Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,357 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Is that not what is being done by out of hand disregarding that the guy could have been involved? Nobody knows whether he just rocked up, threw the brick and left or if he was there all day and also attended past protests. I was only pulling people up on the idea of dismissing people saying he was involved ,without evidence , by claiming he wasn't, without evidence.

No your attempting to play devil's advocate

Are you really from tallaght? You think community groups there who are at pains to get kids off streets and into education would be advocating the protesters chucking bricks.

I can't take you seriously at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Pocoyo wrote: »
    Protesters are now outside mansion house its seems enda kenny may get the same treatment today as 'joan the moan' got yesterday.

Close to the mansion house,I might pop over and have a few words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Phoebas wrote: »
    The Indo reported that he was arrested - but ye wouldn't be believing anything from that rag.

I didn't see that.

I read two youths had been arrested, but it didn't say it was for "brick chucking."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I 100% back the patriots who stood up for the good working people of Ireland yesterday and refused to let Moan Burton leave Tallaght. Each and every one of you should be proud of your actions. On behalf of myself and my family, thank you.

Bull****. There were no patriots there, only an antidemocratic mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I would like Irish Water as a company to remain in it's current form
    listermint wrote: »
    No your attempting to play devil's advocate

Are you really from tallaght? You think community groups there who are at pains to get kids off streets and into education would be advocating the protesters chucking bricks.

I can't take you seriously at all

Who said anyone was advocating anything? Nobody is vetted going in to to a protest, everyone doesn't have exactly the same beliefs as to how they want to achieve something. The guy throwing the brick was most likely just looking for an excuse to throw a brick at Gardaí. But on the other hand he could well consider himself very much a part of the protest.

If sure there were plenty of people who think there should be a united Ireland, but don't think blowing people up is the way to get it. Which group are involved in getting there and which aren't? Are SF excluded from campaigning for a united Ireland because of the IRA involvement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I didn't see that.

I read two youths had been arrested, but it didn't say it was for "brick chucking."

Separately, another individual who was photographed throwing a brick at the scene, was arrested.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/two-arrested-in-jobstown-as-chaos-ensues-following-protests-at-tanaistes-visit-30747541.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I 100% back the patriots who stood up for the good working people of Ireland yesterday and refused to let Moan Burton leave Tallaght. Each and every one of you should be proud of your actions. On behalf of myself and my family, thank you.
    Never has the bar for "patriot" been set so low.

Phoebas wrote: »

Fair enough.

Honestly didn't read it.

I hope he's charged, further more, I seen footage this morning showing Joan Burton getting hit on the right hand side of her head with an egg. Disgusting, definitely not the route I want the protests to go down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    eug87 wrote: »

'One adult households will pay €76 in charges, according to the front page of today’s Sunday Independent.
    Homes with more than one adult will have to pay €178 — no matter how many adults live in the household.'

Talk about moving the goal posts,this will only cement peoples attitudes towards the government trying to sell people water charges.
    Flat rate for three years then bang water charges increased year on year,just look across Europe the same story.

All that €178 should be seen as is a registration fee, it will look like pennies in a few years when the real bills come in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

I agree with metered water charges
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    Bull****. There were no patriots there, only an antidemocratic mob.

https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/10380290_363223367188095_962159186197113410_n.jpg?oh=397c39c434ec474fb1d8f1ad754713ef&oe=54EA6583

PATRIOTS!!

Who said anyone was advocating anything? Nobody is vetted going in to to a protest, everyone doesn't have exactly the same beliefs as to how they want to achieve something. The guy throwing the brick was most likely just looking for an excuse to throw a brick at Gardaí. But on the other hand he could well consider himself very much a part of the protest.

If sure there were plenty of people who think there should be a united Ireland, but don't think blowing people up is the way to get it. Which group are involved in getting there and which aren't? Are SF excluded from campaigning for a united Ireland because of the IRA involvement?

What do brick throwers and a united Ireland have to do with the community groups who work tirelessly in the locality and same groups who are rallying people to turn out for nationwide protests.

Your analogies are not sound. The same as the nonsense about 30 lads and a car.

As I said earlier I can't take you seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

eug87 wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/ministers-irish-water-1782841-Nov2014/

'One adult households will pay €76 in charges, according to the front page of today’s Sunday Independent.
    Homes with more than one adult will have to pay €178 — no matter how many adults live in the household.'

Talk about moving the goal posts,this will only cement peoples attitudes towards the government trying to sell people water charges.
    Flat rate for three years then bang water charges increased year on year,just look across Europe the same story.

Probably the best way to go though a this stage. The govt is unfortunately having to deal with some people having a right strop, and introducing the true charge by degrees seems to be the only way to make the medicine go down.
    In the longer term it doesn't make a whit of a difference, but still, disappointing to see such a low level of true democratic engagement by some, even if they are being exploited and egged-on by cranks, opportunists, and single issue gombeens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Pocoyo wrote: »

No

Probably the best way to go though a this stage. The govt is unfortunately having to deal with some people having a right strop, and introducing the true charge by degrees seems to be the only way to make the medicine go down.
    In the longer term it doesn't make a whit of a difference, but still, disappointing to see such a low level of true democratic engagement by some, even if they are being exploited and egged-on by cranks, opportunists, and single issue gombeens.

