Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

McGregor made that jump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

With Dana burning bridges with Aldo, and this fight being for an interim title, does anyone else think that Aldo might be retiring as previously rumoured?

I can't make sense of Dana undermining him as a champion, if there's potentially a huge unification fight in the offing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Does McGregor being out first for the weigh ins last night mean he's going to be out first tonight for the ring walks? Seems a bit odd if that's the case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

Roar wrote: »
    Does McGregor being out first for the weigh ins last night mean he's going to be out first tonight for the ring walks? Seems a bit odd if that's the case.

Why is it odd, chad is the higher ranked fighter, it's standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,387 ✭✭✭cletus

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Of course he is the biggest talker

And he always says when he comes face to face then he will say it to an opponent

Still doesn't mean he can't get annoyed at people like Faber running his mouth.

It's human nature and I'm sure he is used to people having a go at him when running his mouth.

The main point is that it took no balls for Connor to do what he did, he wasn't giving Faber his comeuppance, he was ****ty, and had it gone bad, he would have been in the wrong.

Note I consider myself a fan of Conor MacGregor. He is on the verge of giving me, as a fan of mma, something that I didn't think I would ever see when I first started watching the UFC, back in '96; an Irish champion. I will watch with baited breath tonight.

However, that doesn't and shouldn't mean that I can't call bullshït on bullshït behaviour, because that's exactly what that video showed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

I cannot believe this Faber BS is attracting so much commentary on here .....I seriously couldn't give a toss about him or what a weight cutting exhausted McGregor may or may not have said to him at the time....yawnsville.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

gallag wrote: »

Because given how much the UFC have pumped in to promoting McGregor having a technicality like that dictate which of them walks out first IS odd.

Clive wrote: »
    With Dana burning bridges with Aldo, and this fight being for an interim title, does anyone else think that Aldo might be retiring as previously rumoured?

I can't make sense of Dana undermining him as a champion, if there's potentially a huge unification fight in the offing.

Dana has never been known for being particularly long sighted. It's like the knee jerk reactions he usually has to situations not completely under his control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

cletus wrote: »
    The main point is that it took no balls for Connor to do what he did, he wasn't giving Faber his comeuppance, he was ****ty, and had it gone bad, he would have been in the wrong.

Note I consider myself a fan of Conor MacGregor. He is on the verge of giving me, as a fan of mma, something that I didn't think I would ever see when I first started watching the UFC, back in '96; an Irish champion. I will watch with baited breath tonight.

However, that doesn't and shouldn't mean that I can't call bullshït on bullshït behaviour, because that's exactly what that video showed

Dont get me wrong; I would like to see McGregor win to get a title for Ireland but I am impartial in general and as I said before if Mendes wins then good luck to him. However to use a weird analogy, McGregor's behaviour and comments kind of remind me of a best man's speech at a wedding, i.e, everything he says is hilarious and people are in stitches and his actions are always in the right, etc, etc.
    From my viewing of the video Conor was in the wrong and on another issue Mendes, although not as media savvy, has actually been quite funny in my eyes too but it seems he is dismissed on this forum. No matter what Conor says it gets a hilarious reaction from the fans and huge laughs, cheers! He is funny but not as comedic as people make him out to me.
    Anyway of the fights I have the keenest interest in tonight I hope Pendred, MacDonald and McGregor prevail but I would not be one bit surprised if all three lose.
    I've never been as excited as GSP Penn 2 so hopefully we get 13 rounds out of the above 3 fights :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

McGregor just can't afford to lose this can he, if he does everything goes out the window and he becomes just another who falls off the bike and gets back on......Mendes already has that bike so it's not all on the line as much for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Howard Roark

What was Faber doing backstage confronting a depleted mcgregor? He knew well he'd get a confrontation, team alpha male are a pack of clowns

Nodody's exactly sure, but the rumour is he was either pissing, or having a shïte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Roar wrote: »
    Because given how much the UFC have pumped in to promoting McGregor having a technicality like that dictate which of them walks out first IS odd.

