Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Thursday 11/06/2015 Rest

Friday 12/06/2015 Rest :pac:
    menoscemo wrote: »
    I'd say you are well capable of 3;10 anyway Marty.
    I ran a 3:10 when training (hoping) for a time like you in the Conn Ultra. You nailed the ultra a lot faster than I did.

That endurance you built up for the ultra coupled with the recent speed gains from the 5ks will stand you in good shape, just take it easy the rest of the week!!

Do you know what that sounds like??? It sounds like a plan :D:D I wouldn't have thought I'd be thereabouts but I trust your experience in this matter as you've been there before. I'm going to commit to it 100% and give it everything and see how it goes, if I do that at least, I'll come away happy.
    Thanks for the input oh wise one :)
    SamforMayo wrote: »
    I think you should go all out. The pain in your legs Sunday will take your mind off the misery that awaits in Salthill at 4 pm!!!! I jest, I jest. Just wanted to wish you luck, as always, Do Us Proud.

I have absolutely no faith in our lads.... Therefore, they will surprise me and beat ye off the pitch :D:D That's the dream anyway :D:D ( I jest, believe me, I jest :) )
    Thanks for the good wishes, I'm sure I'll remember it yet again when I'm struggling out there...

Any cheeky little race lined up yourself or are you waiting until after your holiday?? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Do you know what that sounds like??? It sounds like a plan :D:D I wouldn't have thought I'd be thereabouts but I trust your experience in this matter as you've been there before. I'm going to commit to it 100% and give it everything and see how it goes, if I do that at least, I'll come away happy.
    Thanks for the input oh wise one :)

If you're old enough it'll even get you a boston and london qualifier. Nothing like having your options opened!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Best of luck Marty - forecast looks good.

menoscemo wrote: »
    If you're old enough it'll even get you a boston and london qualifier. Nothing like having your options opened!!
    Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Best of luck Marty - forecast looks good.

Not sure I'm as old as this lad Meno, but good to have options open :D

Not sure I'm as old as this lad Meno

You must be getting a bit forgetful in your old age ;) you definitely hit master status before me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

All the best Marty!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Good luck Marty. No pressure on this marathon, go and enjoy it (whilst running as fast as you can of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

All the best Marty, it's a nice setting and usually a good bit of craic. Hope you enjoy it and hopefully we might meet up this year at the Streets of Galway.

TbL

DNF.....
    Was struggling from halfway, maybe a bit before. Heat got me. Running on my own for long spells.. Pulled up at nearly 17 miles... Will write a bit on it this evening...

DNF.....
    Was struggling from halfway, maybe a bit before. Heat got me. Running on my own for long spells.. Pulled up at nearly 17 miles... Will write a bit on it this evening...

Fcuk man that sucks - sorry to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Fcuk man that sucks - sorry to hear.

+1. Sorry to hear that Marty.
    Hope you're doing ok...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Tough break marty.
    Put it behind you and build from here

I thought you'd have a good one Marty, you'd plenty of miles in the bank, did you go out you hard? Whatever it was put it behind you and concentrate on beating me in the Streets :)

TbL

Okay, so the portumna full bit me on the arse this year... Oh well...
    I'm not to despondent about it, the lure of a lie down on the grass when the going got to much was just to much to resist. At the time I felt there was little to be gained by soldiering on as I felt the pace would be dropping into the 9's and there would be some stops along the way :eek:

So why did this happen, well, I think there was several reasons which combined to my downfall. I'm not trying to make excuses by the way, just sayin' :P

Heat, I found it quiet warm today. The 2 mile stroll to the start area had me out in a sweat :eek: 3-4 mile in and I was dripping..

Pace... As commented above, pace was an issue. It wasn't as controlled as it should have. I found myself running alone a lot, well all of the race actually. I'd come to one of the straights at times and I'd see nobody ahead of me. Sometimes when I would see someone I'd catch up and pass them, finding out they were ultra runners at a slower pace. This lead me to having little surges in pace followed by a drop off. I really wasn't feeling the love....

At going on for 16 miles I'd had enough, felt a bit nauseous coming up to this point, and I was drained. I was working way to hard to try to keep pace but I was loosing it. I gave in. I said I'd take it to the start/finish area and pack up.

I cut the timing chip of my shoe and threw it into the box of chips. I didn't feel at all bad about bailing, I was just like whatever... I lay on the grass for a few mins drinking some fluids before dragging my sorry ass to the car...

I'm not going to dwell on it to much, It's hard for my to take much from it either :D

Good atmosphere there though, the race leader was absolutely flying it. Looking very strong running alone. Had to laugh when he flew past me. I'm sure he did a cracking time barring any disaster, I'll have to wait for results to go up. I'll edit in my splits when I get them too..

Onwards and upwards as they say :)

Strava

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Hi Marty, I'm only check in now, sorry to hear you had a rough day. You did the right thing though. Maybe the lead up to it had an impact with all the uncertainty etc. Anyways forget about it .

