Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I would like Irish Water as a company to remain in it's current form
    listermint wrote: »
    Or you could step up to the line and actually address the posters who are giving you legitimate complaints concerns and facts

I have put my points across, numerous times across more than just the 2 threads about the points. But a few hundred pages of posts back I stopped repeating. It's pointless. The thread goes round and round and round and just becomes a repetition of the same few posters that have been in it from early on answering the same questions and new people dip in to the thread. People are welcome to search the thread for the answers I've given for my opinions. I'm not going to continually type them out. The whole thread could be summarised in a couple of pages and stickied without any information being missed, from either side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Seen on Facebook that a lot of jobstown is without water this morning.

I'm not one for conspiracy theory's but if that's true it has an awful ring of 'making an example' from it. "You want to kick up a fuss and protest, we'll cut your water"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    howiya wrote: »
    I'd prefer to be represented by someone from the constituency and not just a lad that was parachuted in after losing his seat in Europe. He couldn't even vote
    in the by-election

I'm not from the area, (wasn't aware you were) but if they're doing the job, I'd be happy enough.

In saying that, I see your point. Some people prefer to be represented by an actual local, I get that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,358 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I have put my points across, numerous times across more than just the 2 threads about the points. But a few hundred pages of posts back I stopped repeating. It's pointless. The thread goes round and round and round and just becomes a repetition of the same few posters that have been in it from early on answering the same questions and new people dip in to the thread. People are welcome to search the thread for the answers I've given for my opinions. I'm not going to continually type them out. The whole thread could be summarised in a couple of pages and stickied without any information being missed, from either side.

See I disagree. I see my role here is to point out to people where they may be factually incorrect. I despise decisions made in ignorance so il stay here correcting posters in a hope not to change their views but that they are actually versed in the topic at hand and not in daily mail headline grabbing.

Just like I suppose that girl in work . Did you lol at her and look down or educate her on dob. I suppose the notion that he is in ownership of iw comes from all of the reasons I noted above but just like I do here I would have chosen to give her knowledge on what he is involved in and not what he isn't. Result is the same questionable involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

I'm not one for conspiracy theory's but if that's true it has an awful ring of 'making an example' from it. "You want to kick up a fuss and protest, we'll cut your water"

http://www.sdcc.ie/news/water-issue-sunday-16th-november

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,666 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Graces7 wrote: »
    There was no attack. The Gardai were simply removing those who chose to obstruct a public road and refused to move.

Watch the video again 2 women thrown to the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    gladrags wrote: »
    The Inspectorate report on the Gardai according to the Sunday Times,"reveals forces criminal record",regarding penalty points etc.

Does that mean the Gardai have been hijacked by criminals.?

No it means there are bad Gardaí in the force. This has never been denied. Just like there are bad "protesters". This has been denied.
    ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Maybe he is a representative of the anger feel by the forgotten youth of this country ,Which is an even scarier thought.
    or
    He could be just a little d**khead ,

Who knows ,There is a lot of different answers to this not just black and white

But I'm sure you know this....

I do. But I am not the one putting out unanimous statements saying the protests haven't been infiltrated by troublemakers.

It's amazing the leaps of paranoia that has been displayed over the past few days.

See I disagree. I see my role here is to point out to people where they may be factually incorrect. I despise decisions made in ignorance so il stay here correcting posters in a hope not to change their views but that they are actually versed in the topic at hand and not in daily mail headline grabbing.

Just like I suppose that girl in work . Did you lol at her and look down or educate her on dob. I suppose the notion that he is in ownership of iw comes from all of the reasons I noted above but just like I do here I would have chosen to give her knowledge on what he is involved in and not what he isn't. Result is the same questionable involvement.

Dealing with 1 person in work where you see them every day is a whole different kettle of fish than here. When the posts are moving fast, replies can be missed or ignored and a 1 on 1 conversation isn't viable. Theres a constant stream of new visitors to the thread (like any long running thread) that will jump in at the current point and start debating, oblivious to whether the points have been made before .

You can spend your time writing long replies to hundreds of people and have no way of knowing if any of them bothered reading it or even saw it.For the most part your not educating anyone, your talking to yourself.

No it means there are bad Gardaí in the force. This has never been denied. Just like there are bad "protesters". This has been denied.

I do. But I am not the one putting out unanimous statements saying the protests haven't been infiltrated by troublemakers.

It's amazing the leaps of paranoia that has been displayed over the past few days.

You said three or so pages back that the protests were infiltrated.

Perplexing

I'm not from the area, (wasn't aware you were) but if they're doing the job, I'd be happy enough.

In saying that, I see your point. Some people prefer to be represented by an actual local, I get that too.

Perhaps I'm in the minority.

