Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Do water protestors who interfere with meter installations in other peoples neighbourhoods have an invitation from all of the resident in those neighbourhoods or do they just show up uninvited and make a nuisance of themselves? I've got no issue with people protesting in their own neighbourhoods and going on their protest marches, however, I don't want people showing up at my house and protesting when the meters are installed.

I don't want to pay water charges any more than anyone else does, but frankly I would find protestors outside my home more intrusive than someone installing a water meter. Protesting is pointless, and only delays the inevitable. I'm sick and tired of people ranting on and on about it. As far as I can see all the protestors are doing is making a nuisance of themselves and massaging their own egos.

explain to me how water rates were stopped before or how the old folks got the government to roll back on cancelling the medical card?

It was protests that change this.
    People with that attitude make me despair - so what if a protest fails to achieve it's aim . It is far better to be vocal and just blindly accept what our betters in the dail tell us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

explain to me how water rates were stopped before or how the old folks got the government to roll back on cancelling the medical card?

People with that attitude make me despair - so what if a protest fails to achieve it's aim . It is far better to be vocal and just blindly accept what our betters in the dail tell us.

Water rates weren't stopped before, they were neatly tucked away under a different name. The elderly didn't really win any major battles with the medical card, every budget the government introduces they will always try to get away with something they know they aren't going to get away with, i.e, the medical card issue. Don't kid yourself that any amount of protesting will stop water charges.

Anyway, when the water rates get a massive hike in price do we send the bills to our local protestors? No doubt the water company will whack a lot more onto the bills when they are metered and justify it by blaming unforseen expenses caused by interference from protestors.

Water rates weren't stopped before, they were neatly tucked away under a different name. The elderly didn't really win any major battles with the medical card, every budget the government introduces they will always try to get away with something they know they aren't going to get away with, i.e, the medical card issue. Don't kid yourself that any amount of protesting will stop water charges.

Anyway, when the water rates get a massive hike in price do we send the bills to our local protestors? No doubt the water company will whack a lot more onto the bills when they are metered and justify it by blaming unforseen expenses caused by interference from protestors.

you are twisting things. Of course we pay for water in our taxes but not directly and per unit consumed. Water should be free.
    That was defeated before and hopefully will be again.

the old people did take down the medical card proposal. It is that simple.

Don't kid myself - whether I win or not I'm not going to sit at home and say/do nothing. I'll fight it as I can with protests and strongly worded emails. But I'll be damned if I'm doing nothing about it and shrugging my shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

you are twisting things. Of course we pay for water in our taxes but not directly and per unit consumed. Water should be free.
    Your statement is contradictory.

You acknowledge that water is not free, but state that it "should be" free.

Somebody is paying for it. As usual it's a matter that the whingers have decided that "somebody" should be "somebody else", rather than give any rational reason why they shouldn't pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭ItsShane

Do water protestors who interfere with meter installations in other peoples neighbourhoods have an invitation from all of the resident in those neighbourhoods or do they just show up uninvited and make a nuisance of themselves? I've got no issue with people protesting in their own neighbourhoods and going on their protest marches, however, I don't want people showing up at my house and protesting when the meters are installed.

I don't want to pay water charges any more than anyone else does, but frankly I would find protestors outside my home more intrusive than someone installing a water meter. Protesting is pointless, and only delays the inevitable. I'm sick and tired of people ranting on and on about it. As far as I can see all the protestors are doing is making a nuisance of themselves and massaging their own egos.

At least those protesters are out, trying to make a difference. Whereas people like you with a defeated attitude just bend over and take everything the government proposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

ItsShane wrote: »
    At least those protesters are out, trying to make a difference. Whereas people like you with a defeated attitude just bend over and take everything the government proposes.

I think its been established that a good portion of the protestors aren't trying to make anything apart from noise.

That's a pity for those of them who are trying to make a difference, but there you are. The bad ones scare the rest of us away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭FREETV

Will you pay for the cancer causing and bone and IQ debilitating mass medication that is the neurotoxin Fluoride made from industrial waste plus the artery clogging heart disease, heart attack and stroke causing Chlorine in the water supplies.

Did you not see the link that I posted which shows the heavily contaminated the sludge that comes through the taps when heated with electrodes when compared to bottled water?
    The water works add a special chemical ingredient to the water to make it look clean and clear but I can assure you that nothing could be further from the truth.

seamus wrote: »
    Your statement is contradictory.

You acknowledge that water is not free, but state that it "should be" free.

Somebody is paying for it. As usual it's a matter that the whingers have decided that "somebody" should be "somebody else", rather than give any rational reason why they shouldn't pay for it.

It's not contradictory at all
    I acknowledge that my taxes pay for everything , it is how the system works. Only a dribbling eejit isn't aware that the tax take pays for stuff.

However I believe that that there should not be an additional charge for water imposed on the people individually per unit consumed - water should be available for free for all - as in general taxation paying the cost .
    I thought that was clear in my post but sorry if it wasn't.
    However I think you knew what I meant but were eager to be difficult and pick holes . So be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

shedweller wrote: »
    They did say they would rise the price of the water if we use less.
    This is because.......its not about the water, its about taking yet more money from us!!

Nobody said that except people like you. There is a clause which allows them to raise the price if they need to but it must be approved by the regulator. The reason it's there is because IW needs to be self funding and if they have set the current tariff too low they cannot do that.
    That was defeated before and hopefully will be again.

the old people did take down the medical card proposal. It is that simple.

Don't kid myself - whether I win or not I'm not going to sit at home and say/do nothing. I'll fight it as I can with protests and strongly worded emails. But I'll be damned if I'm doing nothing about it and shrugging my shoulders.

