Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its live - Squad selection discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

couldn't sleep without doing at least one draft...

This is where im at before the rest of the transfers are made! It leaves me 2 mil in the bank to bring Sturridge in! Pay no attention to the formation i would have Lampard and Lambert in there over Diame and Cuellar

b6p9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,212 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

First complete draft, looking good I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Anyone managed to get a decent team in with Bale, Van Persie and Aguero in it? I'm trying, but it's very tough! Enjoying it though, there should be plenty of different teams this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,648 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

You could try it with dzeko instead of augero paully

Aye, it works a bit better with him, although I fully expect City to sign another striker who will take most of Dzeko's game time.

Van Persie is the biggest conundrum really. £14m is a huge price, at that sort of money he's almost a differential :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

And here's MadForMickeyTurner 1.0

21f0489.jpg

Do we know who the starting full backs are for Arsenal this year lads? Sagna on the right, but who out of Monreal or Gibbs will be on the left?

dakid wrote: »
    Think he is overrated myself and he only scored two goals from 38 appearences in the championship.

Many assists though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

It's back.

Goodbye summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭slingerz

Anyone able to give a list of the teams that rotate well together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

what about this scurrle guy at chelsea? anyone know much about him? he's down as a midfielder, i just remember when chelsea were buying him ssn reported him as a striker, his wiki has him down as a winger/forward? he's only 8.0 mil? anyone clued up on him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Just a few comments;

Trying to successfully put in RvP and Bale at £26m is extremely difficult. Think it would be crazy to risk it.

I don't think RvP is worth it at £14m, he'll bang in 20 goals but he needs to be hitting 30 to be worth it, and with Moyes there are no guarantees.

I was set on having Bale, but 50% of people have chosen him, which means he won't be gaining you any major points. Although if I don't pick him, I risk getting left behind.

Looking at 4.0m defenders, Faye (Hull) looks a good bet, scored 4 goals in the championship but only played around 70% of games. Hull played with a back 3 last year and Chester played the most, who is also 4m. Figueroa has joined them this season, but is 4.5m.
    From Crystal Palace Ramage looks the best bet. He's 4m, got 4 goals and an assist last season along with playing 40 league games.
    Looking at Cardiff's defence, Connolly got 5 goals last season, but is 4.5.

One last comment, Glen Murray for Crystal Palace scored 30 league goals last season. He 5.5, and he also takes penalties. I think he'll be my cheap striker. Not convinced about Anelka.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Murray should be out injured for most of the season . Fcuked his knee up in the playoffs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Jax Teller wrote: »
    Murray should be out injured for most of the season . Fcuked his knee up in the playoffs .
    Balls.. Poor fcuker. Just looked him up properly there. Highest goalscorer in top 2 divisions of European 5 leading leagues last season, after Messi and Ronaldo. He should be flagged on the site.

Anyway, first draft:
    o022.png

Will have to rotate to take Murray out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Paully D wrote: »
    Anyone managed to get a decent team in with Bale, Van Persie and Aguero in it? I'm trying, but it's very tough! Enjoying it though, there should be plenty of different teams this year.

Its near impossible

811d030418409d4fe484238f95ce8a9d.png

• Registered Users Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Its near impossible

well you have opted for RVP AND Aguero up front as well as Bale in fairness haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ciaran76

My team but I have changed it 6 times already !:P

Team.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,792 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Do we know who the starting full backs are for Arsenal this year lads? Sagna on the right, but who out of Monreal or Gibbs will be on the left?

Wouldn't go near either left back, they got rotated a lot after Monreal signed. I'd expect Sagna to start if he stays, if he goes Jenkinson will be a great option.

AdamD wrote: »
    Wouldn't go near either left back, they got rotated a lot after Monreal signed. I'd expect Sagna to start if he stays, if he goes Jenkinson will be a great option.

Aye, I usually prefer to pick full backs over centre backs but with the new bonus point system I guess the difference will be negated a bit.

I wonder if Pellegrini will play Nastastic or Lescott alongside Kompany? Whoever starts is great value given City's opening games.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

First Draft... Thoughts?

VQPHXD3.png

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭moreau

Miralles is down as a midfielder this year @ 7.5, which I like a lot. He kind of plays as a CF and I could see Martinez playing him off Kone

A lot of people eyeing up Bellamy but I prefer Whittingham (same price), from what little I saw of Cardiff and stats from last year...Someone who knows Cardiff could convince me otherwise

Other than this not much to say from last year only news of bonus points. Defenders also look cheap. Will most likely not have RVP from start.

Also such a pity Rodriguez (Southampton) remains a striker not a midfielder, would have luved that! Lambert essentially plays up front alone for Southampton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mectavba

What's new about the Bonus Points?

I've seen a few teams with Villa defenders...I would steer clear for the first few weeks, really tough start and it was hardly a watertight defence last year.