Obviously those who voted for him didn't see it as an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Paul Murphy is now claiming that the brick thrower had nothing at all to do with the protest.

Obviously those who voted for him didn't see it as an issue

Plenty probably don't know where hes from in fairness, I'd assumed he was local.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Paul Murphy is now claiming that the brick thrower had nothing at all to do with the protest.

Which would be true.

But sure that doesn't suit your Agenda phoebo.

And you do have an agenda. You have been sticking religiously to it.

I'm not suggesting a conspiracy, merely providing the information to a poster who wondered if it was true that the area is without water

Dealing with 1 person in work where you see them every day is a whole different kettle of fish than here. When the posts are moving fast, replies can be missed or ignored and a 1 on 1 conversation isn't viable. Theres a constant stream of new visitors to the thread (like any long running thread) that will jump in at the current point and start debating, oblivious to whether the points have been made before .

You can spend your time writing long replies to hundreds of people and have no way of knowing if any of them bothered reading it or even saw it.For the most part your not educating anyone, your talking to yourself.

No I'm not. Im responding to untruths with truths. That's education. If one person picks up on it then it's achieved what it was meant to.

Which would be true.

Can anyone be making definite statements on the matter?
    Who determines what constitutes involvement? If hes coming from the angle of involvement constituting the organisers then probably not, but he may well have been there all day. Presumably everyone at it considers themselves involved, no?

Phoebas wrote: »

He probably didn't, has he been arrested yet does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

I agree with metered water charges
    I 100% back the patriots who stood up for the good working people of Ireland yesterday and refused to let Moan Burton leave Tallaght. Each and every one of you should be proud of your actions. On behalf of myself and my family, thank you.

Was he not one of the 2 that were confirmed arrested? I think people assumed when it said one was arrested in connection with criminal damage to a Garda car, it was him.

Can anyone be making definite statements on the matter?
    Who determines what constitutes involvement? If hes coming from the angle of involvement constituting the organisers then probably not, but he may well have been there all day. Presumably everyone at it considers themselves involved, no?

Are you actually looking to set up binding rules for protest membership?

Really!?

Do you really believe Paul Murphy and the guys who are organising these community movements are out throwing bricks.

Is that the line your following.

Ah man grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

we have to 'tune in next week', because who seriously thinks that Enda, Joan and the other circus members are actually making the decisions.

i've said it already, i'm sure, but what would have been wrong with totally overhauling the county councils? but i guess that would have been the same as expecting the HSE to be overhauled. not going to happen in anyone's lifetime.

Are you actually looking to set up binding rules for protest membership?

Really!?

Is that not what is being done by out of hand disregarding that the guy could have been involved? Nobody knows whether he just rocked up, threw the brick and left or if he was there all day and also attended past protests. I was only pulling people up on the idea of dismissing people saying he was involved ,without evidence , by claiming he wasn't, without evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Protesters are now outside mansion house its seems enda kenny may get the same treatment today as 'joan the moan' got yesterday.

Was he not one of the 2 that were confirmed arrested? I think people assumed when it said one was arrested in connection with criminal damage to a Garda car, it was him.

Not sure tbh.

The details are sketchy to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Pocoyo wrote: »
    Protesters are now outside mansion house its seems enda kenny may get the same treatment today as 'joan the moan' got yesterday.

Would be looking for at least that level of peaceful protest again. This guy is a crook plain and simple and needs to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

The Indo reported that he was arrested - but ye wouldn't be believing anything from that rag.

Would be looking for at least that level of peaceful protest again. .

Question for you. If 30 lads decided they didn't like what you do and to not let you go to work tomorrow by blocking your car and banging on it, keeping you there for 2 hours, would you consider that a peaceful protest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

Pocoyo wrote: »

There is only going to be an increase in the level of protests like this. I can see any event that Enda/Joan attends in the future getting the same response.

Plenty probably don't know where hes from in fairness, I'd assumed he was local.

Perhaps. I only went to the trouble of looking it up after asking him twice on social media and not getting a reply. It had the feel of a parachute candidate.

We're also represented by Pat Rabbitte of Dublin Mid West although he did live in DSW before his area was moved into Dublin Mid West. Pretty sure Sean Crowe lived in Rathfarnham at one stage while representing Tallaght. No doubt a member of SF will be along to correct me if I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭eug87

http://www.thejournal.ie/ministers-irish-water-1782841-Nov2014/

'One adult households will pay €76 in charges, according to the front page of today’s Sunday Independent.
    Homes with more than one adult will have to pay €178 — no matter how many adults live in the household.'

Talk about moving the goal posts,this will only cement peoples attitudes towards the government trying to sell people water charges.
    Flat rate for three years then bang water charges increased year on year,just look across Europe the same story.