iSpy has done it again! Let's compare the Roma to parasites ...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 194 ✭✭KidKeith89

Biggins wrote: »
    Case in point! :o
    Some still don't get it!

Let me A.B.C. it for you.

Roma = Cultural and ethnic traditional classification across borders.
    Romanians = A group of people defined by an actual land border.

Yeah, they have their ethnic origins in Northern India or something right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Conor OH! wrote: »
    He's exactly right, and pretty much on point with most things he says in his column.

do we not WANT opinion in our newspapers???? surely the whole point of reading news is to be able to understand things from many points of view, and not just slate it when you disagree?

it's not racist, and it's not hateful towards them at all.

he's merely proving a point with a bit of colourful language.
    the point of reading news is to hear what's happening, or what's going on in the world, not hearing what some gimp thinks of what's going on in the world

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

KidKeith89 wrote: »
    Try a search engine, they are great tools.
    Mind you, they are not the only tools!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

no, you're thinking of indians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i've heard this before, sounds about right anyways..

just as long as they're not breeding with our own travelling people to form some type of super, polar opposite of the aryian race i'm a happy man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

He's exactly right, and pretty much on point with most things he says in his column.

Really? From the article dated today.....
    In the middle of the Pope's controversial visit to Britain -- I noticed five Algerians were arrested last Friday in connection with a plot to kill the Pope, further proving just what a religion of peace Islam is
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/ian-odoherty/ian-odoherty-loving-the-alien-vatican-style-2344351.html
    Six men arrested over alleged pope plot released

Street cleaners who were arrested on Friday said to pose no credible threat and have been released without charge
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/sep/19/six-men-pope-plot-released

It was blatantly obvious for early on they weren't going to be charged from the feedback from the cops.....

you see, this is the weird thing when talking about this kinda stuff (and I mean absolutely no offence conor)..

but have you met a roma that you have liked, respected or you felt wouldnt rob/beg from you? i haven't...and the sad thing about society is this makes me a racist. is it my fault that the 'race' has a tendency to lean toward the criminal?

I can say I've never met a Roma that I liked or respected, honestly. Anyone I've talked to has the same opinion: they're loud, annoying, they beg, do nothing productive, and they have the most horrible language! (Or their own dialect of Romanian or Bulgarian; I'm not sure what language they speak.)

P.S. - I didn't mean for this to turn into a discussion on the Roma people, rather Ian O'Doherty and the Indo. Sorry if people take offense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Ian O' Doherty :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes, apparently they left there several centuries ago, because they didn't like being persecuted.

wonton wrote: »
    no, you're thinking of indians

Yeah good one, very funny and smart ...

Nodin wrote: »
    Really? From the article dated today.....

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/ian-odoherty/ian-odoherty-loving-the-alien-vatican-style-2344351.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/sep/19/six-men-pope-plot-released

It was blatantly obvious for early on they weren't going to be charged from the feedback from the cops.....

nodin: do you have some kind of alert system in place from boards that informs you when a thread on a minority is created?

i'm only half joking...I do seriously want to know why you so vehemently defend minorities?

i hope this isn't out of bounds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Whiles its true some in the Roma community are very much letting there side down, but on the other hand there is a great deal of racism and hatred towards every single last one of them, and we can see a few examples here. I know I will probably have offended the perpetually offended Anti-PC types, but thats half the fun :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

wes wrote: »
    Whiles its true some in the Roma community are very much letting there side down,

So in other words "the vast majority of roma are decent, hardworking, upstanding & law abiding types" - is that your assertion here ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm tired of explaining that to people but the message isn't sinking in with some or they are conveniently ignoring it.
    I once made the faux pas of referring to a group of Roma gypsies as Romanian in front of a Romanian lad I was working with(sound bloke) he exploded with vitriolic raving against Roma people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Morlar wrote: »
    So in other words "the vast majority of roma are decent, hardworking, upstanding & law abiding types" - is that your assertion here ?

I have no idea either way actually, I have yet see much in the way of proof for the opposite assertion either. Doesn't change the fact that there is quite a lot of hatred directed at them as a whole.

**EDIT**
    I don't doubt there are massive problems with certain segments of the Roma community, and those criminal elements like all criminal elements I have 0 sympathy for. Personally, I think people throwing out terms like parasite pretty much ruin any chance of a rational discussion on the topic, as pretty much right away ridiculous hyperbole is invoked.
    **END EDIT**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

i've heard this before, sounds about right anyways..

just as long as they're not breeding with our own travelling people to form some type of super, polar opposite of the aryian race i'm a happy man...

Jaysus, could you imagine the Roma breeding with the Travellers to develop a kind of master-race of super-knackers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

SV wrote: »
    He's completely right for fúcks sake.

