Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭Morgans

Of course there is BUT Monaghan were just as bad imo.
    They could have won if they played football.
    I also feel that there's a lot of lads just waiting for the chance to criticise Tyrone and can't hold back.
    I have seen many teams use spoiling tactics over the years. It's not a new phenomenon in the GAA.

Generally it is more obvious when they are winning. You are right, Michael Murphy provoked a red card at the weekend as well but he didnt throw himself to the ground when 'struck'. Spoiling tactics are a pain, but I do think that its different to the issue of diving. Tyrone do try to be an ultra physical team and provoke only to dive when challenged. Its the idea that they think its smart thats the problem. They have several very good footballers and its a horrible way that they are asked to play when winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Asked to play, you really do lap it up man.

It was nice to see Tayto lover show some self-awareness about Tyrone. You show none. The idea that the provocation when losing and cynicism when winning isnt a pre-defined tactic is ridiculous.

Yep I can just imagine the team talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Pretty fast

Morgans wrote: »
    Two wrongs don't make a right. Would have more respect for Kavanagh if he stood up and fought someone. But its 'smart' to act physical, and feign injury. Its been a clear part of Tyrone's tactics for over a decade and its a shame that they play the game that way. Id guess most players would love to play the game in a different way. Must look at the way other teams play with jealousy.

Great posting here Morgan but just to add to that. Ever before the emergence of Tyrone in the last 12 or so years they were known for falling down looking for frees. Going back into Ulster championship games way up through the decades 40's 50' 60' they were known for it within Ulster. My grandfather an Armagh man always said it about them they always fell over way too easily and he's dead since 1977.

Sweet Jesus I've heard it all. Someone dead almost forty years is a credible source I suppose.

Next time Morgan is posting he'll be referencing it.

Jayop wrote: »
    Sweet Jesus I've heard it all. Someone dead almost forty years is a credible source I suppose.

Next time Morgan is posting he'll be referencing it.

No. I would view it more credible source than someone who has yet to see a problem with Tyrone's way of doing things and thinks there was only one dive in the game yesterday. Someone who sees a difference between diving and feigning injury (and that's only on this page of the thread.) Someone with these views will do well to have any credibility in any discussion on Tyrone.

Yip, you could email that story to brolly for the next Sunday game

• Registered Users Posts: 12,853 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Well I hear Harte has fully backed McCann this morning.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »

No he didn't. He said he was wrong, he apologided and he would do it differently.

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭James74

JRant wrote: »

You see this is the sort of sh*te that that is spouted both here and in the media that makes me annoyed. Using "Well I hear" as three weasel words before your statement does not then give you free reign to spout pure ****e which gets picked up later as fact.

You know what's a bigger cancer on our game than some young lad that took the head staggers for half a second and did something dumb; it's the despicable, factually dubious, constant drip drip drip of poisonous negativity and bile from substandard "pundits" and armchair players/managers. The odd bit of dodgy nonsense that might happen every now and then on the pitch has always happened as long as the game has been played between neighbouring parishes up and down the country. It is actually this vindictive, click-bait style "journalism" and comment that is new, pervasive and will inevitably hurt our game. If it continues the hard natural rivalry, but usually vibrant community, between the Gaels and gaelic supporters will be the real victim.
    I hope my opinion is wrong, I really do. I miss looking forward to the Monday morning ritual of getting The Irish News and drinking in page after page of top class coverage of football, now I have to hoke through the bitterness and gossip to get to any actual comment on the actual football.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Morgans wrote: »
    It was nice to see Tayto lover show some self-awareness about Tyrone. You show none. The idea that the provocation when losing and cynicism when winning isnt a pre-defined tactic is ridiculous.

In my post before the match I spoke of the importance of the referee for the game and that Marty was not the man for the job.
    A good referee (and they are very few) would have made an example of the first players from each team and if necessary the next two and knocked it on the head early (excuse pun).
    Does the referee even visit the dressingrooms before the match and tell the players the standard he expects?

My point about both teams being at fault still stands. I'm not from Tyrone or Monaghan but i have much experience of Ulster football and you can get games like that any year from any county. I have seen the same many a time in all of the provinces too. I really do blame the standard of refereeing and lack of directive from HQ.

James74 wrote: »
    You see this is the sort of sh*te that that is spouted both here and in the media that makes me annoyed. Using "Well I hear" as three weasel words before your statement does not then give you free reign to spout pure ****e which gets picked up later as fact.

You know what's a bigger cancer on our game than some young lad that took the head staggers for half a second and did something dumb; it's the despicable, factually dubious, constant drip drip drip of poisonous negativity and bile from substandard "pundits" and armchair players/managers. The odd bit of dodgy nonsense that might happen every now and then on the pitch has always happened as long as the game has been played between neighbouring parishes up and down the country. It is actually this vindictive, click-bait style "journalism" and comment that is new, pervasive and will inevitably hurt our game. If it continues the hard natural rivalry, but usually vibrant community, between the Gaels and gaelic supporters will be the real victim.
    I hope my opinion is wrong, I really do. I miss looking forward to the Monday morning ritual of getting The Irish News and drinking in page after page of top class coverage of football, now I have to hoke through the bitterness and gossip to get to any actual comment on the actual football.

