Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Congrats! Great confidence boost for you! Loved the report too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Nice one marty, some solid splits there, you've more in ya for sure! Sorry I missed all of ye, had to shoot off at the end for a warm down or I would've seized up! We'll cross paths again for sure, great day yesterday for it, great race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well done Marty, great run. Sub 90 isn't real until you do it twice.

And you achieved one of my ambitions, sub 90 somewhere other than Athlone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Great running again Marty, well done.

Any plans?

Maybe another ultra?

You could race a marathon along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done, Marty! Sounds like you were running with a local celebrity :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Sunday 04/10/2015 7 miles @ 8:14 (HR 144)

Monday 05/10/2015 Rest

Got out for 7 miles on Sunday. Legs were fairly heavy initially, but loosened out after a couple of miles.
    Monday rest day.... (was late before I got a window to go out, but the pissing rain turned me off it and I wimped out)

snailsong wrote: »
    Well done Marty, great run. Sub 90 isn't real until you do it twice.
    And you achieved one of my ambitions, sub 90 somewhere other than Athlone.
    Cheers P, I'm sure you'd have no problem hitting sub 90 in any half. We'll open the Galway-Mayo border for ya next year :D
    Ed Mc wrote: »
    Great running again Marty, well done.

Any plans?

Maybe another ultra?

You could race a marathon along the way.
    Nice one Ed, but don't be putting those crazy ideas in my head, when peaple plant seeds in my head I'm liable to do anything :D
    Ososlo wrote: »
    Congrats! Great confidence boost for you! Loved the report too. :)
    Why thank you :) I see your doubles are fairly kicking in lately, good to have back logging :)
    Outside wrote: »
    Nice one marty, some solid splits there, you've more in ya for sure! Sorry I missed all of ye, had to shoot off at the end for a warm down or I would've seized up! We'll cross paths again for sure, great day yesterday for it, great race!
    Great training run yourself :D You'd have your cool down done and showered by the time I got in :D:D I'm sure I'll bump into ya at another race sometime :)
    annapr wrote: »
    Well done, Marty! Sounds like you were running with a local celebrity :)

Thanks Anna. Ya, it was a real highlight for me :D
    At the end of the race though I felt like a cheap date at a red carpet event. He took the celebrity runner status to a whole new level with the crowd around him :D:D

Tuesday 06/10/2015 5 miles @ 7:55 (HR 142)

Wednesday 07/10/2015 10 miles @ 7:57 (HR 139)

Couple of general runs to keep things ticking over. Was half thinking
    of a local 8k on Saturday, but it seems I'm roped into going to work instead.
    Will keep an eye out for something to keep me on my toes...

Thursday 08/10/2015 7 miles @ 7:42 (HR 145)

Friday 09/10/2015 11 miles @ 7:39 (HR 143)

Another couple of runs a tad faster than usual. Feel grand though,
    easy day tomorrow before some kind of long run on Sunday...

Saturday 10/10/2015 5 miles @ 8:21

Sunday 11/10/2015 20 miles @ 8:18

An easy 5 on Saturday in anticipation of the long run today. Nothing to exciting :)

Went out today and said fook it, I'll give a 20 a go. Went for an out and back on the tuam road so there was no shortcut home, it had to be done. After the first couple of miles I felt a pace around the 8:20 mark felt doable so went with it.
    Plan was to go out 11 miles and back 9, and walk the final mile home. It wasn't until the run was over that I realised that plan wasn't right :D:D

The run itself was grand, lovely day for it. Not the most scenic of routes but it served it's purpose. Was very surprised how quickly we lost daylight. The last couple of miles were in darkness and I didn't feel to comfortable running in those conditions. Was happy to walk the final 2 miles home in the end.

Legs tired now but probably to be expected. The last 20 miler I did was over 3 months ago :)

Monday 12/10/2015 4 miles @ 8:50

Tuesday 13/10/2015 Nothing

Wednesday 14/10/2015 10 miles @ 7:56

Short recovery run on monday, and the legs were thankful of it.
    Didn't manage to get out on tuesday with some unexpected things that needed doing.
    Got 10 miles in this evening, general run out the prom and back.
    There's a coolness in the air when running in the evening lately, nearly time to get my gloves out again :)

Thursday 15/10/2015 11 miles @ 7:54

Friday 16/10/2015 5 miles @ 7:24

A nice 11 miles on Thursday without any hassle and 5 miles today
    with a bit more pace to it.
    Race Diary....
    Well since I'm not in for DCM this year unfortunately, I'm throwing my hand at a few short races as you may know. May do a local 8k on Sunday, depending if I'm free that morning. Other races on the radar, local 8k on 1st nov, and a local 10k on 29th Nov. Looking for a good time in the 10k as a confidence booster for the final race of the year, fields of Athenry 10k on St Stephens day, but sure that's a bit away yet :D

Saturday 17/10/2015 7 miles @ 8:09

Sunday 18/10/2015 20 miles @ 8:08

Didn't make the 8k this morning, was on the wine last night and a bit groggy this morning. Opted instead for an afternoon long run.
    Felt grand once I got going. Included about 6 miles in and around cappagh park
    to get me off the roads/footpaths a bit.
    Tired after it but not in a bad way... More just fatigued :)

Monday 19/10/2015 5 miles @ 9:19

5 mile recovery run this evening. Baselayer under long sleeved top
    had me snug and warm for this run. Really enjoyed this run, nice and relaxed
    and emptied my mind of stress.. Lovely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ah jaysus, Marty, base layer in October?

