If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

is it ever ok to punch a bully in the f**kin face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Kids can be assholes in school. The only way to deal with a bully is stand up for yourself. You can go to the teachers, try and talk to the parents but in most cases it's to no avail. The teachers can't be watching your little Johnny 24/7 and most parents think the sun shines out of their kids asses.

Nowadays as oppose to what?
    2 years ago?
    5?
    10?

I have seen a friends kids have trouble with bullying, 2 years ago. The teachers bring it up with the parents, but that is it.
    They turn their backs in the halls and walk the other way.

Just because they are supposed to deal with, does not mean they do.

When I was in school, I remember the whole fiasco.
    Calling parents in, having a talking to with the kid, and in the end, you just got bullied some more.

Bullying didn't stop despite how many times I "told". No, it stopped when I fcuking snapped and slammed a prick against the wall.

Ditto. Telling your parents and them going into the school usually made it worse.

I lost the plot one day and that was the end of it. Best day of my life.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'd have a word with the teacher but having the child enrolled in some kind of class like boxing or martial whatever for kids would be good to keep him active, bit of self defence if needed, maybe some confidence also, little extra never hurts

I started TKD when I was 11, it was a great confidence boost.

Anyone said anything to me, I'd roundhouse kick them in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

I bought my son a punch bag and gloves for kids.He is not allowed to bully or hit any boy but if they ever hit him he has my permission to do whatever is needed to defend himself.Teachers never did anything to protect kids when I was in school.They just want a fat pay cheque.
    I remember a school principal (went to jail for 5 years) used to be called a pervert by kids in the school.Older kids used to tell the younger kids to stay away from the principal and not to bend over in front of him.Kids used to tell the teachers the principal was a pedo and bent etc and the teachers used to smile.(they knew) But guess what no teacher ever reported the principal to Gardai as he was in power years.They liked their jobs too much to care about kids being molested in the office.If you tell a teacher you are being bullied then you end up being called a rat.The only way to deal with bullies is violence.I have never heard of a bully who got smashed up going back for more.They target the quiet and the weak and well mannered,they see kindness and think you are weak so they prey on you.Until you gain their respect by smashing a chair over there head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭niallam

I've told my 3 year old daughter never to hit anyone, unless they hit her first.
    The wife collected her from Montessori one day and she told her she hit one of the boys.
    The wife asked the teacher if she noticed anything and the teacher said she'd boxed a little fella, a year older than her straight in the nose but she was right to do it because he hit her first.

It is a cruel tough world and sometimes we have to defend ourselves.Sometimes you could have a gang of bullies who get power from being in a group or wolf pack.They will target a kid and that kid cant take on 3-5 kids can they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭gk5000

Yep, course it's ok for your child to defend themselves - with sufficient agression and overwhelming force if needed.

Remind me of story about my neiphew.
    Someone at school mentioned some notorious bully, so my brother in law asked his son (my neiphew) about it. Son had used pre-emptive strike - said

"...he hit the bully a few slaps, pushed him up against a wall, and told him to stay away from him and his friends" so no trouble from the bully.

Good old Merica shock and awe is needed.

I used to be bullied for 2 years from 5 year old till 7 year old then I moved to a different yard so I got away from the bully.So after a few years I saw the bully who seemed to be very happy to see me again after so many years and walked over to me to hassle me.A swift kick in the nuts that had just started to drop sent him to the ground crying for about 5 mins.He then got up slowly and went straight to the teacher and told on me.I took crap off this kid for 2 years and here he is ratting on me.So I hid in the bike shed.Why did I not kick him years ago and save myself from 2 years of hating going to school.Feeling sick in my tummy every day over some bully rat boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

I have often been told that violence does not work, governments condemning violence etc etc but could never get an answer to the following:-

Why do we have prisons with officers with riot gear, batons teargas etc?
    Why do we have 10,000 armed people in green uniforms with automatic weapons, artillery etc?
    Why do we have another 14,000 people in blue uniforms with handguns, teargas batons etc??