The fact you call it medicine shows the level of engagement you have on the issues at hand.

Terrible

What do brick throwers and a united Ireland have to do with the community groups who work tirelessly in the locality and same groups who are rallying people to turn out for nationwide protests.

Your analogies are not sound. The same as the nonsense about 30 lads and a car.

As I said earlier I can't take you seriously.

How are they not sound? You claim out of hand that the guy wasn't involved. What proof is there of that and what determines if hes involved?

And whats wrong with the one about the protests? Its either peaceful or not. It's not only peaceful if its directed at Joan Burton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭eug87

All that €178 should be seen as is a registration fee, it will look like pennies in a few years when the real bills come in.

Absolutely agree there,
    Brain hayes was speaking on RTE few weeks ago about private investment to help fund Irish water down the road.
    That with EU anti competition laws that IW will breach it be only a matter of time before its sold of for profits.
    Interesting article here about UK water rates
    http://www.theguardian.com/money/2013/feb/09/rising-water-bills-profits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Question for you. If 30 lads decided they didn't like what you do and to not let you go to work tomorrow by blocking your car and banging on it, keeping you there for 2 hours, would you consider that a peaceful protest?

It's actually ridiculous , one would hope the gardaí start using pepper spray and the likes to move these crowds. This car blocking sh*te is the lowest form of protest very obstinate.

For those who think peaceful protests aren't achieving much.
    It is reported Irish Water is to be stopped from collecting PPS numbers, and that water bills will be capped for three years.

As the Government tries to address public anger and concerns over water charges, the Sunday Times reports that responsibility for collection of PPS numbers will be handed to the Department of Social Protection.

It is also reported that Irish Water will not be given the power to make deductions from wages or social welfare payments for those who do not register.

One adult per household will be required to register to qualify for the universal water support payment of €100.

Meanwhile, the Sunday Business Post says water bills will be capped for at least three years, at the maximum rate of €200.

The Government is also expected to announce a major investment programme for Irish Water in the near future.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/irish-water-to-be-stopped-from-collecting-pps-numbers-charge-to-be-capped-at-200-651189.html

The job is 50% complete now. Let's finish it off on Dec 10th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,335 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I love Fine Gael and taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

No it means there are bad Gardaí in the force. This has never been denied. Just like there are bad "protesters". This has been denied.

There is a monumental difference between a State institution involved in criminal acts,who supposedly protect the citizens from those very acts.

And a brick thrown by a protester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

The brick thrower is a scumbag that went too far. All the other peaceful protesters are patriots of this great nation who are prepared to stand up for what is right and just.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

For those who think peaceful protests aren't achieving much.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/irish-water-to-be-stopped-from-collecting-pps-numbers-charge-to-be-capped-at-200-651189.html

The job is 50% complete now. Let's finish it off on Dec 10th.

They are now on the ropes (actually have been for a while now). Can see an election by the spring as the good working people of this country have seen IW for what it is a quango set up for the boys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Never has the bar for "patriot" been set so low.

TBH we dont really have patriots anymore FG are trying to write them out of the history books.

You only have to look at the promo's for the 1916 centenary to see that.

papu wrote: »
    It's actually ridiculous , one would hope the gardaí start using pepper spray and the likes to move these crowds. This car blocking sh*te is the lowest form of protest very obstinate.

Explain then how people are supposed to get the government to listen to the people and stand by what they were elected on.

In detail if you please. And don't say the ballot box. Because people gave them a mandate they rollled back and turned over on all of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

gladrags wrote: »
    There is a monumental difference between a State institution involved in criminal acts,who supposedly protect the citizens from those very acts.

And a brick thrown by a protester.

I agree. You're the one that brought it up, not me.

The brick thrower is a scumbag that went too far. All the other peaceful protesters are patriots of this great nation who are prepared to stand up for what is right and just.

Your ignoring my question so yeah?

Is blocking someone in their car for 2 hours and banging on it peaceful protesting?

Explain then how people are supposed to get the government to listen to the people and stand by what they were elected on.

In detail if you please. And don't say the ballot box. Because people gave them a mandate they rollled back and turned over on all of it.

So its not peaceful then, no?

No one has an issue with peaceful protesting.

Your ignoring my question so yeah?

Is blocking someone in their car for 2 hours and banging on it peaceful protesting?

They didn't bang on it for two hours they banged in it for two minutes then all sat on the ground around it.

So yes it is.

Try again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭eug87

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Money/Pix/pictures/2013/2/8/1360316600518/Water-bills-v-share-price-001.jpg

Sorry should explain that this image shows the average price from 2003 to 2013 in the UK water rates.

They didn't bang on it for two hours they banged in it for two minutes then all sat on the ground around it.

So yes it is.

Try again

I didn't say they did. Read it again. The construction of the sentence is correct. They blocked the car for 2 hours. They also banged on the car.

Is that peaceful?