There's actually quite a few Irish lads I think are very good value Coleman, Pilkington, Hoolahan, Brady, Gibson.

I really think Coleman is a must have at 5.0m. They might leak a few more goals this year, but I think Martinez will encourage him and Baines to bomb forward as much as possible. He went with a 3-4-3 style formation before, so if he did something like that, we could see Coleman effectively playing as a winger.

My first draft:

Cech

Turner Olsson Coleman

Bale Hazard Pilkington Bellamy

RVP Sturridge Anelka

Subs: Boruc Clyne Faye Brady

I can't decide between Plikington/Hoolahan for that mf position. I have a good feeling for Norwich this year. I had wanted to get Van Wolf in, but with Anelka being 1.5 mill cheaper and a proven PL goalscorer, it was a bit of a no brainer for me.

Can't wait to see how the above changes before kick off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

People are blindly picking Bony, his first couple of games are difficult, wont be getting him until at least week 3 unless he scores 2 against United and shoots up.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

Liam O wrote: »
    People are blindly picking Bony, his first couple of games are difficult, wont be getting him until at least week 3 unless he scores 2 against United and shoots up.

Definitely, give him a week or two to settle in and see how he looks. Unproven in the league and a seriously tough start.

Can anyone see a non detrimental way to save the 1.5 I need for this draft?

iy341s.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Invincible

iy341s.jpg

Depending on Benteke getting a move to a better team,have him instead of Aguero.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

iy341s.jpg

De Gea to Boruc?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

iy341s.jpg

Anelka for rvw . As you well know turner is the main man at norwich

I think Anelka will play out wide for WBA Like Odemwingie did for them he used to do it for Chelsea regularly .

Jax Teller wrote: »
    I think Anelka will play out wide for WBA Like Odemwingie did for them he used to do it for Chelsea regularly .

ye you could be right there. Will keep an eye on it preseason he's getting on a bit now so Clarke may be sympathetic and play him through the middle.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Nani's apparently being offered a new contract at United. If he plays as well as he can, he could be a steal at 7.5m

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Nani's apparently being offered a new contract at United. If he plays as well as he can, he could be a steal at 7.5m

Yeah I'd wait and see if he starts regularly first though, if he does he'd go straight in but it's a good chunk of money tied up in an unreliable starter, especially at the start of the season when we're all at 100.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Yeah I agree, lot of factors to consider. Of course United have bought Zaha so that's more competition for the wing berths. As I said previously, no point worrying too much about your team at this point :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

slingerz wrote: »

I think these are the teams most are fairly obvious.
    Newcastle Sunderland
    Liverpool Everton
    Man Utd Man City
    Arsenal Spurs
    Chelsea Fulham
    Cardiff Swansea
    A Villa WBA
    Hull Palace
    Stoke Norwich
    West ham Southampton

I would use this somewhat as a way of picking my team. Teams score more goals when playing at home and concede less. So your best having as many players playing at home every week.

As things stand Ill have RVP, Aguero, Bale, Walcott. These will be my captain options and Im guaranteed that two of them will have a home game every week.

Defensively Toure & Coleman both 5 million and S Taylor & Cuellar both 4.5 and Wilson & Turner both 4.5 are good combinations to go with. Again your guaranteeing yourself 2 cheap defenders having a home game.

GKs last year Begovic Jaaskelinen rotated perfectly and both started at 4.5. Westwood and Krul or Vorm and Marshall(cardiff) could be decent options.Having said that I may just go with DDG and a 4million goalie and play DDG every week.

mectavba wrote: »
    What's new about the Bonus Points?

I really think Coleman is a must have at 5.0m. They might leak a few more goals this year, but I think Martinez will encourage him and Baines to bomb forward as much as possible. He went with a 3-4-3 style formation before, so if he did something like that, we could see Coleman effectively playing as a winger.

!
    Hadnt thought of that its an excellent point you make there and I think that system would really suit both baines and coleman.

slingerz wrote: »

All credit to Fantasy Football Mad.com

11b9d0c3fda9491b987697a6c64c5f06.png

What do you lads think of Sturridge this year? He's not cheap at £9.0m, but Liverpool have a terrific start and it looks like he'll be the main man in attack. Aguero and Sturridge along with Bale plus another heavy hitter or two in midfield is quite attainable, in comparison to Van Persie's price.

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭basillarkin

thats the way ive gone mysel paully d,

Foster

Sagna

Turner

Zabalata

Whittengham

Hazard

Walcott

Bale

Sturrige

Helenius

Augero

Bench

Boruc

Wilson

Ramage

Dikgaco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭skippy15

Love how this year are so many different strategies starting out, as going big in FW weakens whole team. But then again easy captain decisions....

