If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 clarkm6

Just enough to keep them in the field!!

Rolled barley and beef nuts worked out around €27 for the 200 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

clarkm6 wrote: »
    Just enough to keep them in the field!!

Rolled barley and beef nuts worked out around €27 for the 200 days.

Cattle were about 50-100quid dearer when you bought them than now. You still did well IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Where's the value now? If you'd access to finance housing fodder and grazing next year what weight and types would lads punt on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

last Thursday - 8 x CHX stores (18 months old)

500kg €1430
    460kg €1345
    490kg €1260
    560kg €1410
    520kg €1400
    480kg €1410
    530kg €1380
    460kg €1210

Sold 8 FR Friesian Stores (18 months old) on Saturday in 2 lots
    4 X Avg 545kg €935 (4 super cattle..!)
    4 x Avg 526kg €960

All bought in at 280kg @ €525 December 2014
    Straight off grass - no meal or nuts, since they went out on grass the first week in March.

Disappointed with first 4 - only got 1 bid after I put them on the market. Second bunch did better - had 3 bidders on them.

Reason I bought FR last December was I couldnt get coloured weanlings at reasionable price. LIM CHX All making between €880 - €940 last backend.

Question, is the margin in the dearer coloured cattle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,855 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Just offloaded some fr bull weanlings Feb/March 15 born 262 kg average weight 520 euro .how the fook is buyer going to turn money on them .little if any fr Bulls making under 2 euro a kg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Just offloaded some fr bull weanlings Feb/March 15 born 262 kg average weight 520 euro .how the fook is buyer going to turn money on them .little if any fr Bulls making under 2 euro a kg

Can only mean one thing, a few winters evenings picketing factories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Charliebull

CH X March Born Heifers

260kg 820
    250kg 810
    235kg 805

CHX March Born Bulls

340kg 900
    350kg 890

Fcuking sorry i didnt bring all with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

mahoney_j wrote: »

Got €2/kg in the yard for April born ones, 200kg. Only kept them as we had an issue with a few cows getting mastitis then and the milk to rear them would have been discarded.

kingstown wrote: »
    Sold 8 FR Friesian Stores (18 months old) on Saturday in 2 lots
    4 X Avg 545kg €935 (4 super cattle..!)
    4 x Avg 526kg €960

All bought in at 280kg @ €525 December 2014
    Straight off grass - no meal or nuts, since they went out on grass the first week in March.

Disappointed with first 4 - only got 1 bid after I put them on the market. Second bunch did better - had 3 bidders on them.

Reason I bought FR last December was I couldnt get coloured weanlings at reasionable price. LIM CHX All making between €880 - €940 last backend.

Question, is the margin in the dearer coloured cattle?

Not really. In july 14 when prices were poor I sold two nice square fr 400kg for 550. Fr will always take hit first. You could possibly by replacements now for €450 at same weight. What is in the head to buy again? Seen lovely square ones on done deal in a field of kale. Add was gone in an hour. Could be value in these also.

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/fresian-bull-weanling/10790771

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

Yeah, your right in saying FR will take the hit first, but I always have a mix, so it balance’s out. FR are much easier handle and manage on your own. I’d had have LMX and CHX that when in a yard or crush can go anywhere very quickly and nearly got caught once or twice..!

Have bought some AA & CHX, but will buy about 16 / 20 FR if I see the right cattle - What weight do you think the weanling caves in the link are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Willfarman wrote: »
    Where's the value now? If you'd access to finance housing fodder and grazing next year what weight and types would lads punt on?

I saw a neighbour picked up some nice black limos and sim all between 470-520kg. Paid an Average of €1050 for them. Spent a lot of time going round marts waiting for them at that price. He'll finish them off grass next autumn. They don't look like a bad bet. Better value than a 350kg at the same money.

kingstown wrote: »
    Yeah, your right in saying FR will take the hit first, but I always have a mix, so it balance’s out. FR are much easier handle and manage on your own. I’d had have LMX and CHX that when in a yard or crush can go anywhere very quickly and nearly got caught once or twice..!

