Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

One step at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Aerobic

First run since Sunday and no niggles to report,no real tiredness either...just the usual levels that we get through week by week.
    Set off on an unusual hilly route from work,mile 1 and 6 were on a link road and the other 4 were country lanes,lovely and peaceful,but very hilly...the legs felt good but i didnt want to rock the boat so kept it steady....

6.2m @ 7:07p

Only 1 key session planned for this week to let me recover from the 2 races before i head into another on May 7th...7.5m Wat-Tra...real good race with big numbers and plenty of quality runners at the busy end to chase after...target there is 5:50p...so thats...43:45...considering i could only manage 5:54p for the 10k on Friday this will be a big ask....
    another example to prove that running is a mindset...i ran 22:15 for 4m on Sunday,my PB for 5m is 28:24...that would have left me a 6:08 5th mile to set a new PB if i had of kept going Sunday,i definitely feel i could have slowed from 5:35p to a 6:08 mile if i had to on Sunday,but you have a different mindset when you set off on a 5m race,i would love to have the balls in my next 5m to race 4 flat out and coast home in the 5th...but i know it will never happen...and dont get me started on why i could only manage 5:54p for 10k and yet i can go out and run that time for 4m 2 days later....

Aerobic

A wonderful morning for a run....absolutely perfect conditions.
    managed to get out for 10 glorious miles,felt tired for the last 3m,thats the usual for me after a race (or in this case 2 races)i get a delayed reaction with the tiredness

10m @ 6:49p

Aerobic

A handy stroll with one of the lads while the big fella was at the track....started off real slow but build up gradually to finish nice and steady....

7m @ 7:20p

I had planned 4*1m with 2 mins jog recovery today but during the first rep the watch wnt blank,i have been having trouble with it lately,its always saying that the battery 100% even after a few runs so i was happy enough to keep topping it up before i ran just incase but today it died on me after about 10 mins...i will have to post on the garmin thread to see what i will do next....lost without it.

Anyway when it went blank i was about 0.5m into the first rep going well at just under 5:30p so when it went off i decided to just do 4m straight as i knew where 4m was from where i started from other tempos i have done....i got to 3m and had to stop,i was going way to fast,as i dont know what pace i was going i cant be sure but i reckon the 3m were done at 5:35/5:40p....stopped for a minute or 2 to get my bearingsa gain and did another few miles home at an easy pace...mapped out the route on gmaps when i got in....like the old days....

Total 7.5m @ ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

I'll have to route out the garmn 50 until i get this sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Sosa wrote: »
    I had planned 4*1m with 2 mins jog recovery today but during the first rep the watch wnt blank,i have been having trouble with it lately,its always saying that the battery 100% even after a few runs so i was happy enough to keep topping it up before i ran just incase but today it died on me after about 10 mins...i will have to post on the garmin thread to see what i will do next....lost without it.

Anyway when it went blank i was about 0.5m into the first rep going well at just under 5:30p so when it went off i decided to just do 4m straight as i knew where 4m was from where i started from other tempos i have done....i got to 3m and had to stop,i was going way to fast,as i dont know what pace i was going i cant be sure but i reckon the 3m were done at 5:35/5:40p....stopped for a minute or 2 to get my bearingsa gain and did another few miles home at an easy pace...mapped out the route on gmaps when i got in....like the old days....

Total 7.5m @ ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

I'll have to route out the garmn 50 until i get this sorted

Welcome to my world!

I have got the watch back working again,amazing what you can achieve when you actually read the manual !

Last week was a recovery week for me,after the 2 races in 3 days the previous w/e i figured it was as good a week as any to have one...still ran 35m but the only fast running i did was Friday when i had the mini tempo...

So back into it this week and with the 7.5m this Sat and a fast 5m the following friday its all go go go.

Hangover Cure Aerobic

Was not feeling the love for a run today but forced myself out the door anyway and delighted i did,got last night sweated out of me thankfully and surprised i was able to run at a nice clip very handy altogether.

5m @ 6:54p

Up with the birds and out the door before 6am this morning for a fantastic 3m....for once i was loving the early morning run and the one morning i was stuck for time and loving it i had to cut it short...really enjoyable though...not a sinner around

3m @ 7:15p

Went to work then and was heading to the track to do my 10/7/4 pre race tempo on the football pitches behind the RSC...
    First off i did 4m on the road and then i hit th etempo

4m @ 6:56p
    5 mins rest
    10 mins @ 5:45p
    2 mins rest
    7 mins @ 5:43p
    2 mins rest
    4 mins @ 5:34p
    2 mins jog

Job done !

11m for the day and a good 11 at that

Aerobic ( with a few 1000's sprinkled in for good luck )

Lucky to get out today,time was at a premium so just about managed to get a quick one in before i collected the big fella from school.

