Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    lovely , what lactation is she?

fourth- avg 12500lts on previous lacts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

stanflt wrote: »
    fourth- avg 12500lts on previous lacts

Jaysus..Whats that between her hind legs...I never seen anything like it.
    Looks like and elder only HUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE!

Isn't the variation within species wonderful!

How long did she carry the twins?

Bizzum wrote: »
    Jaysus..Whats that between her hind legs...I never seen anything like it.
    Looks like and elder only HUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE!

Isn't the variation within species wonderful!

How long did she carry the twins?

274 days to be exact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

My sister got a big lump of a Bernese Mountain dog pup for Xmas. We would all be all big border collie people here but i do love a big genuine dog with big strong paws and this lady has them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

lovely puppy it will be like keeping another weanling when she starts eating properly :D We have a newfoundland and st bernard here the young fella used to ride the newfoundland around until he was big enough to go horse riding . Hope your sister enjoys the new dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I can't have a dog as I work too much but this was back at home this morning while trying to prepare veg (oh the hygiene in a farming household)
    My Kovu is the puss sitting inside as he absolutely kills Demon (the white lad)

kovudemon.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

And this was after dinner in my bed......yes, he is spoiled as hell but a good mouser when let out!
    kovuinmybed.jpg

274 days to be exact

Thanks. A man after my own heart. This week or ten days or two weeks with her time frustates me no end. I only use days for counting gestation. Thinking of going down the road of hours though:D

Bodacious wrote: »
    My sister got a big lump of a Bernese Mountain dog pup for Xmas. We would all be all big border collie people here but i do love a big genuine dog with big strong paws and this lady has them

Remember now.........A puppy is not just for Christmas..........It can be eaten well into the new year:D
    Sorry I jest, I couldn't resist. Lovely pup. Should make a tank of a dog!

Remember now.........A puppy is not just for Christmas..........It can be eaten well into the new year:D
    Sorry I jest, I couldn't resist. Lovely pup. Should make a tank of a dog!

I remember painting a house with my Father when I was younger at a place where two Burmese mountain dogs were kept. The owner fed them 6/7 beef hearts with dry food per day or something like 14 lamb hearts for a change to their diet......they scared the life out of me back then, the dogs weighed twelve stone each and were in smashing shape. They could have prob eaten me at the time if they wanted!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭BelgianBlue13

pakalasa wrote: »
    A few pics of weanlings;
    First are two FHZ BB heifers.
    Were they easily calved,what were the mothers like?
    have a muscly ch x bb second calver,might use FHZ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Were they easily calved,what were the mothers like?
    have a muscly ch x bb second calver,might use FHZ.
    I find FHZ very easy calved. Calves are very small at birth. I think he's more of a growthy type BB, not overly muscly. He's better used on good continental type cows.
    If you read further down the posts, I described the cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭BelgianBlue13

Would he be suitable for breeding show calves?

Don't know. I don't think any one bull will breed a showcalf. It's down to a bit of luck, I think. The one in a hundred, if you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I put up pics of these heifers a few weeks ago but I found a few more flattering pics of them on the girlfriends camera from the middle of the summer.

nelly225.jpg

nelly226.jpg

nelly228.jpg

nelly229.jpg

nelly230.jpg

nelly233.jpg

Not entirely related to this thread but she cost the price of a handy weanling:o. The samoyed pup I got for herself last christmas
    nelly002.jpg

Ya, but the samoyed pup might be the best investment of all...;)

It's amazing how much of a coat the Limousins put on in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

is that heifer with the small horns got some part in her?

kboc wrote: »
    is that heifer with the small horns got some part in her?

No shes a 3/4 bred lim as far as I know, Dont know how she escaped the dehorner!!

spent the day using my new toy- an id3000 tru-test weighing scales

while i was at i gathered hair samples for geonomic testing the replacement before shaving all their tails

got 60 done today only 46 to go tomorrow

002sep.jpg

Serious piece of kit Stan. Knowledge is power.

Is your monitor not a wee bit vunerable there?

pakalasa wrote: »
    It's amazing how much of a coat the Limousins put on in winter.

Not as much of a coat as Nelly the Samyoed:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

Lads what do ye make of putting a charlaois bull on AA cows from a friesan dairy herd? April calf here off small AAxFR cow.
    dscn0306p.jpg
    dscn0305j.jpg
    dscn0304u.jpg

No shes a 3/4 bred lim as far as I know, Dont know how she escaped the dehorner!!

