Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭eug87

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    It says "up to 82%", but it also says the average is 64%. Ask somebody to read it to you again.

Fair enough I missed that part (bit tired) but its still shocking that it reached to 82% and averaged 64% hikes in water charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Ok

Can I ask the pro side a question ,If everything was fair and just all along as some have argued .
    Why have the Government and IW moved the goalposts and charges involved so much over the last few weeks ?

Surely these actions alone are an admission of guilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,354 ✭✭✭✭listermint

eug87 wrote: »
    Fair enough I missed that part (bit tried) but its still shocking that it reached to 82% and averaged 64% hikes in water charges.

He doesn't mind knocking out 700 to 1000 Euro per year on top of lpt which we were quite happily told was for these local services. And on top of the other indirect taxes which were enforced for the last few decades for this same purpose.

But sure people have it to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

EazyD wrote: »
    So anyone who supports Murphy is a communist? Right ok

Are you unfamiliar with set theory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Phoebas wrote: »
    So we're all clear now.

Apart from throwing the brick at the Gardai and rocking the car and throwing an egg at the Tanaiste, it was a completely peaceful protest ;)

Well, you can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

The homeowner contacted IrIsh water, gave her address and IW couldn't find it.What is wrong with looking the house up on google maps to confirm its the right one?

Why does the sindo make a big story out of it then?
    See.....a rag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I agree with metered water charges
    ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Ok

Can I ask the pro side a question ,If everything was fair and just all along as some have argued .
    Why have the Government and IW moved the goalposts and charges involved so much over the last few weeks ?

Surely these actions alone are an admission of guilt.

It's damage limitation, 2 years down the line it will be realised that as a semi-state it is financially un-feasible and will be sold off privately, then we will see the true extent of the charges.

dav3 wrote: »
    Well, you can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs.

I predict more pepper being used in future omelettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,633 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's damage limitation, 2 years down the line it will be realised that as a semi-state it is financially un-feasible and will be sold off privately, then we will see the true extent of the charges.

Who are you expecting to be in government 2 years down the line to do the sell off?

Exactly

Are you unfamiliar with set theory?

Of course, but it's totally irrelevant here so I don't know why you mentioned it.

I'd really have to question the decision to let her walk into that crowd given the level of anger out there. That was a wake up call for sure.

Yea, drag a Labour minister who sold out her electorate through an unemployment hotspot, let her walk amongst obviously angry people and then, instead of keeping her in the Garda jeep, transfer her through a now angrier group of people to another car to get her out of the place.

What could possibly go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I would like Irish Water as a company to remain in it's current form
    Why does the sindo make a big story out of it then?
    See.....a rag.

You need to make up your mind who your giving out about.

You need to improve the quality of your arguments.

I predict more pepper being used in future omelettes.

I predict somebody will be killed, either a protester or an IW worker or a Guard.
    But sure as long as the IMF are kept happy........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Paul Murphy has some gall this morning.

I guess none of the stuff documented in these videos happened at his protest. Nope. No responsibility whatsoever.

Eh?:confused:

listermint wrote: »
    You need to improve the quality of your arguments.

And there we go, point diverted.

Your great at giving out about everyone else while doing the same thing. Most of your replies have been substance free sniping for pages now, while accusing others of doing the same and explaining how superior you are.

LookingFor wrote: »
    Paul Murphy has some gall this morning.

I guess none of the stuff documented in these videos happened at his protest. Nope. No responsibility whatsoever.

He made some show of himself denying that there was any problem at all at the protest.

Eh?:confused:

The first post (and the reply after that)was originally quite clearly posted as a dig at iw. When it's explained that they've done nothing wrong, now it's the paper for having the story.

If you'd read the story in the first place you'd see they did nothing wrong by using Google maps to find the address. I can only assume the woman doesn't understand what Google earth is and thought iw have cameras on her house. It's not even at the level of non story.

3 isolated incidents in a considerably large crowd, not exactly worthy of hysterics.

