Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

rusty cole wrote: »
    yep between people saying aldo i scared and mendes is getting knocked out. im half hoping conor get wacked now if it will force all these ****e talkers out of the picture..

I think aldo was injured, doesn't mater if it's a little or alot, and injury is not something you fight with when the steaks are so high. disapointed for the fans yes, 5th time he's done it yes but afraid???? for fook sake come on..

I agree, to think aldo is scared is just silly and taking an easy answer to suit/explain the situation, this is his career, he's been at it for years he'd be well used to dealing with nerves if they were there.

i like aldo, theres no arguement that hes one of the greats within the ufc.

however there is certainly something funny about it, from the confusion around his blood tests to the confusion around the injury and to a lesser extent rumors about his weight also. i cant join all the dots but a gut feeling tells me theres more to it than we know.

defo the whole thing stinks to high heaven. now silva was caught doping and we know belfort is a fiend for it, im wondering was wonderboy aldo going to be found out too. I recently read the ufc hired a guy to combat doping whos a beast at busting people. he's the same guy who caught marion jones and barry bonds.

maybe it's something to do with doping and for the sake of the sport the UFC and dana are actually complicit on everything. your right, it ****ing stinks and all the while, it's the fans being played and a manipulated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

jimmii wrote: »
    Just buy the event for €17.99 from ufc.tv no need to do free trials and upgrades etc.

Unless you want the prelims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

Saipanne wrote: »

this is being shown on 3e on monday night at 9.. not sure if they are in it, prob will be. just watch them then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    I have BT Sports myself but when I check UFC.tv it says €17.99 for the fight in HD? Where you seeing it for 21.99? Or is that just the main event and nothing else for 17.99?

Yeah i was mixing it up with something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭kev1234

How do I watch it on ufc.tv? I purchased it and got the link so do I just go to the link at 3am and it comes on then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

Saipanne wrote: »

Ah its grand,want some sleep 1st plus I'm only bandwagonning due to the hype so main card will do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Does anyone know what time exactly the fight is likely to begin??? Also is the Robbie and Rory fight happening first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Fight pass wont load properly for me to register, Is the site down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Does anyone know what time exactly the fight is likely to begin??? Also is the Robbie and Rory fight happening first?

Yep Robbie and Rory are up first. You'd want to be watching from 5am to guarantee seeing Conor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Yep Robbie and Rory are up first. You'd want to be watching from 5am to guarantee seeing Conor.

cheers mate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Conor looked grand at the weigh-ins, not sure what the fuss is about.

image.jpg1_zpsj8mkfjmm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Hurk

darced wrote: »

Ya, Faber wins that one alright. Just think it's bad form, with him cutting weight. I'm obviously a wee bit biased as I'm a fan of Conor, but more importantly, Faber comes across as an exceptional dudebro. Seems as dense as a neutron star.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Very quite in here. Eerie feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Axwell wrote: »
    Thats completely subjective and down to opinion really. Personally I cant stand Faber, think hes a complete knob and dont find him very exciting and have been watching MMA for a long time.

Wow, okay fair enough - Of his last say, 10 fights which ones did you not find exciting? Let's just take the Edgar one as a given so barring that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

There's been a lot of chat on the thread about the weight cut so I have two questions. Have fight night weights ever been officially released in either mma or boxing?

I think I know the answer to the 2nd question but would it not be easier for all fighters to fight in the weight class that they would naturally fit instead of putting their bodies through the strain of a cut? I assume the answer is that you'll always run the risk of coming up against a guy that does cut. It just seems like all fighters hate it, if everybody is doing it then nobody really gains an advantage. Does the term gentleman's agreement exist in mma?

I just thought of a third question. Does anybody know who pioneered the idea of a weight cut for prize fighting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Whosthis wrote: »
    I think I know the answer to the 2nd question but would it not be easier for all fighters to fight in the weight class that they would naturally fit instead of putting their bodies through the strain of a cut? I assume the answer is that you'll always run the risk of coming up against a guy that does cut. It just seems like all fighters hate it, if everybody is doing it then nobody really gains an advantage. Does the term gentleman's agreement exist in mma?

I just thought of a third question. Does anybody know who pioneered the idea of a weight cut for prize fighting?

Both these questions are answered by human nature, if theres an advantage be had in something as important and lucrative as prize fighting someone will use it. And if someone uses it, other people will. If so many people are doing it, everyone has pretty much no choice but to cut.

