Pumpkinseeds wrote: » Do water protestors who interfere with meter installations in other peoples neighbourhoods have an invitation from all of the resident in those neighbourhoods or do they just show up uninvited and make a nuisance of themselves? I've got no issue with people protesting in their own neighbourhoods and going on their protest marches, however, I don't want people showing up at my house and protesting when the meters are installed. I don't want to pay water charges any more than anyone else does, but frankly I would find protestors outside my home more intrusive than someone installing a water meter. Protesting is pointless, and only delays the inevitable. I'm sick and tired of people ranting on and on about it. As far as I can see all the protestors are doing is making a nuisance of themselves and massaging their own egos.
cletus van damme wrote: » explain to me how water rates were stopped before or how the old folks got the government to roll back on cancelling the medical card? It was protests that change this. People with that attitude make me despair - so what if a protest fails to achieve it's aim . It is far better to be vocal and just blindly accept what our betters in the dail tell us.
Pumpkinseeds wrote: » Water rates weren't stopped before, they were neatly tucked away under a different name. The elderly didn't really win any major battles with the medical card, every budget the government introduces they will always try to get away with something they know they aren't going to get away with, i.e, the medical card issue. Don't kid yourself that any amount of protesting will stop water charges. Anyway, when the water rates get a massive hike in price do we send the bills to our local protestors? No doubt the water company will whack a lot more onto the bills when they are metered and justify it by blaming unforseen expenses caused by interference from protestors.
Phoebas wrote: » No they didn't.
cletus van damme wrote: » you are twisting things. Of course we pay for water in our taxes but not directly and per unit consumed. Water should be free.
ItsShane wrote: » At least those protesters are out, trying to make a difference. Whereas people like you with a defeated attitude just bend over and take everything the government proposes.
seamus wrote: » Your statement is contradictory. You acknowledge that water is not free, but state that it "should be" free. Somebody is paying for it. As usual it's a matter that the whingers have decided that "somebody" should be "somebody else", rather than give any rational reason why they shouldn't pay for it.
shedweller wrote: » They did say they would rise the price of the water if we use less. This is because.......its not about the water, its about taking yet more money from us!!
cletus van damme wrote: » you are twisting things. Of course we pay for water in our taxes but not directly and per unit consumed. Water should be free. That was defeated before and hopefully will be again. the old people did take down the medical card proposal. It is that simple. Don't kid myself - whether I win or not I'm not going to sit at home and say/do nothing. I'll fight it as I can with protests and strongly worded emails. But I'll be damned if I'm doing nothing about it and shrugging my shoulders.
cletus van damme wrote: » It's not contradictory at all I acknowledge that my taxes pay for everything , it is how the system works. Only a dribbling eejit isn't aware that the tax take pays for stuff. However I believe that that there should not be an additional charge for water imposed on the people individually per unit consumed - water should be available for free for all - as in general taxation paying the cost . I thought that was clear in my post but sorry if it wasn't. However I think you knew what I meant but were eager to be difficult and pick holes . So be it.
cletus van damme wrote: » However I think you knew what I meant but were eager to be difficult and pick holes . So be it.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » Socialist nonsense as far as i am concerned. People get enough for free out of general taxation. It's about time there was a bit of control put over the social welfare this country is giving out.
Highflyer13 wrote: » Its funny. I marched on Saturday and one of my mates was saying to me, why did I bother marching, its coming in anyway and nothings going to change. The same fella is giving out all the time about being broke at the end of the month after paying bills despite working his ass off. I told him his attitude was pathetic.
Highflyer13 wrote: » Sorry, what do I get for free out of general taxation? Nothing it appears. But I do agree with you control does need to be put over the social welfare.
shedweller wrote: » Yes. They did. http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/irish-water-will-be-allowed-raise-prices-every-year-29798831.html
Indo wrote: Irish Water will be able to seek an annual hike in water charges if its earnings are hit by a drop in the usage of water by households.
Dickie10 wrote: » so we dont vote for the 3 big parties? i presume your talking about fine gael fianna fail and labour? well what exactly do we want a seinn fein/ socalist/independents . mmm that sounds like USSR! lads get a grip, Fianna Fail/ Fine Gael coallittion will be next government imo, probarbly safest bet too, for a thriving capitlist economy like we used to have
FREETV wrote: » More likely a Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail coalition actually.
seamus wrote: » A SF/FF coalition would be the kiss of death for both parties.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » We should all vote and make this happen!
renegademaster wrote: » lets not! lets try vote some decent people into power not controlled by party whips
seamus wrote: » I'm eager to dispel the idea that water is free. This nonsense idea is exactly why our infrastructure is a mess, and exactly why water charges are a good idea - so that people will understand that all of these things do have a cost. Continuing to pay for water out of general taxation will remain a large black hole into which we pour money and get back substandard and very expensive water because people don't appreciate the fact that it costs money to run.
FREETV wrote: » Take a look at how corrupt the present Coalition in power is by the example of the links that I provided in relation to the water meters and Irish Water three posts above.