Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My God, it's full of stars!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

pgibbo wrote: »
    Was each of the 6 intervals the same duration? And were they all supposed to be the same effort?

6 minutes, 5 minutes.........
    And no not same effort

mossym wrote: »
    was wondering the same thing. how were the targets set?

No targets set, by feel. feel off a bit but will get there

Reasonable swim this morning. Still only 2k but fitness and form improving. Once I get to 4k sets (hopefully a month) I can really go for the jugular. An "interesting" approach to swimming was suggested to me by Tango and I am going for it. Will be tough but should yield a sub 60.

A reasonable enough weeks training. Some significant motivational events in there too.

Saturday a total write off. The Sydney chapter of the club was back from Oz for a bit. "A few drinks" with the lads I went to school with Friday evening/night/Saturday morning.

Pretty sure I'm still hungover.

Being the start of the off season weight and weight goals always come up. I can see on some other blogs.
    This site is one that I used to tell me how fat I am.

Very is the answer at the moment.

http://www.serpentine.org.uk/pages/advice_frank02.html

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭RJM85

tunney wrote: »
    Being the start of the off season weight and weight goals always come up. I can see on some other blogs.

I use a mirror. Same result.

RJM85 wrote: »
    I use a mirror. Same result.

You would think. You really would think

Link 1 - mothers fail to recognise when they and their children are tubs of lard

Link 2 fatties think they are not fat

In my experience people think they are fine when they are overweight.
    People in sports, amateurs, in my experience think that they are lean when they are not.

Whats your height and weight?

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭RJM85

You would think. You really would think

Link 1 - mothers fail to recognise when they and their children are tubs of lard

Link 2 fatties think they are not fat

In my experience people think they are fine when they are overweight.
    People in sports, amateurs, in my experience think that they are lean when they are not.

Whats your height and weight?

When my mam doesn't ask me within 30 minutes of seeing me whether I'm 'looking after myself' and 'eating enough' I know I'm too fat. Worse when she tells me I'm looking 'healthy'. Which is what I was told last night.

At the minute - 77ish kg and 179cm - that's peak post season break weight gain. 70-71kg has been a good number for me previously, but 68kg is probably a better target.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

Long distance runners should come in 15% under the formula. What in you opinion would be ideal for triathletes, given the different requirements?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Eugene, you are like one of three out of all of us that is not fat.

Oh, I don't know about that, I've put on a whole two kg since August. :rolleyes:

BTH wrote: »
    Oh, I don't know about that, I've put on a whole two kg since August. :rolleyes:

haha you've joined the sick kids club. 04:21 posts..........

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

Long distance runners should come in 15% under the formula. What in you opinion would be ideal for triathletes, given the different requirements?

Thoughts on this Dave? I assume it would differ from OLY to IM also

haha you've joined the sick kids club. 04:21 posts..........

Tis true :(

Triathletes are going to have more leg and shoulder muscle mass.
    I'd have said around 8-10% lighter than the average person. (where average is related to a healthy normal weight not our societies "big is beautify, feck the haters" normal)

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ray o

come on to ****......what else are ya flogging?

ray o wrote: »
    come on to ****......what else are ya flogging?

?????

?????

Getting rid of....selling!

Quite a bit

Wetsuits, turbo trainers, bikes, power controls, paddles, kick boards, watches. you name it i am selling it.

Quite a bit

Wetsuits, turbo trainers, bikes, power controls, paddles, kick boards, watches. you name it i am selling it.

No way! P2?????

Triathletes are going to have more leg and shoulder muscle mass.
    I'd have said around 8-10% lighter than the average person. (where average is related to a healthy normal weight not our societies "big is beautify, feck the haters" normal)

So you're telling me to put on more weight. Currently sitting at 14% below normal weight per that formula, usually 17% below when I'm doing a bit more training. I'd have thought gibbo was probably in and around the same percentages.

Not really, I was trying to be somewhat nice to people.

As light as you can possibly be but no lighter.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Not really, I was trying to be somewhat nice to people.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Hes clearly unwell.

I need to lose 3kg by the sounds of it.

No way! P2?????

P2 and road bike not for sale. Was told "if you don't use it, sell it"

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Was told "if you don't use it, sell it"

By whom?

Oryx wrote: »
    By whom?

The better half

(if you don't use it means: why do you have three turbos, 15 sets of paddles, 5 kick boards, five bikes, three watches, 5 chest straps etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Have you a Polar T31 strap in that collection - I don't really need the watch you are selling but my strap is out of battery. The Polars are handy for the pool and turbo

catweazle wrote: »
    Have you a Polar T31 strap in that collection - I don't really need the watch you are selling but my strap is out of battery. The Polars are handy for the pool and turbo

Yes i do. Not much use on it either to be honest.

Happy to sell separately as I have two other Polar ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Ok let me know the price and I will sort something out about delivery