Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Time limit for dole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

The Government and their masters don't care if people leave, die of ill health or just kill themselves from despair. In fact if we all did, it would probably just be of assistance to them.

This is nothing to do with clamping down on welfare fraud, and everything to do with repaying high rolling gamblers and bailing out FF's cronies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bordsie

It would be cheaper to leave them on the dole than cover the cost of imprisonment.

Good critical thinking though. Shows initiative, if a certain lack of understanding.

we can't just allow them to continue spending 200e a week on cigarettes and dutch gold. just lock them away with bare essentials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

bordsie wrote: »
    we can't just allow them to continue spending 200e a week on cigarettes and dutch gold. just lock them away with bare essentials

It would still cost more than 200 euro a week to do that.

You can't criminalise not having a job.

You are basically taking a jump from benefits to jail, instead of just advocating stopping their benefits...which would be the more sensible option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

The Government and their masters don't care if people leave, die of ill health or just kill themselves from despair. In fact if we all did, it would probably just be of assistance to them.

This is nothing to do with clamping down on welfare fraud, and everything to do with repaying high rolling gamblers and bailing out FF's cronies.

And maintaining a lot of (not all) lazy people

It would still cost more than 200 euro a week to do that.

You can't criminalise not having a job.

You are basically taking a jump from benefits to jail, instead of just advocating stopping their benefits...which would be the more sensible option.

A lot of them say us honest workers "better hope" they find work and the economy doesn't worsen or they'll be coming looting our houses'. i'd feel safer with them locked up tbh. although Lifestyle sports will prob take a massive loss in tracksuits and have to make staff redundant...its a vicious cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

heres an idea, give them say...3 months. If they don't get a job in that time they obviously don't want to work, so you could put them in prison :confused:

We haven't got a prison big enough.

mattjack wrote: »
    We haven't got a prison big enough.

Send some of them abroad maybe, or just put on a ship and out to sea never to be seen again. i still don't understand why the government don't have them out sweeping the streets, painting walls, picking up shit etc to earn there keep. at least we can feel better about getting up in freezing cold at the crack of dawn in they're out there instead of in enjoying their morning fry, great life they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

A lot of them say us honest workers "better hope" they find work and the economy doesn't worsen or they'll be coming looting our houses'. i'd feel safer with them locked up tbh. although Lifestyle sports will prob take a massive loss in tracksuits and have to make staff redundant...its a vicious cycle.
    Send some of them abroad maybe, or just put on a ship and out to sea never to be seen again. i still don't understand why the government don't have them out sweeping the streets, painting walls, picking up shit etc to earn there keep. at least we can feel better about getting up in freezing cold at the crack of dawn in they're out there instead of in enjoying their morning fry, great life they have.

Ah...now it makes sense. You don't want a solution, you just want something that makes you feel less bitter.

Got it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Lisa2011 wrote: »
    How is that a labour activation measure.
    Because it requires that jobseekers provide verifiable evidence from employers that they have been seeking employment and submitting their CVs in response to advertised positions, for example.

It ensures that jobseekers are active in seeking work, not necessarily that they do achieve work. The DSP will ask for an explanation if a candidate does not meet his anticipated "exit date", and if a social welfare inspector can contact prospective employers and verify that the candidate has been trying, then the candidate can be happy the the DSP know he's not a time waster, and the DSP can be happy that the candidate is indeed not a timewaster.

I fail to see the problem quite frankly.
    I know someone who was expected to job share in two offices that were at least 2 hours away from each other by car and all she was being offered was 165 euro a week and she had would have to pay for petrol and accomodation herself when she would have to travel to the other office. How can that be done on 165 euro a week. Also how could she pay her mortgage out of that and pay her other bills.
    First off, if an individual cannot afford their mortgage, it is not the responsibility of the DSP to pay that mortgage, nor ought it be.

Also at €165 per week, it sounds like that employee may be entitled to additional welfare supports to help him or her in meeting day to day living expenses; I'm not quite sure that I believe that your friend was asked to make a 4 hour round trip, the approximate equivalent of driving from Dublin to Tipperary, and back to Dublin. That's not particularly credible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Stop me if I am wrong...

people who are in favour of time limits for doles are:
    - people working.
    - people who are living in their own bubble.
    - people attending college living of their parents.