Murph_D wrote: »
    Ah jaysus, Marty, base layer in October?
    Ha ha, I know. Like an old man wrapping up for fear of catching a cold
    or something :D:D
    There's a change in it you know :)

Tuesday 20/10/2015 10 miles @ 7:55

Fairly blustery out there this evening with a fair heavy drizzle of rain.
    Wind was in all directions but mostly in my face for the first half, and then to my back for the run home. Was tough going running into it and the pace increase on the way home made it a good workout. Glad to get it done :)

Wednesday 21/10/2015 Rest

Thursday 22/10/2015 Unplanned Rest

Oops... Had planned a rest day on Wednesday, but didn't manage to get out tonight.
    Had to take an unexpected trip southward this evening and still had a few jobs to do around the place when I got home so just didn't manage to get out.

Will have to prioritise my run tomorrow, I feel cooped up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Will have to prioritise my run tomorrow, I feel cooped up :)

Some 5k paced intervals should blow the cobwebs off :)

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Some 5k paced intervals should blow the cobwebs off :)

Na man, I feel it's that longer runs that need more focus for a bit.. Not just plodding along clocking miles, need a bit more speed injected into some of these runs :-)

Friday 23/10/2015 5 miles @ 8:20

Saturday 24/10/2015 Rest

Sunday 25/10/2015 (Will be) No running

Tiss worse I'm getting.. No running today, and no time for one tomorrow. Have something to tend to in Dublin on monday so probably drink involved....

Gonna get right back into consistant running in November, promise :)

Monday 26/10/2015 26 miles @ 7:35

As if it were a dream, and maybe is was, and maybe this is, but in my head I ran DCM '15 :D

Woke up in Dublin after a great night sleep, no panic about pace, no doubts of targets, just a happy fuzzy feeling that I'm about to take part in this great event :)

No porridge in the hotel which would normally throw me a bit, but I just went with their "home made" muesli and a couple slices of toast, washed down with coffee.

FF to the race...

Off up the road to the start area with a simple plan in place. Go with 3:20 pacers till halfway, and then push on a bit if feeling ok.

Off we went and taking great care not to trip up over discarded bin liners or bunched up runners, I slowly got into the 3:20 pace.
    I was running comfortable, and at times up right beside the pacers. Occasionally heading the balloon would bring a smile to my face as I'd dream of scoring the winning goal for Utd in a derby match :D
    First few miles were pretty uneventful, and before I knew it we were up through chesterfield ave. Still feeling good and plenty of high fives to the kids out there. Splits 7:48, 7:09, 7:42, 7:24, 7:38, 7:31

Continued on to Castleknock before turning left to bring us back down for another section of the park. There was some downhill sections around here and I could feel the pace increasing. I didn't even look at the watch tbh, I just tipped along and put my trust in the pacers.
    It was around here I think I started to notice a bit of wind, didn't seem bad, just the odd blustery spell I think. I remember getting in position behind someone for some shelter and no sooner as I did the wind died down again.
    Turned out onto the Chapelizod road and remembered the next section of a little loop around before a short climb which I knew would slow the pace. Sure enough I was right but not to bad. Splits 7:40, 7:24, 7:27, 7:30, 7:48, 7:33

Thought about pushing on started to come into my head but I resisted and said I'd stick to the plan and wait for the halfway mark. Stuck with the pacers and hit halfway at a tad under 1:39:30, perfect.... (Mile 13 split 7:25)

The second half push.... right into the second half and I tried to push on a small bit. I was concious of not booting it, and just tried to ease out a bit of a gap but it felt like a decent effort to do this. Looking back at the map, this was on the crumlin rd and loots like a bit of a climb. I was working a bit harder than I would have liked but barely pulling away I think. I remember looking back one time and thinking, gees, is that all I made on them :D:D Pace around the 7:26 mark while trying to pull away up this rise, but still feeling reasonably ok and still having fun with the crowd. Then I remembered Dubgal saying she would be at mile 22 with balloons or something so that was my next "checkpoint" to aim for.
    Kept plugging away and the mile ticked by. Tried to keep the pace a bit up to keep opening a small gap from the 3:20 pacers and in my head I had about 3 mins on them by mile 20. How true this is I'm not sure, but thants what it felt like to me at the time :DSplits 7:26, 7:26, 7:31, 7:31, 7:27, 7:25, 7:22