You think detaining someone in an intimidating atmosphere for hours, abuse and banging on cars, slapping gardai, argy-bargey .... peaceful? Braying at students on their graduation and not giving a f-ck about the peace of their day?

There was a general nastiness to this. The behaviour in the protest proper - that argey-bargey mentioned before - brought out an even worse level of gurrier to start some anti-cop hard man bull**** later on.

Murphy and his little band can't wash their hands of that. And Murphy knows exactly what he's doing. I feel both angry AND sorry for the people he's lathered up. Pawns.

And there we go, point diverted.

Your great at giving out about everyone else while do the same thing. Most of your replies have been substance free sniping for pages now, while accusing others of doing the same and explains how superior you are.

Diverted from what? You didmt actually have a point it was a classic one liner. Which is entirely indicative of your post history.

There wasn't a point to divert from??..

You think detaining someone in an intimidating atmosphere for hours, abuse and banging on cars, slapping gardai, argy-bargey .... peaceful?

There was a general nastiness to this. The behaviour in the protest proper - that argey-bargey mentioned before - brought out an even worse level of gurrier to start some anti-cop hard man bull**** later on.

Murphy and his little band can't wash their hands of that. And Murphy knows exactly what he's doing. I feel both angry AND sorry for the people he's lathered up.

Where did I say that particular incident was peaceful? I said there was 3 isolated incidents that day in a large crowd, nothing more.

You think detaining someone in an intimidating atmosphere for hours, abuse and banging on cars, slapping gardai, argy-bargey .... peaceful?

Murphy and his little band can't wash their hands of that. And Murphy knows exactly what he's doing. I feel both angry AND sorry for the people he's lathered up.

Your name is apt.

Looking for.... something. Where there is nothing

Diverted from what? You didmt actually have a point it was a classic one liner. Which is entirely indicative of your post history.

There wasn't a point to divert from??..

Have you followed the conversation from when the story and link were posted? There's a clear and obvious structure to it.but sure you carrying on pulling single posts from conversations between other people to have a go.

The first post (and the reply after that)was originally quite clearly posted as a dig at iw. When it's explained that they've done nothing wrong, now it's the paper for having the story.

If you'd read the story in the first place you'd see they did nothing wrong by using Google maps to find the address. I can only assume the woman doesn't understand what Google earth is and thought iw have cameras on her house. It's not even at the level of non story.

What first post?
    What are you on about?

Where did I say that particular incident was peaceful? I said there was 3 isolated incidents that day in a large crowd, nothing more.

Saying it was three isolated incidents suggests you think the rest outside of those incidents was a picnic.

It was far from it. Those incidents were reflective of the tone of the event.
    Your name is apt.

Looking for.... something. Where there is nothing

Yeah, nothing at all. Let Paul Murphy go in to those students and say that. Or the gardai or the targets of these protests who have to put up with this and risk injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

. We are s free democracy after all right?

Without a hint of irony given your previous posts.

Have you followed the conversation from when the story and link were posted? There's a clear and obvious structure to it.but sure you carrying on pulling single posts from conversations between other people to have a go.

No no. Just calling you out on your one liners.

I've posted vast amounts for points in the proceeding pages none of which you addressed.

I asked you to step up to the plate. But the fact is you couldn't because you couldn't actually launch a reply to my post as it was filled with everything you dont want to discuss.

What's more is you know that is true. But whatever your having yourself.

Il tell you what. Step up to the plate and address the post I asked you to. And stop saying you addressed It already in the thread when it's quite clear you didn't.

Your a single man army for one liners that have no direction or point and are designed to skew away from the core subject.

Plain as day you dont value discussion. It doesn't you because you don't have anything in your pocket to respond with.

The reason we are here. Irish Water and its setup

Saying it was three isolated incidents suggests you think the rest outside of those incidents was a picnic.

It was far from it. Those incidents were reflective of the tone of the event.

Where you there?

Thought not