If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

SpaceTime wrote: »
    For translation:
    if you'd rather not donate all your data to Google, just get the Google Translate plug in for Firefox or Safari rather than installing Chrome.

Or just use a bookmarklet, in any browser, and save your valuable resources.

http://translate.google.com/translate_buttons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Notice RTEs coverage on all this since it broke - a few bits in their normal news and 1 half an hour long prime time show.
    Puppets for the government they are. They are probably told to play it down as much as possible so that people don't take much heat of all this.

my very thoughts 30 minutes ago, I had 2fm on in the car and the guy was telling everyone to take a deep breath and calm down, and release all the anger.
    They have all been briefed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

K-9 wrote: »
    Where are you listening to the tapes? Seems to be all old ones on the Indo site.

3,4 and 5 are on this page... 4 and 5 towards the bottom when you scroll down

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/abuse-the-bank-guarantee-dont-get-caught-david-drumm-29369275.html

1 and 2 are in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

In an earlier post a poster referred to all of this dying down after a few weeks ant it'll all be forgotten.

It's important that we keep this in the public arena for some time and if it appears to have died down, to periodically resurrect, to remind others about it.

Suggest that every now and then ie.boards posters start new threads to keep dialogue going.

The whole scandal is one which has shown Ireland in a bad light to the rest of the world..... we know Irish people are generally 'good' people, liked and respected around the world.

It's important that we keep dialogue going so that anyone from wherever who might decide to check out what's being discussed on forums such as this can see that us ordinary Irish people are as ****ed off with those Irish Bankster blood sucking parasatics and their elitist cronies as they are or as they might be.

Message to the world: these feckers are not representative of Irish people.

Chances are even typical blood sucking parasites are distancing themselves from these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

my very thoughts 30 minutes ago, I had 2fm on in the car and the guy was telling everyone to take a deep breath and calm down, and release all the anger.
    They have all been briefed.

Plus a detailed discussion on the tapes every morning this week on Radio 1 show Today with Myles Dungan,Morning Ireland, and Drive Time.
    Paranoia is a shocki thing Joe,shockin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

so, there's 79 pages of this thread so far. And I really don't have enought time to catch up. can anyone tell me where these tapes were all this time? My impression is that they're conversations from when the bank was being bailed out. Where were the tapes then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

the tapes are an accurate indication of the old boys, thickos with arrogance culture that is rife in ireland.

clowns who put their foot on the peddle and took their hands off the wheel whilst stuffing gold plated potatoes down their mouths.

they should bring back Punch cartoons because really we are a nation of thick slobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Grayson wrote: »
    so, there's 79 pages of this thread so far. And I really don't have enought time to catch up. can anyone tell me where these tapes were all this time? My impression is that they're conversations from when the bank was being bailed out. Where were the tapes then?

Telephone calls in banks are "recorded" onto hard drive.

They have been there for years,

Probably one or two guards have been listening to these and in the last year have come across these conversations

(speculation on my behalf here) Guard either got pissed off with slow response after he reported these conversations, Was (maybe) told to keep this quiet. Decided to wait a few months then leak them (Irish Edward Snowdon)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭tigger123

Were new tapes released at 12? Anyone heard them yet?

tigger123 wrote: »
    Were new tapes released at 12? Anyone heard them yet?

was just about to post the same thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Comment from irish independant.ie twitter:
    Sean Quinn breaks silence saying Kenny must have know about anglo share deals.

Not related to anglotapes.

Our glorious new leader
    *pukes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Mr Shatter said he fully backed Taoiseach Enda Kenny's assessment that there was an "axis of collusion" between politicians and bankers around the time of the banking collapse.

He said there are legitimate questions in the public interest on who held talks with bankers and what they talked about.

Speaking on RTE Radio, Mr Shatter also said it would have been inappropriate if gardai or other investigators had told him that the tapes existed or details of the recorded conversations.

New legislation is to be passed in the next two and a half weeks allowing for a new style of parliamentary inquiry to investigate the banking crisis.

It will have the power to subpoena witnesses, demand documentation, compel former politicians to give evidence. It would not make findings of guilt against individuals but catalogue the evidence.

source: http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/shatter-nothing-to-stop-cowen-revealing-anglo-contacts-29377515.html

Heaven forbid that Alan, Minister for Justice, Defence & Propriety, would have had information passed to him regarding the tapes' existence even... it would have been inappropriate.

How he can say stuff like this with a straight face is concerning.

Anyway, a new style of parliamentary inquiry that isn't like the one they wanted but was turned down by referendum, no.. a new style.