4m @ 6:58p
    1 min rest
    3*1k @ 5:45,5:46 & 5:34 pace
    1 min rest inbetween
    1k warm down

6.5m total

The plan was to run the 1000's at 5:50p which is what i am setting out at for the 7.5m race Saturday night....weather permitting ( and wind ) i may have a shout at holding that for the duration...we will see what happens.

Roll on Saturday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Aerobic ( with a few 1000's sprinkled in for good luck )

Lucky to get out today,time was at a premium so just about managed to get a quick one in before i collected the big fella from school.

4m @ 6:58p
    1 min rest
    3*1k @ 5:45,5:46 & 5:34 pace
    1 min rest inbetween
    1k warm down

6.5m total

The plan was to run the 1000's at 5:50p which is what i am setting out at for the 7.5m race Saturday night....weather permitting ( and wind ) i may have a shout at holding that for the duration...we will see what happens.

Roll on Saturday night
    Best of luck sat but as you said it all depends on the wind. Hope you dont get the weather going out the day of the half:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Roll on Saturday night

Based on tonight's forecast, looks like the wind will be straight in your face for the duration, southerly, and may be wet too.

Hoping for 1 hour target but may be ambitious.

Best of luck.

slowsteady wrote: »
    Based on tonight's forecast, looks like the wind will be straight in your face for the duration, southerly, and may be wet too.

Hoping for 1 hour target but may be ambitious.

Best of luck.

not what i want to hear but it will be the same for everyone
    Best of luck to you slowsteady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

good luck sosa

Waterford to Tramore 7.5m race

Nothing went right for me today,stomach was acting up since i got up,in work last night it was grand but a few of the lads had dodgy stomach's,i must have picked ip up from someone in there.
    The legs were feeling ok and ready to go,i did a 2m warm up when i got up at luch time just to wake up the legs a bit.
    On the way down to registration the watch died again...completely blank...lovely i thought,no garmin and the stomach is not behaving.
    I thought that the watch might be a blessing in disguise,run by feel i thought,keep an eye around me and if i see anyone ahead of me that is usually behind me...get moving.
    I have no idea of any mile split,for once there was nobody on the couse with a watch calling splits,there were watches beeping around me up to 5m but i didnt bother asking anyone what the pace was.
    By the time i got to 4m i needed to stop...stomach was really acting up and i knew this was going to be a struggle...funnily enough i really thought i was running well so that kept me going...i was in a bunch of about 10 up to 5m where me and 2 others broke away,i was happy at this stage and felt that the pace was tasy enough,the plan was to try hold 5:50p (which would have been 43:45 at the end )...and i really felt that i was doing this...by the time i got to 6m i really really needed to stop but ignorance got the better of me and i plugged on,the pace was dropping now i could feel it,stomach would not let me go at it,the legs felt great,mad to get going...mile 7 has 2 hills on the way into tramore and the effort was to much,the ribs were aching and i was heaving badly,i could barely get a breath...i felt sh*t and must have looked worse as i got a few dodgy looks and a comment of "ah dont worry love,its nearly over" from two nice old ladies who obviously pitied me.
    hobbled towards the finish and after all that saw the clock tick 44:48...i barely got under 45...think i was 44:57 or 58...
    Im going mad i had no watch,i really felt i was on target for the first 6,i did drop alot during the last 1.5m...i may well have been going faster than 5:50 for the 6...i will never know...
    The wife and children were at the finish line and herself thought i was dying...asked me do i need an ambulance...i was leaving off a painful heave for a good minute after...stomach is still all over the place...no beer or sweet chilli noodle dish that was planned for me tonight....
    The dreaded wind was also present but not nearly as bad as the half in Jan...it was strong in places but manageable.

44:57/58 ............. maybe top 15

A tough day at the office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Sorry your day went wrong as the weather turned out much better than I had anticipated anyway. As you said the wind was strong in places but overall not too bad.

I had a much better than expected evening, hoped for 60min but managed 55.45 on the finish clock. Delighted as I managed to keep the 4-mile pace from a couple of weeks ago going for 7.5 miles. Onwards and upwards from here??

The next race is always the challenge, Portlaw next Friday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Waterford to Tramore 7.5m race

