Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First shift/meet story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,448 ✭✭✭✭endacl

naughtyfox wrote: »
    Im just wondering how the washing machine style became soo popular, like did some sit in front of it and go hmm I want to kiss like thhat..
    There was kissin' loooooong before there were washing machines.

How do you think they got the idea for washing machines?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

After thinking about this all day I remembered!

Christmas of first year - I was never allowed go to discos before this - this boy walked over and asked would I meet him!

In there like swimwear I was until he copped a free feel! I moved his hand from my double A's and he grabbed my crotch! Queue lala headbutting him :o

I got more damage than him! Then both our parent's were called! It was probably junior cert before I was allowed out again! :o

Worst part here is my mother just reminded me of this :o

Christmas of first year - I was never allowed go to discos before this - this boy walked over and asked would I meet him!

In there like swimwear I was until he copped a free feel! I moved his hand from my double A's and he grabbed my crotch! Queue lala headbutting him :o

I got more damage than him! Then both our parent's were called! It was probably junior cert before I was allowed out again! :o

And the pair of ye lived happily ever after...?

endacl wrote: »
    And the pair of ye lived happily ever after...?

Certainly not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Just like Rob in High Fidelity:
    "Sometimes I got so bored of trying to touch her breasts that I would try to touch her between her legs, a gesture that had a sort of self-parodying wit about it: It was like trying to borrow a fiver, getting turned down, and asking to borrow fifty quid instead."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

your parents were called to collect you from the disco :eek: jaysus that would be embarrassing

12 years old! 200 odd cars outside at 11pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thalia_13

Down the tracks at the back of school, first year. Both of us as crap as each other! Slight washing machine action while both of us stood about a foot apart. Hands on each others hips, must have looked like we were trying to keep a regulation distance...
    Many more shifts down the tracks as the years went on, trying to not get spotted by everyone in evening study, and the teachers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

12 years old! 200 odd cars outside at 11pm!

Morto! :D

Morto Scarleh! :D
    Fixed that up there for ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I remember when shifts were measured in time.

Ye shifted for 15 mins??? Woooo!

Rasheed wrote: »

I have a vague memory of being able to breath through me ears all right...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Rasheed wrote: »

Jaysus. The idea of kissing for that long without letting my hands wander! :eek:

But aren't wandering hands a part of the overall experience of the 'shift', just as the kissing is another?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

who_me wrote: »
    I was 20 (Embarrassing enough already!) yet probably a lot shier / less-world-ise than some of you at 13/14 by the sounds of things!

A female friend was trying to set me up with a friend of hers, so we all headed to a pub after college. After several drinks, I think she decided she'd have me herself, so sat down next to me. Nothing. Moved closer to me. Nothing. Held my hand. Nothing. Sat on my lap! Nothing. Put her arms around me. Nothing. Started to devour my face while tickling my appendix with her tongue, at this point I started to get a feeling something was up.

In fairness to the girl, she was true to her word and asked her friend to kiss me too, who duly obliged. What a buddy! Told her I loved her :D And at the time, I truly meant it..

Legend hahaha you clearly have same personality as me, we just don't get social cues like other people do.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

But aren't wandering hands a part of the overall experience of the 'shift', just as the kissing is another?

After a while, yeah, but nobody has the balls for that the first few times! :o

*Ahem*

Another element.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭carzony

When I was 19 :o She just leaned over and started kissing me whilst I was waiting in a traffic jam.

I was going out with a very experienced women :p Anytime She wanted to kiss i'd pull away because I wasnt sure how to do it. After a few days she got very angry with me so I had no choice, I told her i'd never kissed a girl before. She actually thought I was very innocent and cute because of it :D

Sad thing is it's been so long since, think i'v forgotten how to kiss again :(:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

EdenHazard wrote: »
    hahaha you clearly have same personality as me
    Poor bastard.

I was 20 too. Sitting in her car at the beach, just after I'd seen my first shooting star. Terribly romantic. Got the ride a couple of weeks later too. Ah, the mammaries...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Last day of Irish college in Ballybunion behind the door or "Rang a Haon", bird from Blanchardstown with a mop of curly blond hair whose name escapes me.....

I developed an unfortunate habit throughout my teens, insofar as I was not capable of multidirectional shifting & was could only manage serious work with my head tilted to the left.....

Let this be a lesson to all ye youngsters, for God sake practise on both sides....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

ONeill2013 wrote: »
    shift? i prefer 'make out' myself

Generally accepted guide:
    "Make out" = American
    "Score" = D4
    "Shift" = culchie
    "Meet" = Baby Wezz aged teenager
    "Snog" = 'aul fella / 'aul wan
    "Wear the face off" = overly dramatising gossip monger
    "French kiss" = someone who probably never has

Have I missed any?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Generally accepted guide:
    "Make out" = American
    "Score" = D4
    "Shift" = culchie
    "Meet" = Baby Wezz aged teenager
    "Snog" = 'aul fella / 'aul wan
    "Wear the face off" = overly dramatising gossip monger
    "French kiss" = someone who probably never has

Have I missed any?

I've heard feak (rhymes with leek, not sure on spelling) from Galway people before, hadn't ever that one

'Fleadh' - Corkism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Apparently 'fla' and 'feek' both mean to kiss, and an attractive person.
    As in:
    "I fla'd a feek"
    "I feeked a fla"
    "I fla'd a fla"
    "I feeked a feek"

Crazy cluchie bastards.

EDIT: These words have only been transmitted to me orally (ba-dum tish), so the spelling may be incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Oh and Ive also heard pesh from a group of kiwis (again not sure on spelling)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

Was 15, some fat girl I was hardly attracted to asked me if I wanted to meet sometime. I of course hopped on the first opportunity I could, and we ate the faces of each other for about an hour sitting on some log in a woods.

After that, I never really saw her again. nearly 7 years later and thats my first and only time I've had a shift/relationship :pac: :(

tosspot15 wrote: »
    Was 15, some fat girl I was hardly attracted to asked me if I wanted to meet sometime. I of course hopped on the first opportunity I could, and we ate the faces of each other for about an hour sitting on some log in a woods.

After that, I never really saw her again. nearly 7 years later and thats my first and only time I've had a shift/relationship :pac: :(
    Rosemantick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 fishfarmer

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    first kiss/feely up session with same sex - about 6/7years old, although the kiss wasnt tongues or anything, the rest though was pretty real for our age anyway imho, looking back, I never really changed it seems :p!

first kiss with opposite sex - aged 16 at the cinema, end credits of Final Destination 2, tbh I just wanted to get it over and done with finally :p:pac:.

darn lesbians, having all the fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

'Fleadh' - Corkism

It's fla, generally means a) the ride or b) a good looking person

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

17 still a fridget. **** I'm just so shy

PM sent ;) x