No findings of guilt, though.

was just about to post the same thing

Was going to ask the same. Theres no sign of new tapes yet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,757 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Did the Independent say more tapes would be released at noon?

Our glorious new leader
    *pukes*

oh wow make me sick :mad:

hes so smug also that Kenny guy

omg you killed Kenny

nobody cared lol

^^^
    Mentioned here
    Mushy wrote: »
    A tape being released at midday on independent site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Our glorious new leader
    *pukes*

Sh1t is really going to hit the fan now

good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

source:
    Heaven forbid that Alan, Minister for Justice, Defence & Propriety, would have had information passed to him regarding the tapes' existence even... it would have been inappropriate.

How he can say stuff like this with a straight face is concerning.

But he knew intimate details about Mick Wallace's affairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭bigdaddyliamo

Well, I've been lurking for awhile and not posting as others more skilful with language seem to have covered any points I would like to make. I decide to join the protest at the GPO and, I must say, it is very disappointing. Maybe 50 bodies max and to add to the unreal element the guards who were overseeing the affair have left. For SHAME Ireland, for shame.

its Thursday some of us are lucky enough to have a job

This Alan Shatter guy..... is this the same Alan Shatter, the Minister for Justice (a post which by defination shouldn't even exist by all accounts) who advises that he has mild asthma which doesn't impair him in any way, but unlike other mild asthma sufferers, is unable to blow into a gardai breathalyser piece of kit ?

Is this the same Minister for Justice (sic) Alan Shatter who in connection to a report issued by the gardai officer in question relating to said failed breathalying attempt, has rather unfortunately had the documents and any connected computer records relating to same, mysteriously and unfortunately go missing from the police station where the report was filed by the gardai officer ?

Is this the same Minister for Justice (sic) Alan Shatter who inappropriately used privileged information he should not have been in possession of (had to have come from within police) to try to rubbish another individual ?

And is this the same Minister for Justice (?) who has banged on in the past about how fraud and counterfeit goods are costing the country billions in lost revenues and who, following a break in at his home it was discovered that several watches stolen at the time were.... er.......counterfeit ?

Is it the same Alan Shatter, Minister for Justice (? ? ? ?) re all of the above that we're talking about ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

No signs of bloody and violent revolution here in Dublin 2.

I'll keep everyone posted in case an angry mob is seen marching down Kildare Street to storm the Dáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Don't be too hard on the people of Ireland: it's raining. You need better weather for outdoor activities.

its Thursday some of us are lucky enough to have a job

Good for you!
    Nice to see this is not your problem so ;)
    As it happens, I have a job albeit part time and would hope....ah forget it , I forgot that this is AH.
    So, eh blast them with piss
    Your ma
    And whatever your having yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭thegetawaycar

This is great for the indo they will have huge hits on their site with the promise of a new tape at 12.

I'd say a lot of politicians have been frantically checking with their banker mates and gardai to see if they have been caught on tape. Cowen did his dirty work on the Golf course so we will never find out what he knew or learnt their.

I hope the indo publish some damaging info on politicians. Prove what they knew and how they lied.

And the award for total hypocrisy and double standards goes to....... ****... this is one hell of a list..... I didn't know there was the many rotten bankers and their cronies in Liarland........ can somebody bring me a seat, it's gonna take a while to read out this list of nominees......

Was gonna use the 'And the Oxters Award for (as in.... up to their Oxters in etc, etc)...but I thought 'Grabbies' just 'sounded' better.

Good for you!
    Nice to see this is not your problem so ;)
    As it happens, I have a job albeit part time and would hope....ah forget it , I forgot that this is AH.
    So, eh blast them with piss
    Your ma
    And whatever your having yourself!

hold on a minute

what good is thursday lunchtime to anyone who works or who does not live in Dublin?

Don't be too hard on the people of Ireland: it's raining. You need better weather for outdoor activities.

I would not be here either but for an ironic twist of faith whereby I won an umbrella in a draw last night. The universe wanted me to go. True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭foxcoverteddy

I fully understand the sentiments, but do angry mobs/marchers really achieve much, yes it is a showing of solidarity, sometimes abused by others for a completely different reason.
    We are Irish we achieved freedom at a very high cost, it is time the world was told how we the people feel about our political arena and the banker's and auditor's etc.
    There are good banker's and probably good politicians and to those we must apologise, however the statue of irish people must rise above the pig trough brigade.
    Who is going to lead us to bring our beloved country back to the position it held in the world.
    Let true Irish people speak up with one voice, jail the bankers and corrupt politicians and those who help them.
    If our justice system is incapable then we must go to Europe and let them know we want no part of this scam and nefarious practice.
    Ireland for those who care.

• Administrators Posts: 55,670 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec