Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    You must have missed the Shatter/Callinan/Whistleblowers affair then?

No, I didn't thanks. But that was more about a row at the top, rather than on-the-street gardaí being told what to do. In that case actually, there's rather a lot of them doing exactly the opposite, which seems to be still going on.

That's not what I meant anyway.

We are talking about the gardaí supposedly infiltrating groups of protestors standing around water meter installations. I just think that's a bit far-fetched...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

It's agent provocateurs causing all the trouble. The people stirring up the protesters in getting violent are actually undercover Gardaí. FACT
    FREETV wrote: »
    I would personally believe that to be true, the Brits do it all the time.
    The dirty scumbag Shysters in power are like the mob/mafia and are capable of any dirty tactics and treasonous behaviours.

Far more likely, that they have long term deep under cover operatives who rather then being recruited straight out of Templemore; never infact joined the Gardai at all. The Government clandestinely communicate with them by using radio signals and specially fitted dental fillings, they never meet their handlers but do as instructed by the voices.

They are coached in agent provocateur techniques such as pretending to out the security services on social media and chat forums, they are told to be so laughable in their theories that they deflect entirely from the truth that they are in reality actually telling.

They are told to identify themselves to members of the gardai by holding up badly made and miss spelt signs and walking slowly in their presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭FREETV

Believing in the man in the Sky and that there is a Heaven or a Hell after death is what is far fetched.
    Isn't it always a coincidence that more Ministers start to take the sides of the majority who don't want to pay for water when they see the amount of furore and outrage about the situation?

It is just political spin because they want to be seen as the good guys and want to be elected again in the Next General Election so they change sides, sympathise with the common man in order to stay in their positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Richard D James

The Irish government are just imposing austerity that has been sanctioned by the EU and IMF. They want their loans paid back as soon as possible , with interest of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Was at the protest yesterday and will be attending this weekend with my family. Enough is enough. Labour will never get a single vote from this voter again. It will be SF for us next time around.

The Irish government are just imposing austerity that has been sanctioned by the EU and IMF. They want their loans paid back as soon as possible , with interest of course

The Nazi Party is alive and well in Germany and literally is running the EU, calling all of the economic shots.
    They want us to bend over like good Pixies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Believing in the man in the Sky and that there is a Heaven or a Hell after death is what is far fetched.
    Isn't it always a coincidence that more Ministers start to take the sides of the majority who don't want to pay for water when they see the amount of furore and outrage about the situation?

It is just political spin because they want to be seen as the good guys and want to be elected again in the Next General Election so they change sides, sympathise with the common man in order to stay in their positions.

How many Ministers?

Also, I would think it's blindingly obvious that the majority don't want to pay water charges, no more than they want to pay any other tax.

Doesn't mean they don't support the introduction of the charges, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Was at the protest yesterday and will be attending this weekend with my family. Enough is enough. Labour will never get a single vote from this voter again. It will be SF for us next time around.

You sound like great fun.

'What are we doing for the weekend Dad?'

'We're going to the protest against water charges kids'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

The Nazi Party is alive and well in Germany and literally is running the EU, calling all of the economic shots.

And he was doing so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

My eldest actually told me about the protest himself and his work colleagues are going so myself and the wife and are 13 year old daughter will be attending. Have paid all my taxes all my life including the unfair property tax on my family home but this is where we make a stand. Seems a lot of our neighbours are of the same mind, time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I think it's disgusting that the workers shown in the photo via the reddit lilnk need the Garda to stand around them while they work.

They are ordinary, working men trying to earn a living to pay their bills and rent/mortgage like the rest of us - they're hardly jumping out of bed each morning saying 'yippeeee, I get to install water meters today! I am living the dream!'

They are also going to be paying for water.

It is absolutely **** that we are to have yet another bill but it is what it is...if some people really don't want to pay it, then don't, but there is no need for them to be abusing workers.

There is nothing wrong with a protest, everyone should have the freedom to express their opinion - once there is no harm to anyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

A fantasy with a fairy-tale creature being anally raped by a nazi.

You have a vivid (but somewhat disturbing) imagination.

Phoebas wrote: »
    A fantasy with a fairy-tale creature being anally raped by a nazi.

You have a vivid (but somewhat disturbing) imagination.
    I was speaking metaphorically and not using any disturbing imagination.