People against it are:
    - People who lost their jobs due to recession.
    - people living in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

We could brand them or tattoo them for ID purposes too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I found it hard to get into a certain night class with FAS. Booked solid.

After I did get in, I found myself to be the only one in the class of 20 with a job,

I was also the only one who had to fork out 300 notes for it.

People are trying. For what ?? who knows. There is not enough jobs out there.

ANYONE who does not attend FAS and at least show proof of searching for work should be cutoff . Simple as that.

I hate to see my tax money paying losers who refuse to get off the dole .

I am in full support of my tax money being spend on people who need help and are trying.

And im sure this new spin on time limits is just to find out who is trying.

Good for them.
    LighterGuy wrote: »
    Stop me if I am wrong...

- people working.

People against it are:

Please explain your last comment, and how people who are gainfully employed, "Not" living in the real world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Please explain your last comment, and how people who are gainfully employed, "Not" living in the real world?

Alight, since you siad please :pac:

Basically, its easy for one to say introduce a time limit on the dole if they are happy working away, but not having their ear to the ground. Ie, arent taking on board there are alot of people out of work who are trying. Businesses are still closing down. People still loosing their job. We're not out of the clear yet. Times are still bad.

If things were better, yeah there would be no excuse for someone on the dole for any serious lenth of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Darius.Tr

I dont think this is going to solve much of the problems, there are way more people on the dole who seriously needs it, than those who dont. Imagine what would happen after a year or so, those people will be starving and freezing to death....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Stop me if I am wrong...

- people working.

People against it are:

You're wrong.

We are all living in the real world, we all have obligations, and almost everybody is experiencing the effects of a difficult economic period. However, there is nothing wrong with asking jobseekers to supply reasons for not having met their target date of leaving welfare. Seriously, what is your problem with that?

I understand how someone would have a problem with a cutoff from benefits regardless of whether a claimant has an explanation for remaining on welfare or not, but that's not what is being suggested. The DSP will simply ask claimants to verifiably prove they have been trying to access employment. Proof of this would obviously explain that a claimant has not met his target date through no fault of his or own. No problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Alight, since you siad please :pac:

Basically, its easy for one to say introduce a time limit on the dole if they are happy working away, but not having their ear to the ground. Ie, arent taking on board there are alot of people out of work who are trying. Businesses are still closing down. People still loosing their job. We're not out of the clear yet. Times are still bad.

If things were better, yeah there would be no excuse for someone on the dole for any serious lenth of time.

I was on the dole for 3 years myself in the last 5. I know how hard it is.

I tried and tried to get a job. Until I was set. I am making a 1/3 less than I did pre 2007.
    I found there to be jobs out there, just lower paid. I also found, that if you really really want to work, you will find it. Might not be perfect. But work all the same.

I found that job applications where useless. Getting out and about industrial estates with a positive attitude was more rewarding. Selling oneself. Keeping your ear to the ground. Helping people around the community leads to a good reputation for a hard worker.

I found sitting on my hole all day watching Jeremy Kyle or whatever useless and a recipe for poor mental and physical health.

I know exactly the type the government are targeting. The dopes who need a kick up the arse. It need to be done. Or they may well become 20 years on the dole and a complete loss to society ..

Things need to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I know exactly the type the government are targeting. The dopes who need a kick up the arse. It need to be done. Or they may well become 20 years on the dole and a complete loss to society ..

Things need to happen.

I would agree with that and I think many would but is an arbitrary time limit really the answer?

Personally, I think they have shot themselves in the foot regarding the internship scheme. Companies are just taking the piss and taking advantage of the free labour. I don't blame them really, I blame the system that allows them to do it.

One of my good friends is doing it at the moment and has been for several months. He is going above and beyond for them by the sounds of it and still he doesn't seem convinced they would ever pay him if they could.

The "idea" of the scheme wasn't bad. Allow people to gain experience in a field. Makes sense. But when you have shops getting people in to sweep floors.....it's missing the point completely. They need a better vetting system for the companies that should qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Lisa2011

The people who make decisions like this dont know how hard it is these days to get jobs and if the did know they would think twice of doing this.

