Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ososlo wrote: »
    Great stuff Marty! Tread carefully now!!!

Deffo... Steady eddy Mindful Marty is what I'm calling myself now :D:D
    I think I'm going to give you a run for your money as top "routine" person around here... You have AIS/ Myrtl Routines and I'll have about 5 more on top of them :D:D

Get updating your log woman :p

Sunday 26/07/2015 80mins Bike

Monday 27/07/2015 5 min walk, 4*(1 mile run/1:30 walk), 5 min walk

Nice little spin on the bike on Sunday. Tried to relive my youth on the back wheel but was to nervous to go up on the front wheel.... I'll get there though :D

As for todays run, a slightly shorter recovery in between the 1 mile reps at easy pace. Still running it a tad to fast for it though, I may have to go to the pitches as punishment if I don't cop on...
    Bike again tomorrow, kinda getting fond of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Glad you are back on the road Marty! I had to interrupt my sunbathing last Sunday to go watch Galway s great win.

Tuesday 28/07/2015 Bike - Little over an hour

Wednesday 29/07/2015 5 min walk, 4*(1 mile run/1:00 walk), 5 min walk - swim

Nice adventure on the bike on Tuesday. Recced?? a route from Nuig up to dangan pitches. I knew there was some kind of pathway along the river and know the lay of the land now. The great thing about the bike is seeing all the hidden things around the city you wouldn't normally see. Didn't get many wheelies done, to many people around :D

Went to salthill for todays run as I've been out that way the last few days and it looked lovely with plenty of people in the water. So, I packed a towel and off I went for the run. Parked right beside blackrock and went into the run. 1 min recoveries and enjoyed the run itself. 1st 2 reps were about the 7:43min/mile and second 2 reps at 7:28. Still a tad faster than prescribed but no issues at all pain wise. 1 more run with a 30 sec recovery before I'm allowed a continuous 4 mile run. Looking forward to that :)
    Hit the water shortly after the run and boy did it feel cold. I'm never good for cold water(it was probably fine but it always feels cold to me) so I kinds made shapes as if I was just in for a paddle :):) Eventually the shame levels rose enough for me to go for it. I had been walking back and forth for about 5 mins with the water level inching its way slowly upwards with the odd gasp of shock as it hit a sensitive area :P I'm sure the onlookers were thinking I was a right tool.....

Thinking of breaking out the gopro or camera on one of my upcoming bike rides.... Could be good,could be sh1te :D:D We'll see......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I know that path Marty, watch out for puke near the Corrib Village student housing in a few weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

I sense an Adventure Race coming on :D

Murph_D wrote: »
    I know that path Marty, watch out for puke near the Corrib Village student housing in a few weeks time.
    Good man Murph, did you leave a few stains back there in your hayday :D:D
    Bulmers74 wrote: »
    I sense an Adventure Race coming on :D

Come to think of it, I just bought a canoe :D:D

Thursday 30/07/2015 Bike - About an hour

Not to hard , more time becoming "one" with the bike... Ended up more of becoming "one" with the pavement... Confidence growing and the stoppies are next on the agenda... Good craic :D

Friday 31/07/2015 5 min walk, 4*(1mile run/30sec walk), 6min walk

Doing my best to restrain myself with these. Feeling no pain at all and the walk breaks are a pain in the ass(pardon the pun). Thankfully, that's the end of it. Next run is a continuous 4 miler..WOWSA!!!!!! Feels like a lifetime ago I'd struggle to do a recovery run under 5 miles without adding on another 5 miles... Anyways, I'm on the way back up... GRADUALLY :(:(

I feel I'm being very restrained and "good" listening to the physio. A sure sign I got a bad feeling with that glute problem. If I continue to build slowly and be pain free, and if I just get back going, I'll be happy... A bit older and a bit wiser....

Saturday 01/08/2015 Bike - Bit over an hour...

Been watching wayyy to much Danny MacAskill :) and Martyn Ashton :):(:) vids lately. Some skillz.... And me like a 7 year old trying to do a ramp :D:D

Miss the racing buzz though....

Sunday 02/08/2015 5 miles @ 7:51

5 mile... Uninterrupted... Bliss....

Monday 03/08/2015 Bike 80 mins

Stormy weather here lately... Spin out by blackrock in salthill and some crazy dudes in swimming.... Hard going pedalling against the wind, really had to drive the legs.... Fairly burnt out by the end of it...