.....if violence does not work.

It is convenient for people in authority to say that you should not resort to violence when confronted with intimidating and obnoxious behaviour but leaving such behaviour unchecked and untrammelled can have a very adverse affect on a persons development and educational attainments, something they are entitled to. In other words the bully can get a higher education and get a good job and earn more and the bullied can end up with a poor education, bad grades, a poor job and poor prospects of earning a good wage.

It is important to learn self control and be at peace with yourself but it is also important to know when to react in order to drive off any threat that confronts you effectively and safely.

Resorting to knives etc can land you in deep trouble for the rest of your life, which could be short if the bullies also escalate to knives or even worse.

The boxing and martial arts lessons seem like a good idea in that you learn to inflict pain and disable a bully in a legal and relatively safe way and get yourself out of trouble. Bullies by their nature most often go for the weaker individuals of a group, seen as "easy targets" so the goal should be to get yourself out of the weaker 5-10% of the group and you should be OK. Foster and cultivate allies and friends and stick with them.

In school unfortunately, individualism and out of the ordinary views, styles appearances etc can lead to trouble, if you have a liking for weird hairstyles, weird clothes etc be prepared for extra hassle and possible confrontation.

I recall from my own schooldays that the mildly disabled suffered terribly at the hands of bullies and were never fully defended by the teachers, the ethos being that of "sort out your own troubles" and "might is right" as the teachers often imitated the more invidious tactics of the bullies, sarcasm, intimidation, mild to medium intensity violence etc giving the bullies the perfect model for future bullying behaviour.

I only managed to obtain a reasonable degree of peace and workable studying environment at 3rd level and then only at a very moderate level. I feel I could have done much better academically at school if I did not have to deal with the constant fear and bullying both from teachers and pupils.

At work a very clear message that bullying would not be tolerated and people would be fired meant that I could concentrate and advance myself to some extent. In my second job however the ethos was more predatory and bullying was tolerated and not protected against.

I am now in a different line of work and enjoy a large degree of independence and ability to control my own environment etc so that workplace bullying is no longer an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Going to the teacher's is the politically correct thing to do.But your child will have a lot of "anti-bullying" meetings with teachers,if he can't just hit the bully back and sort it there and then.I know people are joking about extreme violence in retaliation,but I'll I'm saying is if your son gets pushed he should push back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I see nothing there, thats any different than before, except for the inclusion of cyber bullying.

and tbh, I dont blame teachers, aside from calling the parents, there's not much they can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

and more times then not, they do feck all..

Completely incorrect, any complaint has to be acted upon & dealt with. If the school failed to do so their would be hell to pay

you mean by talking to both kids in the principle office and getting a "now you won't do that again, will you?" "no sir"?

yeah, thats doing lots.

or calling the parents, who more often than not, dont care or are unable to control the kid.

yeah, all so very helpful.

they can suspend them or expel them.If you hit a teacher you get kicked out but you can beat kids and get away with it though.I am surprized schools do not get sued for neglect and not doing enough to protect kids that are being verbally and physically beaten.

The local school here is doing a anti bullying thing in the classes where they learn the kids name calling etc is hurtful and bullying is bad.This is good news I hope these events happen in schools and it may help some what.

they can suspend them or expel them.If you hit a teacher you get kicked out but you can beat kids and get away with it though.I am surprized schools do not get sued for neglect and not doing enough to protect kids that are being verbally and physically beaten.

the local school here is doing a anti bullying thing in the classes where they learn the kids name calling etc is hurtful and bullying is bad.

they can but they don't.

Also a school who expells a kid, must find another school for that kid to go to. Its not just left to the parents. until then that kid must stay in the current school.

They can only suspend a kid for a certain amount of time. again because the kids cant miss more than "x" days, 21 is it?.