The majority on the dole are on it because they have lost jobs they had for years and have been struggling to find work.

I have a relative that just heard back about an interview they had last week and sadly they were unsuccessful and might I add it was an interview for a job they were qualified to do.

I also want to say that my relative has done everything possible to get a job even in sectors that dont require qualifications and also for jobs outside Ireland but with no luck

In this the day and age being on the dole longer than 3, 6 or 12 months does not mean that people dont want to work it just means for the majority they CANT find a job.

So if people end up being on the dole for 10 years or more its not their fault. Its obvious that there are people who wont be able to retrain because they have already achieved the highest level of education there is.

Kirby wrote: »
    I would agree with that and I think many would but is an arbitrary time limit really the answer?

Personally, I think they have shot themselves in the foot regarding the internship scheme. Companies are just taking the piss and taking advantage of the free labour. I don't blame them really, I blame the system that allows them to do it.

One of my good friends is doing it at the moment and has been for several months. He is going above and beyond for them by the sounds of it and still he doesn't seem convinced they would ever pay him if they could.

The "idea" of the scheme wasn't bad. Allow people to gain experience in a field. Makes sense. But when you have shops getting people in to sweep floors.....it's missing the point completely. They need a better vetting system for the companies that should qualify.

I agree companies are taking advantage of the internship scheme. I would not call it an internship and I believe that people who are qualified and have experience are the one's getting the internship jobs. Where I live there is about 40 or 50 jobs advertised on the scheme and these companies actually hired and paid a wage there would be at least 100 people off the dole.

The only way people wont be on the dole too long is for employers to stop saying no to potential employees because they are afraid they will if they get a better offer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

makes me wonder...

the people here on boards.ie who give those on the dole a hard time, seem to post more than anyone else..awful lotta time on their hands...

civil servants i'm betting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

In 2005, Ireland's unemployment rate was 4.2% - lower than the UK and even lower than Luxembourg where its small population should make it easier to impact on the figures. The general consensus at the time was that it could be broken down into 2.5% long term unemployed and 1.5% in a state of flux - people who had lost their job and were actively seeking new work or students just finished their degrees/leaving cert. From what I can see, the figure sits around 14.3% now. So what has changed? Have people become more lazy and more willing to earn a relative pittance on the dole? Most likely not. I would argue that the vast majority of the people on the dole right now would bite your hand off if they were offered their old job back. Maybe part of the problem is that people expect a job like their old one and are less likely to take on less heralded work. Even taking this into account, it is hard to get away from the fact that the difference between 2005's figures and today's is the ready availability of jobs. Solutions like this one may force some qualified people into taking so-called menial work, which is fine. But I'm really not certain that it will have any great effect on the number of people collecting the dole until more jobs become available. What these figures prove is that you can come up with as many voter pleasing schemes to get those lazy heathens off the dole but the only sure fire way to get our unemployment rate back to 2005 levels is to get the number of jobs back to what it was. Whether this is possible or not is another matter but I would be spending more time trying to figure out ways to stimulate interest in Ireland as a place to locate/start up a business and re-skilling people who are trained in industries that have dried up than looking for solutions to a problem that did not exist when we actually had jobs. I am not ignoring the fact that we have to look at ways to slash dole costs but solutions like this just seem to ignore the elephant in the room. People are not lazier and are looking for jobs. They just aren't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I feel like the officers must know which ones are taking the piss but have no power to cut them or threaten them(?). If you've been on the dole for 10 years there must be a reason other than I can't find work and if you can't present that other reason which is valid you should be gone, there has to be some threat loosing it but not aimed at those who are trying, I think I might have a breakdown and not be able to look for jobs if I was constantly counting down the days left on my dole.
    I'm not on the dole (yet)...
    I'm leaving a 4 year course this summer at the age of 21 so basically I will be on the dole barely able to live on 100 euro a week and then be cut, I haven't be able to get much work experience in retail or hospitality or anything else for that matter it will take me a good bit longer to find work opposed to someone else who has experience going for the same kind of jobs (oh and if you're wondering about my degree during the course the jobs here related to it are gone).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

