If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

I'm heading to bed. Hope to be up early in the morning to get a bus to Dublin. Where would I find the GPO in Dublin? Is that down by the spire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Apparently Noonan & Co were initially excited when they heard that a top banker had piles in his arse........ turns out it's a medical ailment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

having listened to the recordings several times, it seems that Sean Fitzpatrick had a few young Celtic Tiger bankers under him. By the juvenile rhetoric in the recordings, Bowe seems to want to 'play up to' S Fitz, whereas S Fitz seems to be more aware of the consequences of their actions, you can hear that he is very worried.

Drumm and Bowe have a clear disrespect of pretty much everybody, going by the recordings... that is.

*waits for summons in the post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,315 ✭✭✭✭K-9

having listened to the recordings several times, it seems that Sean Fitzpatrick had a few young Celtic Tiger bankers under him. By the juvenile rhetoric in the recordings, Bowe seems to want to 'play up to' S Fitz, whereas S Fitz seems to be more aware of the consequences of their actions, you can hear that he is very worried.

Drumm and Bowe have a clear disrespect of pretty much everybody, going by the recordings... that is.

*waits for summons in the post

Where are you listening to the tapes? Seems to be all old ones on the Indo site.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

in a week or two this will all be forgotten,when is mings bill coming out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

Im up early today. I plan to travel to travel into Dublin for the protest in a bit. I'm unsure what to expect as ive never been to one. Just reading a couple of articles online at the minute and came across one in the financial times. Sums it all up really. A lot of home truths.

Google 'A dark, cruel comedy at the expense of the Irish taxpayer' and it should be the first headline to get it for free on the Financial Times.

Its disgusting how nobody has been jailed for this so far.

Morning folks,

Is there anything coming out yet on todays tapes?

Had a look at politics.ie and that article from the FT was mentioned there too but I'm not able to read it as I'm on an old, crap phone.

Had a look at the Indo site for todays news. Just a quick glance and it's reported that Merkel is very unimpressed at the anglo crap.

It's Endas duty now to make her happy.

I'm undecided about travelling to Dublin today but maybe todays tapes might sway me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Morning folks,

Is there anything coming out yet on todays tapes?

Had a look at politics.ie and that article from the FT was mentioned there too but I'm not able to read it as I'm on an old, crap phone.

Had a look at the Indo site for todays news. Just a quick glance and it's reported that Merkel is very unimpressed at the anglo crap.

It's Endas duty now to make her happy.

I'm undecided about travelling to Dublin today but maybe todays tapes might sway me.

Just Bowe & Drumm discussing their strategy for dealing with the government the day prior to meeting the central bank/government pre bailout, "we'll go in with our arms swinging" "hand over the keys if we don't get the loan" more "you the man" boys club privileged BS... They knew the damage it would cause to tax payers and it didn't stop them for a second.

Just as depressing as the previous tapes. Fraud in my opinion but unfortunately my opinion is different to Irish law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Today's tape has Drummer preparing Anglo for the meeting with the Central bank.
    Where's the moolah, are you getting me the cheque, do you want the keys?

The absolute arrogance is unbelievable!

stoneill wrote: »
    Today's tape has Drummer preparing Anglo for the meeting with the Central bank.
    Where's the moolah, are you getting me the cheque, do you want the keys?

The absolute arrogance is unbelievable!

Yep! Just read a piece online on the indo site. Drumm sounds like a spoilt little fcuking brat after watching too many american movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

They thought themselves as Wise Guys.

K-9 wrote: »
    Where are you listening to the tapes? Seems to be all old ones on the Indo site.

You wanna see 'disrespect'...... check out on You Tube Bank of Ireland's Richie Boucher's 'performance' in front of the Oireachtas Public Accounts Committee on 1st November 2012, and main questioner Independent TD Stephen Donnelly's exasperation, especially his summing up one liner statement on Bouchers performance. Quite unbelieveable.... or it would have been at one time...... not any more.

Very true. They thought they were above the law. That was typical of the so-called Celtic Tiger. They really thought this would go on forever and that they could do anything they wanted. Yes, their attitude was they were untouchable and arrogant in the highest extreme. Arrogance has been the Achilles heal of many inclusive of the Nazis. So, hopefully it will bring down ALL (be they bankers, politicians, developers, businessmen, auditors, management accountants, shareholders or legal professionals) who were involved in running, protecting and hiding Anglo Irish Bank fraud.

You wanna see 'arrogance'...... check out on You Tube Bank of Ireland's Richie Boucher's 'performance' in front of the Oireachtas Public Accounts Committee on 1st November 2012, and main questioner Independent TD Stephen Donnelly's exasperation, especially his summing up one liner statement on Bouchers performance. Quite unbelieveable.... or it would have been at one time...... not any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Its time for people to think back to Connolly and his approach. This whole episode further shows the working class people of England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and (even the rest of Europe in other cases) should be united against the common enemy. These scumbags.

Not a second thought for the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,531 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The more i hear of these tapes the more i hear two lads havin the craic and (selfishly)doing what they need to do, to save their skin.....the blame has to firmly lie with FF here...they fell for it. This was not a situation one party could deal with, this was a national emergency and the government needed to hold up their hands and say....WE NEED HELP HERE!