Time to call a spade a spade.

Yes, it is, I agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

See Ian is a movie star now, has a bit part playing himself in the new Irish film Savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I once made the faux pas of referring to a group of Roma gypsies as Romanian in front of a Romanian lad I was working with(sound bloke) he exploded with vitriolic raving against Roma people.

But it just so happens that they are mostly Romanian, so we should probably expel all Romanians just in case.
    F**k it, why stop there. Let's expel all Eastern Europeans.:eek:

i remember when romanians (not roma!!) really started arriving in ireland in the mid-90's and a lot of people didn't like them - true racism i mean. same happened with a huge amount of the eastern european emigrants.

i now know some romanians (and obviously lots of eastern europeans in general) and they're lovely people.

i do not know any romas. every time i see them they're either begging or robbing something (yes, i've seen them 'blitz' a shop). i've never seen a roma try assimilate or even look like they were doing something productive. i have had no positive interaction with a roma.

i hate the fact that i'm a racist. but seriously, that cant be my fault!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

dvpower wrote: »
    But it just so happens that they are mostly Romanian, so we should probably expel all Romanians just in case.
    F**k it, why stop there. Let's expel all Eastern Europeans.:eek

Why would we want to do that ? :eek

OutlawPete wrote: »
    See Ian is a movie star now, has a bit part playing himself in the new Irish film Savage.

Please tell me you're joking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

dvpower wrote: »
    F**k it, why stop there. Let's expel all Eastern Europeans.:eek:
    I prefer the old mantra of "Brits out!" tbh! :pac:

Re the protests over the pope
    The usual suspects have been tripping over themselves as they compete to see who hates him the most.
    I am, obviously, removing the survivors of Catholic sex abuse from the above category; these people are the ones with a genuine, noble cause. And if there was any justice in the world, Benedict would be forced to look at them all individually in the face and beg for forgiveness -- an act, when you consider his disgusting refusal to accept the resignation of two Irish bishops, that is obviously never going to happen.
    No, I'm referring to the other protesters, the ones who think that somehow they're being brave by threatening to disrupt a state visit by the Pontiff.
    A protester has thrown a shoe at Wen Jiabao during a speech at Cambridge University and called the Chinese prime minister a "dictator".

The shoe landed about a metre away from Mr Wen and the protester, a young man, was then removed by security guards.
    Mr Wen, who earlier signed a series of trade agreements with Gordon Brown on the final day of a three-day UK visit, described the incident as "despicable".
    Protests have taken place about human rights and Tibet during his visit.
    Protests
    Five people were arrested in London on Sunday after trying to approach Mr Wen. According to eye-witnesses, Mr Wen was interrupted near the end of a speech he was giving in Cambridge on the global economy.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7865868.stm

Likewise against Mugabe
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/514606.stm

Likewise Saudi....
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/oct/29/saudiarabia.uk

The man is either clueless, or has decided to take narrative over facts.

nodin: do you have some kind of alert system in place from boards that informs you when a thread on a minority is created?

i'm only half joking...I do seriously want to know why you so vehemently defend minorities?

i hope this isn't out of bounds...

No, because its the right thing to do, and no, it isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

A group of them meet up after begging everyday at a certain bus station I wont bother mentioning.

They sit down, count all the money that was given to them then laugh their heads off at the stupid stupid and gullable Irish people.

I guess they hop onto a bus and go begging for the evening in another area.

Its sickening, these people are sub human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I prefer the old mantra of "Brits out!" tbh! :pac:

Its hard to get a good rhyme going around "Eastern Europeans Out!".:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

They're not in France illegally as Romania and Bulgaria are members of the EU - free movement of people, capital and goods. So really it was illegal for him to kick them out.

Freedom of movement does not nor did it ever confer a freedom to settle indefinitely without fulfilling various criteria. Any EU citizen could be deported under the same clauses, Romanian, Bulgarian or Irish.

nuxxx wrote: »
    A group of them meet up after begging everyday at a certain bus station I wont bother mentioning.

They sit down, count all the money that was given to them then laugh their heads off at the stupid stupid and gullable Irish people.

I guess they hop onto a bus and go begging for the evening in another area.

Its sickening, these people are sub human.

From my experience though it seems as if everyone in Dublin hates them - who gives them money?

Nodin wrote: »
    Re the protests over the pope

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7865868.stm

Likewise against Mugabe
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/514606.stm

Likewise Saudi....
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/oct/29/saudiarabia.uk

The man is either clueless, or has decided to take narrative over facts.

did he have something to say on these events or something where he was proven wrong? whats the relevence of (what i assume is..) his comments on the protests against the pope?

sorry nodin, please explain :o