Was the same for the Poirier fight. Higher ranked figther come out second its just the way it is. He'll be first into the octagon tonight too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭ibrahimovic

jjdonegal wrote: »
    Dont get me wrong; I would like to see McGregor win to get a title for Ireland but I am impartial in general and as I said before if Mendes wins then good luck to him. However to use a weird analogy, McGregor's behaviour and comments kind of remind me of a best man's speech at a wedding, i.e, everything he says is hilarious and people are in stitches and his actions are always in the right, etc, etc.
    From my viewing of the video Conor was in the wrong and on another issue Mendes, although not as media savvy, has actually been quite funny in my eyes too but it seems he is dismissed on this forum. No matter what Conor says it gets a hilarious reaction from the fans and huge laughs, cheers! He is funny but not as comedic as people make him out to me.
    Anyway of the fights I have the keenest interest in tonight I hope Pendred, MacDonald and McGregor prevail but I would not be one bit surprised if all three lose.
    I've never been as excited as GSP Penn 2 so hopefully we get 13 rounds out of the above 3 fights :-)

Conor is funny because he doesn't give a **** and you never know what hes gonna come out with. Mendes can be mildly amusing alright but Mcgregor has me in stitches the stuff he come out with, and we find it funnier on here because he's like someone most of us know growing up with but hes doing it on the world stage. Its surreal seeing a lad with a Dublin accent who doesnt give a **** on the likes of Conan and fox news I mean look at him on these videos, he's cracked in the head, its great!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

---

That cruising around L.A video. Never seen that one before. That's brilliant! What a nutjob haha :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

About to purchase on ufc.tv.

Much difference between SD and HD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

gallag wrote: »

Not standard at all. Conor came out second after Holloway, Brandao and Poirier. All 3 were rated higher than him and he came out second.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Clive wrote:

My opinion, and I'm sure people will be along shortly to tell me I've no idea what I'm talking about, is as such;

If conor wins Aldo will retire. Maybe not straight away. He might agree to fight then back out again blaming X y or z and then maybe 6 months later retire but he will not risk losing the title to conor because he knows he won't get it back.

If mendes wins aldo will take the fight. He has already beaten mendes twice so there's less risk. If he wins he retires straight away. If mendes wins aldo won't be as upset at losing the title to him over conor as aldo and mendes appear to get along.

I really can't see aldo fighting Conor if he wins tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Saipanne wrote: »

Probably depends how you're watching it. SD is grand but if you're watching it on a TV that is a decent size you might regret not spending an extra €2 or so on HD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Saipanne wrote: »

Might as well spend the extra couple of euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Conor was the one who showed up outside the jacks with a tv crew. Looks like Conor tried to stage something that didn't go the way he wanted.

bur wrote: »
    Conor was the one who showed up outside the jacks with a tv crew. Looks like Conor tried to stage something that didn't go the way he wanted.

Jaysus lads, they ran into each other outside the bog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Faber didn't plan it, he was just finished a piss. Conor came across bad, but he was very hungry, dehydrated and amped up so its understandable. Finito.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Not standard at all. Conor came out second after Holloway, Brandao and Poirier. All 3 were rated higher than him and he came out second.

Poirier came out second. Brandao & Holloway were not ranked - where did you get your ratings from?

New folk to MMA/UFC/McGregor - have a look at this previous weigh-ins plus fights (as well as Mendes). This is the norm.

As for this Faber stuff - Faber has always been a fan favourite, comes across as a decent guy and is a very exciting fighter, well worth watching his stuff too. He looked like he was just playing around their and of course he's always going to back his teammate hence his talk over the recent weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Pissgate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Faber just came out of the toilet (probably didn't even wash his hands) and attempted to touch Mcgregor. How was he Mcgregor to know if his hands were clean or not? It's to close to the fight to risk catching any germs/viruses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    Faber just came out of the toilet (probably didn't even wash his hands) and attempted to touch Mcgregor. How was he Mcgregor to know if his hands were clean or not? It's to close to the fight to risk catching any germs/viruses.

He's lucky to still be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Really hope Garbrant wins, despite the whole alpha male association he really seems like a decent lad

Also just watching this, Lawler is a complete vacuum of personality, and McDonald has guns...im terrified :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

If Conor was 145 at the weigh in. How much will he weight tonight? roughly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Tilikum wrote: »
    If Conor was 145 at the weigh in. How much will he weight tonight? roughly

160-165