Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

nc19 wrote: »
    What feckin height is Faber!!!!!

I thought it was a child messing with him at first!

i know, him and mendes are fair short when you them beside some of the others.

thought conor lookd a bit rattled last night at the stare down whereas mendes seemed to be lapping up the hype. conor will shake that off today (if its true) nonethe less and i reckon we'll have two very confident and hungry fighters stepping up tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Mellor wrote: »
    A 20lbs gain is probably in the cards, a lot of rehydration and refuelling

Crazy to think you can put that on in 24 hours! That's a lot of quarter pounders and battered sausages :D

Wouldn't be too upset to see Mendes hammer him. Probably unlikely though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Hurk

darced wrote: »

When Lamas was making weight? Just before he went out on stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Wow.

821DzMQ.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

Playing the EA Sports UFC game there online, and first game low and behold I got matched with Money Mendes. Me being Conor of course with the day that's in it.

Anyway a few exchanges here and there nothing much going on then bang, Mendes over reaches a left hook, walks straight into a spinning heel kick KO'ing him there and then. 2.38 of the first.

So thats how its going to play out lads, simple really. 'They dont play like I play'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Old Perry wrote: »
    i know, him and mendes are fair short when you them beside some of the others

Team alpha midgets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

"Mendes will start shooting from the dressing rooms" - John Kavanagh

Deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭cletus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Team alpha midgets

Oompa oompa dupa di doo mcgregors got a heel kick waiting for you.

ah mendes aint so bad. he shows good sportsmanship and is definitly worthy of respect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Honestly, I do like Mendes and if he was fighting anyone else I'd be up for him and after this fight maybe conor might admit he's a cool guy but that Faber knob......my god!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Faber is like that mouth in karate kid at the end shouting put him in a body bag yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 IT_MATE

Just thought I would throw my 2 cents in here on the Faber "Confrontation"...

I do not know if Urijah and Conor met before but it seems there first meeting was Urijah coming out of the toilet and a first confrontation. Because of the trash talk Urijah and Conor make a joke or two - Urijah is just playing into the whole circus. Conor cutting weight (as Dee says in embeddeed) has the hump so pushes back, grabs whatever.

Nothing much on either side. I do not think Faber had to come out and say Conor felt like a junior high school girl. He is cutting weight so should have just left it there. Faber comes off like a tool even though I think he was just having a little fun because of all the back and forth jibes between Conor and Chad.

Prediction: Even though Chad is obviously 100 times better than Marcus Brimage - I see the fight going similar.

If it does go 5 rounds it means Chad made this a wrestling fight and he takes a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

sjb25 wrote: »
    Think it was all fine and joking till Faber touches conor. obviously and understandably and as dee said in it just before conor may be bit cranky when hungry I no I am aswel lol also maybe not feeling the best cutting weight and as a lot of us would know when you not feeling the best people touching you or at you in anyway it's easy to snap.
    Was really a Notting moment Faber looked shocked and like a lost sheep when conor walked away.

Can't wait for the fight looking at all the pics and videos wish I had went over :(
    moneyman wrote: »
    Maybe I'm crazy but I thought Conor looked better than he did for the Siver weigh in. That's not to say he looked good. He looked completely drained, just a little less than he did against Siver, which is a good sign. I think it's clear his days at 145 are numbered, they have to be. The weight cut looks like it kills him. He always looks healthy in the ring, but it has to take it out of him. He never looks like he's at a healthy weight at the weigh-in.

Had to laugh at Faber's face when Conor pushed him, genuine shock. Wtf do you expect when you grap your teammates oponent like that when he's on a cut?
    Just seen the Faber thing, just looks like Conors being a dick there tbh.
    moneyman wrote: »
    Not really, Faber was the twat.

McGregor ruffled Urijahs hair first...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

My prediction: Chad will take the Mic from Joe Rogan and while standing over Conor he will say " The king is dead " drop the Mic and walk away.Boards.ie will crash soon after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

McGregor ruffled Urijahs hair first...

Thank god im not the only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

dave1982 wrote: »
    My prediction: Chad will take the Mic from Joe Rogan and while standing over Conor he will say " The king is dead " drop the Mic and walk away.Boards.ie will crash soon after

My fantasy booking is..Mendes wins, Aldo zip lines in with the belt, slaps it around Mendes' waist, declares him the true champion and says he's moving to LW and wants to beat Conor up in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

jjdonegal wrote: »
    Any luck? I'd imagine they are getting quite an influx of traffic at the moment. I hope they handle it and there is no delays like mayweather pacquiao to allow for the late subscribers who had difficulties

Still nothing giving them a ring now.

darced wrote: »
    Sure from everything we see Conor started the confrontation by acting the bully,Faber was having none of it.

Faber has been mouthing off for weeks about conor, they came face to face, I would expect anyone with balls to act the way conor did

Bully haha jaysus its ultimate fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My prediction; Accidental headbutt leads to NC. Massive anticlimax

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Faber has been mouthing off for weeks about conor, they came face to face, I would expect anyone with balls to act the way conor did

Bully haha jaysus its ultimate fighting.

Your post makes no sense

cletus wrote: »
    Your post makes no sense

What parts are you having difficulty with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

It's getting scary now, I'm more and more nervous the closer it gets.

Starting drinking at 6pm should help.

Hope the neighbours have earplugs for 5am.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    What parts are you having difficulty with?

All of it, but if you want me to be more specific: MacGregor I'd the single biggest **** talker in mma. For him to be annoyed at Faber for the same thing makes no sense. There was no "balls" involved in what Conor did. If you look at the video objectively, MacGregor pats Faber on the head. Faber, while smiling, pats Macgregor on the sides, asks him how it's going, probably referring to the weight cut. They tousle a little and Conor gets shirty and threatens to break his nose.

Add to this the fact that Faber claims to simply have run into Conor coming out of the jacks, and you've got a stupid incident both created and escalated by Conor.

There are probably a series of mitigating circumstances linked to media, weight cuts etc, but they don't change the facts of what happened.

As a result, your post makes no sense

mdwexford wrote: »
    It's getting scary now, I'm more and more nervous the closer it gets.

Starting drinking at 6pm should help.

Hope the neighbours have earplugs for 5am.

You haven't a good of seeing 5 in the morning if you start drinking at dinner time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

You haven't a good of seeing 5 in the morning if you start drinking at dinner time :D

Trust me, I'm a pro. ;)

All of it, but if you want me to be more specific: MacGregor I'd the single biggest **** talker in mma. For him to be annoyed at Faber for the same thing makes no sense. There was no "balls" involved in what Conor did. If you look at the video objectively, MacGregor pats Faber on the head. Faber, while smiling, pats Macgregor on the sides, asks him how it's going, probably referring to the weight cut. They tousle a little and Conor gets shirty and threatens to break his nose.

Add to this the fact that Faber claims to simply have run into Conor coming out of the jacks, and you've got a stupid incident both created and escalated by Conor.

There are probably a series of mitigating circumstances linked to media, weight cuts etc, but they don't change the facts of what happened.

As a result, your post makes no sense

Of course he is the biggest talker

And he always says when he comes face to face then he will say it to an opponent

Still doesn't mean he can't get annoyed at people like Faber running his mouth.

It's human nature and I'm sure he is used to people having a go at him when running his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,041 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conors sh1t talk makes no sense literally....eg he slags someone off...they slag him back ...then he gets all offended....however it makes financial sense as that is why he's earning millions this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

aMKEbtW.gif