In fairness, your country is under threat, who ya gonna call?
    Cowan
    lenihan
    martin
    ahern

the f**ing avengers right there .....me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭take everything

You wanna see 'disrespect'...... check out on You Tube Bank of Ireland's Richie Boucher's 'performance' in front of the Oireachtas Public Accounts Committee on 1st November 2012, and main questioner Independent TD Stephen Donnelly's exasperation, especially his summing up one liner statement on Bouchers performance. Quite unbelieveable.... or it would have been at one time...... not any more.

That stonewalling by Boucher is one thing.
    But the best bit about that is Boucher, the head of a financial institution, repeatedly calling pay "renumeration". This moron is in banking all his life and he doesn't realise the word is remuneration.
    What's he on. Something upwards of 800 grand IIRC.

The more i hear of these tapes the more i hear two lads havin the craic and (selfishly)doing what they need to do, to save their skin.....the blame has to firmly lie with FF here...they fell for it. This was not a situation one party could deal with, this was a national emergency and the government needed to hold up their hands and say....WE NEED HELP HERE!

In fairness, your country is under threat, who ya gonna call?
    Cowan
    lenihan
    martin
    ahern

the f**ing avengers right there .....me hole

Who you gonna call....... 'Most busters'...... as in the feckers have busted most.... of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,531 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

It was the germans yesterday, today it's the former african slaves of America...can't wait for the next tapes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,269 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

A tape being released at midday on independent site!

Sometime I find in times of extreme frustration and anger, a shag can serve as a stress buster.

The problem is because of the extreme financial position these times of 'we're all in it together' financial austerity, I can no longer afford viagra or XXL condoms.

Mushy wrote: »

That must be the FF ones that are due to come out, maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Mushy wrote: »

Drip fed so as to encourage you to go out and buy the paper for the analysis of the latest Beavis and Butthead sketch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Sometime I find in times of extreme frustration and anger, a shag can serve as a stress buster.

The problem is because of the extreme financial position these times of 'we're all in it together' financial austerity, I can no longer afford viagra or XXL condoms.

Don't worry we're getting fcuked all right, but not in the nice way.

It was the germans yesterday, today it's the former african slaves of America...can't wait for the next tapes...

The bould Richie Boucher boyo is South African is he not ? Maybe the helping to keep people in slavery is in his DNA !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭foxcoverteddy

Hold on, everyone no doubt feels the same about the government and the Anglo conspiracy, name calling is not getting us anywhere, it is not hurting those responsible.
    If a government acts recklessly, as did Cowan and Co, can they not be called to account for their actions, and if found guilty placed in custody, equally if the present government fails to take action against the directors of Anglo, one surely can claim that they are not doing the will of the people.
    Having said that surely the Supreme court should be in a position to suspend the Dial and appoint an interim government.
    Why hasn't Kenny implemented criminal action, Drumm should be charged and extradited back to Ireland.
    Whilst on that why are bankrupts allowed to purge themselves in other jurisdictions, if the debt is in Ireland then any legal action should be within the state.
    In view of the situation perhaps a change to the constitution should be implemented urgently.
    We most certainly should not be paying pensions to failed politicians and equally the financial regulator at the time should be prosecuted for gross incompetence.
    I personally do not think Boards reaches enough people, we need a person to co-ordinate the action necessary to sort this matter.
    And in view of the tapes why can we not suspend any further payment to the Bond-Holders?

Don't worry we're getting fcuked all right, but not in the nice way.

My XXL largness doesn't even come close to the level of being ****edness being thrust (geddit) upon us.

That's XXL x zillions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭andrewdeerpark

I wonder is their any recordings between anyone in Anglo and Ernst and Young who were cooking the books for years at the bank? Now that would be explosive and bring an international company that is trading into the mix.

I think Independent have better recordings than what has already been released?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by VeryNiceBankster
    I object to any implying that we, the very nice banksters ****ed anyone

We don't do ****ing people over....... rather we simply 'made love' to the nation...... that's a different thing....... more gentle, sensitive and loving as opposed to the nasty ****ing people over sort of implication.

So to clarify..... us Very Nice Bankers 'make love' to people..... we don't **** them over.

I'm glad we've sorted that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Hold on, everyone no doubt feels the same about the government and the Anglo conspiracy, name calling is not getting us anywhere, it is not hurting those responsible.

People are f*cking livid.

Only natural.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

If a government acts recklessly, as did Cowan and Co, can they not be called to account for their actions, and if found guilty placed in custody, equally if the present government fails to take action against the directors of Anglo, one surely can claim that they are not doing the will of the people.
    Having said that surely the Supreme court should be in a position to suspend the Dial and appoint an interim government.
    Why hasn't Kenny implemented criminal action, Drumm should be charged and extradited back to Ireland.
    Whilst on that why are bankrupts allowed to purge themselves in other jurisdictions, if the debt is in Ireland then any legal action should be within the state.
    In view of the situation perhaps a change to the constitution should be implemented urgently.
    We most certainly should not be paying pensions to failed politicians and equally the financial regulator at the time should be prosecuted for gross incompetence.
    I personally do not think Boards reaches enough people, we need a person to co-ordinate the action necessary to sort this matter.
    And in view of the tapes why can we not suspend any further payment to the Bond-Holders?

My suspicions are that there is a huge can of worms to be opened here. All the so called elite in society bankers, politicians, developers, lawyers, accountancy firms and many more all may be caught up in this mess hence the lack of justice so far and jailing for white collar crimes.

This is the biggest and busiest forum in the country. Change could start here if we really want it to. Conditions are rife for it and if no change comes we may be stuck with the government that caused this crisis after the next election. Enough is enough.