Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭5948ai

Over and out. I thought we might push on in the second half with the extra week break but the opposite happened. Will we ever get out of this round robin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Deiseen

You're saying theres no hype about the man? Way below par again today unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Too many soft wides. Hard to see but a Cork win next weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Tis the hope that kills ya lads

Weren’t good enough and didnt want it enough

Management found out today I think

Didn’t seem to be any clear plan as to how we could go and win the game
    just Bennett and Barron keeping us afloat as usual

Another year gone unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gunners200

just not good enough, lot of those ballygunnner lads have been shocking this year, sweeper is just out of date now, can’t win long puckouts or short puckouts, have to say loves Cahill style of hurling,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,088 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

One word comes to mind ……. "butterfingers"!

After that very very bad wides.

And then choices when in possession … bad passes, trying to break tackles and losing it ……. but a good deal of that must be down to poor support from others.

Nothing much changed from previous games.

A well deserved win for Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Denny61

So much for waterford having a extra week off .lol

He was very good for 3/4 years but the last couple years he hasn’t been at the same level for some reason. Other than that I don’t know what is your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I honestly thought Waterford had a great chance today but they just failed to produce the goods. The round robin format has been brutal on Waterford really.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

We lost out on home advantage when Walsh Park was being redeveloped or deemed unsuitable, probably when this team were in their prime. The killer is the next few years will be barren. There'll be a few retirements after next weekend. Sorry for the doom and gloom. I feel the round robin format is a backward step in general as you're limiting teams like ourselves. The back door was a fairer system for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,477 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Its the hope that kills ya

After that great start you thought it was going to be our day but mistakes cost us Tipp did have some great scores but a few we're from our errors. Dessie looked frustrated coming off

A Limerick win means we can still get 3rd but can imagine our heads our down now and Cork down there is a massive massive task

2018 and 2023 were the only years we didn’t have WP. Both years were were terrible. Nothing to do with home advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

It's turned the Munster championship into a Champions League group stage kind of thing imo.

The old backdoor format with no round robin was a lot better. I think it should be scrapped for next year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭spideyman92

I don't think we play in a way that suits the forwards we have anyway. We had great joy playing diagonal balls into them and making space in previous years but whatever we're doing now doesn't work. There's still a chance if Limerick win today (albeit a slim one) but today's result is a deflating one.

It sounds like a moan but I always think that there should be 4 teams that go through from Munster/Leinster. Joe McDonagh finalists going into a preliminary quarter final is a nice gesture but I don't think there has ever been an upset in those games. They could add an extra round before that where they meet 4th place teams and lose nothing.

Agreed but the switching and uncertainty about WP as our home ground didn't help things. We never established it as a fortress. Nothing to do with today's result where we just weren't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,477 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Maybe leave the winners, have 4th in Munster face 4th in Leinster for that place in the Preliminary All Ireland QFs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

So looks very much like we will have another chance to get through next week. Would have to say unlikely after our performance today

Jesus, Rebels are getting some pasting. Bizarrely it’s actually back in our own hands if we beat Cork next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭decies

it’s not the hope that kills you it’s the lack of hope at this stage in this Munster Championship to be honest . We are as far as ever in capturing the holy grail that is the all Ireland looking at that today . Forget about the amount of wides but the sheer bad quality of the strikes and the general decision making was shocking , nearly a week advantage and we looked the lethargic ones . While we are in no position to fastrack too many new player's into this team we need unearth more then the reign in Spain .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 unbeknownist

Dessie was a disgrace when he was subbed, broke his Hurley off a gate and threw it down the sideline.. ignored a back room teams handshake.

This fella is meant to be our captain. Personally wouldn’t play him next week. Patrick Fitz from the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Man is entitled to be disappointed and frustrated.

He's given a years of service to county. Disgrace isn't a word I'd use.

He was poor today but got poor service. I'd guess he's asking himself what's all the effort for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gunners200

ah I don’t mind that, just goes to show he cares I’m sure he’s furious and disappointed in his own performance hence y he did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭dilinja1

Need to watch it back again but my immediate feeling is the usual poor decision making, poor touch and shocking shooting that has plagued us in big games for many years is still costing us. Our forwards are very poor. We only have Stephen and Jamie as a threat. In Dessie, Jack, Kevin and Michael Kiely I felt were poor enough. In saying that it felt watching it in the stand that we had more goals in us in the 1st half but didn't go for it. Stephen missing the frees in the first half seemed to suck the life out of us. We then got on top in the second half, drew level and silly frees handed Tipp back the momentum. In fairness to cahill he anticipated the tipp drop off and their subs made a big difference. Hard to see where we go now or what changes we can make for next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

A game we could have won but just weren’t good enough. The best start possible and those first half wides killed us. Sidelines going over for Tipp was an extra kick in the teeth. Tipps work rate was excellent as was their shot selection and efficiency.

As others mentioned, some of our decision making was awful, running into unnecessary trouble like we’ve been doing for years now but the delivery into the forwards was brain dead at times, even when there was no pressure on the player hitting it in. We’ve all been worried for Dessie’s form and today was another game that didn’t go his way and the ball was like a bar of soap at times. He’s starting on reputation alone now which isn’t his fault as his confidence is clearly gone. Some lads rushed shots when they’d more time to steady themselves. On one occasion we had two lads under a high ball and between the two of them, there was no communication to catch the ball and one of them batted the ball forward to a free Tipp player. Management definitely got some forward selections wrong in my opinion but they have more info than I have.

All moaning aside, that’s sport for you so we need to give the cork game a right go and hope they don’t take it all out on us after their beating today.

Credit to Tipp on their win. They were sharp and hungry. The Waterford crowd in the old stand did well with the Waterford chants which was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

I thought Aussie looked slimmer in the warm up and don’t think we’ve much to lose at this stage by playing him at the edge of the square. I’d swap him in for Mahony without hesitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭dilinja1

Great atmosphere and waterford support at the game. Was like the good old days in semple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭upthedeise16

Just because Waterford can’t get out of the group doesn’t mean it’s a flawed system. The round robin has seen unbelievable games since it was introduced and I really enjoy the home and away aspect, including going to Walsh Park. I’m afraid Waterford just haven’t been good enough to advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Jizique

Not the round robin's fault for the missed frees and the wides esp in the first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭biglad40isback

its not ideal for ye but at least ye head to round 4 knowing a win will do. Also I hear the stewards at the gaelic grounds are still looking for corks ass so they can hand it back to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Deiseen

The Munster Championship the last few years has shown how good the new setup is, with countless thrillers over the years.

My only gripe is that two very good teams (we are usually one of them :D) are out of the championship before we even get to June.