Tuesday 04/08/2015 9 miles @ 8:17

Wednesday 05/08/2015 7 miles @ 7:41

Thursday 06/08/2015 10 miles @ 8:08

No major issues on these runs, tuesdays run was with a fierce wind blowing though which made it tough :D

Effort levels on all 3 were high enough for the pace I was running, guess it will just take a little time to get back into it rightly :) No pain in the Glute though, which is the main thing.. Probably should have taken it a tad easier though :o

No running tomorrow, bit of a gentle bike ride before streets of galway on Saturday. Plan for that is go out at decent pace, and pull back at any sign of the glute issue or if pace is just to hot for where I'm at. Should last 3-4 km so :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Good luck tomorrow, gutted I'm missing streets again! The start is literally right outside my door. Mind the glute!

What's the plan post tomorrow? You'll give Athlone a go?

Outside wrote: »
    Good luck tomorrow, gutted I'm missing streets again! The start is literally right outside my door. Mind the glute!

Cheers.. My sister is living just up around the corner so handy for me as well :) I'll try and be sensible with it :)
    What's the plan post tomorrow? You'll give Athlone a go?

Ya, the flatline is on again :D I had already entered so will have a go. Feeling very very sluggish now though so hopefully will have dropped the weigh I've gained by the time that comes around :D

You doing charleville instead now??

martyboy48 wrote: »

You doing charleville instead now??

No, doing the flatline as well.

Streets of Galway 8km

Brief rundown...
    Felt hit and miss about this. Weather was not great all day and thoughts of bailing came and went as often as the gusts of wind.. Thankfully it eased off, and after a snooze on the armchair I headed for the start.
    Wasn't feeling to optimistic about it, felt fat, tired and heavy legged, but still, I was going trying to convince myself I'm gonna have a good go at it. Was a little apprehensive about the pace though, don't think I ran that pace since end of april at 5k series :D
    Dont remember to much about it though so can't really go into detail :( At the start line, pacers were clearly identified by way of balloon, but it was apparent to me some people were not in the appropriate position, some a long way off :eek: I suddenly started to panic a little about being tripped up or falling over with the wet ground, bit of panic I must say but calmed myself down by way of a plan... Everyone likes a good plan :D
    Plan was to go out at a decent clip and pass as many as I possibly could safely before the first bend. Seemed to work and settled in from there.
    From here on the race went pretty much as expected. First 4k controlled at roughly sun 4min/km pace. 3:51, 3:58, 4:03, 3:59.
    Then came the 3rd quarter, entering devon park,devon gardens,Dr. Mannix road, and rockbarton road. I knew there was a couple of little drags here which normally catch me out at this pace, so I was prepared to drop some time here and try to recoup it on the run in. I was digging deep here and felt a bit of head wind on rockbarton road with added to my woes :) 4:13, 4:06. Didn't drop to much time but the zip was gone out of me after the effort.
    Turn in by the from and a mixture of recovery and pushing on :eek::D
    Good to have company here as it kept my focus. Had company all along but at this stage we were more or less all in the same boat:) Madfe it down to seapoint and still trying to keep a decent effort going while holding back a little for the finish. Legs couldn't be depended on here as they felt a bit weak. 3:56 for that 7th km.
    On to grattan and the end is coming. Still to soon to go for it. Not sure if I have a "go for it" TBH, but biding my time and still trying to give a decent effort. About 500 meters to go at the end of "the swamp" I "go"... Not much go though :D Just like a gradual extension of an elastic, I gradually increase pace ever so slightly. Thankfully the posse are with me to keep me honest. Keep her lit down to the last 30 meters. Turn into the stoney road and keep pushing to the line... And done... Brief dry reaching ensues with lets me know a decent effort more or less.. 3:54..

Chip time 32:04..... 2 sec pb(same race last year) ffs :D

Again, like a broken record, not a big gain with all the mileage... I'm starting to see a trend here.. A lack of quality in training I think...
    Not all bad though, some positives. A good effort. My mind did wander a bit throughout the race though. I thought about easing off after 5k and using my injury as an excuse, but I said no, and toughed it out, I'm happy with that. Think it's way past time to join a club....

Context Marty - the guts of a month off the road.
    Would agree on the club thing as it does force the 'quality side' of things.

Tuesday 11/08/2015 7 miles @ 7:50

Wednesday 12/08/2015 Bike, 1 hour

Thursday 13/08/2015 10 miles @ 7:52

Didn't get out for couple of days after streets of Galway, family stuff...
    Tuesdays 7 miles around town was rushed and just did it to get something done, bit stiff after it.

Wednesday bike day, nothing to exciting but legs felt good after it.

Thursdays run out along salthill was a hot one. Very warm. Probably the wrong route given the weather as the prom section was quite busy but enjoyed it all the same...
    Happy enough..

