Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What are your funniest Irish sayings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

DrumSteve wrote: »
    do you think i came up the liffey on a sponge?

No way.
    The sponge would absorb too much water and you'd probably sink.
    I call shenanigans.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

shell be up on your back like a sceartán.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

"I'll do that now in a minute"

Saying "yeah" as someone ends a sentence, realising you don't agree and say "no" = "yeahhhNo"

"Arragh whisht"

the word "het" e.g. "the baby got all het up and started crying"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

"She was Wetter than a Sligo Road!" <--- She's in a state of sexual arousal.

"S'craic?" <--- How are you?

"MonTay****!" <---Hurry up!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

com'ere to me now you gowel or u'll get a schlap of a stelletto

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭Dutchie

"I've a rod on me that'd beat badgers out of a ditch"

"She'd get up on a cat going through a skylight"

"She'd get up on the squeak of a wheelbarrow"

"She'd get up on clipped hedge"

"I'm that hungry i'd eat the bear arse of a christian brother through a bramble bush"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

You can't make honey out of dogs shyte.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    No way.
    The sponge would absorb too much water and you'd probably sink.
    I call shenanigans.

The logicity of the statement is definitely not implicit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I don't get it, is that an expression? Thanking you in advance for your explanation! :)

Yes, tis a Dublin expression.

If you were Breaking The Law for instance and got caught red handed, that would be Snared Rapid ;)

Whole thread dedicated to her saying it here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055844724

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

An tSaoi wrote: »
    What does "Now we're sucking diesel" mean? It's been mentioned a few times.
    something to do with the maintenance of injectors on tractors

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

"She's got a face on her like a bulldog that's after lickin' piss off a nettle"
    and
    "As thick as pig shite in a bottle"

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

That Guinness is after cuttin the hole off me

jaysus your one is an awful tramp. Fair ****s to her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭ Miguel Flabby Sextant

jeez thats awful cuntish........

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

You're an awful eeijet, d'ya know that

My ma is some geebag

Bollocks! The car is banjaxed

Be right out. I'm just taking a ****e

Alright, loosebit. Any chance of a ride

Wha do ya mean do I love ya? aren't I riding ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

"Not since Tuesday was a week!" .....as in a very long time ago

"I'm so hungry I'd eat the Lamb of God!" ... as in I am hungry presently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭davef1000

I'd ate the back door, buttered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    "I'm so hungry I'd eat the Lamb of God!"
    Another variant "I'd eat the leg off the Lamb of God".

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Probably been mentioned before but what the hay

Fair f***s to ya
    variaton on snared rapid - Stung rapid
    sh**ting meself or sketched to bits (<-kildare one i think)
    Goin' through me like the luas through a bus
    Sweatin' like a blind fanny gobler in a fish shop, friend of mine said this yesterday nearly died laughin
    Ah he's for the birds so he is!
    Jaiz yer man's dead sound, try that one to a non-irish and you get some weird looks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

just used this one last nite then thought of this thread ..... ah you were " caught rapid " !

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭DonnieBrasco

its too cold to snow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

my mates american cousin thaught that "doin your nut" was masterbating! when i said that seanie was at home doin his nut (cos we didnt wait for him) she said. eugh way 2 much information, had to laugh,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

F*#~ me pink and call me pony!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

"He couldn't hit a cow's arse with a banjo!" - he's totally incompetent. "He'd eat the legs off the table." - enormous appetite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Two from Belfast: You want a dig in the head, fella?" - self explanatory. "Come on, have ye a fair dig now!" - let's fight! ('now' rhymes with 'fly')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

69 wrote: »
    Another variant "I'd eat the leg off the Lamb of God".

and another two:

i'd eat a cows arse through a hedge

i'd eat a nuns arse through a keyhole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

roughan wrote: »
    Heard a classic over the weekend on a mate describing a one night stand....

" I left her face like a painters radio" !

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Go ugly and avoid the rush.

You don't look at the mantle piece when you're stoking the fire.

Face like the back end of me bollix!

Sweatin like a rapist

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Mister-M5

A girl you don't fancy:
    "I wouldn't ride her into battle"
    "The tide wouldn't take her out"

If I had only done such a thing:
    "Sure if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle"

Being drunk last night:
    "Lads I was never in America but I was in some state last night"

Describing someone that's bad a soccer, football, rugy etc:
    "He wouldn't get a kick in a horsebox"
    "He wouldn't get a kick in a Jackie Chan film"
    "He wouldn't get a kick in a stampede"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

69 wrote: »
    Yes, yes, yes.

**** i din't realise that posted 3 times :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭SlabMurphy

" The older the fiddle the sweeter the tune " - ( said by a middle aged man when talking about if he'd be up to it with a younger chick )

" As rear as hen's teeth " When something is hard to get like tickets for an All Ireland final.