Gunnar Nelson cuts no weight because he fundamentally disagrees with it. And hes getting rewarded for that by facing a significantly bigger guy in Thatch. Screen-Shot-2015-07-10-at-7.45.48-PM.png

When the margins are as small as they are at this level most people wont give up something as important as a significant weight difference. And honestly if Nelson wants to become a contender I think he'll need to cut to 155, where he will become well sized for the division. Fighting at your "natural weight" in MMA means you will fight bigger men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Have to say, SevereMMA boys are killing it over there. Their interviews with all the fighters are excellent and very pro. Great how Andrew tried to avoid bringing up McGregor to Dustin :)

Thank you, you're the sweetest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

I guess I understand the reasons for it but it almost seems to go against all logic. I can't think of any other sport where an athlete would spend two months getting into top condition for a contest only to spend the seven days prior to the contest purposefully debilitating themselves with starvation and dehydration and then the last 24hrs setting themselves to rights.

I've never fought so have no idea what its like to make weight but could there be an argument for fighter A training and avoiding the strain of a cut, fighting fighter B who is physically bigger but has gone through the strain of a cut, fighter A is in much better condition and this negates the size difference? How draining is a weight cut and how close to peak performance can you regain in the 24hrs post weigh in? Is Gunnar a case in point? He's good but he'll never be great unless he stops fighting bigger guys?

Any lings to Gunnar discussing his opposition to cutting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭kev1234

Seriously does anyone know how ufc.tv works?? I purchased it so do I just go to the link at 3am and it comes on then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

dying for this lol

i think conor has this easy

watched aldo mendes 2 last night , while mendes looked good , a couple of times that also tried to sustain pressure , mendes wasnt able for it and went for his double leg take downs

now aldo had great results as his stance was pretty wide kinda like conors so , i can see a knee ending this for conor

im nervous but confident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

dying for this lol

i think conor has this easy

watched aldo mendes 2 last night , while mendes looked good , a couple of times that also tried to sustain pressure , mendes wasnt able for it and went for his double leg take downs

now aldo had great results as his stance was pretty wide kinda like conors so , i can see a knee ending this for conor

im nervous but confident

You'd be thinking wrong then.

I'd expect him to win, but to beat a fighter the calibre of Mendes is anything but easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Fight pass wont load properly for me to register, Is the site down?

Will some one try to go on to fight pass and see if its working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I guess I understand the reasons for it but it almost seems to go against all logic. I can't think of any other sport where an athlete would spend two months getting into top condition for a contest only to spend the seven days prior to the contest purposefully debilitating themselves with starvation and dehydration and then the last 24hrs setting themselves to rights.

I've never fought so have no idea what its like to make weight but could there be an argument for fighter A training and avoiding the strain of a cut, fighting fighter B who is physically bigger but has gone through the strain of a cut, fighter A is in much better condition and this negates the size difference? How draining is a weight cut and how close to peak performance can you regain in the 24hrs post weigh in? Is Gunnar a case in point? He's good but he'll never be great unless he stops fighting bigger guys?

Well I mean boxing is the most directly comparable sport and weight cutting happens there too, it's a pretty unique situation, weight/size is an incredibly big advantage in combat sports

McGregor walks around at more than 170 I believe, so his natural weight class would be that of Rory MacDonald, Lawler, Thatch and Gunnar. He'd never have made the impact at 170 that he has at 145, where he has a significant weight advantage vs the significant weight disadvantage he'd have at his natural weight class, it's a complete game changer. Imagine if he was fighting MacDonald or Lawler for the title instead of Mendes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ran my own simulation in EA Sports UFC. Call me Mystic Mac because I Predict deeze tings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭cletus

The only sports where this happens are those that have a weight restriction on the participants. So, wrestlers, boxers, mma fighters (I'll include all forms of grappling under wrestling for ease).

It doesn't happen with, say, rugby players because there is no weight restriction on their participation. If an upper limit of 200lbs was put in place tomorrow in order to play rugby, you would see weight cutting there as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

JT26 wrote: »
    Mendes wont lie down ffs lads he is class

he'll have no option to when he's ko'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

If the fight ends like that game simulation I think we would all be happy.

My mate bailed on me, I was supposed to be watching in his but hes fecked off. UPC sales dept is closed so I cant order BT but I can buy it on their website but Im not sure if it will activate tonight to watch the fight. Anyone any experience with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭william

kwestfan08 wrote: »

4.45am to be certain.