So, 20 mile done and I know I'm now at the point where bluffers are found out. Feel tired but in control and thinking of what kind of shout out I'll give to Dubgal, or will I try to embarrass her with a quick little joke of mine....
    This is a point where my lack of preparation let me down, I forgot about roebuck :D
    I trundled up at slow pace and I could feel the life go out of the legs. To top of the tiredness, I couldn't make out anyone that I could say might be D G so I couldn't lift my spirits that way :) "Keep it going" I say to myself and soon I crest the hill, shattered... Mile 21-23 splits 7:29, 8:08:eek:, 7:48

Somewhere on forster ave, a 3:20 pacer sneaked up on me, I turned to the right and I swear I think I jumped with the fright I got!! It gave me a little kick in the hole to try to push on a bit but I was fupped at this stage.
    Onto the Stillorgan rd, and I'm praying for the end. That feeling of it's nearly over but still so far away is playing on my mind.
    One thing I keep on saying is just don't stop. I know if I walk at all I'll throw in the towel totally so I keep it going as best I can.
    I turn onto Merrion Rd and feel it's nearly over, but there's still work to do. It's a looong way in, and even as I pass ballbridge, the finish feels like it's still miles away. If it wasn't for the support here, I really think I might have walked a bit. I keep going and see the gantry in the distance. I keep the legs going but that damn gantry isn't getting any closer... Legs are toast now and giving out to myself, even some name calling to keep it going. Finally get to the carpet area and feel it's finally coming to an end. Try to lift my arms in triumph crossing the line but I don't think they got above waist height :D Crossed the line and stopped the watch with a time of just under 3:19

Splits mile 24-26 7:20, 7:29, 7:35 (7:40)

Happy with this result all things considered. No proper marathon training cycle done for it. Last 2 weeks long runs were 20 miles, and before that not much of a long run really. Probably still a bit gone out of the legs from them but who knows really... I'm comitting myself to a spring marathon, with the aim of setting myself up for a proper Dublin attempt next year.... Hopefully it will come to fruition, and not turn out to be another dream....zzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Brilliant! Marty, you absolute nutter!:D knew you and bulmers were up to something but didn't know quite what.

Fairplay to you, that's a cracking run in general, nevermind the fact of the training you done in leadup to it. Well done man!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

That is one really vivid dream Martyboy, are you sure you weren't there? That bit about the gantry in the distance but not getting any closer brings back memories for me :)

Seriously well done on a great race, cracking report too - there's plenty more to chop off that 3:19 :)

Connemarathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Brilliant stuff Marty, enjoy the buzz, no need to wake up for a while yet. Great run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Excellent read, nice one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Jaysis you rob the man's marathon entry when he's injured the least you could have done for him was run a Boston qualifying time for him!!! Great stuff Marty, very well done. Plus I know he's ran the BQ himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

what the :confused::eek:
    Just saw on Strava that you did DCM:confused:
    Jaysus congrats Marty! I'm still in shock you sneaky marathon runner you!!!! Great time!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

:pac: :pac: I kept waiting for the punchline in that dream of yours!!!! Did it not include a pint in McGrattans too?

Fair play to you and well done!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Ah yes, I like your style dude.

Brilliant! Marty, you absolute nutter! knew you and bulmers were up to something but didn't know quite what.

Fairplay to you, that's a cracking run in general, nevermind the fact of the training you done in leadup to it. Well done man!:)
    Thanks NE, that Bulmers fella is a bad influence on me. I'm gonna try stay away from him before he gets me into serious trouble :D
    Neady83 wrote: »
    That is one really vivid dream Martyboy, are you sure you weren't there? That bit about the gantry in the distance but not getting any closer brings back memories for me.

Seriously well done on a great race, cracking report too - there's plenty more to chop off that 3:19

Connemarathon?
    Well done Neady, was delighted to see you hit your goal, and cutting it fine to keep us on edge :D That long finishing straight was like walking backwards on an escalator for me :D
    Not sure if it will be Connemarathon, just want some kind of indicator as to how I am :)
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Brilliant stuff Marty, enjoy the buzz, no need to wake up for a while yet. Great run.
    Cheers Murph, hope you enjoyed yourself too :D
    dintbo wrote: »
    Excellent read, nice one..
    Thanks D, appreciate it :)
    tang1 wrote: »
    Jaysis you rob the man's marathon entry when he's injured the least you could have done for him was run a Boston qualifying time for him!!! Great stuff Marty, very well done. Plus I know he's ran the BQ himself.
    Good man Tang, I'd take a London spot of him too if I could :D
    Ososlo wrote: »
    what the..
    Just saw on Strava that you did DCM:confused:
    Jaysus congrats Marty! I'm still in shock you sneaky marathon runner you!!!! Great time!!!!!
    Thank you A, that'd be me, sneaking in under the radar :D I'm full of surprises I'll have you know :)
    annapr wrote: »
    I kept waiting for the punchline in that dream of yours!!!! Did it not include a pint in McGrattans too?

Fair play to you and well done!!!!
    Thanks Anna, I had origionally planned to go to McG's, but was reading how packed it was with all ye mad yolks :D:D Ended up sippin pints in some auld mans pub just off St Stephens green, Twas grand :)
    Ah yes, I like your style dude.
    Cheers B, sometimes it's good to do something not in "the plan". A little curve ball to yourself :)