Have bought some AA & CHX, but will buy about 16 / 20 FR if I see the right cattle - What weight do you think the weanling caves in the link are?

220kg max id say. Hard to know from pic.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    I saw a neighbour picked up some nice black limos and sim all between 470-520kg. Paid an Average of €1050 for them. Spent a lot of time going round marts waiting for them at that price. He'll finish them off grass next autumn. They don't look like a bad bet. Better value than a 350kg at the same money.

Whatever looks value is the money maker no matter what breed or colour the animal is. Cant understand how lads pay 950 for a 250kg golden chx and turn their nose at a 460kg mousey chx at 1050. FIL got cheque back today for cattle hung in Friday. Best lad was a grey chx with white patches. FIL spent the last 16mts moaning on about how he won't weigh and the colour is wrong. Killed out at 470kg @ 28mts 25days. That's 886kg live at 53% KO. over €1900.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 _walsh_

Have a lovely goldie chax heifer May born long after the rest of ours but a great thick heifer, great curly hair on her from a great mother, what kind of price would ye thing I'd get for her??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

_walsh_ wrote: »
    Have a lovely goldie chax heifer May born long after the rest of ours but a great thick heifer, great curly hair on her from a great mother, what kind of price would ye thing I'd get for her??

Around 270-300kg? Something round €900 I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

3 sim heifers in roscrea mart last wed eve. 320kg nice heifers €1060
    I wish they were mine, ha. Two lads wanted them and that was it.

_walsh_ wrote: »

depends on her quality

is she around 250 kg

average quality- 700 plus

good quality 800 plus

two chx bulls today

mid april born @ 330kg= 990 euro

early may born @ 300kg 970 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Red Cloud

Local heifer ring this week;
    Chx's ave €2.20 c/k or weight + €617
    Blacks Lmx & Aax ave €2.07 c/k or weight + €523.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Cassidy2

two chx bulls today

mid april born @ 330kg= 990 euro

early may born @ 300kg 970 euro

That is a great price.must of been great calves

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Anyone in kk mart yest? big numbers with the bad weather i presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Anyone in kk mart yest? big numbers with the bad weather i presume?

80 or 90 pens bullocks 85 cows not sure about heifers prob near 30 pens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,697 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

simx wrote: »
    80 or 90 pens bullocks 85 cows not sure about heifers prob near 30 pens

I counted roughly 170 cows in Ennis yesterday, you'll have to make the trip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

I counted roughly 170 cows in Ennis yesterday, you'll have to make the trip!

feck it i seen a printout of 20 cows a lad not a million miles away bought there one thursday, didnt look like one cheap cow on it, stay local, cows will be coming in floods in a few weeks id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Any value in handy bullocks simx?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭limo_100

Willfarman wrote: »
    Any value in handy bullocks simx?

whats a handy bullock 400kg ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Wes Palmer Lee

Drumshanbo tonight..

Bull weanlings a bit easier bought-
    plainish Lm 300kg 720e
    classy LM 290kg 825e
    plain CH 295kg 730e
    classy CH 285kg 950e

Heifer Weanlings great trade:
    Coloured CH 340kg 955e
    Red Lm nice sort 240kg 785e
    Ch nice warm type 250kg 795e

Saw Lm Springer 750kg due in 2 weeks make 2060e. She was a real nice one showing lots of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I can't figure out why a springer nearly always goes for more than a cow with a young calf at foot. Is it the mystery of not knowing what the calf will be like or do lads enjoy getting up to calve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 785 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Is there 10 to 12 month old castrated hex out there. What kind of money

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Is there 10 to 12 month old castrated hex out there. What kind of money

360-400kg anywhere between 780 and 900. I'm sure there is loads out there but a lot of lads that rear them or buy them as runners tend to finish them. They always do well at mart I find will have two 18mt olds in April for going unless ya want to make me an offer!!