Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

is it ever ok to punch a bully in the f**kin face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I'm very surprised with all the pass the buck answers.

Guys, that doesn't resolve it. The core issue is the kid's own ability to deal with life. The kid can't be mammied through it all. Where the hell did you people grow up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

Your Wife is absolutely 100% right

aren't they always!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

beanie10 wrote: »
    aren't they always!

No

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

No

ssh Dont tell them that!

myshirt wrote: »
    I'm very surprised with all the pass the buck answers.

Guys, that doesn't resolve it. The core issue is the kid's own ability to deal with life. The kid can't be mammied through it all. Where the hell did you people grow up?

And teaching kids that violence is the answer to life achieves what exactly?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

When I was in primary school someone, I didn't know who long story short felt my bag move, jumped under my desk, got out from under my desk got bagged on head, picked up chair smashed him in the face with it, happy to give your kid lessons op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

When I was in primary school someone, I didn't know who long story short felt my bag move, jumped under my desk, got out from under my desk got bagged on head, picked up chair smashed him in the face with it, happy to give your kid lessons op

Wat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

And teaching kids that violence is the answer to life achieves what exactly?

Violence is not the answer.

But we don't live in a perfect world unfortunately. Asking the child to be the next Mahatma Gandhi is unrealistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Wat?

Got tbagged, smacked perpetrator with chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Of course you should speak to the teacher, it must be brought to their attention & let them deal with it, believe me, they have a lot more experience dealing with little Mussolinis than you have.
    and more times then not, they do feck all.

At OP, talk to the teachers, that's the correct protocol. But also, yes, it's perfectly ok for your son to defend himself.

But remember what self defence is?
    Doing enough to get away. It's not a beating. It's doing enough to escape the situation.
    And be careful, what you encourage your son to do, or he'll be the one in trouble.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

This is the worst parenting I have ever seen

telling a child to close his fist and punch anothet child. Ridiculous!

Lead with the elbow man. Everyone knows that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Ya, it's ok to punch a bully in the face. Did it when I was young and he never tried anything again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Have schools changed so much that teachers have started to do something when they are told about bullying?
    My understanding was that the anti bullying policy was "tell people there is a policy to deal with bullying, bullying is not allowed, and therefore doesn't happen".
    So when a child is bullied and defends themselves/hits back it's just fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Teachers are obliged to deal with it nowadays. Schools have completely changed!!!!!

Nowadays as oppose to what?
    2 years ago?
    5?
    10?

I have seen a friends kids have trouble with bullying, 2 years ago. The teachers bring it up with the parents, but that is it.
    They turn their backs in the halls and walk the other way.

Just because they are supposed to deal with, does not mean they do.

When I was in school, I remember the whole fiasco.
    Calling parents in, having a talking to with the kid, and in the end, you just got bullied some more.

Bullying didn't stop despite how many times I "told". No, it stopped when I fcuking snapped and slammed a prick against the wall.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Wat?

I'm hungover..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Wilfork

LowOdour wrote: »
    Fair enough I might be slightly pissed...but wazku is right..,arm the young 'un with a blade

After he gives him a few shots, tell him to just let his hand drop to his side and the knife slip out. Everybody will still think he has it. Then he should walk out of the place real fast, but don't run. Don't look nobody directly in the eye, but don't look away either.

These things gotta happen every five years or so, ten years. Helps to get rid of the bad blood. You know, you gotta stop them at the beginning. Like they should have stopped Hitler at Munich, they should never let him get away with that, they was just asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

O split him open with a box!!!!!! They may even become friends lol :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

That old chestnut... Professionally I am obliged to say no, that is not allowed, you are to tell the teacher ie me and let me deal with it.

Personally I think kids like that only respond to a slap in the chops. Bullies prey on those they think won't react or stand up for themselves. It's something I'll be telling my own kids to do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

I'd tell him to defend himself! I got so much grief in school that it still affects me now. A whole school of teachers decided to ignore what was happening to me, the only way it ceased (even if it was only for an hour or so) was self defence.
    Don't put him through years of torture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

My eldest went through school quietly enduring bullies and being nice, mainly as he is a terribly nice young lad. My youngest takes a different view and cheerfully splits them a new one if they try it on with him. There are now very few volunteers to have a new one split for themselves.

On a purely "personal mental health" front, Option B appears to be much better, the youngest is very open, happy and mentally strong. The bullies squashed the older lads self esteem a fair bit. So I'd say clatter them and smile.

On a "getting suspended for fighting" front, Option A appears to avoid this, but to me, a happy suspended child is preferable to a cowed "good boy". The youngest seems to get suspended rather a lot... I can live with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Combination of approaches , involve teacher, possibly other kids parents,try and get your young fella to keep out of the thugs way, and if it comes to fists so be it ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

kowloon wrote: »
    This kid fought back and was praised for it.

Id have no problem with the fact if the bullied kid stood up for himself by returning a box or two but I think powerslamming the little brat might have been a step too far. Only the Aussies could praise a 12 year old getting press slammed face first on the concrete :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

Tell your kid to punch him in the nose. You will be also doing the bully a favour also, if he gets enough responses like that he might not carry his behaviour into adulthood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Op forget all this talk of boxing and martial arts. Teach your son the gentile art of the headbutt.

As a great man once said "a headbutt is worth a thousand words".***

***may or may not have been a great man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OP don't listen to your wife at all, get good, solid advice from the Internet -

Send your child into school with a machete and order him to behead anyone who so much as glances in his direction.

That'll learn 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Its tough. ..I always had the belief if you get hit you hit back and was prepared to instill that into my kid when it came to the school yard.

But then last year there was a 'game' in the yard where they were all pulling each other's hoods and my guy just happened to be the one caught doing it. It was a stupid dangerous game...he got into big trouble with the teacher and with us as the game had to be stopped.

Trying to explain to him why he was the only one who got into trouble when everyone waa doing it was tricky. So now I tell him don't hit anyone or play any rough games. ..because he could be the only one who gets caught and as the teacher doesn't know him she has no choice but to come down on him. If someone is being rough we've come up with a three step type of approach so he's not running to a teacher every single time someone hits him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Why wait for the next provocation? Have your son walk up to this guy tomorrrow first thing and lace him with a headbutt then have him lay into the guy with his lunchbox like a propa 'ard man. Job jobbed.

I'd have a word with the teacher but having the child enrolled in some kind of class like boxing or martial whatever for kids would be good to keep him active, bit of self defence if needed, maybe some confidence also, little extra never hurts

ian87 wrote: »
    That old chestnut... Professionally I am obliged to say no, that is not allowed, you are to tell the teacher ie me and let me deal with it.

Personally I think kids like that only respond to a slap in the chops. Bullies prey on those they think won't react or stand up for themselves. It's something I'll be telling my own kids to do...

You're not very professional then tbh if you're advocating violence

Terry Pratchet

Nowadays as oppose to what?
    2 years ago?
    5?
    10?

I have seen a friends kids have trouble with bullying, 2 years ago. The teachers bring it up with the parents, but that is it.
    They turn their backs in the halls and walk the other way.

Just because they are supposed to deal with, does not mean they do.

When I was in school, I remember the whole fiasco.
    Calling parents in, having a talking to with the kid, and in the end, you just got bullied some more.

Bullying didn't stop despite how many times I "told". No, it stopped when I fcuking snapped and slammed a prick against the wall.

Last year http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/education/primary_and_post_primary_education/attendance_and_discipline_in_schools/bullying_in_schools_in_ireland.html

Terry Pratchet