miles @ 8:38 (HR 137)

Monday 14/09/2015 7 miles @ 8:03 (HR 146)

Tuesday 15/09/2015 5 miles @ 8:25 (HR 139)

Bit of a catch up on the last few runs, just throwing them here for the record :)

Thinking of doing a local 5k tomorrow evening. I'll see how I'm feeling at the time to decide for sure, but more than likely will do it :)

Another loose toenail to deal with but it will be fine for a few days yet I'd say :)

Wednesday 16/09/2015 3 miles @ 6:17

Thursday 17/09/2015 Rest

Ok so I went ahead and did the 5k yesterday. A simple route. Out the Oranmore coast road for 2.5kms, Turn around a cone, and back in again. In my head I had it as dead flat but there is a slight little drag of about 500 meters at the 1 mile mark which zapped the pace a tad.

Anyway, small field so up near the front I went. Went out fast with a few runners who I knew who were a good bit faster than me. Took me a while to put the brakes on a bit as I was way out of my depth :D:D Mile 1 6:17
    End of mile 1 and start of mile 2 was the section with the incline and so the pace dropped here. Pace dropped even with increased effort but didn't panic as there would be some recovery/pace increase on the way back.
    Turned around the cone taking care not to fall on my arse and accelerated away trying to get back on pace as soon as possible. Bit fatigued as I end mile 2 in 6:24...
    Mile and a bit to go and I'm tired now. Keep pushing trying to maintain pace but I feel like I'm going backwards. Nobody with my but a group ahead who I making slight inroads to, but to far back to catch. See a mate out supporting and barely manage a little wave. Breathing all over the shop, legs gone and feel like I'm running a negative pace and just hanging on closing in on the finishing line. The relief as I cross the line was immense, not with the time, just the relief of finishing :D mile 3 6:11(felt like 8:00) and the bit (5:36)..
    6:17, 6:24, 6:11 (5:36)
    Race time 19:15 Chip 19:14 (old/current pb 19:22)

Garmin had it at 3.07 miles though so not sure if it was a tad short or was it due to hairpin turn around the cone... I'll just have to do another 5k and try it over again..
    Happy with the effort though and will do another 5-10k race after a week or two...

Friday 18/09/2015 7 miles @ 7:44 (HR 147)

7 miles in and around the town. Felt fresh after rest day yesterday, and
    tipped along nicely at this pace. Felt good after it and put the feet up for the evening :)

Saturday 19/09/2015 7 miles @ 7:59 (HR 145)

Sunday 20/09/2015 13 miles @ 8:21

Monday 21/09/2015 5 miles @ 9:00 (HR 129)

Tuesday 22/09/2015 10 miles @ 7:56 (HR 143)

A few runs since the last update. Still didn't get around to reading all the race reports. The few I did get to read were fairly impressive. A lot of good racing going on here lately. And of course, thoughts with those out injured or out of action for other reasons.

Kinda gutted now that I'm not doing a marathon. I'll miss the buzz in Dublin this year :(
    Probably not make it up for scoops either, so well peed off :)

Wednesday 23/09/2015 7 miles @ 7:56 (HR 143)

A little trot in/out of town to stretch the auld legs :)
    Really enjoyed this, no pressure with pace or distance, just a little carefree run :)

Thursday 24/09/2015 5 miles @ 7:41 (HR 140)

Friday 25/09/2015 Rest

Saturday 26/09/2015 5 miles @ 7:50 (HR 147)

Sunday 27/09/2015 15 miles @ 7:56

Monday 28/09/2015 7 miles @ 7:46 (HR 145)

Nothing major to report, keeping the head down and trying to up the
    long run distance a tad. !5 miles there aiming for about 8 min miles.
    Got it done but found it tough towards the end. More mentally tough than physically.
    I'm sure there was more in me but I was a bit flat and bored after the 15 so was happy to end it there.. Slowly but surely....

Tuesday 29/09/2015 5 miles @ 9:03 (HR 128)

Bit of a precautionary recovery run this evening as the legs were a bit
    jaded from the last few runs. Kept a close eye on pace keeping it at around
    the 9min/mile mark and relaxed into the run. A fair bit of moon gazing lately :D

Wednesday 30/09/2015 Rest

Thursday 01/10/2015 10 miles @ 7:58 (HR 145)

Didn't get the chance to get out on Wednesday so put it down as a rest day :o

Got 10 mile in today out along Salthill. Beautiful day for it and made sure to go out straight after work to get the most out of it. Legs felt surprisingly super by the end of it :)

Friday 02/10/2015 Rest... Again...

Didn't make it out for a planned easy 5 mile this evening.....
    Procrastination is the thief of time....... Never truer words spoken :)

Also... News just in.... I'm doing the Galway Bay half tomorrow....

Best of luck Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

G'luck today Marty, looks like a good day for it, hope you have a good one.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hope it was a good one. :)

Well done Marty.

Saturday 03/10/2015 13 miles @ 6:48 (AKA The Galway Bay Half)

Decided to do this half as I will not have the pleasure of parading around Dublin this year... Poor me....

On the plus side, I heard that TbL might make an appearance :D:D

Sure enough, as I lined up, I spotted the tall slender figure of a man who looked like he knew what he was doing, and sure enough, it was TbL himself :)
    He was in mighty form, taking the piss out of a tri lad, not a bother on him :D:D

Soon enough we were off with out any fuss and I soon settled into my 1:30 pace. I was surprised however to see himself beside me, as he told me he would be going around at 7:10 pace :D:D . We continued on and he was very comfortably chatting away(non-stop) and saying hello to every marathon runner out there, I swear he must have know 75% of the field :D:D
    Steady pace for the first 4 miles but then in the 5th after a little downhill section, he kicked on a bit. WTF I say to myself :) After a few seconds I decided to go after him but when I saw the pace going in the region of 6:30 I copped on a bit and pulled back to stick to my plan.
    I continued on by my lonesome but there was always some stranger to chase down or hold of but keeping an eye on my pace all the time.
    At mile 10 I was still on course and effort was comfortable and steady. Was still no ready or assured enough to push on a bit so maintained pace. The last mile I upped it a tad knowing I'd make my sub 1:30 target anyway. A little extra kick in the finishing straight to pass a MCI runner just to keep me honest.
    Splits: 6:52, 6:47, 6:48, 6:46, 6:50, 6:58,
    6:50, 6:46, 6:48, 6:49, 6:50, 6:50, 6:44, (5:48)

Chip 1:29:23

After crossing the line and grabbing a bottle of water, I spot TbL sitting casually in a chair near the finish line. He was continuing his meet and greet as runner after runner goes over to him for a chat :D:D Had another chat as we strolled back to the cars, we didn't go for a cool down run as we wanted to take things slow :D:D

Was great to meet you C, I've no doubt you'll do well in SS going by how you sauntered around that course, we'll meet again I'm sure :)

ThoughtsPart of reason for doing this was to see how I'd get on going for sub 1:30 again. Just to see if Athlone 3 weeks ago wasn't just a one off. Happy to see I managed it again.
    6th mile was a 6:58. I wasn't struggling here, I just switched off for some reason and when I looked at pace it was nearly 7:10min/mile before I said oh fook and brought it back a bit. I really need to concentrate more.
    Happy enough with it overall though, bit of a confidence booster.
    Sorry I never got to meet ger66 though, TbL pointed him out during the race but I never really got the chance to meet him.

Edit: I've just noticed all my big grinny faces are in pairs, and my smiley faces are singular.... Also I've reached my limit on this post so I cannot add more!!!!!