Ha, angry much?

I heard it reported on RTE radio 1 this morning, hence the "i hear" bit in my post. Nothing weasel about it.

As for the rest of your post, you couldn't be more wrong. Don't blame the media or fans for the carryon of this Tyrone team. It's 100% their own doing.

No he didn't. He said he was wrong, he apologided and he would do it differently.

Only caught it on the radio this morning. They left that bit out.
    Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Where did he apologise? This is the only source I have seen of what Harte said about the incident:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mickey-harte-claims-darren-hughes-and-tiernan-mccann-share-blame-over-dive-incident-31441263.html

I don't see an apology in here. He just says McCann would act differently if it happened again.

I don't read Dinny Daily. It was the times I think and I'm fairly sure he said McCann was sorry.

Regardless he didn't defend his actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The line at the end of Harte's response sticks out:
    Is that a worse thing to do than punch somebody in the back of the head? Somebody else will have to give me the answer.

The reason it sticks out is because I happen to be reading his book at the moment. He addresses sledging and guff-giving early on and puts it in similar terms. Basically saying if he had to choose between someone whispering in his ear all game and someone punching him in the back of the head he would choose the whispering.

And that seems fair enough, only that it seems to ignore a fairly obvious third option. Harte denies he ever sends his teams out to spew rubbish at opposition players, but it seems to have at least tacit approval from him on the basis that other things they could be doing are worse.

358212.png

TBH, this matches what Harte more or less always says on these sorts of things. I believe this is genuinely his opinion - diving, sledging etc don't hurt anyone and he's too bothered.

You could easily agree with his position that Paul Finlay's rabbit punch is way worse than diving or slabbering so why all the fuss about these incidents and not the rabbit punches?

The reality, I think, is that GAA people in general are way, way more aggravated by actions like this than Mickey Harte (and the rest of Tyrone taking their cue from him) is. That's where the disconnect between Tyrone people screaming "media bias" and everyone else screaming "are ye ****ing serious?" comes from imo.

Rightly or wrongly, we all outside think Tiernan McCann's dive is way more **** behaviour than Finlay leaving the knee in, while Mickey Harte thinks McCann is small beans by comparison.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Radio5

Interesting to see the clearout of the old SG panel for afternoon hurling coverage. No Cyril or Tomas or Ger or Liam or Michael Duignan. Even Eddie Brennan got the heave ho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

The phrase "cancer on our game" is the real cancer on our game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Kerry_2008 wrote: »
    I don't know why people are getting worked up by what Darragh O'Se says on sky sports. His ability to analyse a game has been terrible always. Anyone that watched our U21s under him would know, I don't think there is any malice in what he was saying stuff like " he used his experience to win that free". He's just a terrible co commentator / pundit and can't think of anything else to say.

Anyway using your experience to win a free doesnt have to equate to diving. If you know you will win a free by going into contact it doesn't mean it's still not a free. It's just being cute.

I thought that when i heard his comments also, he was not saying that they were diving, just that they knew how to draw a free.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

K-9 wrote:
    Agh sure we were a plague and the death of football for a while, last year was just because we beat the Dubs.

Ahh sure I thought Cavan were branded with that last year, the Dubs were branded the saviours of football in 2011 just because they beat Donegal.

I wouldn't worry about those silly tags K9 they mean nothing now and were created to sell papers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Radio5 wrote: »
    Interesting to see the clearout of the old SG panel for afternoon hurling coverage. No Cyril or Tomas or Ger or Liam or Michael Duignan. Even Eddie Brennan got the heave ho.

was last Sunday Ken McGrath's first time? have seen him do a lot of pre match interviews and such on different programmes but cant' remember him on the Sunday game before

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Jaysus that interview with Richie Hogan and Joanne Cantwell....

"Is catching the ball something that you work on?"

Jesus Wept.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Loved when Michael Lyster asks Ken McGrath "So how do you stop this Kilkenny side?"

Ken goes "You're probably asking the wrong man here"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Pretty fast

Loved when Michael Lyster asks Ken McGrath "So how do you stop this Kilkenny side?"

Ken goes "You're probably asking the wrong man here"

Fixed that for you. No charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Stoner wrote: »
    Ahh sure I thought Cavan were branded with that last year, the Dubs were branded the saviours of football in 2011 just because they beat Donegal.

I wouldn't worry about those silly tags K9 they mean nothing now and were created to sell papers.

Yep, said similar in the rest of my quote you left out.

;-)

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

hmm, not sure I'd agree with those nominees for MOTM tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

hmm, not sure I'd agree with those nominees for MOTM tonight.

Who were they?

Doesn't matter anyway because if anyone apart from Seamus Calinan gets it then it's a complete joke of an award.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Who were they?

Doesn't matter anyway because if anyone apart from Seamus Calinan gets it then it's a complete joke of an award.

Callanan, Callanan and Flynn. Thought there were a few better players myself too...

Who were they?

Seamus Callanan

Colm Callanan

Jason Flynn

Obviously Seamus Callanan deserved it.

I can see why Colm Callanan was nominated because of his crucial saves.

While Jason Flynn did pop up with some great points, I didn't think he particularly stood out. David Burke would have been a more worthy nomination.