Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

He sounds completely out of it. I hope he recovers for tomorrow.

Needs to move up to lightweight ASAP, was a bit shocked tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

To me it looked like Faber had that planned. 1. What was he doing standing outside Conors room? 2. He was already extending his arms to Conor's stomach before Conor rubbed his hair.

As we have seen on embedded and from he's teamname Faber is a douche.

Not to mention: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96082292&postcount=325 #neverforget #gaysteelmill

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Jeeez look at how dry his lips are :O

It wasn't McGregor's room either, that was the jacks he was going into.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Jeeez look at how dry his lips are :O

It wasn't McGregor's room either, that was the jacks he was going into.

Ah your right it was the bathroom...I was wondering why Dee was following him so

She epitomizes the clingy GF lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Panic E

Most important question for tomorrow night...is Conor going to get a haircut or what?

I presume he will, that and adding 20 or so pounds, he'll look like a completely different person by tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

He'll have a real problem come October once the IVs are banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Ah there was nothin in that as conor said. its a non issue. uriah puting his hands on mcgregors hips (possibly to say your looking thin) the same as mcgregor rubbin his head to say youre quite small. a little tustle for the craic. move along nothin to see as they say. and conors missus lookin well as always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Non issue but for my own curiosity. Was something thrown at Mendes? 37:45 of the weigh in video. Something whizzes by and it's Rogans face that also suggests it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Hurk

Lads, I touched on it earlier in the thread with the one-way tension between Faber and Mendes, but I reckon if Mendes wins, Faber pulls the first ever in ring UFC proposal to Chad, ditching his girlfriend along the way. It's insane. There's psyching out your pal's opponent and there's being in love with your training partner.

Imagine Artem or Roddy or anyone pulling that stunt. Reckon he's wearing Chad's discarded Reebok gear, inhaling his scent.

It really is a pity that Chad is associated with Faber and Dillashaw. Seems like a great guy, but I can't get behind that team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭ronanc1000

I've been reading news on Twitter if Conor beats Mendes and then Aldo, his first defence will be in croke park. If so , who will he fight I wonder?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I thought something was thrown too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,893 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Something was thrown. While Rogan was interviewing Chad.

I hope security beat the pish out of the idiot who threw it.

https://instagram.com/p/4-gDyds4vB/?taken-by=urijahfaber
    Looks Connor's Jr high level wrestling hasn't learned the drag re-drag drill yet. I've seen crack heads roaming the streets that look healthier than McGregor right now. @ufc @teamalphamalemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

ronanc1000 wrote: »
    I've been reading news on Twitter if Conor beats Mendes and then Aldo, his first defence will be in croke park. If so , who will he fight I wonder?

Aldo rematch if he doesn't retire/move up to LW.

Dream scenario would be Barao going back to FW and straight into the title fight, but that's absolutely not happening for many reasons.

So if it isn't Aldo, I'd say Edgar, or Holloway again if he keeps climbing the rankings. Maybe Lamas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

cloudatlas wrote: »
    You could hear Conor calling Chad a midget at the weigh in. I hate that Faber guy, what was he doing hanging out around Conor's room?
    Hazys wrote: »

McGregor looks like a O'Connell st zombie walking into the jacks. What the f##k was with the noise he made?:pac:

McGregors take "I arm dragged him into a double, I could have thrown him on his head...." :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

martyos121 wrote: »
    Aldo rematch if he doesn't retire/move up to LW.

Dream scenario would be Barao going back to FW and straight into the title fight, but that's absolutely not happening for many reasons.

So if it isn't Aldo, I'd say Edgar, or Holloway again if he keeps climbing the rankings. Maybe Lamas.

I dunno, how much longer can McGregor keep up these cuts to 145. They seem worse every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

CatFromHue wrote: »
    hmmmm time to put on the conspiracy hat on but that's McGregor heading to the toilet before a weigh in when he was probably been limiting his liquid intake for a day or two now..........