Nothing went right for me today,stomach was acting up since i got up,in work last night it was grand but a few of the lads had dodgy stomach's,i must have picked ip up from someone in there.
    The legs were feeling ok and ready to go,i did a 2m warm up when i got up at luch time just to wake up the legs a bit.
    On the way down to registration the watch died again...completely blank...lovely i thought,no garmin and the stomach is not behaving.
    I thought that the watch might be a blessing in disguise,run by feel i thought,keep an eye around me and if i see anyone ahead of me that is usually behind me...get moving.
    I have no idea of any mile split,for once there was nobody on the couse with a watch calling splits,there were watches beeping around me up to 5m but i didnt bother asking anyone what the pace was.
    By the time i got to 4m i needed to stop...stomach was really acting up and i knew this was going to be a struggle...funnily enough i really thought i was running well so that kept me going...i was in a bunch of about 10 up to 5m where me and 2 others broke away,i was happy at this stage and felt that the pace was tasy enough,the plan was to try hold 5:50p (which would have been 43:45 at the end )...and i really felt that i was doing this...by the time i got to 6m i really really needed to stop but ignorance got the better of me and i plugged on,the pace was dropping now i could feel it,stomach would not let me go at it,the legs felt great,mad to get going...mile 7 has 2 hills on the way into tramore and the effort was to much,the ribs were aching and i was heaving badly,i could barely get a breath...i felt sh*t and must have looked worse as i got a few dodgy looks and a comment of "ah dont worry love,its nearly over" from two nice old ladies who obviously pitied me.
    hobbled towards the finish and after all that saw the clock tick 44:48...i barely got under 45...think i was 44:57 or 58...
    Im going mad i had no watch,i really felt i was on target for the first 6,i did drop alot during the last 1.5m...i may well have been going faster than 5:50 for the 6...i will never know...
    The wife and children were at the finish line and herself thought i was dying...asked me do i need an ambulance...i was leaving off a painful heave for a good minute after...stomach is still all over the place...no beer or sweet chilli noodle dish that was planned for me tonight....
    The dreaded wind was also present but not nearly as bad as the half in Jan...it was strong in places but manageable.

44:57/58 ............. maybe top 15

A tough day at the office

Wouldn worry too much about this one. We all have are off days main thing is to keep the head and come back with a bang next race. Whats on the cards next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

ecoli wrote: »
    Wouldn worry too much about this one. We all have are off days main thing is to keep the head and come back with a bang next race. Whats on the cards next?

+1 you race quite a bit sosa, law of averages says that every now and again you'll get a bad day. Training has been great recently so put it out of your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Hard luck on the run. At least ya know it was due to a stomach problem and not a general dip in performance. Plenty more races for you to make amends this summer :rolleyes: This'll be long forgotten come August

Thanks lads,the legs felt great it was just the stomach...still not great today.

I had a great day today,brought the big fella down to the track for the county championships...he ran the 60m,500m,4*100 relay and did the long jump...he had a great time.
    He ran the 60 and 500 with his laces open...and was shattered after the 500,i had to jog around inside the track otherwise he was going to stop....he got through it in the end...then the 4*100 ...he ran the second leg and i was convinced that he would drop the baton or something...but he didnt...ran his leg well ( with tied laces ! ) and the 4th guy romped home toget the silver for the team...he was thrilled.

Pt 2 of the counties are on next week and he has the 300 and ball throw.....i am running a 5m on Friday night and i will do the 3000 with the seniors on Sunday...i'll get blown away but i want to try get under 10:00 ....

a great day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Wouldn't worry too much about the time for a non-standard distance point-to-point race....ain't never going to count for records or even be useful for comparative purposes. What's it's useful for is a good hard workout and that it certainly was. When's the HM training block starting in earnest?

By the way my garmin had been playing up similar to yours....been dead now for about 6 weeks so been running by feel since...have had my 2 best races NOT wearing the garmin. Have also been training really well at track sessions without it. Prob will not replace it. The iPhone works grand for the long and easy runs.

Gringo78 wrote: »
    By the way my garmin had been playing up similar to yours....been dead now for about 6 weeks so been running by feel since...have had my 2 best races NOT wearing the garmin. Have also been training really well at track sessions without it. Prob will not replace it. The iPhone works grand for the long and easy runs.

I'll be getting mine fixed,i am ruled by the watch...i was lost last night without it.
    Looking at the results today,i am a little heartened,even with my stomach rattling all the way out the tramore road,i managed to maintain 6:00 pace...i was planning 5:50p...not to much in the difference,considering.

As for the half,the club announced last night that they have been asked to host it this year,the AAI wanted to have it on Sun 4th but we wanted Sat 3rd and got them to change...so i am 17 weeks out,i have a 5m this coming friday,cant see myself setting a PB but i will go for it anyway,and then the county championships continue from today on the track next Sunday,i might have ago at a few events...3k,800m,200m & 4*100m....we will see.
    Then the plan is an 8 week training block of specific 10k work and then 8 weeks of half specific.
    Did you run the Midleton 5 on Thursday ?

Was on holidays so missed it....feeling a bit heavy and slow after the hols but have a shot at sub 17 for 5km on Tuesday or Wednesday (whichever fits in with work/life), another chance next week if needs be and then 10km in under 2 weeks....training would suggest I'm in sub 35 shape, 5km race will tell whether that's the case

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Was on holidays so missed it....feeling a bit heavy and slow after the hols but have a shot at sub 17 for 5km on Tuesday or Wednesday (whichever fits in with work/life), another chance next week if needs be and then 10km in under 2 weeks....training would suggest I'm in sub 35 shape, 5km race will tell whether that's the case

Sub 35 would be savage....im still battling to try get under 36.

