Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

It's been fun following the training Marty over the last few months! You've worked bloody hard so I really hope you have a fantastic experience tomorrow and can't wait read all about it!!!
    ENJOY! And best of luck :)
    A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Best of luck tomorrow man. There mightn't be bollards but there are big ass rocks out whesht, keep the eyes peeled and bring her home safe! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Thanks all... Tiss a tad damp this morning, there'll be no dust in my eyes :-D

Rushing out the door this morning, think I have the essentials though, will report back laters :-)

Good luck to all running today..

That was tough, I'm busted after it... Meno can fook off with his negative split as well :-D
    Some experience though, few schoolboy errors but sure yall have that dealing with me. Me sports drinks and jaffas were robbed by some starved fooker, I was like a child who had his sweets taken away.. Pacing was done as Enduro would advise. A slow third... SLOWWW :-D
    Will fill ye in later :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Good lad, great time -19th :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Good lad, great time -19th :D

Wow, that's a cracking time.
    Beats my best by 5 minutes and I was in 3:10 Marathon shape when I ran that time!!
    Well done Marty!!

And he didn't get chicked ;)

menoscemo wrote: »

And he didn't get chicked ;)

Noticed that alright :pac:

So did I :D:D Just about though :)

Coming to terms with it now. I was actually a bit downbeat about it after. Took a few short walk breaks (about 50 meters at a time) in the final third and was mad at myself for taking them.
    On reflection though, they were needed and weren't necessarily taken on the hills...

Happy enough now though, a good learning experience :)

Can't wait for the report Marty! Good to hear you're happy enough in hindsight.
    Hope you have the feet up with a beer in your hand right now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Good man yourself! Super running. Don't be too long with the race report! I'm limiting my time on boards!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Can't wait for the report Marty! Good to hear you're happy enough in hindsight.
    Hope you have the feet up with a beer in your hand right now!!!

Cheers missus, A report??? That sounds like more work :D:D

Feet up with some MontGrass Cab Sauv :D Cheap but grand :D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Cheers missus, A report??? That sounds like more work :D:D

Feet up with some MontGrass Cab Sauv :D Cheap but grand :D

ha ha I think we'll give you the night off! Hope you've a second bottle to hand as the night is young!

Sunday 12/04/2015 39 miles @ 8:24
    No report as the running was fairly uneventful, apart from when I struggled along after 30 miles. Have a gander if you wish :D The place looked spectacular though :)
    strava link

Monday 13/04/2015 Rest

Tuesday 14/03/2015 5 miles @ 9:29

5 recovery miles. Legs still sore though. Last 5 miles on Sunday I could feel it in the hips especially. Today, the only soreness that remains is in the quads, and that is easing.
    The rest of the week will be easy paced and will see how I am come Sunday when I will look to get some structure going.

Sunday 12/04/2015 39 miles @ 8:24
    No report as the running was fairly uneventful, apart from when I struggled along after 30 miles. Have a gander if you wish :D The place looked spectacular though :)
    strava link

39 miles and that's all we get:confused:
    :(

39 miles and that's all we get:confused:
    :(

Well I cant remember a lot of it. First 10 miles I was on my own. Had a motorbike marshal tailing me the whole way. As much as I like motorbikes, he was driving me mad with the constant sound of the engine humming in my ear... Grrrrr

There was 2 guys in front of me and I tried to use them to keep my pace in check. They seemed to be going at 8min miles and I didn't want to go any faster so I just kept behind them.

I was behind them for the first 27 miles and the 3 of us seemed to break away from each other after that.
    While running behind them though, one of the lads must have took 4-5 phonecalls from his wife :D Tipping around at 8 min miles and he is having a chat with his wife about his progress along the way, I had to laugh :)

Ran up the hill at Leenane but took a short walk break at the top to get some decent water in me as I was getting quite warm, the hat and gloves were well off at this stage :) This was where I lost the 2 lads.

It was nice to get some shout outs from the tail end of the marathon and half marathon field. I did feel out of place accepting the goodwill though, just brought me back to last year and the year before when I was wishing the ultra runners well. I could see the effort some of them were putting in, and it was great to see.