saa wrote: »
    I feel like the officers must know which ones are taking the piss but have no power to cut them or threaten them(?). If you've been on the dole for 10 years there must be a reason other than I can't find work and if you can't present that other reason which is valid you should be gone, there has to be some threat loosing it but not aimed at those who are trying, I think I might have a breakdown and not be able to look for jobs if I was constantly counting down the days left on my dole.
    I'm not on the dole (yet)...
    I'm leaving a 4 year course this summer at the age of 21 so basically I will be on the dole barely able to live on 100 euro a week and then be cut, I haven't be able to get much work experience in retail or hospitality or anything else for that matter it will take me a good bit longer to find work opposed to someone else who has experience going for the same kind of jobs (oh and if you're wondering about my degree during the course the jobs here related to it are gone).

Take anything you can get for the time being. It's way easier to go into an interview in your chosen field saying that you'd been working for the past year whilst trying to get a job you're interested in than saying you'd spent a year on the dole. As you can see from the general attitude towards the dole in this country, people would be way more understanding about your lack of experience. Make sure you exhaust all contacts you have - friends, relatives etc - because the easiest way to get a job at the moment is if you know someone who can get you in somewhere despite a lack of experience. Alternatively, just feck off to Australia like everyone else :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭acidskiffle

hondasam wrote: »
    It is time social welfare fraud was stopped, anyone signing on for more than six months should have to explain themselves.
    I would go as far as to say after six months on the dole payments should be reduced.
    One of the most foolish posts I have read in a long time.
    That would just destroy people that just can't get work because believe it or not, there are no jobs.
    Switch on your tv and try take a look at what's happening in the real world.

Take anything you can get for the time being. It's way easier to go into an interview in your chosen field saying that you'd been working for the past year whilst trying to get a job you're interested in than saying you'd spent a year on the dole. As you can see from the general attitude towards the dole in this country, people would be way more understanding about your lack of experience. Make sure you exhaust all contacts you have - friends, relatives etc - because the easiest way to get a job at the moment is if you know someone who can get you in somewhere despite a lack of experience. Alternatively, just feck off to Australia like everyone else :pac:

Thats a good idea but you need to meet criteria to get in. If you dont meed the standard criteria the one thing that will get you in there is if you have worked at least 20 hours a week for the last 12 months in an occupation that they want.

A separate point altogether. Some of the comments here about people on the dole are terrible. Like I have said I have relatives who are trying to get a job in their field and jobs that they dont have experience in but CANT get any. Why dont people accept that.

My cousins husband does not get any dole money because his wife's salary is 10 euro over the limit and he has worked and contributed to the public finances for over 20 years or more. Where is the fairness in that.

People are struggling to put food on the table and putting a time limit on the dole and then telling them to feck off is terrible. Its the attitude of employers and their decision to not hire someone because they are over qualified for the job. This is has to change if people are willing to do a job that has no relation to their qualification then they should be hired. We cant reduce unemployment otherwise. Also sending people on training using taxpayers is a waste of time if there are no jobs. They will end up leaving the country and that ain't a good return on the investment made by the government. Its time the Troika told Kenny to cut civil servants pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

One of the most foolish posts I have read in a long time.
    That would just destroy people that just can't get work because believe it or not, there are no jobs.
    Switch on your tv and try take a look at what's happening in the real world.

There is not one job out there no?
    I hope to find this real world ye all keep talking about real soon or would that be the same real world I live in everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I find it slightly tragic that your signature pushes awareness of things like depression and suicide and yet you feel completely oblivious to the serious consequences unemployment can have on peoples mental health and think "cutting people off after six months" is a good idea.

The mind boggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

I hope to find this real world ye all keep talking about real soon or would that be the same real world I live in everyday.

There are jobs out there, but lots of people going for it. So, you're dividing (say) 30 into 1. It's really, really difficult.

And you read all the posts (mine included) about how employers can now afford to be choosy about who they hire. If you don't have the exact experience they're looking for, why should they bother?

So, you see how there are two very, very big areas that effect how easy it is for people to get jobs, right?

This is the 'real world' people are talking about.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Well, there certainly isn't 400,000 of them, is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭acidskiffle

Not enough jobs for hundreds of thousands of unemployed people, no.
    Use your head.