Also, not many new must have faces in yet and no championship players seem to be sticking out bar few cheap options here and there

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭dakid

dakid wrote: »

Cheers, I'm think both himself and The Wolf may be too much so have Brady there for now instead. But everything will be changed again tomorrow :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

i picked a very rough team to see who i could get into it but will leave it now for a week or two, so much is going to happen!!

The Rooney saga is going to blow everything open, it looks likely he'll leave united now after his latest outburst, if he went to chelsea where he'd have little competition for places he'd be very tempting at 10.5! (just make sure you don't buy any other decent strikers or rooney will throw the toys out of the pram and want to leave)

Likewise, Rooney leaving could make kagawa at 8.0 or harnandez at 7.5 a very decent option, it'll remain to be seen how united go about lining up.

of course, if rooney does leave, i'd imagine united will try sell him to a foreign club and also they'd more than likely buy either an attacking midfielder (fabregas) or another striker but it's going to be an interesting few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭moreau

What do you lads think of Sturridge this year? He's not cheap at £9.0m, but Liverpool have a terrific start and it looks like he'll be the main man in attack. Aguero and Sturridge along with Bale plus another heavy hitter or two in midfield is quite attainable, in comparison to Van Persie's price.

Thoughts?

Thinking same

Looks like its touch & go whether Sturridge will be fit for Gw1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Any of this new Sunderland team Di Canio is building worth a punt?

I'm working with Bony (8m), Berba (7.5) and Rodriguez (6m) - I reckon Swansea will score against United, and with Bony's record (30 goals last season was it?) he is definitely worth the risk. Plus with Bony playing up front, Michu will play in behind him where he does his most damage so that duo could be worth throwing into your teams.

Berbatov is just a legend. Banging in goals all last season and he'll continue to do so. My only concern is the rest of the Fulham team. He's prone to a dry sell if the team plays poorly - any suggestions for a replacement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I think a lot of the value is in defenders this year.

Mertesacker seems to be the pick of Arsenal's defenders with 3 goals last season, but with all of these at £5.5m it's anyone's shout - Koscielny (2 goals 1 assist), Gibbs (5 assists) and Monreal (1 goal 1 assist in 800mins). And lets not forget Club Captain Vermaelen who is a bargain at £5.5m - he's likely to miss the first few games, but scoring 6 or 7 goals in previous seasons I'll definitely have my eye on him. He's usually priced over £7m.

Similar scenario at Chelsea, who will likely have a DGW to kick off. If last season's opening weekend is anything to go by 3 Chelsea players is a must. Ivanovic, Luiz and Cole are priced correctly at £6.5m, but in the £6m range you have Azpiliceuta and Terry. As much as it pains me to say it, the latter seems to be the better choice and possibly bargain of the season. Another one capable of 6+ goals a season, he managed 4 last season despite only playing less than 1/3 of games. I would assume Terry will be the first name on Mourinho's teamsheet, something which is reinforced by pre-season talk. This is the cheapest Terry has been in years, usually starting as the highest priced defender at £7.5m.

Next up Spurs - I expect them to be a lot tighter at the back this season, but both Vertonghen and Walker are overpriced imo. Dawson and Kaboul are my picks, and second only to Coleman as the £5m defender of choice. And lets not forget Assou-Ekotto who was a bit quiet last season after banging in 2 goals and 5 assists in the previous one.

I'll likely be avoiding United, City and Liverpool defenders for my GW1 team, although there's a good chance I'll start off with either Hart or De Gea. Micky Turner is a must this season, along with Coleman. The below defense costs £26m, definitely on the high side, but if the BP system proves to favour defenders more this season I'll probably be looking at this. Barring injury, I can't see much that will change this - Baines moving to United will see him score less imo, and it's hard to justify the £7.5m price tag. Terry has outscored him in 5 of the last 7 seasons (and barely played last season), and is £1.5m less.

2ls7hp1.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

roryc wrote: »
    I think a lot of the value is in defenders this year.

Mertesacker seems to be the pick of Arsenal's defenders with 3 goals last season, but with all of these at £5.5m it's anyone's shout - Koscielny (2 goals 1 assist), Gibbs (5 assists) and Monreal (1 goal 1 assist in 800mins). And lets not forget Club Captain Vermaelen who is a bargain at £5.5m - he's likely to miss the first few games, but scoring 6 or 7 goals in previous seasons I'll definitely have my eye on him. He's usually priced over £7m.

Similar scenario at Chelsea, who will likely have a DGW to kick off. If last season's opening weekend is anything to go by 3 Chelsea players is a must. Ivanovic, Luiz and Cole are priced correctly at £6.5m, but in the £6m range you have Azpiliceuta and Terry. As much as it pains me to say it, the latter seems to be the better choice and possibly bargain of the season. Another one capable of 6+ goals a season, he managed 4 last season despite only playing less than 1/3 of games. I would assume Terry will be the first name on Mourinho's teamsheet, something which is reinforced by pre-season talk. This is the cheapest Terry has been in years, usually starting as the highest priced defender at £7.5m.