Pace started to drop around the 32 mile mark I think, and I kinda accepted it as I was starting to feel that worn out kinda pain in my hips. Not a pull or strain of anything, just worn out :) Could have tone with something at this stage for a little pick me up, but alas, my Lucozade sport and jaffas were nowhere to be seen :( WHY GOD, WHY :D After a little sulk I plodded on and started watch watching to count down the distance to go. Before the hell of the west at the drink station, I drank some of the isotonic drink the had there. STOP, my stomach went like a rock after drinking it. The bit of sweetness was little reward for my stomach in a knot after it :) Few little walk breaks to let it settle and get focused again as the hill was to come. I seem to remember another walk break at the start of the hill before I got to grips with myself and got my head back together. Dug in another bit and got a bit of a run going again. Not to bad. Crested the hill and knew the finish was near.

Tried to cruise to the finish from here on in. Got a shout of support from one of the lads just after the hill asking how I felt. My mind was saying how the fook do you think I feel but all that I could manage was a very strained "baaad" :D

The last mile or so a guy came up beside me and we gave each other a little encouragement and we trotted down to the finish line together.
    Delighted to have finished it but it was more relief than happyness initially :) Met the sisters at the finish and the were delighted and wanted to take what seemed like 100's of photos so I grumpily let the know I was wrecked and not in for for constant smiling, they soon got the picture :)

People go on about the scenery and I'll be another one. It was breathtaking. There was times I was hurting and all I had to do was look around and I'd be cheered up again. The snow on top of the mountains made it look even better. And sheep, so many sheep. Even the little ones, lambs, ya that's what they're called, baby lambs :D How cute :)

So that's about it. A special race for me. A lad in work called it over priced, but to run in such a location, with such a bunch of lovely people, worth every cent.....

Result : Chip 5:34:29 - Gun 5:34:35

"report" dedicated to ososlo :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

martyboy48 wrote:
    I was behind them for the first 27 miles and the 3 of us seemed to break away from each other after that. While running behind them though, one of the lads must have took 4-5 phonecalls from his wife Tipping around at 8 min miles and he is having a chat with his wife about his progress along the way, I had to laugh

I'll know you for next time Marty, sorry about all the phone calls!

Cracking report Marty. Well worth the wait!
    Must've been tough enough running for extended periods like that pretty much alone. Sounds like you had to dig in deep at times. So sorry to hear about your jaffas:( Is there anything you could do the next time to avoid that happening? Maybe the baby lambs took them:D

Once again, well done on that massive achievement (writing the report that is:D) and well done on a superb race too! That's a great placing on such a tough course.
    Would you/will you do it again?
    What's the next main event? DCM?

Ed Mc wrote: »
    I'll know you for next time Marty, sorry about all the phone calls!

Ah stop, that's gas, was it yourself that was in it :-D :-D

I was just amazed at how comfortable you were chatting away :-D. Also was hoping you'd let it ring on a bit longer, I was about to rock out to that classic tune :-D
    Small world though, last year I ended up running alongside opus for a few miles without knowing it, this year you were in close proximity (for a while anyways :-))

Great running from you, you looked very comfortable....

[quote="Ososlo;95094981"..... [/quote]

I'll reply later on when I get to pc, this phone is fairly annoying to reply on:-)

It a shame you stayed tucked in behind, i was ready to say hello to you figuring you were just biding your time before stepping it up a gear. I slowed a bit after aswell but the other guy kept a lovely steady pace drifting into the distance. If i had run your time for my first 39.3 i would be delighted. Well done.

Oh and the tune was a very appropriate highway to hell by
    ac/dc

Cracking report Marty. Well worth the wait!
    Must've been tough enough running for extended periods like that pretty much alone. Sounds like you had to dig in deep at times. So sorry to hear about your jaffas:( Is there anything you could do the next time to avoid that happening? Maybe the baby lambs took them:D

Once again, well done on that massive achievement (writing the report that is:D) and well done on a superb race too! That's a great placing on such a tough course.
    Would you/will you do it again?
    What's the next main event? DCM?