Some fine stock there to be fair, I would have thought a bit of part there too, looks a bit like this one. On an aside, is the house in the background a passive house? looks a bit like a few passive house designs I've seen...

dscn0311c.jpg

johnpawl wrote: »
    Lads what do ye make of putting a charlaois bull on AA cows from a friesan dairy herd? April calf here
    dscn0306p.jpg
    dscn0305j.jpg
    dscn0304u.jpg

Read that post wrong...... thought it was crossing CH cows with the bull suggested....... now on to being non Christmas hungover to being back in the work spirit ........du du du du du....;)

Karen112 wrote: »
    Read that post wrong...... thought it was crossing CH cows with the bull suggested....... now on to being non Christmas hungover to being back in the work spirit ........du du du du du....;)

Haha no he's a bull calf off a small AA cow from a friesan herd.He's 8 months old, just wondering what ye made of the cross..

Some fine stock there to be fair, I would have thought a bit of part there too, looks a bit like this one. On an aside, is the house in the background a passive house? looks a bit like a few passive house designs I've seen...

dscn0311c.jpg

I dont really understand passive house?? Its a smallish bungalow the uncle built about two years ago, Its on a fairly high site with a class view down off so I doubt he would have got planning for anything bigger. Her mother was a black lim cow that we bought off a neighbour and she is lethal when shes calving (no fear he said that when he sold her to us tho:rolleyes:) and I would doubt there is any part in her but could be wrong!!

Two fine looking heifers by the way, Did you put pics up of them a while back??

Nothing like a bit of cold weather to make cattle put up a fleece, Id never buy a heifer if they werent fairly hairy and not with curly hair. A bit old fashioned and dont know whether its right or wrong TBH but its what I was always told to do. As for Nelly, Shes like a polar bear now, without a doubt the friendliest dog I have ever seen tho!!

I dont really understand passive house?? Its a smallish bungalow the uncle built about two years ago, Its on a fairly high site with a class view down off so I doubt he would have got planning for anything bigger. Her mother was a black lim cow that we bought off a neighbour and she is lethal when shes calving (no fear he said that when he sold her to us tho:rolleyes:) and I would doubt there is any part in her but could be wrong!!

Two fine looking heifers by the way, Did you put pics up of them a while back??

I was at a show there recently where they were talking about passive house design, they use very little energy for heating, are highly insulated, have no pieces jutting off them and small windows if possible.
    Ya they're the same 2. A neighbour of mine who is into cattle in a big way recently got hold of a pure bred parth cow that wouldnt go in calf, he fattened and killed her. He was complaining to me that they were hard to fatten and in the end she graded a U1, he was not happy with the fat score. Not familiar with factory grading myself, so not sure exactly what implicaion this would have on price..

I was at a show there recently where they were talking about passive house design, they use very little energy for heating, are highly insulated, have no pieces jutting off them and small windows if possible.
    Ya they're the same 2. A neighbour of mine who is into cattle in a big way recently got hold of a pure bred parth cow that wouldnt go in calf, he fattened and killed her. He was complaining to me that they were hard to fatten and in the end she graded a U1, he was not happy with the fat score. Not familiar with factory grading myself, so not sure exactly what implicaion this would have on price..

I would imagine it would be hard to get a bit of cover on them alright when they are so muscly, The blues have the same problem which I think put a lot of the Irish finishers off them.

You could well be right about the house. Its a handy sized bungalow, No big windows or funny extensions and he has solar panels on the roof which works the heating I think. I would imagine he has it very well insulated aswell. Never took much notice when they were building it though to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Lads what do ye make of putting a charlaois bull on AA cows from a friesan dairy herd? April calf here off small AAxFR cow.
    dscn0305j.jpg

Not a bad looking animal at all for that type of cross. It's amazing what a bit of milk will do. Lovely colouring too. If I had any slight crticism of him, I'd say he was a bit light in the bone(especially front legs) , but that's the AA influence. Are you selling him on soon or will you squeeze him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

spent the day using my new toy- an id3000 tru-test weighing scales

while i was at i gathered hair samples for geonomic testing the replacement before shaving all their tails

got 60 done today only 46 to go tomorrow

002sep.jpg

An investment I'd say you'I never regret. Great to have the figures to back up the facts ;) Best of luck with it.