Next up Spurs - I expect them to be a lot tighter at the back this season, but both Vertonghen and Walker are overpriced imo. Dawson and Kaboul are my picks, and second only to Coleman as the £5m defender of choice. And lets not forget Assou-Ekotto who was a bit quiet last season after banging in 2 goals and 5 assists in the previous one.

I'll likely be avoiding United, City and Liverpool defenders for my GW1 team, although there's a good chance I'll start off with either Hart or De Gea. Micky Turner is a must this season, along with Coleman. The below defense costs £26m, definitely on the high side, but if the BP system proves to favour defenders more this season I'll probably be looking at this. Barring injury, I can't see much that will change this - Baines moving to United will see him score less imo, and it's hard to justify the £7.5m price tag. Terry has outscored him in 5 of the last 7 seasons (and barely played last season), and is £1.5m less.

2ls7hp1.png

Good write up, presume that means you'll tend to play 4 at the back each week then?

T-b0n3 wrote: »
    Good write up, presume that means you'll tend to play 4 at the back each week then?

Not necessarily - with that line up I have Coleman and Micky T benched for week 1. A lot of people go with two £4.0m bench fodder defenders but you would be amazed at how often you need to use them. I'll likely rotate between playing 4-4-2 and 3-4-3. Last seasons favoured 3-5-2 is looking unlikely.

A lot depends on clearing up this new BP distribution method.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Do you not feel you're putting too much emphesis on the cheap defender? For example, an extra .5mill will get you Luiz who showed he certainly has an eye for goal when going forward, even playing in midfield a handful of times. With him listed as a defender, and with what I expect will be an even more-attacking Chelsea once again under José he could be worth a shout.

In goal I'm going with Mignolet (5.5) - Johnson & Agger had the most cleansheets last season, and I reckon 'pool will be tighter this year after having the experience behind them from last year under Rodgers. Boruc is my back-up at 4.5mill. 1st team 'keeper as backup is always good. Had the mistake of having a nobody last season, and then the chap got loaned off. Luckily my 'keeper remained fit.

My back 4(+1) is Coleman (5.0mill - absolute steal), Kaboul (5.0mill - thanks to your above post for pointing him out), the mighty Micky Turner (4.5mill) and Luiz (6.5mill but an adventurous defender which I now lack due to dropping Baines for his 7.5mill price tag and chance-of-joining United) and then my "back-up" of Shaw (4.5mill and the first choice for the Saints. He's rated highly, but with Southampton being a "new" team to the league so to speak since promotion, they're not too tight at the back. All this could change, and having him on the bench is certainly an option for game time and possible BP)

My midfield consisted of Bale (12mill and m Captain-of-choice for most weeks), Bellamy (5.5mill - Has the experience of playing in the prem and is a key man at Cardiff. I plan to rotate him with Brady (5mill) when needed, or drop him altogether if required.) Michu (9mill. He should be playing behind Bony at Swansea now which is where he's most dangerous), Kagawa (8mill - If Rooney goes, Kagawa should be playing CAM which is where he dominated at Dortmund. Glimpses last season were shown when he came in off the wing and just danced around defenders.)

Upfront I've gone with Aguero (11mill), who, hopefully should be the regular starting striker at City. As much as I dislike the team, I think Aguero is pure silk when he plays. Partnering him in my 4-4-2 is Bony (8mill - Untested in the BLP but with 30? goals last season, I think we can expect him to perform this year. He's got tough opening few games, but I expect him to score against United on GW1.) finally I have Cornelius (5.5mill) as my third striker, big lad brought in by Cardiff especially for the EPL campaign. Don't know much about him, but reckon he's a good shout for 3rd. Toss up between himself and Anelka methinks.

We don't have the luxury of splashing out this season, it's a lot tighter so the extra £0.5m here and there matters. Terry is guaranteed to start, and is a proven goalscorer. Is Luiz a nailed on starter under Mourinho? Even if he is, he might not justify the extra cash unless he looks likely to play in midfield, and with the choice Chelsea now have in MF I don't think this is likely. There's nothing to say Luiz will outscore Terry, if they were the same price I might still pick Terry, despite him being a c*nt.

I have Kagawa in my team but will need solid info on whether he starts before keeping him there. GW1 is not the time to realise you have a couple of non-starters in the team. And as much as it pains me to say it, Michu is not worth £9m. He will be playing deeper this season and you can get Silva for the same price, or Walcott/Hazard for £0.5 more.

You are taking a big risk by not having Mata/Hazard/Silva/Walcott in the middle. I have Aguero, but you can do a lot by not having a £10m+ striker. There's a lot of value in the £7m-£9m range.