Well, the 'report' was a bit rushed, your post made my feel a little guilty after reading all your good reports :D:D

Now, to answer a few of your questions :)
    The running alone wasn't bad at all. I'm well used to it at this stage, 99% of all my runs are alone :) If I latched onto a group, I'd have a fear of the pace increasing gradually. I wouldn't trust myself to do the right thing. In shorter races though I'd be more disciplined in that regard :)

With digging in deep, there was times I had to find something. Not like when you're running out of energy and trying to find another gear to get you to the finish line, it was more digging in deep to block out some of the pain/discomfort and convince yourself that it's not that bad.... It's kinda hard to describe though, hope you get the picture....

I wouldn't put to much heed into the placing though, last year my time would have me in the mid 40's region, and conditions last year were less than ideal :D:D
    Right after it in my mind I said never again, but already I'm thinking it's a possibility :D I would just as happily do the half or full mara out there as well. We'll see what the future holds :)

Speaking of future, the galway 5km series kicks off soon (28th Apr) :D But the next main one will probably be portumna. Originally planned to do the half again, but little birdies planting seeds in my head to do a full. I'm kinda swaying to this even to give me a decent idea of where I'm at. I don't think I have a good result in me there but birdies say the training I put in for Conn would have been benificial to a marathon so well see how that plays out :)

God, that reply was as long as the report :)

Wednesday 15/04/2015 7 miles @ 9:15

"Quick" loop in and around town. Legs still tender but improving slowly :)
    Back to work tomorrow but it was a good idea to take a couple of days off :)
    Was nice getting to do a midday run today :)

Thursday 16/04/2015 Rest

Friday 17/04/2015 10 miles @ 7:50

Yesterday took a rest day. Had a fair bit on at home and thought it OK as there was still a small bit of ache in the ol' legs :)

Got out today for 10 miles. Glorious weather today. Didn't mind eeking the pace up a little from recent efforts but probably should have limited the duration as still some aches this evening... Might go for a belly button paddle in the sea tomorrow :)

Make sure you give yourself a chance to recover Marty - 3 runs (22 miles)in the 5 days following the race is a bit much imo.

Ya, maybe alright... Just a bit of naivety I think. In my head, because it was slower than MP it wasn't a "race", just a run. When in actual fact it probably took as much out of me than any other race.

*** note to myself*** you can race and not be out of breath to much to the end.....

Have you started tapering yet??

Ya, maybe alright... Just a bit of naivety I think. In my head, because it was slower than MP it wasn't a "race", just a run. When in actual fact it probably took as much out of me than any other race.

*** note to myself*** you can race and not be out of breath to much to the end.....

Have you started tapering yet??

Well if it took more outta ya than any other race - even more recovery is required (I think anyway :D)

Tapering a bit more than I want as I'm off the road since Tuesday with a serious stomach upset. Rather this week than next - nothing can be done but ride it out & not overdo things when I'm back.

Saturday 18/04/2015 Rest

Sunday 19/04/2015 5 miles @ 8:01

Continuing on with slow build up, took saturday off :)

Easy 5 on sunday and feeling good. Will take a cautious toe in to a pace increase over the next week to prepare for 5k series. Nothing extreme, strides to start :)

Did ya ever feel like ya have a dirty little secret just waiting to get off your chest????

Saturday 18/04/2015 Rest

Sunday 19/04/2015 5 miles @ 8:01

Continuing on with slow build up, took saturday off :)

Easy 5 on sunday and feeling good. Will take a cautious toe in to a pace increase over the next week to prepare for 5k series. Nothing extreme, strides to start :)

Did ya ever feel like ya have a dirty little secret just waiting to get off your chest????
    Pray tell? We won't tell anyone and it might make you feel better to share:)

When's the first 5k? You doing DCM this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

ya ever feel like ya have a dirty little secret just waiting to get off your chest????

You bought speedos didn't you... :D