Saturday 13/06/2015 Portumna 16.7 miles @ 7:19

Sunday 14/06/2015 Rest

Monday 15/06/2015 10 miles @ 8:01

Legs felt reasonably grand about an hour after Portumna, but gradually they got worse. Just achy and tenderness really but it was a bit of a hobble for me to get around. I was surprised by this, so took it easy that evening and on Sunday as well.
    Today they were still slightly tender so decided to go out for an easy run and try to loosen them out a bit.

Started of nice but perhaps got a bit carried away with the fine weather and crowds about Salthill. Mile by mile the pace crept up and I ended up going to far and to fast. Legs felt grand after it though but not perfect.
    I'll go down to the monotony of the pitches tomorrow for a slowww 4 miles. There'll be little to distract me from that task down there I hope :)

Tuesday 16/06/2015 5 miles @ 8:57

Back down to the pitches the prison yard for my bad pacing behaviour yesterday. The sentence was 5 long slowww miles :D:D

Did the 5 miles at a slow pace and enjoyed it. Plenty going on in the pitches for me to look at as I ran along. Loads of tag rugby training, womens football training, kids football, and some kind of bootcamp group giving it socks :D:D

Got the 5 miles done at around the 9 min mile so mission accomplished :)

Wednesday 17/06/2015 7 miles @ 7:53

Nice little run around the city. Felt good throughout :)

Thursday 18/06/2015 6 miles @ 7:48

Friday 19/06/2015 6 miles @ 8:33

Lovely running weather these evenings. Enjoyed these runs. Thursdays run the pace was increasing gradually as I tipped along. 8:15min/mile-7:20 min/mile. Felt good.
    Todays run I kept the pace easy at just over 8:30min/mile.

Hope to get a longish run in this weekend and I'm hopeful of that. Things seem to be settling down outside of running, so might get some consistency back into my running :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Sorry to hear it didn't go to plan in Portumna. You'll have days like that, I speak as a veteran of two failed attempts at 3:10 myself. Will start the program anew next week. I'm sure you've already put it behind you.

I note you're on Strava. Me too. Mind if I follow you?

snailsong wrote: »
    Sorry to hear it didn't go to plan in Portumna. You'll have days like that, I speak as a veteran of two failed attempts at 3:10 myself. Will start the program anew next week. I'm sure you've already put it behind you.

I note you're on Strava. Me too. Mind if I follow you?

Ya, I never really get to hung up on bad runs thank God... I'm to laid back for my own good :D:D The 3:10 will come in due course hopefully :)

Follow away :)

Saturday 20/06/2015 6 miles @ 7:54

Sunday 21/06/2015 20 miles @ 8:26

Happy enough with these. Todays long run went grand. I was a bit apprehensive about it but it wasn't to bad. The body handled it better than the mind as for the last 5 miles I just wanted it to be over I was that bored with it...

For tomorrow, if I don't take a rest day, it will be another easy day down at the pitches. I'll see how I feel tomorrow...

Monday 22/06/2015 5 miles @ 9:28

Tuesday 23/06/2015 12 miles @ 7:56

Slow recovery run on Monday down at the pitches. Took it nice and handy and clicked off 5 miles before heading home.

Today headed off for 12 miles out along Salthill. Lovely day for it. Soon settled into a 8min/mile pace and went with it. Felt good during it although a little tired after. Not to bad though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

What's next in the pipeline Marty?

SamforMayo wrote: »
    What's next in the pipeline Marty?

Gonna have s potter/plod around the monivea hm on Saturday. Then the streets of galway for a date with TbL :D:D

I'm more or less gearing myself up for DCM with an odd race thrown in...

You coming to Galway for streets?? Myself
    And TbL will "look after you " :D:D

Wednesday 24/06/2015 7 miles @ 7:41

Quick loop in around town this evening. Enjoyed it but felt like a bit of effort put in due to the warm weather... Not complaining though :)
    New top I bought was clinging to me with sweat. It showed off a gut and moobs that Onslo would be proud of :(:D
    I'll ease the pace back a tad tomorrow. Also need to sort out some kind of training plan for DCM....

Ososlo has a gut and moobs?? :)

TbL

Ps Marty might have to rearrange your arse spanking as it looks like I'll be in Stoke for the Stoke/Liverpool game on the same day as the Streets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Wednesday 24/06/2015 7 miles @ 7:41

Quick loop in around town this evening. Enjoyed it but felt like a bit of effort put in due to the warm weather... Not complaining though :)
    New top I bought was clinging to me with sweat. It showed off a gut and moobs that Onslo would be proud of :(:D
    I'll ease the pace back a tad tomorrow. Also need to sort out some kind of training plan for DCM....

Would you consider using P+D Marty? I've the book here and no use for it, I'll post it up to you if you want it.

Ososlo has a gut and moobs?? :)

TbL

Ps Marty might have to rearrange your arse spanking as it looks like I'll be in Stoke for the Stoke/Liverpool game on the same day as the Streets!

Is it Onslo or onslow??? Do keep up Richard :D:D

Ah you wanna go over to Stoke and watch that muck when you could be in Galways sunshine sippin buckfast down at the Spanish Arch :D:D
    Not to worry, will catch up with ya again at some stage :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

You're one or two cups shy of Onslo moobs! :D

See you at the SoG, signed up optimistically last week, everything should fall together for a glorious sub 1 hour comeback ;)