Plus, what kids cares about being suspended/expelled? for kids like that, being expelled is the best thing ever and a reason to keep up the bad behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

When I was in second year some scumbag grabbed another guy by the head and slammed it against a stone wall. There was absolute uproar, your man could have got brain damage, and guess what his punishment was? A 3 day suspension. Same type of thing happened all the way through primary school and the punishments were never any harsher.

Schools really do fuck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TomoBhoy

You punch him right in the nose

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Boards answer: Tell your son the most important thing in life is to stand up for yourself by being a ******. Talk to the bully about his Feeeeeeeeelings. Sure it's not his fault, he MUST have been abused. Let him fondle your balls while he belittles you and beats you up, obviously if he gets what he wants he'll stop and go away.

Real answer: zero tolerance. Bullies only understand their own way of thinking. Communicate to him the way he communicates to you. Punch the ****e as hard as you can, every time he engages in bullying behaviour with you. Then he'll get the message

When I was in second year some scumbag grabbed another guy by the head and slammed it against a stone wall. There was absolute uproar, your man could have got brain damage, and guess what his punishment was? A 3 day suspension. Same type of thing happened all the way through primary school and the punishments were never any harsher.

Schools really do fuck all.

suspension, expelling, and calling parents are the only things they can do.

And none of them are effective.

Anything I'm missing that a school can do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

suspension, expelling, and calling parents are the only things they can do.

And none of them are effective.

Anything I'm missing that a school can do?

Move everybody and everything to a new, secret location. Staff, pupils, furniture and equipment. Don't tell the bully. Change the phone number.

Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm old school, and have said to him, its ok to defend himself, but not to throw the first slap, to warn the bully if he pushes/kicks him again that he'll retaliate in kind. then if the scrote picks on him again, mill the little f**ker. He might take a few extra slaps, but he'll be too much hassle for the bully the next time, he'll pick on some one else.
    Regarding the bit I bolded; if you can speak like that to the bully, you've pretty much already won. But as most will fear the bully, advise the kid to hit back.

Bare in mind, however, that the bully can easily goto the teacher, claim your kid in the bully, and the real bully gets off scot free.

you mean by talking to both kids in the principle office and getting a "now you won't do that again, will you?" "no sir"?

yeah, thats doing lots.

or calling the parents, who more often than not, dont care or are unable to control the kid.

yeah, all so very helpful.

Incorrect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭louthguy25

Iv seen bullying first hand in schools and telling parents/teachers does not work

My older brother is 6 2 and has been since he was 10 or 11 but was very badly bullied in school. My parents went to teachers and his parents (who denied their little precious would never do this). This was secondary school and same guys from primary school would follow him to bus stop or on lunch punch kick and stab him with compasses for a laugh. I started school the year after the same guys tried the same on me (I would have easily passed as an 8 year old in forst year) . That was quickly resolved with a few slaps thrown and a kick to the crown jewels. Bullies are sc*m and need to be sorted with what they know as their parents will cover for them.

On a funnier note my little cousin was in pre school and her dad has always told her not to punch anyone. She was being annoyed by a little traveller kid in class and he kept spitting at her and pulling her hair so she bit him because she was told never to hit someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The school is only in control of what happens in the school. Unless you're willing to wrap the kid in cotton wool and collect and deliver them from the school gate, the bully can still get to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

In reality, this is utter rubbish.

Incorrect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

You're not very professional then tbh if you're advocating violence

Read my post properly please. It said professionally this is what I would do. And I do when presented with an issue such as this.

I said personally I believe that a punch is the only language bullies understand. However what I believe personally is not accepted in my profession so I use my professional judgement and use the "tell the teacher" approach.

Incorrect
    Incorrect

System failure. Response invalid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Despite all the popular wisdom it is never a good idea to punch someone in the head with a closed fist.

The hand is quite delicate, particularly when it is made into a fist. The head is made of bone. Bone is hard. Its designed to protect the brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

they can but they don't.
    Have you evidence of that?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet