Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Racism in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'll reopen this thread when you've all had a chance to calm down and actually read the mod warnings.

edit: Right, we'll try this again. Remember to not get personal and keep it civil. I don't want to have to start infracting and banning people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Who actually started this fight? Did the presumably white taxi driver just suddenly start shouting racial abuse? Or was it that the black person started it and the taxi driver responded with the first insult that came into his head?

I'm also curious would the people who say that racists comments should be dealt with by the guards also call the guards for someone who was being verbally abused but without racist comments.

I've often had to deal with verbal abuse. Does this matter less because I'm not black? For instance a few months ago someone drove past me in a car and shouted "you look like a queer". I told him to eff off and he replied "you do you faggot". Did that deserve the guards being called or was it a lesser offence because racist language wasn't used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't think pundy is racist but it's becoming fashionable to dismiss genuine grievances under the guise of "sticking it to the PC crowd". Honestly, it's getting to the point where some people seem to think simply being nice to others is "PC" and we should all harden the **** up because concern for others is for pus*ies.
    Funny he never mentioned that in his original post.

PC hand wringing over n incident that likely never even happened. Cake for everyone!
    My instinct tells me quite confidently that if it was an anecdote about a white person getting derogatory remarks made to them because of their skin colour you wouldn't be questioning its validity/dismissing it.
    And "PC" is an annoying enough expression as it is - could people at least try to use it correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Tonight I went out for a few drinks with my friends. I got a taxi to drop me off on o'connell street (dublin)

I walked into Burget King ordered my food and while I was waiting for it a shouting match started. Innitally I ignored it but then the chap to my right uttered the words "you big black monkey" straight a way I called him out on it he said twqs called this and that. I explained to him I'd seen it all and nothing happened before he insisted if heard wrong.

Then he got aggressive with me and I noticed he was wearing a <snip> taxi jumper. So I rang "<snip>" to enquirer about the chaps PSV number as I don't feel he is suitable to be a taxi driver.

I was then informed by the "<snip>" call taker <snip> that my number would be plastered in every toilet in dublin. (I have a recording). Well <snip> I don't give a fu@k because i grew up facing adversity and I'll meet it head on all my life.

‘All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing

So AH do you stand by while racism occurs?

Reads to me OP like you like a bit of drama so you can play the hero, and sharing a taxi home with the guy afterwards? There are numerous threads on here about casual racism in Ireland, but honestly, I think you were just looking for a clap on the back for being the hero that saved the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

jumping on the witch hunt bandwagon
    More like jumping to ridiculous conclusions over what is just a basic disagreement. It's hard to take these utterly paranoid terms like "witch hunt bandwagon" seriously on any level, it sounds unbelievably petty, whiny and selfish too when we're talking about genuine bigotry ITT. Like people trying to crowbar in their own problems to a debate that has nothing to do with them.

I'm gonna try and comfort you by saying that there is no witch hunt whatsoever, so you can settle down and stop the little crusade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

e_e wrote: »
    I'm gonna try and comfort you by saying that there is no witch hunt whatsoever, so you can settle down and stop the little crusade.

good I can sleep easy now.

But perhaps you can answer why you agreed with Super Rush calling him a racist (in the post below)?
    Seeking to lash out the racist label on somebody is far above the "basic disagreement" you speak of.
    It looks to me like "we'll shut him up and turn opinion against him by calling him a racist".
    Well a spade is a spade. What else should people call somebody who trivializes blatant racism?

As for my crusade - this topic isn't my crusade.

I already said I don't think he's a racist. You're the one who keeps dwelling on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

good I can sleep easy now.

But perhaps you can answer why you agreed with Super Rush calling him a racist (in the post below)?
    Seeking to lash out the racist label on somebody is far above the "basic disagreement" you speak of.
    It looks to me like "we'll shut him up and turn opinion against him by calling him a racist".

As for my crusade - this topic isn't my crusade.

Political correctness is all about control and shutting down dissent. We saw it here when Pundy was accused of being a racist for not agreeing with the consensus.

Mike747 wrote: »
    Political correctness is all about control and shutting down dissent.
    More that it's an excuse for people to whine whenever their position is challenged/questioned. Playing a victim and turning a thread into "me me me" instead of engaging in a debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

I already said I don't think he's a racist. You're the one who keeps dwelling on it.

I do, don't I!

You post ( I quoted ) confused me.
    But nonetheless let's continue . I think this debate can be worthwhile....the topic certainly has merit.

This thread is a prime advertisement for the usual pettiness of the anti-pc brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

This thread is a prime advertisement for the usual pettiness of the anti-pc brigade.

I'm just amazed that people think that being against racism is "political correctness"......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Please record the incident here:

www.ireport.ie

(Also, please PM taxi company name so that I can avoid them)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

pundy wrote: »
    i would consider something involving a threat or something involving violence or unwanted physical contact as racist abuse.

name calling is just that - someone spouting sh!t from their racist mouths. we know they are racist, but if they arent threatening then it's still racist yes, but it's no means for this type of attitude.

i never once said i agree with what was said about black monkey. never, not once. i have only agreed that yes it's racism, just, in my opinion, not worthy of calling the police over to be honest.

I'm not suggesting you think it's okay and I don't believe you're a racist but as the OP said, that guy has to put up with that **** on a daily basis. You don't know if he felt threatened or not. No one should have to put up with anyone coming into their place of work and abusing them and I believe racist abuse is the worst of all.

I was sitting minding my own business in a cafe here in Madrid one day and a woman walks up to me and calls me a "Fcuking foreigner" and told me to get out of her country and that I was stealing jobs from locals. I was shuck up for the whole day after. I was in that cafe as a minority (non Spanish), all eyes were on me and I felt horrible. I've been called worse many times but this incident got to me the most. Imagine getting that on a daily basis.

I'm white and European, so I don't have to put up with that on a regular basis but this man in the OP does. We have to make a stand against it and I don't believe in grabbing pitch forks and acting as vigilantes, I believe the best course of action is to call those we pay with our taxes to protect ALL of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

I'm not suggesting you think it's okay and I don't believe you're a racist but as the OP said, that guy has to put up with that **** on a daily basis. You don't know if he felt threatened or not. No one should have to put up with anyone coming into their place of work and abusing them and I believe racist abuse is the worst of all.

I was sitting minding my own business in a cafe here in Madrid one day and a woman walks up to me and calls me a "Fcuking foreigner" and told me to get out of her country and that I was stealing jobs from locals. I was shuck up for the whole day after. I was in that cafe as a minority (non Spanish), all eyes were on me and I felt horrible. I've been called worse many times but this incident got to me the most. Imagine getting that on a daily basis.

I'm white and European, so I don't have to put up with that on a regular basis but this man in the OP does. We have to make a stand against it and I don't believe in grabbing pitch forks and acting as vigilantes, I believe the best course of action is to call those we pay with our taxes to protect ALL of us.

that's all well and good, and i take your point.
    im not racist, i didnt "agree" with any of the stuff that was said by the racist, i dont believe i'm trivializing the issue by having my OWN opinion on what i would have done in the situation.

anyway, isn't it funny how quiet the thread has gone now that people have stopped attacking me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

did you call the Spanish police on the woman and make a stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭BogMonkey

Taxi drivers, shower of bastards. Bus drivers on the other hand, they're solid. Last week I stood in the door of the bus so it couldn't close, to make sure an Indian fella with a limp (well, hes my friend but the bus driver didnt know that) wouldn't get left behind, and then when I went to pay he just says "just get on, don't worry about it". There are more anti racists in Ireland than there are racists. BTW I'm only joking when I said all taxi drivers are *****, and all bus drivers are sound. That'd be an absurd generalisation. Just a few days ago I saw a taxi driver tell a Pakistani fellow to "go **** yourself", I only heard the end of the conversation but I'd say there was some racism involved by the way the Paki (yeah I can call them Pakis, they can call me a mick or a potato eating Irish bastard, no racism involved) was talking. Just today a bus driver let me on the bus when I told him my situation that I don't even have money for lunch. Its funny how the actions of one person can influence your view of a whole group of people that the person happens to be a part of. I gained more respect for bus drivers in general after these two incidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Boombastic wrote: »
    did you call the Spanish police on the woman and make a stand?

Nope. I told the management and she was thrown out. They told me she had mental health problems and was always at it. Most of the racism Ive seen here was carried out by the police themselves. Doesn't inspire a huge amount of trust in me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Who actually started this fight? Did the presumably white taxi driver just suddenly start shouting racial abuse? Or was it that the black person started it and the taxi driver responded with the first insult that came into his head?

I'm also curious would the people who say that racists comments should be dealt with by the guards also call the guards for someone who was being verbally abused but without racist comments.

I've often had to deal with verbal abuse. Does this matter less because I'm not black? For instance a few months ago someone drove past me in a car and shouted "you look like a queer". I told him to eff off and he replied "you do you faggot". Did that deserve the guards being called or was it a lesser offence because racist language wasn't used?

I left that part out on purpose, the taxi driver was actually Asian.

What did you go for in the end? Whopper or Big King?

Humans get all riled up about civil rights and stuff like that, all the while we enslave animals so we can eat them, despite being technologically advanced beyond the point where we need to do that to survive. Buddhists have the right idea. **** St Patrick and the religion he infected my island with. **** Islam, **** Judaism. Buddhism now, theres a religion I can respect. But even thats things scewed. We need to go back to the root of it all. Mushroom shamanism. Hands on spirituality. So I've decided to start a mushroom cult. Whos with me?