Friday 14/08/2015 6 miles @ 7:48

Saturday 15/08/2015 5 miles @ 8:17

Nothing major, easyish day today in anticipation of a "long" run tomorrow... Legs bit stiff lately though, nothing major but shouldn't really be like that... Maybe an auld rub is in order...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Hey Marty,

Yep the club is a great resource to have for sure. I'm a member of GCH myself so if you've any questions, let me know. I don't actually make many of the club sessions at the moment as I'm following JD's marathon plan but I've met loads of different people of similar ability who I'll often run with for different sessions if they suit mine. It's a great place to meet people of similar ability so share the hurt of the harder sessions! Track on a Tuesday has a nice crowd and you'd just slot into a group to suit your ability. The Sunday long run group 8:00-8:30/mi pace is also an institution at this stage which meets outside Cathedral at 9am for the same route for years. Add on a bit before or after if your trying to lengthen it a bit.

Outside wrote: »
    Hey Marty,

Yep the club is a great resource to have for sure. I'm a member of GCH myself so if you've any questions, let me know. I don't actually make many of the club sessions at the moment as I'm following JD's marathon plan but I've met loads of different people of similar ability who I'll often run with for different sessions if they suit mine. It's a great place to meet people of similar ability so share the hurt of the harder sessions! Track on a Tuesday has a nice crowd and you'd just slot into a group to suit your ability. The Sunday long run group 8:00-8:30/mi pace is also an institution at this stage which meets outside Cathedral at 9am for the same route for years. Add on a bit before or after if your trying to lengthen it a bit.

Cheers for that. I might pop over next tuesday for a little look. I'll have to put my quietness to the side and build up some courage :D:D I'll look at giving a session or 2 a try with ye, any maybe a session or 2 with the other club I'm interested in and see which feels more "me" :)
    If I think of anything I'll pop you a PM.. Cheers :)

Sunday 16/08/2015 10 miles @ 8:19

Monday 17/08/2015 Rest

Went up around dangan on Sunday for a planned 15 miler run. Was very warm and sticky and within minutes was sweating a lot. Felt good though despite this and soon enough got into a nice flow.
    I extended my run from the pitches area to down along the river which was nice. One section had a swarm of midges though which caught me off guard the first time. I must have swallowed a few and had a few stuck to my sweaty face as I broke through :D:D

I was enjoying the run but gradually felt a bit of a burn on the tip of one or two toes like a blister forming. Added to this was a bit of chafing starting in the undercarraige and I said to myself that this is a sign. Decided to continue up to the 10 mile mark and leave it at that.
    Went home and watched a bit of hurlin and then had a little snooze on the armchair :)

Every time I run up there at Dangan, I'm on the lookout for the mysterious man they call TbL. My search for this elusive specimen continues, one day our paths will cross and when It does........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

A lad with blisters forming, a rash on his "undercarriage" and covered in flies if you ever decide to do the online dating thing get someone else to write your profile :)

TbL

A lad with blisters forming, a rash on his "undercarriage" and covered in flies if you ever decide to do the online dating thing get someone else to write your profile :) TbL

You forgot about me sweating profusely :D:D You on tinder ??? :D:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    You forgot about me sweating profusely :D:D You on tinder ??? :D:D

If he's on Ashley Madison he'll be the one sweating profusely :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Isn't that a bit risqué Bulmers, this Ashley you speak of surely wouldn't appreciate her integrity/reputation been besmirched like that!!!

TbL

Tuesday 18/08/2015 6 miles : 7:50

Wednesday 19/08/2015 Rest

Was nearly 10.30pm heading out for Tuesdays run. Wasn't to bad even at that hour. Quick loop in and out of town. Took a while to wind down afterwards though as I was wide awake.

Legs a bit of lately, so went for a bit of a leg loosener rub down today. Went to Ian Egan (an accomplished runner himself) in Liosbaun. A really nice guy with a sadistic side when your on the table... Aren't they all :D:D

Had a nice chat with him about running in general, the good, the bad, and the dopers... Some very very sore spots were I would be twisting and contorting my body for some relief but he kept revisiting these spots it seemed :) Was fairly worn out by the end of it tbh and I was only lying there looking at pictures :D:D

Legs coming back to me a bit this evening. He mentioned a local 10k this weekend which another lad mentioned during the week.. Think I'll bite the bullet and enter. Evening kick off so better again :)

cough cough... What you on about :eek::eek::D
    Isn't that a bit risqué Bulmers, this Ashley you speak of surely wouldn't appreciate her integrity/reputation been besmirched like that!!! TbL

It took me 2 attempts of reading that before I realised on was on my own here repeatedly saying FFS :D:D

Thursday 20/08/2015 5 miles @ 7:51

Friday 21/08/2015 4 miles : 8:42

Legs were adequately recovered after Wednesdays massage so went out for a shortish one to see how I felt. No to bad, ever so slight bit of ache to start but it soon dissipated.
    Short easy run today before tomorrows 10k in Claregalway... Should be "fun" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Good luck Marty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Good luck Marty