Recovery

Had not run since the dicky stomach event that was Saturday night,decided to do something tonight....got through it alright...nice and handy

6.2m @ 7:32p

Intervals

With 2 races again this w/e,i went to the track tonight not knowing what the session was going to be and didnt want to do a monster session and burn myself out before i toe the line on Friday night.
    Session was a good one...with the 3k on Sunday in mind.

On Grass
    1m warm up
    800m,90s rest,400m,90s rest x 4
    4*800 done in 2:36,2:38,2:36,2:34
    4*400 done in 1:14,1:14,1:14,1:12
    0.5m warm down

the idea was to run the 800's at 3k pace ( which i hope will be 5:21p on Sunday - 9:59 ) and the 400's at mile pace

We then hit the track about 5 mins after the last 400 to do 6*150.
    It was done continuosly so went like this 150 ...jog 50...150 and so on
    Splits for 150's were ;
    23s
    26s
    24s
    25s
    24s
    22s

Idea here was as fast as you could go while staying totally in control,form stride etc...
    really enjoyed these

Strong wind on one side of the track tonight and up on the pitches at the back,so was pleased with the splits as they were held back a bit to keep in line with the idea of the session.

I went off then about 10 mins after the 150's to do a casul 4m on my own while the big fella was on the track doing his own training.

Total miles : 9.5m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭runsalot

Good session last night Sosa.
    That wind was abit of a nuisance, but added to the effort level.
    Must meet up with ye more often.
    Best of luck on Sunday, sub 10:00 is def within your reach.

runsalot wrote: »
    Good session last night Sosa.
    That wind was abit of a nuisance, but added to the effort level.
    Must meet up with ye more often.
    Best of luck on Sunday, sub 10:00 is def within your reach.

I enjoyed it,wont be long now and you will be back racing...best of luck in the masters,nice competition there for you.

Portlaw 5m - 27:47 :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: 8th position

What a fright i got when i turned the corner last night and saw 27:4*... counting upwards on the clock...this was a race where i went up just being content with maybe 20/25s above my PB,because my races have been average at best since the 10m in January...i thought this was going to be more of the same...but that all changed last night during a mad first 2m that ultimately got me the time i was looking for but never crossed my mind that it was possible.

A few of us were standing around just before the off talking about the course,how its a good one for PB's and only mile 4 being difficult...and how they were going to attack from the off...2 other fellas from another club who had beaten me by 45s last week and who i would usually be much closer to or beat sometimes went off like rockets,i just decided to keep them in my sights and not let a lead open up that i couldnt close after a few miles.
    Mile 1 - 5:22 :eek: ...and they were a good 6/7s ahead of m...blistering start that we kept going into Mile 2 with a 5:38...11 mins flat for me...i thought i was going to pay for that....Mile 3 was 5:44...ok i thought....steadied the ship,could not keep that pace going for 3 more miles....Mile 4 was the tough one and i had moved beside them just as we passed the marker,then came the climb...its not a bad one at all,just felt it from the previous pace of the 3 miles we had run...moved ahead of them both on the hill working hard...i could hear them behind me for a half mile,then i could hear only 1....got to the 5m mark and it flattened out again and i went for it toe to toe with my tattoed partner....finally shook him off in the last 400 metres and romped around the corner to see the clock....i nearly had a heart attack when i saw 27:41...27:42...legged it up to dtop the watch on 27:47...composed myself for a minute and then saw that it was only 4.92 :eek::eek::eek::eek:
    We awere all raging...loads of PB's ran and it was short...disaster.
    I did the last 0.92 @ 5:36p and it took me 5:10....so my time would have been 28:13 at the slowest as it was faster i was getting near the end.
    Im taking 28:13...i dont care who disagrees...it was a breakout race for me,for once i went for it and im not being robbed by a short course.
    Rant over...PB in the bag.....:D:D:D:D:D

County Championships on the track tomorrow morning,a 36yo is making his track debut in the 3000m against all the whippits...sub 10 all the way

Im taking 28:13...i dont care who disagrees...it was a breakout race for me,for once i went for it and im not being robbed by a short course.
    Rant over...PB in the bag.....:D:D:D:D:D

County Championships on the track tomorrow morning,a 36yo is making his track debut in the 3000m against all the whippits...sub 10 all the way

I'm going to have to disagree with you on this one.....not about the PB, about sub 10 3k....you're in better shape than that, aim for 9:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Great running Sosa. Its a pain in the hole alright when the course is a bit short. You should comfortably go under 10 mins for the 3km.