BogMonkey wrote: »
    Humans get all riled up about civil rights and stuff like that, all the while we enslave animals so we can eat them, despite being technologically advanced beyond the point where we need to do that to survive. Buddhists have the right idea. **** St Patrick and the religion he infected my island with. **** Islam, **** Judaism. Buddhism now, theres a religion I can respect. But even thats things scewed. We need to go back to the root of it all. Mushroom shamanism. Hands on spirituality. So I've decided to start a mushroom cult. Whos with me?

What bus serves the old 47/47b route now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Reads to me OP like you like a bit of drama so you can play the hero, and sharing a taxi home with the guy afterwards? There are numerous threads on here about casual racism in Ireland, but honestly, I think you were just looking for a clap on the back for being the hero that saved the day.

Having re read my post I see where you get that from. However that quote was meant to lead into a bigger debate on how far do people stand back and let racism fester without saying anything. Currently waiting on a call back after a recent call to the company.

A foreigner? Deport the cheeky bastard.

Nodin wrote: »
    What bus serves the old 47/47b route now?
    I've never even seen the 47, but now you've got me intrigued. Would I have a higher success rate of converting people to my new religion on that route? One by one they'll be converted. Before you know it we'll be tearing down the spire on O'Connell street and replacing it with a giant mushroom in reverence of the almighty mushroom God. This won't be no ordinary statue, it'll be a giant plasma globe in the shape of a mushroom. That "monument" or whatever the hell you wanna call it at the airport roundabout, a giant electrical mushroom shrine would look so much better there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Having re read my post I see where you get that from. However that quote was meant to lead into a bigger debate on how far do people stand back and let racism fester without saying anything. Currently waiting on a call back after a recent call to the company.

Well I would hope in talking to the man's employer, and the Gardaí, that you'll be able to relate the actual facts of the incident and let them decide what is or isn't relevant, rather than your selective peripheral racism coloring your judgement when you conveniently fail to disclose information because it may change what you want to be the outcome of the case -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/warning-of-rise-in-racism-among-irish-children-253775.html

"However, despite the shocking rise, ICI chief executive Denise Charlton said the most worrying trend is the increase in racism among young people, with almost one in every five cases being instigated by children and teens.

The figures show that during 2013 a total of 17% of racist abuse perpetrators and 8% of victims were under the age of 18, the youngest of whom was just three years old.

School holidays were the “peak period” for racist abuse, with verbal and written attacks the most common form of incident (52%), followed by discrimination (24%) and physical violence (9%)."

http://www.thejournal.ie/pakistani-man-says-he-is-under-attack-in-tallaght-estate-1402362-Apr2014/

"Osamah Zaidi moved to Ireland from Pakistan in 2006 and has since become an Irish citizen. He lived in a council house in Lucan for over five years without, he says, a single incident.
    He was moved by South Dublin County Council to a house in Kiltatown Park in Jobstown in Tallaght on 25 March. Within two days, he says, his family were subject to racist abuse from a group of men aged between 16 and 21.
    The abuse built to the attack on Saturday, when Osamah had parked his car.
    “I had parked my car when three men attacked me. They punched me, kicked me and held me down.
    “I ended up with a number of bruises and a fractured elbow.”
    Osamah has reported the incident to both gardaí and South Dublin County Council, but says that he feels like a prisoner in his own home. “I have three young children who are too scared to go to school because they are afraid to leave me alone.” "

http://www.thejournal.ie/man-critically-ill-after-arm-is-partially-severed-in-dublin-attack-125450-Apr2011/

.....and so on and so on. Yet, the jokers have already posted and questioned and tried to ridicule your post. The figures are out there. They are very disturbing. They are shameful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Nodin wrote: »
    A foreigner? Deport the cheeky bastard.

Would it, in fact, be racist to deport racist foreigners?

Moral quandary.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Well I would hope in talking to the man's employer, and the Gardaí, that you'll be able to relate the actual facts of the incident and let them decide what is or isn't relevant, rather than your selective peripheral racism coloring your judgement when you conveniently fail to disclose information because it may change what you want to be the outcome of the case -

I think you're focusing on all the wrong things here my friend. The Crusades happened because Christians deemed themselves superior to Muslims and thought they had a God given right to take the "holy land". An arid, desert ****hole where mushrooms can't grow being the holy land? Blasphemy. Ireland will be the new holy land. Mushrooms grow just fine here. Amanita muscaria forms a symbiotic relationship with ever green trees. Funny to think people put these trees in their houses every year, but have no idea why. I'll tell you why. Its in reverence to the one true God. The almighty mushroom God whos 4 dimensional mycellium networks span the cosmos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How do you know he was from Asia? Did you do a full background check on him while you queued in BK? Or was he irish and just looked asian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

More that it's an excuse for people to whine whenever their position is challenged/questioned. Playing a victim and turning a thread into "me me me" instead of engaging in a debate.

Exactly. It's pretty frustrating when you see people accusing people of using the word 'racist' to shut down a debate when they're basically doing the same thing by using the word PC.