What are your funniest Irish sayings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

DrumSteve wrote: »
    do you think i came up the liffey on a sponge?

No way.
    The sponge would absorb too much water and you'd probably sink.
    I call shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

shell be up on your back like a sceartán.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

"I'll do that now in a minute"

Saying "yeah" as someone ends a sentence, realising you don't agree and say "no" = "yeahhhNo"

"Arragh whisht"

the word "het" e.g. "the baby got all het up and started crying"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

"She was Wetter than a Sligo Road!" <--- She's in a state of sexual arousal.

"S'craic?" <--- How are you?

"MonTay****!" <---Hurry up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

com'ere to me now you gowel or u'll get a schlap of a stelletto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Dutchie

"I've a rod on me that'd beat badgers out of a ditch"

"She'd get up on a cat going through a skylight"

"She'd get up on the squeak of a wheelbarrow"

"She'd get up on clipped hedge"

"I'm that hungry i'd eat the bear arse of a christian brother through a bramble bush"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

You can't make honey out of dogs shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    No way.
    The sponge would absorb too much water and you'd probably sink.
    I call shenanigans.

The logicity of the statement is definitely not implicit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I don't get it, is that an expression? Thanking you in advance for your explanation! :)

Yes, tis a Dublin expression.

If you were Breaking The Law for instance and got caught red handed, that would be Snared Rapid ;)

Whole thread dedicated to her saying it here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055844724

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 96,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

An tSaoi wrote: »
    What does "Now we're sucking diesel" mean? It's been mentioned a few times.
    something to do with the maintenance of injectors on tractors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

"She's got a face on her like a bulldog that's after lickin' piss off a nettle"
    and
    "As thick as pig shite in a bottle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

That Guinness is after cuttin the hole off me

jaysus your one is an awful tramp. Fair ****s to her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

jeez thats awful cuntish........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

You're an awful eeijet, d'ya know that

My ma is some geebag

Bollocks! The car is banjaxed

Be right out. I'm just taking a ****e

Alright, loosebit. Any chance of a ride

Wha do ya mean do I love ya? aren't I riding ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

"Not since Tuesday was a week!" .....as in a very long time ago

"I'm so hungry I'd eat the Lamb of God!" ... as in I am hungry presently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭davef1000

I'd ate the back door, buttered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    "I'm so hungry I'd eat the Lamb of God!"
    Another variant "I'd eat the leg off the Lamb of God".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Probably been mentioned before but what the hay

Fair f***s to ya
    variaton on snared rapid - Stung rapid
    sh**ting meself or sketched to bits (<-kildare one i think)
    Goin' through me like the luas through a bus
    Sweatin' like a blind fanny gobler in a fish shop, friend of mine said this yesterday nearly died laughin
    Ah he's for the birds so he is!
    Jaiz yer man's dead sound, try that one to a non-irish and you get some weird looks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

just used this one last nite then thought of this thread ..... ah you were " caught rapid " !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭DonnieBrasco

its too cold to snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

my mates american cousin thaught that "doin your nut" was masterbating! when i said that seanie was at home doin his nut (cos we didnt wait for him) she said. eugh way 2 much information, had to laugh,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

F*#~ me pink and call me pony!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

"He couldn't hit a cow's arse with a banjo!" - he's totally incompetent. "He'd eat the legs off the table." - enormous appetite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Two from Belfast: You want a dig in the head, fella?" - self explanatory. "Come on, have ye a fair dig now!" - let's fight! ('now' rhymes with 'fly')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

69 wrote: »
    Another variant "I'd eat the leg off the Lamb of God".

and another two:

i'd eat a cows arse through a hedge

i'd eat a nuns arse through a keyhole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

roughan wrote: »
    Heard a classic over the weekend on a mate describing a one night stand....

" I left her face like a painters radio" !

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Go ugly and avoid the rush.

You don't look at the mantle piece when you're stoking the fire.

Face like the back end of me bollix!

Sweatin like a rapist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Mister-M5

A girl you don't fancy:
    "I wouldn't ride her into battle"
    "The tide wouldn't take her out"

If I had only done such a thing:
    "Sure if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle"

Being drunk last night:
    "Lads I was never in America but I was in some state last night"

Describing someone that's bad a soccer, football, rugy etc:
    "He wouldn't get a kick in a horsebox"
    "He wouldn't get a kick in a Jackie Chan film"
    "He wouldn't get a kick in a stampede"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

69 wrote: »
    Yes, yes, yes.

**** i din't realise that posted 3 times :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭SlabMurphy

" The older the fiddle the sweeter the tune " - ( said by a middle aged man when talking about if he'd be up to it with a younger chick )

" As rear as hen's teeth " When something is hard to get like tickets for an All Ireland final.