How can water be free? Do you expect some international charity to come in and run our water network based on donations?

It's not contradictory at all
    I acknowledge that my taxes pay for everything , it is how the system works. Only a dribbling eejit isn't aware that the tax take pays for stuff.

However I believe that that there should not be an additional charge for water imposed on the people individually per unit consumed - water should be available for free for all - as in general taxation paying the cost .
    I thought that was clear in my post but sorry if it wasn't.
    However I think you knew what I meant but were eager to be difficult and pick holes . So be it.

Socialist nonsense as far as i am concerned. People get enough for free out of general taxation. It's about time there was a bit of control put over the social welfare this country is giving out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Its funny. I marched on Saturday and one of my mates was saying to me, why did I bother marching, its coming in anyway and nothings going to change. The same fella is giving out all the time about being broke at the end of the month after paying bills despite working his ass off. I told him his attitude was pathetic.

I'm eager to dispel the idea that water is free. This nonsense idea is exactly why our infrastructure is a mess, and exactly why water charges are a good idea - so that people will understand that all of these things do have a cost.

Continuing to pay for water out of general taxation will remain a large black hole into which we pour money and get back substandard and very expensive water because people don't appreciate the fact that it costs money to run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Socialist nonsense as far as i am concerned. People get enough for free out of general taxation. It's about time there was a bit of control put over the social welfare this country is giving out.

Sorry, what do I get for free out of general taxation? Nothing it appears. But I do agree with you control does need to be put over the social welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Its funny. I marched on Saturday and one of my mates was saying to me, why did I bother marching, its coming in anyway and nothings going to change. The same fella is giving out all the time about being broke at the end of the month after paying bills despite working his ass off. I told him his attitude was pathetic.

I actually have given up even discussing stuff with one guy I know who said he doesn't even vote because "sure nothing will change in our two-party system" (facepalm). [He just repeats lines from US TV shows and assumes they apply here and complains that Michael D. Higgins isn't doing enough about arming the Gardai etc]

He moans about absolutely everything but hasn't once voted, hasn't sent an email to a TD, signed a petition or protested.

If you can call what comes through the taps water that is!
    Certainly not pure water.

When Scientists have proven the toxicity of tap water and others have shown how brown and polluted the water is from taps, how could any Government justify it's Citizens to pay for such sludge?

Do some of you still believe even now all of the spin and lies from Radio, TV and Newspapers?

Sorry, what do I get for free out of general taxation? Nothing it appears. But I do agree with you control does need to be put over the social welfare.

I think we could find a few things you get from general taxation, unless you live in a self contained box and eat what you grow. Roads, emergency services, state security. Do you get back more than you put in? Probably not. The excess goes to our gigantic welfare handouts, a system that has brought up people who believe they are "entitled" to disposable income, housing and holidays even though they have never contributed anything to the country. This is where the savings should start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

They did say they would rise the price of the water if we use less.
    This is because.......its not about the water, its about taking yet more money from us!!

No. They can only apply to the CER for a price rise. IW can't raise prices.
    Indo wrote:
    Irish Water will be able to seek an annual hike in water charges if its earnings are hit by a drop in the usage of water by households.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

so we dont vote for the 3 big parties? i presume your talking about fine gael fianna fail and labour? well what exactly do we want a seinn fein/ socalist/independents . mmm that sounds like USSR! lads get a grip, Fianna Fail/ Fine Gael coallittion will be next government imo, probarbly safest bet too, for a thriving capitlist economy like we used to have

Dickie10 wrote: »
    so we dont vote for the 3 big parties? i presume your talking about fine gael fianna fail and labour? well what exactly do we want a seinn fein/ socalist/independents . mmm that sounds like USSR! lads get a grip, Fianna Fail/ Fine Gael coallittion will be next government imo, probarbly safest bet too, for a thriving capitlist economy like we used to have
    More likely a Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail coalition actually.

FREETV wrote: »
    More likely a Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail coalition actually.
    A SF/FF coalition would be the kiss of death for both parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

We should all vote and make this happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

and for the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

We should all vote and make this happen!

lets not! lets try vote some decent people into power not controlled by party whips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

lets not! lets try vote some decent people into power not controlled by party whips

Yeah that's what we want, Let's get SF into power and a few of the AAA crowd and watch them spout money from the magic €€€€ tree :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Mr_Red

Will there be another Protest?

Take a look at how corrupt the present Coalition in power is by the example of the links that I provided in relation to the water meters and Irish Water three posts above.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

I'm eager to dispel the idea that water is free. This nonsense idea is exactly why our infrastructure is a mess, and exactly why water charges are a good idea - so that people will understand that all of these things do have a cost.

Continuing to pay for water out of general taxation will remain a large black hole into which we pour money and get back substandard and very expensive water because people don't appreciate the fact that it costs money to run.

Why is a private company controlling Ireland's water supply then?

It seems to me that you don't have the guts to stand up for what's right so instead of just admitting that you are going to acquiesce you try to justify your position by attacking those who are opposed to paying for water.

And please stop trotting out that tired and nonsensical canard that "our infrastructure is a mess unless we pay for it" bollocks.

The IMF have ordered EVERYTHING in Ireland to be privatised. This isn't about helping a crippled economy, though such an excuse is an easy one to fool people such as you with, this is about asset stripping, plain and simple.

If some corporation came in and started fracking and polluting every drop of water in the land and making off with billions in shale gas and leaving the country resembling a lunar landscape you would probably say "we need energy!!" or "it creates jobs".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

FREETV wrote: »
    Take a look at how corrupt the present Coalition in power is by the example of the links that I provided in relation to the water meters and Irish Water three posts above.

Yep, a lot of back-sctatchery alright.
    Too much of it stank & continues to stink..