Similar to a Steel Panther song maybe, just having fun.
    One could parody the fools in the Mad House that is a Puppet Theatre Facade called the Dail while the Ruling Elite/Bankers elsewhere In Europe and The US call all of the shots in the background in the areas of important economic and natural resources of the Planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

water meter protesters should have protested when it was in the pipeline 5 years ago. personally i have a weel andd had to pay every year for upkeep and mmaintenance as well as electricity to run the pump. water is not free resource or renewable so yes if getting a GOOD and Reliable water supply for human USE and Consumption then u should pay according to usage. some amount of scum out aggravating Gardai and honest workmen , espically in Dublin

There needs to be a mass protest outside the Dail as soon as possible on a weekday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Ah the Nazi boyos, Great bunch of lads but not much call for them in these parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I think it's disgusting that the workers shown in the photo via the reddit lilnk need the Garda to stand around them while they work.

They are ordinary, working men trying to earn a living to pay their bills and rent/mortgage like the rest of us - they're hardly jumping out of bed each morning saying 'yippeeee, I get to install water meters today! I am living the dream!'

It is absolutely **** that we are to have yet another bill but it is what it is...if some people really don't want to pay it, then don't, but there is no need for them to be abusing workers.

There is nothing wrong with a protest, everyone should have the freedom to express their opinion - once there is no harm to anyone :)

i offered the lads who installed my meter tea
    hate the water tax but i'm pretty sure the lads didn't make it happen

Anybody who can stand up, walk or wheel a wheelchair should attend any future protests and one should be held outside the Dail when the scum are there who are supposed to represent us all.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Protest-against-water-charges-in-the-republic-of-Ireland/213410058694008

Don't fall for the Irish Media spin and lies or the 100 Euro Tax Allowance.
    It is a con.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Anybody who can stand up, walk or wheel a wheelchair should attend any future protests and one should be held outside the Dail when the scum are there who are supposed to represent us all.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Protest-against-water-charges-in-the-republic-of-Ireland/213410058694008

It is a con.
    There needs to be a mass protest outside the Dail as soon as possible on a weekday!

i hear whispers of a date coming :pac:

Take a look at this quick search that I did online.
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Irish+protest+against+water+charges

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

$hit's gone viral! muhahahahahaha :pac::pac:

It is a con.

What are you saying here - they're going to announce a tax credit, but they won't actually give it? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

My kids loved it. A great day out for them.
    I also fulfilled my role as a father teaching them about standing up for their beliefs and the power of protest.
    and we met some nice people.

Please explain your issue with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

I'm neutral on this one.
    Taking the coin of the oppressor and claiming 'it's only my job, don't be mean to me' doesn't really wash. Following orders isn't a viable excuse, they willingly took the job.

I've to balance that with the fact I don't really like them being abused.

But spare me this - they are only workers Sh**e.
    It's people like them who take the money facilitate a lot of the bad sh** in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭worded

Having a shower is known to be very relaxing and soothing for the soul. I will miss my care free showers knowing my wallet is being emptied.

Gardening is a good hobby, will feel similar about watering the garden.

Shame about these water charges .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

worded wrote: »
    Having a shower is known to be very relaxing and soothing for the soul. I will miss my care free showers knowing my wallet is being emptied.

They did say they would rise the price of the water if we use less.
    This is because.......its not about the water, its about taking yet more money from us!!

shedweller wrote: »
    They did say they would rise the price of the water if we use less.
    This is because.......its not about the water, its about taking yet more money from us!!

No they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

worded wrote: »
    Having a shower is known to be very relaxing and soothing for the soul.

You can very easily collect water in your garden for your garden. Last time I looked the bucket under my drain pipe filled up and brimmed over All by itself for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Do water protestors who interfere with meter installations in other peoples neighbourhoods have an invitation from all of the resident in those neighbourhoods or do they just show up uninvited and make a nuisance of themselves? I've got no issue with people protesting in their own neighbourhoods and going on their protest marches, however, I don't want people showing up at my house and protesting when the meters are installed.

I don't want to pay water charges any more than anyone else does, but frankly I would find protestors outside my home more intrusive than someone installing a water meter. Protesting is pointless, and only delays the inevitable. I'm sick and tired of people ranting on and on about it. As far as I can see all the protestors are doing is making a nuisance of themselves and massaging their own egos.