You keep peeing after cutting liquids. It's how a lot of the weight comes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Panic E

Yeah, that weight cut looks extreme now every time.

Like he just got back from Creamfields or somewhere

Saipanne wrote: »
    I dunno, how much longer can McGregor keep up these cuts to 145. They seem worse every time.

I completely agree. They've run him into a dark corner by pushing him as a featherweight. Not only is the division full of wrestlers (not his ideal opponent, but we'll find out a lot tomorrow), it's taking a huge toll on his body, and if he does win the gold, it's that much harder for them to move him up.

I'd prefer him at LW too, and a fight against Pettis would draw ridiculous numbers (no matter how many times a Pettis injury postpones it :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

That crowd for a weigh in was ridiculous!

Do ye think if it wasn't Conor McGregor but another Irish athlete from Dublin they'd be able to draw that many in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Do ye think if it wasn't Conor McGregor but another Irish athlete from Dublin they'd be able to draw that many in?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

If Conor loses (and I'm still fairly optimistic he won't) Conor VS Urijah in Dublin please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

If say Bernard Dunne ever got to that level in boxing? Then absolutely.

Or have i misread the question?

Anyway, this is a great staredown, lucky no one got seriously injured in the eyes, might actually be more excited for this fight.

SaltyUnevenBarbet.gif

What is it with Rogan though, looks like he's trying to communicate telepathically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Man who has cut a significant amount of weight in a short period of time in not being 100% at weigh-in shocker. :eek:

It's the same comments every time. Yes, he's tired. Yes, he looks terrible. The last thing he's going to want to do when he's severely dehydrated and has a fight coming up is make small talk for the media.

It's a tough cut but he always makes it and he always brings it the following day.

bur wrote: »
    If say Bernard Dunne ever got to that level in boxing? Then absolutely.

Or have i misread the question?

Anyway, this is a great staredown, lucky no one got seriously injured in the eyes, might actually be more excited for this fight.

SaltyUnevenBarbet.gif

What is it with Rogan though, looks like he's trying to communicate telepathically.

Rory looks a bit....deranged.
    It's always the quiet ones....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

I love Rory.

He's the polar opposite of Connor but I actually think they are both just as stone cold in the ring.

He's got the confidence of a boiled egg, but there is something about that makes me love him.

Like the way a mother loves her child even if he's a serial killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,923 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Have to post something a bit about what will happen tomorrow night.

In 2003 or so I went to SBG when it was a small garage in a laneway somewhere in Phibsborough. Myself and a mate walked up to what was screaming and shouting just as a class was ending, we both stood outside and looked at each other thinking "what in the name of jaysis are we doing here". The door opened and John Kavanagh opened it, smiling and very welcoming. He said to drop back the next night and give it a try.

I was incredibly overweight at the time, 18 stone or so at 18 years of age. This was more about just losing some weight and giving something different from soccer a go.

I went religiously for a good few months, the weight literally melted off me. I talked with John a lot while I went for some basic pointers on diet, training and general confidence. Because of my weight, I was bullied and obviously not very happy in myself. For the few months that I went to SBG, learning throughout the way the very basics, my confidence grew and grew. John always had good advice and had plenty of time for everyone in the class.

Soon after i started college and SBG moved away from South Circular road, so I stopped going. But I kept fit, took up boxing locally, the gym and looked after the diet. More than anything, I got confidence from my brief period in SBG, and that has stuck with me to this day, and its from John Kavanagh and the people at SBG that I got it. I actually worked with Ais Daily as well through college.

Tomorrow is a true testimony to how great a coach, and a person John really is. That little bit of confidence that I got from him helped me so much, I never got an ego, and I never lost the run of myself.

Its great to see John on the stage fully deserving of him and his dedication to MMA. All the eyes will be on Conor to do the job tomorrow, but I'll be cheering for John as well.

Do the business lads.